Stats: 3,197,779 members, 7,965,925 topics. Date: Friday, 04 October 2024 at 04:16 AM

IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG - Education (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG (25930 Views)

Lauretta Onochie: IPPIS Will Expose Lecturers With Multiple Full Time Jobs / Top 10 Slowest Nigerian Universities / 20 Courses You Can Study Without Mathematics In Nigerian Universities (2) (3) (4)

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by omonnakoda: 7:33am On May 19, 2020
This is beginning to sound like government has an agenda.
Even Buhari has appointed dead men.
Did anyone benefit from the payment to the dead men?

If so prosecute them.

Are there no other government departments that have paid dead men?

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Nobody: 7:33am On May 19, 2020
funmike83:
Ippis is a scam . I don't know why they are centralising everything when the schools can be responsible for themselves. They are are shouting TSA upandan only for us to hear that they never audited this account ever since they strted and lots of fraud going on . they should expect more of this since Ippis can not distinguish the living from the dead.

How can schools allowing the payment of dead staff be responsible for themselves?

Tell us more about TSA.

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Modphase: 7:35am On May 19, 2020
lobbyist:

Government of blame. Take responsibility no, they like blaming others for their wrong doing. Jonathan is free these days from their political lies. I'm a yoruba man, i'm not a zombie.
If you like be from hell, the fact is IPPIS is a computer based program n if you load garbage in your get garbage out. This is the reason why the USA is screaming blue murder about unemployment claim skyrocket traced to a Nigeria syndicate that as been as been loading their office with fraudulent data there by losing payment that should rightly have gone to Americans. Many of those Nigerians will be caught n jailed n that is exactly what should happen to VC of schools that submitted list of dead lecturers. They should be prosecuted n jailed if possible for life.

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by vedaxcool(m): 7:36am On May 19, 2020
gbengadada2004:

The various university management submitted the list not ASUU. The management that comprises the VC, DVCs, Registrar, Bursar and other top management officials are not the same as ASUU.

Is that all?
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by gbengadada2004(m): 7:37am On May 19, 2020
thundafire:
ASUU lecturers including VC are thieves,y submit names of dead lecturers and do u know that VC and bursar are dey main culprits,once a lecturer dies dey process dey payment and pay dey family off,then they create another account with the same dead people's name and be paying salary inside. So don't u want tax to be deducted the lecturers shouting can they post their payslip

It is not the responsibility of lecturers to submit such names. Lecturers only teach in the class. That is why every university have bursary department. The school bursar submitted the names to accountant general office. On the issue tax deduction, university staffs have being paying tax before now, their complain is about the sudden increase in tax deduction with the introduction of IPPIS. This has lead to reduction in net pay despite the fact that FG claim that they have started implementing the new minimum wage increase. Another deduction is the National Housing tax which workers were not allowed to decide if they want to join or not. No agreement, no information about the National Housing, no one knows where and when the houses will be built, they just continue deducting it from peoples' salaries.

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by wildernessVoice: 7:46am On May 19, 2020
Lies everywhere.
You don't join IPPIS platform until you're verified and physically captured which include facial picture and finger prints .
How were they misled...?

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Ibegtodiffer: 7:47am On May 19, 2020
vedaxcool:
[s][/s]

Take responsibility for Tax cheating, submission of inflated personnel records by unscrupulous lecturers?

Zombie is defending tax cheat because you hate FG.
Na them.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by zikter(m): 7:52am On May 19, 2020
vedaxcool:
[s][/s]

You can see how this one will likely volunteer to bail Shekau? ASUU fraudulently submitted dead people to inflate their personnel cost yet your concern is to divert attention to an issue that has no equivalence to it?

Some people will continue to disgrace themselves because they think fraud is the shortest route to success.
You passionately take side with the government on this. Pls sincerely clarify me on the following
1. Is it ASUU or the school management that submitted the lectures names to government?
2. How come the government suddenly paid ASUU through IPPIS when we all know the members have not enrolled in the platform?
3. Does it mean the accountants office does not have a control of who is on its payroll?
Kindly answer sincerely.

NB. What I can deduce from the defence above is that, the IPPIS system is highly susceptible to fraud in form of ghost workers if any name can be paid on it. How did the dead lecturers enrolled in the system?
ASUU itself has no hand in the embarrassing payment. How can ASUU submit their members names to the accountant office to be paid on a system that they oppose? ASUU we all know are on strike, so which ASUU submitted the names. The universities management who are not part of ASUU submitted an erroneous list to the account office who totally failed to detect the error. So what is the fault of ASUU in all these. ASUU just raised an alarm that dead and retired members were paid, and they didn't lie. It happened. Why can't the incompetent office of accountant take responsibility rather than shamefully dragging ASUU in their madness?

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Ibegtodiffer: 7:52am On May 19, 2020
Osidazz19:
So these ASU fools sent a list that contains dead people then turned around and blamed the govt.
Typically Nigerians with bad motives. They just want to get rid of the system that's checking them more and more. They don't want checks and balances. Bunch of overrated high school teachers.
Solve your ignorance & hate before insulting people. The Bursary takes care of everything concerning salaries, including "the list". Bursars are not Academic staff. They don't even interface.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by sinkhole: 7:53am On May 19, 2020
IPPIS ON A CROOKED PATH TO DEMORALIZE TERTIARY EDUCATION IN NIGERIA

I read with keen interest, a press release from IPPIS as released by the Director of Information, Press and Public relations (Henshaw Ogubike) and felt it's necessary to call the attention of IPPIS to some grey areas in dealing with thousands of highly learned Tertiary institution workers in the country. IPPIS press release is a great shambles of it's kind, information with no substance is worthless.

1. NHF DEDUCTIONS:

(a) The NHF Act you referred to didn't state in any of its paragraph, that deductions should be made from employees salaries before registration/enrollment for the scheme. This is what IPPIS did! Deductions were made from employees salaries for months, when they've not been enrolled nor registered for the scheme. We do not know our account details or the names of those that were used to register in lieu of ours. We do not know the account details nor the signatories to the account to which our money is being deducted. We do not know where the interest rate accrued on such deductions goes to.

What form of ill professionalism and misinterpretation of the law?

(b) IPPIS claimed to have studied the NHF Act and stated in the press release that 2.5% of basic salary should be deducted, but what you have so far deducted is 2.5% of our gross. We will be glad if you could please make your deductions template public on this. The main reason such information lacks substance.

2. UNION DEDUCTIONS
IPPIS is not a member of the Tertiary institution Unions (ASUU, SSANU, NASU or NAAT), why is IPPIS so concern about another man's business. The official directive of the Unions leadership after contacting their members through congresses, should be a starting point for IPPIS involvement towards such deductions. The interpretations and applications of rules, laws or whatever, concerning the Unions should be left to her members. You should be officially informed about whatever issue concerning our Unions as third party. If you have such directive from any of the Unions requesting your assistance in the 2% deductions of members salary, kindly make it public.

3. ALLOWANCES
Many of the Tertiary institution allowances are part of the agreement signed with the FG for years dating as far as 2009. The National Wages, Salary and Income Commission (NSIWC) is a component of the FG. We signed those agreements with the bigger pictures, referring us to NSIWC is sycophantic. The FG should directly issue memo reneging such agreement, which they have not fulfilled for years, causing unending disaster in the education system. IPPIS challenging FG position on those agreements and the Tertiary institutions, is a clear indication to bringing government down and a formal abuse to the committee members of such agreement, that they lack knowledge and incapable of contributing to National development. Some allowances that were part of the consolidated salary was as well removed. IPPIS and the crooked path.

4. WRONG PAYMENT
Wrong payment to retired, deceased staff for 3 months consecutively is a clear indication that, a very wide gap exist between the bursary unit of the Tertiary institutions and IPPIS. Three months!

5. The allegations levied on the management of tertiary institutions on the non-payment of consequential adjustment arrears should be made more substantial, show us memo issued, directing the Bursar's of the Tertiary institutions to calculate due payment of arrears for staff as at December, 2019 or a certain amount released to the institutions for the payment of such.

We shall continually be honest, loyal and faithful to our dear country in discharging our duties in ensuring a better Society and the hope for a developed Nation, if industrial harmony is guaranteed.

Tunde Osundare
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Ibegtodiffer: 7:54am On May 19, 2020
Aystarz:

If lecturers are this corrupt, why do we expect their students to be any different after tertiary education? Corrupt societies breed corrupt leaders
Lecturers lecture. They don't make list of those that should be paid salaries.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Osidazz19: 7:57am On May 19, 2020
Ibegtodiffer:

Solve your ignorance & hate before insulting people. The Bursary takes care of everything concerning salaries, including "the list". Bursars are not Academic staff. They don't even interface.

So going by your argument, if the Bursars are not aware of a dead teachers in their own school, how do you expect the govt in Abuja to know that? It is is the job of the school including the Bursars to make that the people they are paying are still gainfully employed by the school.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by jmaine: 7:57am On May 19, 2020
vedaxcool:
[s][/s]

You can see how this one will likely volunteer to bail Shekau? ASUU fraudulently submitted dead people to inflate their personnel cost yet your concern is to divert attention to an issue that has no equivalence to it?

Some people will continue to disgrace themselves because they think fraud is the shortest route to success.

A little common sense will inform you that ASUU don't compute and pay salaries.. The Universities bursaring unit does that and they are not ASUU members...

If IPPIS had done the necessary against the forced enrollment.. Will this nonsense arise...

Govt of blame games... Get sense...

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by funmike83(f): 7:58am On May 19, 2020
thundafire:
shut up ask questions 1st,TSA is made up of all government ministries and agencies account,it was created to stop opening different account in the name of the agency to steal money, so any money withdrawn is from ur own account and not that of other ministries or agency
You really must be out of your mind . I am entitle to my own opinion . I am not sure you read wat I wrote well. What is the essence of Tsa without bn audited .I didn't say I didn't know the meaning of TSA , Mr know it all. Ode
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Ibegtodiffer: 7:59am On May 19, 2020
GoldenJulius:
Other Federal workers have been paying all there statutory dues since moving to IPPIS and no complain.
ASUU thought they are special and for years they escape paying, now they are shouting in the rubbish
Nigerian Army, Navy, Police, Federal medical centers etc are heavily complaining about IPPIS. If statutory deductions was the bane of IPPIS, why are CBN, NNPC, FIRS, NDIC, POLITICIANS etc exempted from IPPIS? Abi those ones no get statutory deductions? Haba!

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by zikter(m): 8:00am On May 19, 2020
vedaxcool:
[s][/s]

Is that all?
Be sincere and answer him intelligently. How on earth is it the responsibility of ASUU to submit a list for payment? What is the work of the administrative staff he pointed out to you? Even if a list is submitted by whoever, how come the office of the accountant and the platform can't detect the error or fraud? It means the IPPIS itself is platform that can be used for fraud easily

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Ibegtodiffer: 8:02am On May 19, 2020
brexit:
Let the university Vice Chancellors be queried immediately, they have really exposed themselves to public discourse and ridicule
God bless you. IPPIS people know where the problem is, but whatever ropes ASUU in is fine by them.

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by gayman99: 8:03am On May 19, 2020
bigiyaro:
assu is just a body of disgruntled old people, they are fighting hard to keep old ways of cheating the govt.

please lets get it clear. ASUU is not in charge of payroll. The fraud in universities is perpetuated by the university management or the v.c and bursary units. if this strike is called off, there is going to be another major strike. this time between the school management and the various unions. it has already started in u.i.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by gayman99: 8:09am On May 19, 2020
gbengadada2004:

It is not the responsibility of lecturers to submit such names. Lecturers only teach in the class. That is why every university have bursary department. The school bursar submitted the names to accountant general office. On the issue tax deduction, university staffs have being paying tax before now, their complain is about the sudden increase in tax deduction with the introduction of IPPIS. This has lead to reduction in net pay despite the fact that FG claim that they have started implementing the new minimum wage increase. Another deduction is the National Housing tax which workers were not allowed to decide if they want to join or not. No agreement, no information about the National Housing, no one knows where and when the houses will be built, they just continue deducting it from peoples' salaries.

Most people just come online with their free 50mb data to rant nonsense. The observation you made is very excellent. How many fg staff have been able to access the National housing loan? Yet billions are stolen from the same NHF with out any issue. That is where Nigerians should channel their energies to.

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Ibegtodiffer: 8:12am On May 19, 2020
[quote author=Modphase post=89708806]No lecturer should be friend with you, each n every of your submission is clearly senseless. The lectures are underpaid, how does that justify the ills listed against them in the article n don't ASUU fight yearly for wage increment. What stop them from doing that again ?
Be informed sir. The last salary increment for the Universities was 11years ago. Stop peddling falsehood.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by zikter(m): 8:16am On May 19, 2020
Osidazz19:

So going by your argument, if the Bursars are not aware of a dead teachers in their own school, how do you expect the govt in Abuja to know that? It is is the job of the school including the Bursars to make that the people they are paying are still gainfully employed by the school.
So how does this your position concern ASUU. Why is the accountant picking on ASUU when clearly, this embarrassing error is not from them. IPPIS involves enrollment, which means bio data capture, so ask the accountant how he captured and paid dead people on the platform. The government keeps making embarrassing errors.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by ahiboilandgas: 8:18am On May 19, 2020
sinkhole:
IPPIS ON A CROOKED PATH TO DEMORALIZE TERTIARY EDUCATION IN NIGERIA

I read with keen interest, a press release from IPPIS as released by the Director of Information, Press and Public relations (Henshaw Ogubike) and felt it's necessary to call the attention of IPPIS to some grey areas in dealing with thousands of highly learned Tertiary institution workers in the country. IPPIS press release is a great shambles of it's kind, information with no substance is worthless.

1. NHF DEDUCTIONS:

(a) The NHF Act you referred to didn't state in any of its paragraph, that deductions should be made from employees salaries before registration/enrollment for the scheme. This is what IPPIS did! Deductions were made from employees salaries for months, when they've not been enrolled nor registered for the scheme. We do not know our account details or the names of those that were used to register in lieu of ours. We do not know the account details nor the signatories to the account to which our money is being deducted. We do not know where the interest rate accrued on such deductions goes to.

What form of ill professionalism and misinterpretation of the law?

(b) IPPIS claimed to have studied the NHF Act and stated in the press release that 2.5% of basic salary should be deducted, but what you have so far deducted is 2.5% of our gross. We will be glad if you could please make your deductions template public on this. The main reason such information lacks substance.

2. UNION DEDUCTIONS
IPPIS is not a member of the Tertiary institution Unions (ASUU, SSANU, NASU or NAAT), why is IPPIS so concern about another man's business. The official directive of the Unions leadership after contacting their members through congresses, should be a starting point for IPPIS involvement towards such deductions. The interpretations and applications of rules, laws or whatever, concerning the Unions should be left to her members. You should be officially informed about whatever issue concerning our Unions as third party. If you have such directive from any of the Unions requesting your assistance in the 2% deductions of members salary, kindly make it public.

3. ALLOWANCES
Many of the Tertiary institution allowances are part of the agreement signed with the FG for years dating as far as 2009. The National Wages, Salary and Income Commission (NSIWC) is a component of the FG. We signed those agreements with the bigger pictures, referring us to NSIWC is sycophantic. The FG should directly issue memo reneging such agreement, which they have not fulfilled for years, causing unending disaster in the education system. IPPIS challenging FG position on those agreements and the Tertiary institutions, is a clear indication to bringing government down and a formal abuse to the committee members of such agreement, that they lack knowledge and incapable of contributing to National development. Some allowances that were part of the consolidated salary was as well removed. IPPIS and the crooked path.

4. WRONG PAYMENT
Wrong payment to retired, deceased staff for 3 months consecutively is a clear indication that, a very wide gap exist between the bursary unit of the Tertiary institutions and IPPIS. Three months!

5. The allegations levied on the management of tertiary institutions on the non-payment of consequential adjustment arrears should be made more substantial, show us memo issued, directing the Bursar's of the Tertiary institutions to calculate due payment of arrears for staff as at December, 2019 or a certain amount released to the institutions for the payment of such.

We shall continually be honest, loyal and faithful to our dear country in discharging our duties in ensuring a better Society and the hope for a developed Nation, if industrial harmony is guaranteed.

Tunde Osundare
clowns
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by zikter(m): 8:18am On May 19, 2020
gayman99:

Most people just come online with their free 50mb data to rant nonsense. The observation you made is very excellent. How many fg staff have been able to access the National housing loan? Yet billions are stolen from the same NHF with out any issue. That is where Nigerians should channel their energies to.
Even those who want an answer over this are not finding any
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Ibegtodiffer: 8:19am On May 19, 2020
Modphase:
No lecturer should be friend with you, each n every of your submission is clearly senseless. The lectures are underpaid, how does that justify the ills listed against them in the article n don't ASUU fight yearly for wage increment. What stop them from doing that again ?

Stop peddling falsehood. The last wage increment in Universities was 11years ago. Stop misleading people by lying. Today, a university lecturer with 7years experience earns less that an entry level at CBN, NNPC & FIRS (b4 u argue, check the salary details of ASUU recently released by OAGF).
Also, refer to above to know that the salary of a PhD holder at entry level is around 130k (after deductions). I'm talking verifiable facts. Pls get info b4 making spurious comments.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by israelmao(m): 8:21am On May 19, 2020
After all appointments are being given to the dead by this government,followers follow their leader's example.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by vedaxcool(m): 8:25am On May 19, 2020
jmaine:

A little common sense will inform you that ASUU don't compute and pay salaries.. The Universities bursaring unit does that and they are not ASUU members...

If IPPIS had done the necessary against the forced enrollment.. Will this nonsense arise...

Govt of blame games... Get sense...

Even a compound Fool will know I meant university but because wailing for corruption is considered wisdom they have left the real issue to pursue dust.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by vedaxcool(m): 8:29am On May 19, 2020
zikter:
Be sincere and answer him intelligently. How on earth is it the responsibility of ASUU to submit a list for payment? What is the work of the administrative staff he pointed out to you? Even if a list is submitted by whoever, how come the office of the accountant and the platform can't detect the error or fraud? It means the IPPIS itself is platform that can be used for fraud easily

even a compound Fool will know I meant university but because wailing for corruption is considered wisdom they have left the real issue to pursue dust.

They now expect a computer to detect death, a programme which is simply to manage payments.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Agugbadin: 8:30am On May 19, 2020
The said lecturers may be alive as at the time the list was compiled.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Humphery247(m): 8:31am On May 19, 2020
We all know that our education sector is getting low funds but the once that have been getting to them all this while what have been happening to them? All the whole billions given to ASUU, what have they done with them? Some of our lecturers even more corrupt, how can someone be working in two to three different federal universities and he is still paid differently while some of us are out here looking for work? IPPIS is trying to checkmate all these irregularities and ASUU is now making noise everywhere like a mad dog. There is no sector in this country that it is not full of corruption and it is not just a leadership problem that we are suffering from in this country. BVN was introduced by GEJ to expose all these irregularities but some of never appreciated this good man. Is a pity that good people are not celebrated in this country and for those of you that think that leadership is easy please forget it. The people around you that are corrupt will frustrate in goodness that is inside you if you are not careful.
Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by vedaxcool(m): 8:33am On May 19, 2020
zikter:
You passionately take side with the government on this. Pls sincerely clarify me on the following
1. Is it ASUU or the school management that submitted the lectures names to government?
2. How come the government suddenly paid ASUU through IPPIS when we all know the members have not enrolled in the platform?
3. Does it mean the accountants office does not have a control of who is on its payroll?
Kindly answer sincerely.

NB. What I can deduce from the defence above is that, the IPPIS system is highly susceptible to fraud in form of ghost workers if any name can be paid on it. How did the dead lecturers enrolled in the system?
ASUU itself has no hand in the embarrassing payment. How can ASUU submit their members names to the accountant office to be paid on a system that they oppose? ASUU we all know are on strike, so which ASUU submitted the names. The universities management who are not part of ASUU submitted an erroneous list to the account office who totally failed to detect the error. So what is the fault of ASUU in all these. ASUU just raised an alarm that dead and retired members were paid, and they didn't lie. It happened. Why can't the incompetent office of accountant take responsibility rather than shamefully dragging ASUU in their madness?

Some ASUU members have errolled, I am sure University Management is comprised of ASUU members, No?

Re: IPPIS: Nigerian Universities Misled Us Into Paying Dead Lecturers – AG by Alexun(m): 8:33am On May 19, 2020
Blue3k:

Source: https://www.premiumtimesng.com/news/headlines/393492-ippis-nigerian-universities-misled-us-into-paying-dead-lecturers-accountant-general.html

How can you be misled when lists weren't sent? I know my institution didn't submit the requested BVN, and they still went ahead with the payment. What a country built on lies!!!

Check Your Admission Status Via Jamb Website / Warri Boy Who Smashed Waec And Jamb Denied Admission / National Open University Of Nigeria (NOUN) Past Questions

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 85