Stats: 3,183,080 members, 7,919,483 topics. Date: Tuesday, 13 August 2024 at 09:31 AM

Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace (6470 Views)

FG To Arraign Senate President Over False Asset Declaration On Friday / Ekiti Civil Servants Kneel For Fayose Over Lateness (Photo) / Mama HID Awolowo Tongue-lashes Osinbajo & Wife (2) (3) (4)

Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by emmatok(m): 12:41pm On May 24, 2011
Se me se wahala o o o

Emir correct Sambo, some GEJ fans dey vex for NL.

For your information, An Emir doubles as a religious leader in the north.

So they(Emirs) carry much political weight.

Not like South here were we have divergent views.
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by yesboss20(m): 12:47pm On May 24, 2011
I laugh in gwari. Emir no get time na!
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by 13volts(m): 12:48pm On May 24, 2011
do you think the queen  of England woold waIt 3 hours for gej if he comes late for an offacial visit. the most she can do is to reschedule his visit. at least the emir  still waitTed for him
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by Kanana(m): 1:01pm On May 24, 2011
So whats the fuss here huh? Do you want the emir to roll down and tell sambo to keep goin to places late huh? Or he should do the sanctioning @ close doors and make the VP not to change huh? What the emir did is commendable @least that will drive the message home. Next tym it should be a knock to the forehead. Noncense.
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by adros84(m): 1:03pm On May 24, 2011
Kudos to the Emir. At least we have some traditional rulers who have not sold their birthright for a mere plAte of pottage. Punctuality we were taught is the soul of business. Do not fix an appointment if you cannot keep it. It is the practice of Nigerian government officials to always come late to any programme whether they are invited or they invited participants. Sometimes they keep people waiting in the sun for them while they camp young under aged girls somewhere in a lodge. Yet they will come and expect to be welcomed without any complaint.

The emir has done nothing wrong and I do not thiink he has any grouse against the V.P or President. A traditional ruler is a leader in his own right and should never be kept waiting. No British PM will do that to the Queen of England. And when toddlers who are great men today simply because of political appointment slight revered traditional rulers - descendants of great great men, they deserve to be told in plain truth that they have done wrong which is what the Emir did.

BOTTOM LINE IS: LET'S HAVE MORE RESPECT FOR TIME AND APPOINTMENTS!!!
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by OmoTier1(m): 1:07pm On May 24, 2011
When our traditional rulers fail to act, we critize them. Now the Emir of Kano has acted in the interest of his people, GEJ fans want him hanged.

Why didn't they call for our Oba of Benin to be hanged when He sent GEJ's minister of state for works packing fromnhis palace with a marching order to go fix the benin-lagos express way?

Lesson learnt:  We must all learn to keep to time and when we can't inform others quickly enough.
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by segunjowo(m): 1:08pm On May 24, 2011
;d
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by Guk: 1:09pm On May 24, 2011
A number of reactions here show that basic Etiquette is lacking in their conduct in life.

No matter what position you occupy, you are not above etiquette. It shows respect;
it shows your attitude; it shows your disposition & approach to things you ar involved in
whether big or small.

If you give someone an appointment for 10am & cant make it; phone, apologise & choose
another time that is mutually acceptable. Is there any big deal in that?? If you dont, then
you deserve whatever reprimand you get. Simple!!!

There is no political; religious; tribal undertone to this, its just plain & simple etiquette & respect
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by aljharem3: 1:10pm On May 24, 2011
some people are here insulting the emir

why is sambo late ? it is very unculture of him to be late and keep someone waiting even if it is not the emir
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by chines4(m): 1:22pm On May 24, 2011
The truth is bitter. The Emir is a true royal father, let the so called elders in our country learn to condemn what is bad. What we need is a change of altitude and the Emir is on the right track.
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by honeric01(m): 1:25pm On May 24, 2011
Picture it this way

What if Sambo was the Emir's son

Does it mean that the Emir can't correct Sambo because he's the VP? BTW, did anyone vote for the VP? he was never voted and that office is insignificant to me.
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by Theblessed(f): 1:28pm On May 24, 2011
[b][size=16pt]God bless you ,his Royal Highness Emir Bayero.  Sir, Keep telling these big headed  boons off until the who Nigerian get common sense. Thank you Sir!

You see, whoever condemns this telling off is an ignorant of the last order.  This telling off is not meant to humiliate the so called Vice President who does not understand the meaning of time keeping because, he felt he was too tired to get out off bed, and felt being a Vice President he can get out of bed whenever he likes to see/meet dignitaries but it only shows his lack of respect for other people. His position is more important than simple courtesy. Whatever happened to humility - one humbling themself, I wonder?

Meeting the King 3 hours late after schedule how could this be respect?  Nothing can excuse or justify it. embarassed 

If he was meeting the Queen of England, I bet you, he would have been up since 05.00am getting ready.

I support this telling off because it not only educate this Vice President who does not understand the importance of his office but also others like him, Nigeria as a whole and the whole of Africa about this important issue 'Time keeping' in everything we do.

If you know you can't keep the time then, inform the people on TIME that you can't make it so they can re-schedule their own commitments than wasting peoples time - looser!

Time keeping is an incurable disease among Africans especially, Nigerians!

I hope you all have heard it now, from his Royal Highness! Now, you've got the education stick to it sad!

[/size][/b]
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by LordReed(m): 1:34pm On May 24, 2011
I am glad someone had the gumption to remind our "leaders" that their position of power is not a right to abuse etiquette.
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by sweettweet: 1:35pm On May 24, 2011
@texazzpete

gbam!!
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by omo9ja1(m): 1:48pm On May 24, 2011
Again African time issue arise again,

If there was an urgent issue that kept him late, atleast he would have call the Emir and inform him of the unexpected delay, but no only to turn up 3hrs late, he was lucky the Emir should have lock his door lol sad
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by olyivy(f): 1:50pm On May 24, 2011
Sambo deserved what he got! Im sure he will think twice b4 being late to any other high profile function. Idiots!

But i wonder why the emir didnt react the same way towards his boys' killings.
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by maankind(m): 1:55pm On May 24, 2011
really am not suprise, it an average african man problem
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by MMM2(m): 2:00pm On May 24, 2011
muslim what is dis sh-it?
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by congoshine(m): 2:02pm On May 24, 2011
Gambari pa fulani . . . . .
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by xamphara: 2:09pm On May 24, 2011
After receiving bribes pre-election, y dem no go rubish u ? Ado? e don b for u !
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by adros84(m): 2:20pm On May 24, 2011
Once I was about punishing a student who came to school late. Our resumption time is 7.30am. The young man explained that he could not come in because he found it difficult getting a motorcycle to take him down to school. So i asked what time he came out of his house since I live around that area and passed the front of his house. He replied, "7.30am". I could not help but laugh. I told him he was already late before he left home as not even an helicopter could have brought him into the school before 7.30am if he chose to leave home at 7.30am. I then lectured him on the need to get out of his house not later than 7.30am. Most Nigerian government officials are like this young man. They are never in a hurry to leave their homes to keep appointments! And that is why many of them are involved in fatal accidents. They leave their homes late and begin to rush at supersonic speed to keep appointments. It's so so unfortunate. But thanks to this great Emir! let's hope other politicians will learn from the VP's mistake.
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by Nobody: 2:24pm On May 24, 2011
maankind:

really am not suprise, it an average african man problem

And that is why that impression must be corrected starting from the top !
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by kholis(m): 2:34pm On May 24, 2011
The emir is not well-informed to know that political power is quite different from religious power and the former is supreme. Someone should educate the northern figurehead.
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by dapachez: 2:45pm On May 24, 2011
Sambo deserves what he got,just as nigerians got the kind of leaders they deserve
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by yemivictor: 3:01pm On May 24, 2011
dapachez:

Sambo deserves what he got,just as nigerians got the kind of leaders they deserve

seconded.
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by senbonzakurakageyoshi(m): 3:05pm On May 24, 2011
Ride on, Emir Bayero. We're with you on this one. Regardless of whatever reason the VP had for being late, he should have called ahead to inform the Emir that he would not arrive on time. Did he imagine that the Emir had nothing better to do than to sit in the palace waiting for him? The fact that it was a public reprimand just ensurea that the message hits home. So next time somwthing like this happens, we can take it that the VP has a lateness culture.

As for the authority issue, do remember that long after the VP's tenure is over, thi sss man will still be Emir. Before the foreigners came with their foreign systems of government, we had our traditional rulers. So they must be respected. No British PM would do this to the Queen. Even when Obama is visiting schools or other people at the lower rungs of political power, he still sticks to time. So why should our VP be excuses from reprimands for being late?
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by Kanana(m): 3:10pm On May 24, 2011
dapachez:

Thirded. Gbam
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by sandokaa: 3:28pm On May 24, 2011
I wonder what the Emir stands to gain from his public outburst. Rebuking the VP of over 150 million people openly falls short of the required diplomatic standard. The lateness must have been un-intentional. From the account of the incident, there was more to the Emir's reaction than what the general public knows. Time will tell, anyway
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by karpenter: 3:33pm On May 24, 2011
It's you who will not allow your blind hatred for the VP(just because he's a PDP man) to becloud your sense of reasoning.Arc Namadi Sambo may be a short man from a humble background,but for Pete's sake,he is the VP of Nigeria and that office needs to be respected and not for one old clown to be reprimaning him right in front of his servants.
The emir is uncivilised and uncouth and it's unfortunate you wont see it the way it truly is
[tr][/tr]

First of all there’s no such designation as Arc.
Secondly, why would somebody be kept waiting for three hours? Sambo is not an ordinary citizen and will certainly move about with sirens and police escorts to clear the traffic should the need arise. So, what’s the justification for the unpunctuality? Mind you, none was given.
Thirdly, disregard your political views and frankly advise me if you would be glad to be kept waiting for three hours?
Fourthly, you are here visualizing things on your head, but meanwhile the VP has already made an apology. So what's the quandary?
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by basadenet: 3:36pm On May 24, 2011
The Emir has no right to tongue lash the VP, am sure he would had a cogent reason for coming late. The same fate will befell the Emir some day. that is a sure thing. or is the Emir above VP?
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by pek(m): 3:47pm On May 24, 2011
punctuality is not in the dictionary of our leaders. they believe it is a vice to turn up early. this story reminds me of the OGD Bankole saga over the commissioning of the Sango bridge. the latter went late and insisted the ceremony be started from the beginning.
Re: Emir Tongue Lashes Vice President Over Lateness To Palace by Nobody: 3:55pm On May 24, 2011
The Emir's action is wrong on all fronts. The Presidency (consisting of both the President and Vice President) is an institution that represents and embodies the sovereignty and majesty of the Nigerian state. There are very serious issues of diplomacy and official protocol involved in the dealings of the individuals that occupy the presidency. A mere traditional ruler or indeed anyone else for that manner cannot and should not demean or belittle the presidency FACE TO FACE. It is not done. Even opposition party figures who yell and cuss the president and his party on the pages of newspapers do NOT do that to the face of the president or his deputy if they have cause to meet at public events. They respect the office out of diplomacy and necessary official protocol. It is not about the individuals occupying the office; it IS about the office and the majesty of the state that it represents.

Left to me the Emir has an overbloated sense of importance. He does NOT enjoy constitutional authority of any sort, and so it is entirely reprehensible for him to think that he is important enough to publicly scold the Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. This is totally unacceptable and unjustifiable -regardless of the circumstances.

In my opinion, the Emir should be punished for his indiscretion - in order to serve as deterrence to others like him who may also suffer from delusions of grandeur.

Gunmen Invade Birnin Gwari Township In Kaduna State / Gay Protest Led By Gaylord Mr Omoyele Sowore Owner Of Saharareporters. / Reps Move To Limit Time For Appointing Ministers, Commissioners

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 47