Stats: 3,201,191 members, 7,977,502 topics. Date: Thursday, 17 October 2024 at 09:17 AM

Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live - Foreign Affairs (2549) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live (993387 Views)

World News! Events Happening Around The World / Russia - Ukraine War In Pictures, From The Frontlines (Photos) / Russia - Ukraine War Tension: Live Updates (Pictures) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2546) (2547) (2548) (2549) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Procashtips(m): 6:18am
FoolishBoy419:

You definitely don't reside in Nigeria.

Graduates have so many options (esp online) but many are too blind to seize them, but it's true that many are settling for and even seeking jobs paying 30k-50k monthly. It's the sad reality.

I do and I know those settling for ₦30k jobs are those who never prepared for life after the four walls of the so called University they went to.
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Cancri: 6:19am
Appleyard:

A country like the whole of Africa.
who told you? Africa is way bigger than Russia and Europe combined.
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Procashtips(m): 6:21am
FoolishBoy419:

It seems you have no idea what law firms pay Nigerian lawyers or the kind of exploitation that is going on in almost every sector in this country . Check these threads out:

https://www.nairaland.com/2534179/did-make-mistake-studying-law

https://www.nairaland.com/5898509/firm-seeks-recruit-lawyer-25k

Of course this doesn't mean some lawyers don't make millions. And listen to yourself. You said 'experts.' If experts are making just 350k (I said 'just' because I know how lucrative it is), imagine what people with basic skills would be earning.

I am not a cyber security expert but I don't need anyone to tell me what it takes to get into the field, but we are talking about a country where graduates are doing all kinds of manual jobs just to put food on the table. A country where bankers are quitting their jobs to go and wipe windows in Europe. And don't forget that 700 Msc holders applied for a driving job at Dangote Cement in 2012.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.vanguardngr.com/2012/11/6-ph-d-704-masters-holders-among-applicants-for-drivers-job-in-dangote/amp/

Now just imagine how things would be now with all the hardship in the country.

Anyway, the most important thing is that neither my opinion nor yours matter. At the end of the day, it's up to those who possess the skills to decide whether or not they are okay with the amount. It's only when your belly is full that you begin to think of mediocrity.

Read na.
I said entry level make a minimum of ₦350k within Nigeria

Those that work remotely make minimum of $1000 in that occupation.

What gave rise to this discussion?

Thinking anyone is doing a cyber security professional a favor by offering $50 a month for such job is the highest joke known to man.
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Appleyard(m): 6:33am
Procashtips:

How on earth are you guys comparing low level with no real NCE qualification teaching jobs with a professional job?

Haba, una dey logical at all?

You're even using your salary of 2011 at ₦5000 as an example!

Were you a qualified teacher in the first place?

Make una no dey argue by comparing apples with oranges.

Most of una no even sabi wetin Cyber security stands for.

Any SSCE holder can work any mushroom schools scattered around town.

I think you're getting the whole thing mixed up.

The pay at $50 is low, and we have already alluded to that.

But did you noticed that some are already jumping at the offer? Why?

Because it's still better than what some businesses in Nigeria pays monthly. So far, you're the only one that has directly jumped on the offer, and your reasons for that are valid.

Citing my experience back in 2011 was just an example, and not a comparison to the status of Cyber Security.

Brother, believe it, there are thousands of graduates in Nigeria with excellent qualifications that are working and getting paid peanuts. The private school issue was just one part of the example, and is not like all private schools does the same thing.

The fact remains that his offer is low.

Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Alamkir: 6:38am
Bro I understand you but cybersecurity is different to those profession, even banks that pays peanuts pay cybersecurity professionals heavy money.
Just imagine putting your whole network-security in the hands of cybersecurity professionals and paying them peanut they can wipe out everything including your money. Cybersecurity It's not a joke

Appleyard:

Like I said, the pay is low, no doubt. But when you have converted that amount to Naira, is still better than what some businesses pay here in Nigeria.

You used the word 'Qualified' teacher. That's the difference.

But, should an OND, HND, or BSc degree holder be subjected to 30,000 Naira just because they're not qualified with degrees in Education?

In Delta state where I live, many private school teachers are graduate they're paid in that price range.

Notwithstanding, that starting price of $50 is low, especially in this period of inflation.

Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Appleyard(m): 7:00am
Procashtips:

Why should a BSC degree holder settle for a ₦30k job?

What happened to the knowledge he gathered in 4 years?

Why even go to school just to come settle for ₦30k monthly salary?

Conductors earn more than ₦30k monthly.

Even block carriers for site earn more than ₦5k per day for site.

What do you expect people to do when there are no jobs out there to accommodate their qualifications?

Maybe you should rephrase your questions to why should a BSc holder be riding Okada balance and take?

Why should someone that graduated from the university been carrying blocks or clearing bushes for people just to survive?

At the end of the day, the answer is the same; the Nigerian labour market is a destiny killer.

Where there are no jobs to accommodate thousands of qualified graduates yearly, majority of the few ones available would only pay way below expectations. Some graduates settled for the poor pay because it's not everyone that is jobless that has the strength and physic to carry blocks and earn 5k daily.

Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Appleyard(m): 7:13am
Alamkir:
Bro I understand you but cybersecurity is different to those profession, even banks that pays peanuts pay cybersecurity professionals heavy money.
Just imagine putting your whole network-security in the hands of cybersecurity professionals and paying them peanut they can wipe out everything including your money. Cybersecurity It's not a joke

That is a fact.
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by FoolishBoy419: 7:38am
Procashtips:

Read na.
I said entry level make a minimum of ₦350k within Nigeria

Those that work remotely make minimum of $1000 in that occupation.

What gave rise to this discussion?

Thinking anyone is doing a cyber security professional a favor by offering $50 a month for such job is the highest joke known to man.

You used two opposing words (expert and entry level) so I had to go with one. The guy said he was looking for low-skilled employees and favor or not, you can see people bidding for the job here already.

Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by FoolishBoy419: 7:46am
Procashtips:

I do and I know those settling for ₦30k jobs are those who never prepared for life after the four walls of the so called University they went to.

The same could apply to the people seeking the job here. They learned the skills but they're not willing to invest time into finding fair jobs or maybe, like I've said, they want to use this opportunity to hone their skills.

I totally get where you're coming from but even if he's offering to pay $1 per month, it's up to the applicants to decide whether the money is worth their services or not.
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Vic2023: 7:49am
when you are done with All this unnecessary arguments lemme know, so we can bring the update
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by FoolishBoy419: 8:00am
Appleyard:

What do you expect people to do when there are no jobs out there to accommodate their qualifications?

Maybe you should rephrase your questions to why should a BSc holder be riding Okada balance and take?

Why should someone that graduated from the university been carrying blocks or clearing bushes for people just to survive?

At the end of the day, the answer is the same; the Nigerian labour market is a destiny killer.

Where there are no jobs to accommodate thousands of qualified graduates yearly, majority of the few ones available would only pay way below expectations. Some graduates settled for the poor pay because it's not everyone that is jobless that has the strength and physic to carry blocks and earn 5k daily.

The problem of this country is simply demand and supply. Even the jobs that we consider lucrative in Nigeria actually pay low by international standards. This is why just as Ghost left EU to look for employees here, mega western companies prefer to outsource millions of jobs to developing countries. Nobody said he's doing anyone a favor.

Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by FoolishBoy419: 8:02am
Vic2023:
when you are done with All this unnecessary arguments lemme know, so we can bring the update

Apologies. Things like this are bound to happen from time to time. Let it rain please! grin

Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Appleyard(m): 8:05am
Cancri:
who told you? Africa is way bigger than Russia and Europe combined.

That's just an exaggeration. I mean, Russia could as well be its own continent.
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Procashtips(m): 8:08am
FoolishBoy419:

The same could apply to the people seeking the job here. They learned the skills but they're not willing to invest time into finding fair jobs or maybe, like I've said, they want to use this opportunity to hone their skills.

I totally get where you're coming from but even if he's offering to pay $1 per month, it's up to the applicants to decide whether the money is worth their services or not.

You can't be a Cyber security professional and collect $50 in a month, it's not possible bro, whoever is showing interest actually have no clue what the job entails.
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Appleyard(m): 8:10am
FoolishBoy419:

The problem of this country is simply demand and supply. Even the jobs that we consider lucrative in Nigeria actually pay low by international standards. This is why just as Ghost left EU to look for employees here, mega western companies prefer to outsource millions of jobs to developing countries. Nobody said he's doing anyone a favor.

Exactly. Plus we have very poor labour laws here.
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Procashtips(m): 8:12am
FoolishBoy419:

You used two opposing words (expert and entry level) so I had to go with one. The guy said he was looking for low-skilled employees and favor or not, you can see people bidding for the job here already.

There's nothing like low-skilled employees once you're a qualified cyber security professional.

It's a professional job. How can low skill be associated with a professional job?

Entry level doesn't mean low-skilled, it means fresh on the job, recently certified candidates.

They're still called experts.

An ICAN certified accountant is an expert with such a professional certification, experience is now what defines their pay if you'd be paid entry level pay or experienced level pay. Hence I quoted the entry level salary (minimum) to be ₦350k

You got it now?

Ask those truly bidding for the job if you are qualified or even understand what the job entails.

I have tried recruiting people on NL before and I discovered that majority applied for what they have no clue of. It cost nothing to show interest in a post even if you don't have 0.5% requirements
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Procashtips(m): 8:14am
FoolishBoy419:

Apologies. Things like this are bound to happen from time to time. Let it rain please! grin

And it's also needed to expand the minds of some of our readers so they stop feeding on crumbs
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Procashtips(m): 8:16am
Alamkir:

Finally, someone that actually have knowledge of what the profession is all about.

Thank you
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Procashtips(m): 8:18am
Appleyard:

Bro, I put it to you that none of those that showed interest are truly qualified cyber security professionals.

I surely know jobs are scarce but not a specialised job like this.

Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Procashtips(m): 8:20am
Appleyard:

I think you're getting the whole thing mixed up.

The pay at $50 is low, and we have already alluded to that.

But did you noticed that some are already jumping at the offer? Why?

Because it's still better than what some businesses in Nigeria pays monthly. So far, you're the only one that has directly jumped on the offer, and your reasons for that are valid.

Citing my experience back in 2011 was just an example, and not a comparison to the status of Cyber Security.

Brother, believe it, there are thousands of graduates in Nigeria with excellent qualifications that are working and getting paid peanuts. The private school issue was just one part of the example, and is not like all private schools does the same thing.

The fact remains that his offer is low.

And I put it to you that none of those that showed interest have an idea what they're talking about.

NONE!

You can't spend up to ₦2m to acquire a certificate just to work $50 a month when that same profession pays $50/hr (To some)

Na joke bro.

Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by NightCrawler1: 8:58am
Procashtips:

And I put it to you that none of those that showed interest have an idea what they're talking about.

NONE!

You can't spend up to ₦2m to acquire a certificate just to work $50 a month when that same profession pays $50/hr

Na joke bro.

I mostly don't comment here, only read the updates. I give kudos to all the moderators on this page.

Now to the issue on ground.

Anyone applying like myself, it's more like a side hustle. At least you will have an experience, because his willing to teach you on day to day task.

Everyone is right considering the situation in the country. Graduates are been paid peanut because they have no choice else they will sit at home.
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by FoolishBoy419: 9:02am
Procashtips:

NONE!

You can't spend up to ₦2m to acquire a certificate just to work $50 a month when that same profession pays $50/hr (To some)

Na joke bro.

People spend more than 10 million studying abroad and come back to do shitty jobs here. It's either you live outside Nigeria or you exclusively live among the upper class.
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by FoolishBoy419: 9:07am
Procashtips:

There's nothing like low-skilled employees once you're a qualified cyber security professional.

It's a professional job. How can low skill be associated with a professional job?

Entry level doesn't mean low-skilled, it means fresh on the job, recently certified candidates.

They're still called experts.

An ICAN certified accountant is an expert with such a professional certification, experience is now what defines their pay if you'd be paid entry level pay or experienced level pay. Hence I quoted the entry level salary (minimum) to be ₦350k

You got it now?

Ask those truly bidding for the job if you are qualified or even understand what the job entails.

I have tried recruiting people on NL before and I discovered that majority applied for what they have no clue of. It cost nothing to show interest in a post even if you don't have 0.5% requirements

This is what the employer himself posted:

Ghostagain:
I am thinking of recruiting internally, would any of you work for 50 dollars a month ?
This is work from home, you need a working computer to do the work.

I'm starting an IT company, but I will start by recruiting low skilled people whom I would provide with precise instructions and training

Let those that are okay with the amount bid for the job and let the employer decide whether they're qualified or not.

Peace
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by Jovi10: 9:11am
Nawa make una allow us see war updates na , you guys can create a new thread for all this business talk abeg.
Re: Russia-Ukraine War: World News, Weapons & Battlefield Discussions - Live by FoolishBoy419: 9:11am
Procashtips:

And it's also needed to expand the minds of some of our readers so they stop feeding on crumbs

Fair point. Let's not derail anymore please.

(1) (2) (3) ... (2546) (2547) (2548) (2549) (Reply)

Technical Discussions On International Military Equipments Doctrines Tactics Etc / American Politics Thread - 2024 Elections — Biden’s Presidency! / Battle Field Discussion (picture/video) Of African Military .

Viewing this topic: raslim20(m), FoolishBoy419, lebuhsi(m) and 2 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 49