Stats: 3,189,349 members, 7,937,058 topics. Date: Sunday, 01 September 2024 at 12:03 PM

If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) (25915 Views)

Reno Omokri: Adoption Of Old Anthem A Giant Step Backwards, I Am Sad / Hafsat Abiola Knelt Down While Thanking Bola Tinubu (Throwback Video) / Seyi Tinubu Meets E-Money, Yul Edochie, Odumeje, Sings Nigerian Old Anthem (2) (3) (4)

If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Sweetphronesis: 4:01pm On May 29
An old interview on the 62nd anniversary of Nigeria by Bola Ahmed Tinubu is going viral on twitter. He states that he preferred the old national anthem and if he had an opportunity will revert back to it.

Watch below:

Transcript:
Tinubu: We are one and one Nigeria, and we should be proud of our green.....
In fact if I had my way, I would bring back our old, first national anthem. That described us much much better. I don't know why we changed it. Its about service, it's about diversity, its about commitment to value and national building so that is my message....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R08zFYVInzY?si=1xKNhVg-NNJXAl4Y

10 Likes 7 Shares

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Sweetphronesis: 4:09pm On May 29
This president has successfully passed every single thing he planned on passing.

With speed too.

I'm not sure if it's a good thing or bad thing.
He's brave though.

73 Likes 8 Shares

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by WeddingParol: 4:10pm On May 29
Anything to ignite reorientation in Nigeria is a welcome development.

We have derailed so fast from the footsteps of greatness.

No Nation can succeed with this current path we are towing irrespective of who the president is.

37 Likes 6 Shares

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by LibertyRep: 4:11pm On May 29
Now he has his ways

17 Likes

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by slaawomirr: 4:21pm On May 29
Damnnn niggar

Shut up oga

34 Likes 4 Shares

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Peakdesign23(m): 4:21pm On May 29
Very irrelevant sir, how would that change the situation on ground?
Some cannot afford to cook soup and stew. Na eba and water dem dey swallow.

13 Likes 2 Shares

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by PlanetZero: 4:21pm On May 29
So it is even tinubus hand we dey see for national assembly. Okay

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Sabadon(m): 4:21pm On May 29

fellow citizens see how fast this bill was conceived and passed, now ask yourself has anything that concerns the wellbeing of the citizens been hastily conceived and passed like this?

with all what the country is facing na national anthem be these overfed people problem .

37 Likes 3 Shares

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Amigoss: 4:21pm On May 29
Mtcheeew

This would make a better anthem....emotions,"pashun",patriotism which APC and d*mbos supporting them lack

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLZCXgYZmo8&pp=ygUXdGltaSBkYWtvbG8gb25lIG5hdGlvbiA%3D

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Samirana360(m): 4:22pm On May 29
Apc ppl will be like 'wow what a great achievement by tinubu, he's the greatest president in the whole world'...

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by BigDawsNet: 4:22pm On May 29
Dollar on the rise… we need to get it down../ that’s the priority

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by olowo1930: 4:22pm On May 29
Devil is at work on Nigeria matter. No comment

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Nbote(m): 4:22pm On May 29
Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by DMerciful(m): 4:23pm On May 29
Well, I like us going back since according to our elders, their time is better.

Since we started singing 'Arise, o compatriots ' tribalism started increasing so let's go to the old one.

We need to also go back to the 1963 constitution!
Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Racoon(m): 4:23pm On May 29
Of all the problems bedevilling this nation under his watch, this is what Tinubu’s and the rubberstamp NASS stooges are obsessed with @ present. Posterity will never be kind to them. Meanwhile; don't be distracted.

9 Likes 3 Shares

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Exceed15: 4:23pm On May 29
Sweetphronesis:
This president has successfully passed every single thing he planned on passing.

With speed too.

He's brave though.

Stop spewing rubbish on social space

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Laple0541(m): 4:23pm On May 29
I beg where is the old and where is the new to start with?

I only know the one we sang in the eighties during our primary school days, I don’t know if that is old or new.

Seems e don tay small when aböki left Sabo ooo!
Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by DeltaBachelor(m): 4:23pm On May 29
grin grin grin grin grin

Since we are in the season of changing Anthem. Can we ask our Senate and HOA to move for a change of the NYSC Anthem as well and pass the bill into Law ?

The Youth don obey clarion call wey never manifest e come be like say the thing get Old testament and New testament grin. Under the sun and in the rain sotey we don suffer pass Lot wife. Even with our dedication and selflessness, we nor get reach 1k dedicated to our name. It's such a shame that we find ourselves in this hell-hole. Tufiakwa !

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by MANNABBQGRILLS: 4:23pm On May 29
Nigeria we hail thee,
Our own dear native land,
Though tribe and tongue may differ,
In brotherhood we stand,
Nigerians all, and proud to serve
Our sovereign Motherland.

Our flag shall be a symbol
That truth and justice reign,
In peace or battle honour’d,
And this we count as gain,
To hand on to our children
A banner without stain.

O God of all creation,
Grant this our one request,
Help us to build a nation
Where no man is oppressed,
And so with peace and plenty
Nigeria may be blessed.

GOD BLESS NIGERIA 🇳🇬 🙏 ❤️

10 Likes 4 Shares

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by GreenxGreen: 4:23pm On May 29

Thunder ⚡⚡⚡ kieee you there

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by yungpowers(m): 4:24pm On May 29
What that f*ck is happening?

The fate of the world most populous black nation hangs on a balance and all they could care about is an old national anthem composed by a British slvt ? undecided undecided undecided

Damn, we're in a big sh1t and it's a whole long fu*ken ride at that. cry cry cry

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by UHLmoving: 4:24pm On May 29
Now you have your way, you didn't only bring back the old anthem but made even the corn scream

If Tax was a person...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rmayh4L8mLM

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by papyjaypaul: 4:24pm On May 29
It cannot last, the anthem will be changed just the way Sanusi was changed and unchanged. This is why some people feel the old people are still stuck in the past, living in the delusion that yesterday was better than today instead of staying focused on building a better today and fantastic tomorrow. Young people are hungry because they have a stake in tomorrow, old people are hungry to preserve yesterday. When other African countries are thinking of removing every colonial legacy, we are saying it's nostalgia. What did all the Nkrumahs of the 60s then fight for if we are going back to what colonial rulers handed over to us It weakens the morale of the youth.

I now question how old the President really is and what democracy he fought for if he says, I don't know why we changed it. Its about service, it's about diversity, its about commitment to value and national building so that is my message....

His Justice Minister cautioned against passing this bill and the words like native and tribe were used by the colonialists to describe us. How many of them can sing to the National Assembly Are they feeling the pulse of the people

Mr President, it is not about you and your feelings. You don't know how much mental damage you do to people by saying it was a foreigner that composed the homage you pay to your country. I mean. Think carefully about it. Does that encourage pride of nationhood Is that renewed hope We changed it because it was not formed by Nigerians. Even other African countries are trying to change their names because of colonial legacies they want to remove.

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Nbote(m): 4:24pm On May 29
As Compatriots no gree Arise, Our politicians them say make we begin to hail Nigeria

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by mikeapollo: 4:24pm On May 29
Sweetphronesis:

With speed too.

He's brave though.

He's just clueless and empty with misplaced priorities!
He went to launch the Lagos-Calabar coastal road and he retorted ''this is my day of bragging''.
So the project is all about him bragging with something! No depth, no substance!

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Elidrisy20: 4:24pm On May 29
Show us your class mates

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Raskimonojendor: 4:24pm On May 29
Well. The national Assembly just made him happy.

Papayaayasager:
So he bribe his way to become the president just to bring back the old national anthem he so much loved, no wonder he doesn't have anything to offer
How come opposition (PDP, LP and NNPP) in national Assembly are not against it. You mean he bribed them too.

Re: If I Had My Way I Would Bring Back Our Old Anthem - Tinubu (Throwback Video) by Papayaayasager(m): 4:24pm On May 29
So he bribe his way to become the president just to bring back the old national anthem he so much loved, no wonder he doesn't have anything to offer

African Leaders To Withdraw Membership From ICC / We Will Remain Grateful To Abacha Family – Governor Dickson / Umar Ganduje Distributes 10,000 Delivery Kits Worth N150m To Pregnant Women

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 28