Stats: 3,198,303 members, 7,967,710 topics. Date: Sunday, 06 October 2024 at 06:31 AM

World Bank Doubts CBN’s Ability To Curb Inflation Employing Rate Hikes - Politics (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / World Bank Doubts CBN’s Ability To Curb Inflation Employing Rate Hikes (9981 Views)

NNPC Hikes Petrol Prices Across Nigeria. List. / Secrecy, Doubts Trail One Billion Barrels Oil Discovery In North / Buhari’s Ability To Speak English Dominate Tribunal’s Proceedings (2) (3) (4)

Re: World Bank Doubts CBN’s Ability To Curb Inflation Employing Rate Hikes by grandstar(m): 3:14pm On Jun 14
RepoMan007:
You are fantasizing textbook possibilities.

No mount of interest will curb inflation. Simply because consumer credit system is near dead in Nigeria. You don't have a credit card that you can use below zero balance. If that was possible, then people will want to avoid negative balance when interest rates are higher but is that system used in Nigeria? What you have are loans that have been structured at inception and are ties to salary account of mostly workers with government.
Go and research the reality of what is obtainable in the Nigerian credit and loan system before applying textbook theories.

The use of interest rates to keep inflation low has been used for decades in Nigeria and it
worked.

The present negative interest rates is rather new and a departure from the norm and might have begun during Emefiele's term in office.

I gave you an oversimplified view on how it works

The banks and other large institutional investors are those that mop up these bonds. Banks prefer to lend to government or the CBN as there's a guarantee there won't be a default.

The speed at which you termed it a fantasy is worrisome and typically Nigerian. It's judgmental. Nigerians are quick to denounce and discredit many "foreign" economic policies as unworkable here in Nigeria, especially anything stemming from the IMF and the World.

Yet, under a former World Bank executive, Okonjo-Iweala, the country's foreign debt went from $35bn to $5bn, and she left $20bn in the Excessive Crude Account.

Re: World Bank Doubts CBN’s Ability To Curb Inflation Employing Rate Hikes by RepoMan007: 3:21pm On Jun 14
grandstar:

The use of interest rates to keep inflation low has been used for decades in Nigeria and it
worked.

The present negative interest rates is rather new and a departure from the norm and might have begun during Emefiele's term in office.

I gave you an oversimplified view on how it works

The banks and other large institutional investors are those that mop up these bonds. Banks prefer to lend to government or the CBN as there's a guarantee there won't be a default.

The speed at which you termed it a fantasy is worrisome and typically Nigerian. It's judgmental. Nigerians are quick to denounce and discredit many "foreign" economic policies as unworkable here in Nigeria, especially anything stemming from the IMF and the World.

Yet, under a former World Bank executive, Okonjo-Iweala, the country's foreign debt went from $35bn to $5bn, and she left $20bn in the Excessive Crude Account.
lol. The reality on ground contradicts your logical assertions and submissions.

Anything outside production driven system is just temporary guess work at best.
Re: World Bank Doubts CBN’s Ability To Curb Inflation Employing Rate Hikes by blueAgent(m): 9:40am On Jun 16
TrackerSK:
You dey smoke? Provides solutions to a first class accountant?

Audio first class accountant grin
Re: World Bank Doubts CBN’s Ability To Curb Inflation Employing Rate Hikes by blueAgent(m): 9:48am On Jun 16
SIRAO:

But we have seen great improvement I infrastructures under the PAC Government compare to 2015. it is better we have those things that will develop our economy to cheap food.

Zombie.

Which infrastructures?
Re: World Bank Doubts CBN’s Ability To Curb Inflation Employing Rate Hikes by OsoriaVictor: 2:52pm On Jun 18
This is a great idea by the Naija Brand Chick brand, if you are looking for fun places to visit in Lagos , here are our top 35 recommended locations for you ==> https://luxedental.com.ng/fun-places-to-visit-in-lagos/
Re: World Bank Doubts CBN’s Ability To Curb Inflation Employing Rate Hikes by Blazetrailer: 8:06am On Jun 21
Now that official records are out that Tinubu has borrowed more than any government put together in just 3 months, the fool that you are can not comprehend that paying back debts or interest on loans were not the reasons behind the poor economic decisions of your master. He simply got it wrong.

omohayek:

As if all the recycled angry gibberish you wrote demonstrates anything other than your ability to spew the kind of nonsense other ignorant Nairalanders want to read. Do you even have the first clue why Tinubu was forced (yes, forced) to adopt the measures he took in the first place? Do you think he wouldn't have preferred to play to the gallery of entitled semi-illiterates like you for cheap popularity if he had any choice in the matter?

Here's the answer: worldwide interest rates rose sharply over the last 2 years, meaning the cost of servicing all that debt accumulated under both GEJ and Buhari was no longer sustainable for a federal government already burdened with gigantic subsidies on both petrol and electricity. Something had to give, and if Tinubu had chosen to default on foreign loans for the sake of keeping fuel and electricity prices artificially low, Nigeria would have been cut off from international financial markets for a decade or more, and the current hardship you think you're enduring would seem like a luxury holiday by comparison.

Honestly, it's tiresome seeing all of you loudmouths confidently rambling on about matters of which you have absolutely no comprehension. You're the same sorts of buffoons who think you can tell Christian Ronaldo how he should be playing while sitting in bukas nursing your pot bellies with bottles of stout.

Nothing To Show Tinubu Is Prepared To Solve Nigeria’s Problems – Atiku / Saraki: I Wasn't Arrested, Only Honoured EFCC's Invitation / IREV: The Number Of Accredited Voters Gets Automatically Submitted