Stats: 3,176,460 members, 7,897,945 topics. Date: Monday, 22 July 2024 at 11:47 PM

Akomst's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Akomst's Profile / Akomst's Posts

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Education / Re: Share Your Experiences As A Postgraduate Student In A Federal University! by akomst: 9:19pm On Jan 10, 2017
ffrreeee:

The ABU where I'm currently doing my MSc collected 141,900 from me last year, and I'm planning to pay #110,000 this January for my second session.
The issue of accommodation isn't true o. The accommodation for PG students is limited just like any other school
The issue of lecturers demanding for sex and money from students is truely rare
But the lecturers are just like those in the west and east, they delay students. No student has graduated from my department since the program started 4 years ago
So, no much difference

You're right, accommodation for the female isn't much impressive. Though LIMITED, Akenzua Hall aside other mini halls for male is quite expansive as I've stated. I've also highlight the same problems in my earlier post as the ones you stated, i.e. not much difference from other universities.
Education / Re: Share Your Experiences As A Postgraduate Student In A Federal University! by akomst: 11:42pm On Jan 08, 2017
efficiencie:
I have not heard from postgraduate students from Ahmadu Bello University. I would like to know what's going on in that university...It may be relatively better than the crappy schools with big name i have attended!

Postgraduate studies at ABU isn't any much different from other universities in Nigeria i.e. the fees are high (80-120k per session), the lecturers are god-like, poor or unavailability of research facilities, delays in completion of study, some department barely have classes for PG students and PG School rules are non-binding on the lecturers, they don't give a care of what the rule says.

But there are a few thing I do appreciate about the university as well ; unlike complaints from other universities, ABU has an expansive accommodation for her PG students, it has a reliable WiFi for all its students (UG/PG), general security is good and the campus is always neat and condusive, and electricity and water supply is near constant. And I've not heard of cases of lecturers asking for sex of money, maybe it does happen but definitely rare !

Islam for Muslims / Re: Introduction To Tawheed - Continuation - Eemaan. by akomst: 12:45pm On Sep 16, 2016
Jum'at Mubarak. Thanks for the write-up
Science/Technology / Re: Between Albert Einstein And Thomas Edison Who Contributed More To The World? by akomst: 3:18pm On Sep 03, 2016
tdayof:
Albert. Even Nikola Tesla was greater than Thomas Edison. Edison tried to discredit Tesla and his inventions , which a true genius would have never done.

It would be not prudent to compare them, but still I'd go with Albert Einstein.
The reason is clear; Einstein's famous 'thought experiment' was something that was never thought of previously (however there are claims that the conclusions drawn by Einstein were already contrived up by someone before, but let's just leave it), and still remains fundamentally correct.

Edison certainly has several patents to his name, more than a thousand, but then one should know the fact that it was not only Edison behind what these patents are. His whole team was behind the curtain, and their credits were credited to Edison. It also is easy to grasp that the inventions he did, like gramophone, voting machines, etc. (mind well light bulb wasn't invented by him, he just perfected it) could be made by other individuals sooner or later, he was just the 'first one'.

On the other hand, the ideas posed by Einstein are revolutionary, out of the box, yet true. Not only did he dare to establish his weird idea, but also proved them, mathematically, stating that he didn't hypothesize things. Until now, nobody and nothing has disproved Einstein's theory of relativity. It has stood shiningly through all the tests scientists have posed.

Edison also was not a better person by nature. He literally harassed Nikola Tesla, an other better genius counterpart of him, because Tesla just said that Edison's direct current system was inefficient; which led to the famous 'war of currents' between them, which was of course won by Tesla.

[b]For those who'll argue that there is no impact of Einstein's ideas on the common man compared to Edison's, here's something to read:
-Einstein's theories of relativity (both, general and special) play an important role in GPS navigation system most of us internet users rely upon.
-Einstein's paper about the photoelectric effect revolutionised the solar panels, which are likely to be one of the primary technology which is needed to be perfected for the future absence of the conventional energy sources. He got the Nobel prize for this.
-Due to his ideas, we've been able to understand the universe in a better way, and hence the astrophysics is flourishing.
-Electromagnets (which inarguably play a substantial role in every person's life) are better understood by Special theory of relativity. (Google 'relativistic electromagnetism')
For physicists, his ideas still serve as the supporting blocks to develop new theories.
-His prediction that gravity 'bends' the space-time and hence light, ruptured Sir Newton's theory about Gravity; now we know Gravity better.
-His concept of bending of space-time helped physicists understand the presence of dark matter.
-His one of the spookiest theory about Quantum Entanglement was later proved to be correct, which might (repeat, might) provide an insight on the development of technology for teleportation.
Yes, he has made certain mistakes, but they still fail Edison to elevate intellectually compared to Einstein, in my opinion.
The bottom line:
Mother earth could have given birth to an other Edison, but Einstein is unique. [/b]
Also I have the graceful Time magazine to back me up:
[img]http://qph.ec.quoracdn.net/main-qimg-2fae49e7b370ca8924bec4c366a75702-c?convert_to_webp=true[/img]

Comparison is out of it. If you really enjoy physics, you will know the difference. It's not just about reading about their achievement.

I had that time magazine in the early 2000 and it was motivational particularly the story of Einstein and Isaac Newton. You just did Justice to the op question.

Webmasters / Re: How Website Errors Affect Search Engine Rankings by akomst: 9:26am On Aug 19, 2016
My blog akomst..com seems to have one of the errors - "blank white page" - that you mentioned above, particularly the mobile page. I used a free third party template on blogger, any help ?
Politics / Re: Amina Mohammed's Daughter, Samira's Wedding Photos by akomst: 5:35pm On Aug 15, 2016
Pretty woman. But, do the rich still lavish in this tough season ?
Travel / Re: 10 Interesting Facts About Kwara State by akomst: 11:01pm On Jul 15, 2016
fratermathy:

Thanks for this.

Learning, they say, is a continual process.

If not that I opened this thread, I wouldn't have known these new facts now.

Even though I have my own reservations based on my findings, I'll let this slide because I am not an indigine of Kwara.

The best you could do is to ignore "YourNemesis" as he called himself.
Ilorin of old is divided into quarters i.e. Yorubas quarters, Hausa/Gobir quarters, Fulani quarters, Kanuri, Nupes and other tribes quarters.
If he indeed knows Ilorin as much, he wouldn't deny that very few family houses could be ascribed to Yorubas and I mean no disrespect, yet many more of Fulanis including the ruling family houses and few to the remaining tribes.
Because everyone speaks Yoruba, hence its easy to be fooled that the majority are of that ethnic stock, but like every other territories ruled/conquered by Fulanis, Fulfude isn't used as lingua fraca except for the likes of Adamawa, most often, language of the community or its environ is adopted and in this case, Yoruba, being the language of conquered territories south of Ilorin.
Lastly, ethnic ownership of the town is rarely debated as the binding force of the different tribes in the town is far greater than ethnicity i.e. the Love of Islam.
Yes you would find Yorubas especially from SouthWest fighting for claims on historical ground with help from a few agitators from the town, most of whom are politically disadvantaged.
You did a great job and I love it.

Sports / Re: Muhammad Ali Dies At 74 by akomst: 6:57am On Jun 04, 2016
tunshe:

He will meet his Lord as Muslim and be rewarded for submitting to Allah alone.
I pray to also die as a Muslim. Amin!
Amin

Webmasters / Re: What Are The Advantages And Disadvantages Of Uk Non Hosted Adsense? by akomst: 6:46am On Jun 04, 2016
What's non hosted ad sense again. I have one on my blog, is it that type ? or different www.akomst..com
Webmasters / Re: How To Auto Generate Short Urls Of Your Posts In Blogger With by akomst: 12:25pm On May 22, 2016
Good
Crime / Re: Ifesinachi Abductor Abdul Released After Police Pressure From Powerful Quarters by akomst: 11:34pm On Apr 04, 2016
Useless conjecture from a IPOB News Stand riddled with lies and self praising clauses.
Politics / Re: Zakzaky Ran Parallel Govt For 20 Years, Zaria Residents Allege by akomst: 8:34pm On Dec 27, 2015
oduastates:
it does not mean that you should kill 300 people just like that.
I guess that omoluabi values makes for a different way of thinking.

Only one group had big guns and the onus was on them to minimise the use of violence.
From all the videos I 've seen, it was the army shooting at defenseless if petulant people who could have been dislodged with tear gas and rubber bullets. Or simply by the governor asking for audience with their leaders.
That their camp was destroyed a few days after, also means that this was premeditated.
It was murder pure and simple and that event has no place in a decent society.
You can check on YouTube to find more videos.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mhOWjwqLmRw

Thanks for making sense, I've made enemies among friends for saying the same as you, but it doesn't move me. If the truth be told, our army was wrong and I do not subscribe to some alleged activities of the sect either.
Worst still, the president, under whose watch, over 300 lives was lost in less than 24hrs has been quite.
Fashion / Re: Photos Of MBGN 2015 Contestants Released By Silverbird by akomst: 7:53pm On Oct 22, 2015
ilovelikes:
I am from the eastern part of Nigeria, but believe me, this pageantry is total trash.

Igbo girls representing Yobe, Zamfara, Sokoto, Osun, Ondo, Niger, Nassarawa, Kwara, Kogi, Kebbi, Katsina, Kano, Kaduna, Gombe, Ekiti, Benue, Bauchi, Adamawa and Abuja.

How come?

I thought no one will notice it. If truth be told, no decent girl/lady from any of those states -most especially northern states-will enroll for a show of nudity in the name of beauty(pageant). Come to think of it, only few are really beautiful even with the heavy make-ups, artificial hair do, un-natural eyebrow, extremely painted lips and ...

Education / Re: Nigeria's 5 Best Universities For Postgraduate Studies; Their Costs & Duration by akomst: 10:51pm On Oct 02, 2015
onyeogalu1:

.What are you studying?

Why do u care sir
I better not speak much
Education / Re: Nigeria's 5 Best Universities For Postgraduate Studies; Their Costs & Duration by akomst: 6:20pm On Oct 02, 2015
fratermathy:

My findings show that ABU has good staff strength and that Oral Defence stage is relatively easy to scale through. Maybe the problem is unique to your department or my sources are trying to glorify the school.

Get your findings right sir.
Education / Re: Nigeria's 5 Best Universities For Postgraduate Studies; Their Costs & Duration by akomst: 4:04pm On Oct 02, 2015
I rush here to see if ABU made it to the list and I was sad it did embarassed
ABU Postgraduate School is simply after your money, be warned. I better don't say more, ... am still in d system.

Religion / Re: You're Not A Tested Christian Until You Have Lived In The North - Pastor Adeboye by akomst: 11:26pm On May 09, 2015
Dumb statement. And don't sweat hard to explain the rubbish spewed on his behalf
Politics / Re: Aftermath Of Elections!!! Two Men Divorce Wives For Voting For Apc by akomst: 2:25pm On Apr 16, 2015
wasco24:
guys leave religion out of these, somepeople are just wicked no matter the religion they belong to, beside jam'a local govt is christian dominated area PDP won for both may 28, ap 11 election in the lg

Pls educate the ignorants on NL shouting Islam. olodos
Politics / Re: Aftermath Of Elections!!! Two Men Divorce Wives For Voting For Apc by akomst: 2:21pm On Apr 16, 2015
mulattoclaro:
Islam. What a pity.

Hate has blind you. Read again and point to where Islam was mentioned. Kaduna is a multi religious state and d area mentioned is likely a Christian dominated area.
Politics / Re: Aftermath Of Elections!!! Two Men Divorce Wives For Voting For Apc by akomst: 2:16pm On Apr 16, 2015
SHARIAREPORTERS:
Islam!

Where in the op did u read Islam. Bigot like you. Moreover, the area mentioned in the article is like a Christian dominated area of kaduna judging by one of the name mentioned in article. Ignorance has blind u
Politics / What Actually Happened At Akiolu’s Palace; Why We Clapped, Laughed – Punch by akomst: 12:12am On Apr 10, 2015
A lawyer, Atueyi Chukwudi Felix, has revealed why he and other Igbo people who were at the palace of Oba of Lagos, Oba Rilwan Akiolu, laughed and clapped when he threatened and cursed Igbo if they did not vote for the All Progressives Congress governorship candidate, Akinwunmi Ambode. Felix said Akiolu was only joking and speaking with them as friends, adding that friends were always free with one another. He alleged that the person who did the video the event and made it public had a political motive. The motive, he said, was to curry favour for the Peoples Democratic Party. Felix noted
that he felt it was expedient for him to speak up before things get out of hand.
He said: “I strongly suspect that all this is being portrayed in this manner simply to curry votes for the Saturday’s coming election, which is already at hand.”
He stated that the ongoing saga might compel some people, who had hitherto been indifferent to their civic
duty, to go out of anger and vote against the Oba’s advice, just to dare him.
He said: “What the Oba said was fully and simply directed to only the Igbos present at the meeting who His Majesty considered to be very close to him and should understand
him well enough.
“When one talks to his very close friends, he tends to be very free with them. “He was being very free with those present at the meeting and wanted us to realize how serious and close he takes us and our votes because he could not imagine us giving him our words only to turn
back and do the very opposite.”
Felix stressed that Akiolu did not force them to the meeting. According to him:
“We were the ones that went to him on solidarity visit, so it would be very evil of us to only go and deceive him there. “He only jokingly
warned the people present at the meeting who he considered his own people.”
The lawyer argued that if close attention was paid to the video, which went viral, Nigerians would discover that there was no specific point he referred to ‘all the Igbos in
Lagos.’ He said that it was because they were close friends to Akiolu and understood him quite well that those of them present at the occasion applauded and laughed at the end of his speech.
“We were expected to thereafter talk to our people in civilized manner to convince them and canvass for their votes if we truly
believe we are capable of doing so,” said Felix.
“The tradition of lagoon water threat was directed only to those present there at the meeting, jokingly as culture demands.
Although he appeared serious, but we all understood it as a joke, that was why we all applauded him and made fun of it there.”
Felix said that he was shocked at the twist the play took after the video went viral, stressing that he suspected
serious politics at play. He said he wouldn’t know who recorded the speech and decided to play politics with it, but “it’s most unfair to his
majesty to be portrayed in this manner.”

Source : www.newspunch.org/what-actually-happened-at-akiolus-palace-why-we-clapped-laughed-igbo-leader-reveals-the-untold/

Culture / Re: Historical Facts About Ilorin And Kwara Yoruba by akomst: 9:47pm On Apr 08, 2015
Doluseun:

Fulani never conquered any Yoruba town aside Ilorin

ogbomoso the nearest town to Ilorin from Oyo are predominantly Christians in fact 70% to 30% because they were stopped from furthering their jihad Ay ogbomoso border

That's the only reason you have to believe that Ilorin didn't conquer ogbomoso ?
But sorry, you are a little naive. Conversion to Christianity was a British colonial legacy and not of Ilorin subjugation of Ogbomoso. Ilorin went as far as sacking Oyo Ile, what more of Ogbomoso enclave - they will be lucky, if they escape the majesty of Ilorin cavalry. smiley
Culture / Re: Historical Facts About Ilorin And Kwara Yoruba by akomst: 9:11pm On Apr 08, 2015
macof:

What contradiction? Wats wrong with people trying to turn ilorin into a fulani city?
You forget there's more Yoruba presence in the town?

What contradiction? ok... At one point, the author claim that there was an attempt by Yoruba chiefs to dethrone the Fulani, but after succeeding, they enthrone another fulani. Isn't that a contradiction, that story isn't even true. Not at all.
I mentioned it elsewhere that, a superficial look at Ilorin appears to the eye as a Yoruba enclave, but in fact, Ilorin is bigger than that.
Culture / Re: Historical Facts About Ilorin And Kwara Yoruba by akomst: 8:38pm On Apr 08, 2015
lekahm:

BUT WHY DON'T WE HAVE HAUSA'S IN KWARA NOW?

Seriously the article is misleading. Yes there are Gobiri (Hausas) in Ilorin, likewise Kanuris, Gwaris, Nupes among other smaller ethnic groups - asides Fulanis and Yorubas. Am surprised at the author's claim of Ilorin being dominated by Yorubas. Its simply erroneous, though a superficial look at Ilorin may give the impression that its all Yoruba - hence, the Yoruba insistence that it be assimilated into its larger fold, but infact Ilorin is bigger than Yorubas !
Culture / Re: Historical Facts About Ilorin And Kwara Yoruba by akomst: 7:35pm On Apr 08, 2015
sammyj:
This is good historical fact that should enlighten both young and coming generation to eliminate false and wrong impression about Ilorin and Kwara people !!

This a story not an historical fact. Its reeled with contradiction and at best not coherent. Its more of a Yoruba bragging than an exercise to lay down facts. I would recommend you read any good Yoruba history book than this junk.
Politics / Re: Video of Oba Akiolu's 'Die In The Lagoon' Speech by akomst: 12:06am On Apr 07, 2015
adaweezy:
I listened to an mp3 voice on sound cloud purported to be that of Oba of Lagos and showing that Kabiyesi uttered those unfortunate words/threats. 

If that is true, I really feel it's a very bad moment of indiscretion for Kabiyesi to have said those things. It is totally unjustifiable. People say worse things in hush tones, they are never for public consumption. 

In any case, I think it's better for the warring parties to sheathe their swords. As unfortunate as those words are, a party may not emerge from it any better.

You do not travel 100 of miles to a foreign land and expect that you can determine who become their king for them. At least, you do not say it LOUDLY or RECKLESSLY.

Those who recklessly play INTRUSIVE POLITICS should do unto others what they can also accept from others. 

As God liveth, AMBODE is the next Governor of Lagos State and any INTRUSIVE gang-up politics that couldn't save GEJ will not safe Jimi Agbaje who is JUST KIDDING.

This tone has been missing in all discussion relating to this story.
Its true the Oba bears his mind to the igbo visitor, he was though harsh about.
And even if Agbaje win the Lagos State governor seat, the Igbo should be rest assured that they've drawn an unnecessary battle line in a foreign land and would be sending all the wrong signal to other host (state) communities where Igbo live and do business.
Just see how they've been insulting a Yoruba oba because he "goofed".

Politics / Re: Gov. Rochas Okorocha To Nd'igbo Your Greed Denied Us Senate by akomst: 7:03pm On Apr 03, 2015
dumodust:

btw I don't understand you... when the igbo states vote gej and pdp, it's bigotry and ethnic... but when the far northern states vote buhari and apc in the same manner, they are true nigerians cheesy... very nice logic for tribe tainted minds. The vote was a true reflection of nigeria, the far north just had more numbers.
Besides that, must every one vote apc Someone has to play opposition and doing so doesn't kill
as for marginalisation, we're used to it, sort of immune and tolerant now... growing up till this moment, the bent quota system and the wide differences in cut off scores for secondary school common entrance and jamb has made sure of that

You lied as to the claim of being immune to perceived marginalization, you still cry it a lot and its irritating. As to my use of bigotry, read the text I quoted to get a grasp of it. And the far North voted GMB to secure their interests just as the South-West did, its why Rochas is lamenting the possibility of Igbos being sideline at the center once more - a region doesn't play opposition, parties do. Nigeria politics is still about regional interest and only SE waste their opportunity. Its simple logic.
Politics / Re: Gov. Rochas Okorocha To Nd'igbo Your Greed Denied Us Senate by akomst: 6:10pm On Apr 03, 2015
Ymodulus:
Ethnic sentiments made the igbos take the step they did.

The closest Igbo man to the incoming Government is Dr Chris Ngige Onwa.

Lets break down things to see how bad Igbos are at strategizing? They couldn’t override their pathological hatred for General Buhari to make a hedge bet and return this man to the Senate, to enhance his chances at Senate President, incase General Buhari wins, which he did.

Instead folks played tribal and religious politics to the tilt as drunken sailors, and failed the man and the chance to make history as Senate President. That’s what happens when emotions trips common sense and folks succumb to hustlers like Peter Obi and Arthur Eze, hustlers after their own interests instead of the masses they pretend to serve.

I urged caution, I pleaded that we were making a huge mistake to hitch our wagon on Jonathan who wasn’t going to
win. And predictably he lost, so also our chance in the new administration.

Lets not gloat.

But maybe, maybe, only maybe he gets a good ministerial appointment, but nothing beats being Senate President.

Igbos are very bad at politics.

Fifty years after independence, they are yet to produce a president when others have taken multiple turns. Their answer is ? Blame others! If you only Hausas didn’t do this or Yorubas didn’t do that, perhaps the god of politics will bless our lot.

And sadly it won’t stop until they learn to coexist with others instead of our ‘better than thou’ attitude when dealing with the Hausas and Yorubas. They are not better than anyone.

Igbos don’t like the Hausas and same igbos don’t like the Yorubas, yet they populate their States in search for livelihood.

They should let their politics mirror their economic aspirations, not the other way around. There is no wisdom in living in the North, earning a living, yet despise the Northerners. That’s being ungrateful.

How long can this collective amnesia insulate the igbos from meaningfully seating at the table, making contributions to Nigeria’s political evolution?

How long can this foolishness go on? How long?

There is a miserable silence across the land today, because they are realizing that they were sold off for pennies by pimps who parade as Igbo leaders.

Where are they? Anyone home? The ohameze group is a disgrace and must be wiped off for the igbos to move ahead

You've said it all. The painful thing is how they (Igbo) will turn around to blame everyone else for their isolation, forgetting their bigotry and miscalculations. I hate it when Igbos cry marginalization. And they cry a lot.

Politics / Re: Northern Governments Fail To Sponsor Christian Pilgrimage – Jonathan by akomst: 5:55pm On Feb 10, 2015
omenka:
Just can't stand the sight of this man. He disgusts me more than anything else.
Seriously !
Islam for Muslims / Re: Happy Islamic New Year 1436 AH To All Muslims by akomst: 12:39pm On Oct 24, 2014
post=27408276:
oooo so una dey run pass normal calendar??

You show sheer ignorance.

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 68