Stats: 3,197,319 members, 7,964,364 topics. Date: Wednesday, 02 October 2024 at 12:30 PM

Canuck's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Canuck's Profile / Canuck's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) ... (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) (of 37 pages)

Politics / Re: Jakumu English Nonsense. You Do Not Know How To Write English.(junk English) by canuck(m): 5:13pm On Jul 19, 2010
I recall reading a post by a kool-aid drinking Jakumo fan who was convinced that NL's most beloved politics poster is none other than Prof. Wole Soyinka himself! grin

Maybe Jakumo can't help himself, coz as pointed out by Jarus, the guy has been consistently shelling out Junk Engrish "big grammar" for almost 4 years.

PS: To Becomerich, a maxim on equity rings true - "He who comes into equity must do so with clean hands" - My Canadian bros, your posts hands are not clean on the matter of Engrish o  cheesy
Family / Re: Is Marriage Now Old-fashioned? by canuck(m): 2:35pm On Jul 19, 2010
I still plan to continue spending money, despite the ever-increasing rate of counterfeiting.

Same goes for marriage.
Celebrities / Re: Dr Nelson Mandela Turns 92 by canuck(m): 2:28pm On Jul 19, 2010
Ninety-two Vuvuzela-salute for Papa Mandela. . . Vvvvvvvuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!  cheesy

Politics / Re: Fg’s 7% Growth Report Questioned by canuck(m): 6:26pm On Jul 16, 2010
Are we talking about statistics generated by the same Federal Government of Nigeria?

Those stats have always been hogwash.
Culture / Re: How Do You Define A Nigerian? by canuck(m): 3:34pm On Jul 16, 2010
homerac7:

Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999

Chapter III
Citizenship

25. (1) The following persons are citizens of Nigeria by birth-namely-
(a) every person born in Nigeria before the date of independence,
either of whose parents or any of whose grandparents belongs or
belonged to a community indigenous to Nigeria;
Provided that a person shall not become a citizen of Nigeria by virtue
of this section if neither of his parents nor any of his grandparents
was born in Nigeria.
(b) every person born in Nigeria after the date of independence either
of whose parents or any of whose grandparents is a citizen of Nigeria;
and
(c) every person born outside Nigeria either of whose parents is a
citizen of Nigeria.
(2) In this section, "the date of independence" means the 1st day of
October 1960.

Naija Person: Hi
Meyri's Cousin: Hey
Naija Person: I saw you at an owanbe last week, no?
Meyri's Cousin: What does 'owan-bee' mean?
Naija Person: Sorry, it means a party in Nigerian parlance
Meyri's Cousin: I see; yes I was at the party on the corner of High Street
Naija Person: But ain't you Nigerian?
Meyri's Cousin: Well, I'm American, but according to Chapter III Section 25 Subsection 1c of the Nigerian constitution, I am Nigerian
Naija Person: Nne, na wa o!
Meyri's Cousin: No way? Yes way!

Na so the Naija Person begin drag with Meyri's cousin o!
Politics / Re: Babangida Campaign Takes Delivery Of 500 Cars by canuck(m): 4:08pm On Jul 15, 2010
A convoy of X number of cars that loops around the country will NOT drive him into Aso Rock. It's not going to happen!

He will back down shortly.
Celebrities / Re: Meet The Four Richest Nigerian Pastors. by canuck(m): 3:52pm On Jul 15, 2010
What's with these marauding atheists quoting the Bible to knock Pastors? And in orishi-rishi versions sef! Msheeew! Na wa o!

While these attacks on Pastors are distasteful, I choose to see a positive side to it - Threads like these remind Pastors (and aspiring Pastors) that they are human, subject to the scourge of the tongue, and are being watched by ALL eyes (Rom 14:16 - "Don't allow what you consider good to be spoken of as evil"wink.

"Who do men say I am?" (Matt 16:13) remains a valid question every Pastor should keep asking like Jesus did.

It keeps their feet to the fire.
Music/Radio / Re: "The Nigerian Hip Hop Star (Nneka) Hailed As The Next Big Thing"- Cnn by canuck(m): 2:57pm On Jul 15, 2010
Didn't know of her until today's CNN headline screamed "Nneka is coming!" cheesy

Great music. Inspiring musician.
Sports / Re: Top 10 Flops Of The World Cup by canuck(m): 2:59pm On Jul 14, 2010
Notice how 9 INDIVIDUALS and 1 NATION were noted as flops? An entire country of flops?! angry
Politics / Re: Ribadu To Emerge As Ac Presidential Candidate by canuck(m): 4:47pm On Jul 09, 2010
Aahhhh. . .The beauty of open debate: I enjoyed Jarus' analysis as much as I gbadun mikeansy's prognosis cheesy
Family / Re: 70% Of Nigerians Are Mentally Unstable - Psychiatrist by canuck(m): 4:34pm On Jul 09, 2010
Abeg, @Redman44 & co, before you hang Dr. Psychiatrist by the noose, answer this question:

"Do 70% (or more) of Nigerian leaders exhibit mental instability in form of blind greed, aggravated kleptomaniac tendencies (aka corruption), unreasonable grip on power, and lack of sensitivity to those they swore to serve?"

If yes, the apple never falls far from the tree.

Persin wey dey craze be the last to know say him craze o! Na the cure we suppose dey look for. grin
Politics / Re: Jonathan Slashes N16.4 Billion Nigeria @ 50 Celebrations Budget by canuck(m): 4:18pm On Jul 09, 2010
Double N:

6 Million Naira to design a website and host for two years!!! shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked Naija!!! Na Bill Gates &Steve Jobs dey design abi? And the hosting going to be done by NASA Bunch of ignorant buffoons!
Ebele GL, you dey fall my hand o!

Gates would have done it for free!  cheesy

Kidding aside, many highly talented Nigerians would build a befitting website for less than 10% of N6,000,000.
Politics / Re: Jonathan Slashes N16.4 Billion Nigeria @ 50 Celebrations Budget by canuck(m): 4:14pm On Jul 09, 2010
OAM4J:

I thought it was N10B before, so it was actually N16.4B

This is enough tool for a credible opposition to finish him during the next election.

Gosh!!! 1 day event that adds not much value to us, or to the common man on the street, for N9.5 Billions?

What 'Owambe party' is this man throwing? Is he crazy?

May be we should bombard his Facebook page again - If he backpedaled for FIFA, he may just eat the humble pie for this one too. Sad.
Politics / Re: Jonathan Slashes N16.4 Billion Nigeria @ 50 Celebrations Budget by canuck(m): 4:10pm On Jul 09, 2010
UNLEASHED:

For God's sake! What are we celebrating

That is the $16.4Bn question!
Politics / Re: Julius Berger Explains Inflation In N257bn Contract As "Math Error" by canuck(m): 9:33pm On Jul 08, 2010
redsun:

This kind of situation is why 419 emerged.419 was born as a result of the corrupt practices of nigerian government and multinational companies like julius beger

The proceeds from the over inflated needs be lodged in a safe account abroad and that is where the mugu comes in to reap where he or she did not sow.

Never blame the player,blame the game.

Hmmm, Word! 
Politics / Re: Jonathan Slashes N16.4 Billion Nigeria @ 50 Celebrations Budget by canuck(m): 8:01pm On Jul 08, 2010
@ Topic

Does GEJ have a backbone at all? He balks at every sign of resistance to his decisions - First, it was to FIFA, now, to save face with Nigerians.

While saving some money is good, how can he stand up to the polical hawks? They will probably use a well-oiled backdoor to siphon the N6.9Bn shortfall! Same difference!

E be like say Mr President no get liver jor!
Politics / Re: Hon. Patrick Obahiagbon's New Grammar: by canuck(m): 6:24pm On Jul 08, 2010
~Sauron~:

I don't care what people say. . . . .Patrick Obahiagbon is a GENIUS.

Cohomology:

Seconded! The guy's vocabulary intimidates many of those riffraff politicians.

Would either of you gentlemen please take a moment to transcribe Hon. Obahiagbon's 20 seconds of incomprehensible tirade?
Politics / Re: 2011 Presidency: Momodou Or Okotie? by canuck(m): 5:39pm On Jul 08, 2010
2ndThought:

I personally nominate Sam Nwanti  - http://nigerianpresident2011.org/ - for comical relief grin

grin  grin  grin

This is too funny! Detective ko, C.I.D ni! But wait o, may be we need an incorruptible Olopa in Aso Rock.  cheesy

@ Topic

It's probaby time to give an egghead like Utomi the chance to have a go at this enigma called Nigeria. Plus, an Igbo (non-ceremonial) President for the first time ever!
Travel / Re: COMING TO CANADA??? Choose British Columbia by canuck(m): 5:04pm On Jul 08, 2010
Vie:

@canuck
What province will u recommend for a legal practitioner into medical law with a masters degree from the UK but not interested in returning to nigeria immediately as this aspect of the law is still new in nigeria. Can you recommend sites where info can be obtained?

Hi Vie - I am not a lawyer. However, I know that Canada's "Big-5" cities (Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver, Ottawa and Calgary), naturally have way more law firms than smaller ones, and may be more in tune with a specialized field as medical law.

Here's a directory of law firms that practice medical law in Canada:

http://www.hg.org/law-firms/Medical-Law/Canada.html

You may have this already, but here's what you need to know about penetrating the law profession in Canada in general:

http://www.flsc.ca/en/foreignLawyers/foreignLawyers.asp

Finally, here's a soup-to-nuts map, showing the step-by-step process for internationally-trained lawyers' entry in the Canadian market:

http://www.ontarioimmigration.ca/stdprodconsume/groups/csc/@oipp/documents/document/oi_doc_lawyers_2009.pdf

All the best!

Travel / Re: COMING TO CANADA??? Choose British Columbia by canuck(m): 4:02pm On Jul 08, 2010
Delta007:

Same thing with Engineering. NB just started a program that will accept foreign experience and grant you a P.Eng  ceritificate without writing exams all over again within a few mths

canuck:

Please provide the link for the NB engineering program that does not require exams for the P.Eng certification; I'm sure it will help a lot of people here (Or do you mean their MIT - Members In Training program? if yes, that's not a P.Eng certificate)

Oga Delta-JamesBond, we're still waiting for info on the P.Eng Certificate with NO exams in New Brunswick o! Don't go quiet on me now  smiley
Travel / Re: COMING TO CANADA??? Choose British Columbia by canuck(m): 10:45pm On Jul 07, 2010
Medlabgirl:

@ house, thanks for all the contributions. CANUCK is a lifesaver; you know your stuff Canuck.

I went to the dentist today, had to have a root canal done, so no be me dey here. I will be back tomorrow when hopefully I'll be feeling better.

Root canal?! Ouch!!!!!

My dentist is nudging me in that direction, and I am nudging her in the other direction! No be me she go take complete money buy house for Florida. . .my teeth dey kampe! Let me show you -> grin

Travel / Re: COMING TO CANADA??? Choose British Columbia by canuck(m): 10:42pm On Jul 07, 2010
lovelynk:

Canada,Canada,Canada?
What is it about this country sef?

Don't mind dem jor! Canada ko, karate ni! cheesy
Travel / Re: COMING TO CANADA??? Choose British Columbia by canuck(m): 9:49pm On Jul 07, 2010
Delta007:

This is the mistake lots of immigrants make i.e. writing off Eastern Canada or other provinces like say na ethnic diversity we go chop. As someone that has travelled (and lived) the length of Canada, I'd always advise immigrants (especially professional immigrants) to settle in the smaller provinces (NS, NB or even NFLD). There's no point moving to Toronto to rent or buy a house and compete with fellow immigrants to get jobs, while the Eastern provinces are always tweaking their programs to attract immigrants. For instance, if you are a medical practioner looking to practice, you are more likely to get your license easier in NFLD than in ON; infact, you can start practicing in less than a year and get a full license 2yrs afterwards then you can relocate to any province of your choice; but guess what? There are thousands of MDs in ON, AB & BC that have been applying for years trying to get in the system because of ethnic diversity. Same thing with Engineering. NB just started a program that will accept foreign experience and grant you a P.Eng  ceritificate without writing exams all over again within a few mths; the P.Eng certs are interchangeable within the provinces; but guess what? There are several hundreds of Engineers that have been writing exams in ON. I can go on and on; The trick to immigrating is planning properly and knowing what each province can provide you based on your outlook & priorities in life. If my parents were immigrating to Canada today, I'd tell them, go to Victoria cos it's a beautiful & nice place to retire. If you are into full time business, I'd advice you to move to Toronto because it;s very close to the US and you'd most likely be doing business in the US. If you are looking to settle as a professional and need a license to practice, you need to look for a province that has a clear cut program that will absorb you. Once you are absorbed into the system, you can move anywhere you want to. If you are looking for manual labour jobs, every province offers something although there are obviously more factories in ON, so there are more opportunities there. But then again, there are usually lesser applicants for every position advertised in the Eastern province compared to cities like Toronto and the cost of living is obviously relatively cheaper. When you find your feet, then you can move to wherever you can to find your diversity wahala; but quite frankly, no offence to other immigrants, I like my non-diverse neighbourhoods, relatively little or no crimes, house value appreciating everyday and you get to deal with people that know how to deal with other people. Unfortunately, immigrants (Africans, Indians, etc) most times end up in this part of the world very arrogant and ignorant, rude, loud and could care less about their neighbours. . .same traits we exhibit at home. I will not buy an overpriced property in Jane and Finch (Toronto) but I'd willingly buy properties in the Eastcoast.

A very useful rejoinder indeed!

You make good points on medical professionals and engineers in Eastern Canada.

Please provide the link for the NB engineering program that does not require exams for the P.Eng certification; I'm sure it will help a lot of people here (Or do you mean their MIT - Members In Training program? if yes, that's not a P.Eng certificate)

Good call on ditching Jane/Finch for the East Coast!  cheesy
Career / Re: Say Thank You To Someone Today For What You Have Achieved In Your Career by canuck(m): 8:29pm On Jul 07, 2010
jidobaba:

I guess that I am a cynical SOB a.k.a. ol' Mr Grumpy

I hereby post my sincere gratitude to those who helped me secure my university paali!

And also to my G's who introduced me to the 'game' so's I could make some change on the side while searching the job market- life savers, my G's

Clap! Clap!! Clap!!! grin
Politics / Re: Julius Berger Explains Inflation In N257bn Contract As "Math Error" by canuck(m): 6:38pm On Jul 07, 2010
desgiezd:

Is it ever possible to award a contract at a cost higher than the bidded rate even when there are no variations? They have simply topped each contract with #1billion and now the man is talking of mathematical errors. He should go and tell that to the marines.

And that top-up does not include the 'padding' that already went into the bidded amounts of N58.6Bn and N48Bn!

N-a-i-j-a!!!
Travel / Re: Is Canada Ticket Up To N245,000? by canuck(m): 5:51pm On Jul 07, 2010
hercules07:

Canuck thanks a lot, did the filter change c-u-m to come? Do they not mean the same thing? grin

Aha! I just assumed it was a typo. . .so it is NL's filter! LOL!

You're welcome jare.
Phones / Re: "Bharti Airtel Nigeria" - Zain Gets Yet Another Name! by canuck(m): 5:41pm On Jul 07, 2010
Quite unstable.

However, if this translates into better, cheaper service, Nigerians don't care if they change their name every week!
Career / Re: Say Thank You To Someone Today For What You Have Achieved In Your Career by canuck(m): 5:37pm On Jul 07, 2010
kokoye:

- - Thanks to my father for shedding tears and beating the hell outta me when I scored 17% in class three basic math - his tears turned my life around  - I had A1 in WAEC.

Wow! The love of a true father - He must be so proud! Very touching indeed. Glad for you that it all worked out!
Career / Re: Say Thank You To Someone Today For What You Have Achieved In Your Career by canuck(m): 5:26pm On Jul 07, 2010
jidobaba:

these experiences are only sweet to share when you've landed a good job.
and then you only end up making the jobless graduates, 'the others' quite upset undecided

A heart of gratitude towards those who contributed to your life will move you closer to your goals than being Mr. Grumpy.

My people talk say pickin way dey grateful for yesterday, MUST receive blessings today. You see youself so?!

Oya, before I open my eyes, post your gratitude to those who helped you secure your university paali!  cheesy

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) ... (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) (of 37 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 55