Stats: 3,176,457 members, 7,897,941 topics. Date: Monday, 22 July 2024 at 11:29 PM

EdgarAllan007's Posts

Nairaland Forum / EdgarAllan007's Profile / EdgarAllan007's Posts

(1) (of 1 pages)

Education / Re: Unforgettable Definition You Learnt In Secondary School by EdgarAllan007: 6:56pm On Dec 09, 2023
Economics is a science that studies human behaviour as a relation between ends and scarce means which has alternative uses.
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: My Most Important Job At 5000naira/month by EdgarAllan007: 11:25am On Aug 19, 2023
Wow, this is a whole load of advice to unpack, thank you for the detailed response.

From your reply, I noticed that the opportunity to meet different clients on a daily basis contributed immensely to your career success.

I know that accounting is not really a "client-facing" profession but is there any career path in accounting where I get to meet new people regularly?

Was thinking of public accounting but since you stated (in your initial post) that you worked at a small-sized audit firm am kinda confused, or should I be looking at the Big 4? Thanks in advance.

Skyview01:

Thanks for your response. I went into accounting by mistake and would not call myself and original accounting career minded individual.
I did sciences in high school and could not get into IT and engineering at the time so i settled for accounting. Its not bad to start with. If you are passionate about the course from the get go, you are more likely to succeed better than myself and it would not be fair for me to discourage you from your passion.

As a final year student, you should try everything humanly possible to graduate with at least a 2.1.

As an accountant, if you get into a multinational or good oil and gas company, you will make money.

I got into banking along the way and I learned a lot. To suceed you need ideas and contact with different succesful people on a daily basis and in accounting, i stayed in the same office every day doing the same thing and meeting same people for more than 5 years.
When i worked as an advisor in the bank, I got to meet tons of people who come to my office with business ideas looking for financing and i would meet with a minimum of 10 business individuals everyday for five years.

Imagine listening to people some of who wired over $100,000 dollars daily and i got to stylishly ask them questions about their business.

I also learned communication and presentation skills in the banking and the reason why i am successful today in my business is mostly because of my banking experience. I was able to see all the money flows not available to others and made good contact.

Excuse me for a while, i will be right back.

Jobs/Vacancies / Re: My Most Important Job At 5000naira/month by EdgarAllan007: 5:29am On Aug 19, 2023
How did you sustain yourself financially?

Pacesetter2021:
I remember as a fresh graduate in accounting, I looked for employment to no avail. I then searched online for audit firms in my city.

I dressed up and went to the first on my list. There I met with the owner of the firm who harshly told me he doesn't have vacancy and I told him, I will work for free.

The man looked at me and said okay .

At the end of the month, he may have pitied me as he placed me on a 10k take home.

I thanked him because I wasn't expecting anything.

It was a great experience and it wasn't long after, my cv was no longer bare. I started job hunting online while working.

Less than 6 months later,I landed my first official job in another audit firm with a take home of 70k. From there to a job of 120k etc etc. It has been from glory to glory

Most times being selfless and adding value generously pays.

I am healthy and strong, God gave me these for free, why should I not work hard to add value where I find myself? That's my school of thoughts.
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: My Most Important Job At 5000naira/month by EdgarAllan007: 5:23am On Aug 19, 2023
First of all let me start by saying that your post is a well written one (can't wait for the next). With that said, here's my question.

What career advice would you give an accounting student (final year) who wants to leave the field in the near future?

Do I start as an accountant (to gain experience) then transition later on or begin the process now? You mentioned one path (banking) but if you have more options, I will be more than grateful.

Skyview01:

Nope. Accounting as a field is in high demand for migrating out of the country but not a paying profession.

No real money in accounting with limited upward mobility.

I went into banking in Canada before founding my own company.

I needed lots of money and accounting would not give that to me unfortunately.
Education / Re: ICAN November Diet 2023 by EdgarAllan007: 4:51pm On Aug 15, 2023
Can an online transcript serve as a statement of result or will I have to get an official statement from my department?
And yes my school is accredited by ICAN (UNICAL)
Chiedumaga:

Edgar you can but make sure your school gives you at least your statement of result.
Then check if your school has ICAN accreditation because that's what will qualify you to enter Skills without delay after you have submitted to them all your relevant documents and must have paid exemption.
Education / Re: ICAN November Diet 2023 by EdgarAllan007: 2:21pm On Aug 14, 2023
Does this mean I can't write ICAN until I get my BSc certificate? Am in my final year and would like to start skills level immediately I finish (i.e before NYSC posting)

SEALL:
hopefully, i will be writing and thats if my sch finnally release my cert. should have reg but na sch dey hold me since.
Politics / Re: Fuel Purchase Reduced By 50 Per Cent, Reduce Pump Price – IPMAN Begs Tinubu by EdgarAllan007: 10:25am On Jul 20, 2023
If demand is down, price ought to come down too.

Why is the reverse happening?

Fashion / Re: Tiana Uche Michael Crowned Queen Of South East Nigeria Pageant Winner by EdgarAllan007: 10:20am On Jul 20, 2023
Chai, see as she fine
Religion / Re: The High Rate Of Immoral Sex Amongst Young People Today by EdgarAllan007: 1:05pm On Jun 25, 2023
Stevengold:
sad
And yet Sweeden is organizing a sex competition. Nobody is saying anything, Almost all adverts and video skits are tilting towards sex and immortality. Infact We should expect a higher version of Sodom and Gomorrah.
The news about sweden hosting a sex competition was actually fake.
Education / Re: IELTS: Share Your Experience, Ask Your Questions, Tell Us Your Score If You Can. by EdgarAllan007: 4:19pm On Jun 14, 2023
EdgarAllan007:
Remarking is not done in Nigeria. If you registered with BC, it will be remarked in London and if you registered with IDP, it will be remarked in Australia.

It will takes approximately 9 weeks before you can get your result.

Education / Re: IELTS: Share Your Experience, Ask Your Questions, Tell Us Your Score If You Can. by EdgarAllan007: 4:19pm On Jun 14, 2023
For those complaining about the remarking process, I'll drop an update below
Career / Re: A Day In The Life Of A Tech Intern: What To Expect by EdgarAllan007: 8:44pm On Mar 22, 2023
Why do I feel like this article was written using ChatGPT?

(1) (of 1 pages)