Stats: 3,197,907 members, 7,966,367 topics. Date: Friday, 04 October 2024 at 01:25 PM

Kodemann's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Kodemann's Profile / Kodemann's Posts

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Family / Re: My Name Is Not On The Property We Both Contributed For! by kodemann: 8:58pm On May 09
The first mistake is investing heavily in Nigeria.

Like some wise person pointed out earlier, if the investment had been in the UK, it would be hard for the husband and his funny family to lay 100% claim on it.

Nigeria might be your origin, but you gotta ask yourself - where is home?

For me, home is where you live, where you make your money, where you raise your kids, and where you make a life. Too many people abroad make investments in Nigeria while ignoring the better secured opportunities where they live. I might excuse those that are illegals in foreign countries, but if you have legit rights to live in the country, best to invest there than build houses that you might only visit for 2 weeks in a full year.

It's a Nigerian thing to feel a strong inclination to build something at 'home" but we need to escape these atavistic tendencies and think globally. if you put your money in something as basic as Apple or google stock for example, your investment is more than secure, sure to grow and a low chance of it getting stolen from your kids in the event of your death. You cannot say the same for properties and even Nigerian businesses.

For me, I'd rather choose to live out my old age in a secure country with basic needs met, investments secure and my immediate family around me rather than hope for some future where I'll go back to a 'home' where i hardly know anyone, have to deal with poor healthcare, power supply and social resources.

Think people, think.

5 Likes 2 Shares

Foreign Affairs / Re: Irish Prime Minister Varadkar Resigns Over 'Personal, Political Reasons' by kodemann: 10:45pm On Mar 20
SultanOfAbia:
The bitter truth is that Africans are Sub humans. Africans are still developing.

cry

Speak for yourself, Mr. subhuman. Reading too much media has brain-washed you into thinking you are less human because of your environment.
Family / Re: Single Nigerian Ladies In Diaspora, Any Reason Why You Turn Down Our Guys? by kodemann: 7:27pm On Nov 29, 2023
Klass99:

I am not in the diaspora but I stumbled on a thread where someone made a sensible comment about this same issue.

They said something to the effect of everyone being too smart because of their papers/stay, nobody wants to compromise or make sacrifices, for the sake of an authentic relationship because too much sense is worrying all of you there.Na una know wetin dey worry all of you sha!

From my observations, there's a tendency in most of you japarians to gravitate towards self conceit and a vain superiority complex, where you start to think you're better than other Nigerians because;

1. You've lived in obodo for XYZ number of years or you have papers, so even new immigrant Nigerians are like an affront to you guys (meaning their very presence in your host country is like an offence)

2. You think with your papers you have finally arrived what can any Nigerian offer you again. But your papers alone don't provide healthy social interactions, good friendships or companionship, laughter and fun moments with others.

I see that superiority complex even here on NL with folks who haven't lived overseas for 2 years, I smile and shake my head, thinking to myself, poverty is really not a good thing. When you grow up privileged very little about the white man trips you to a point where you start to insult or look down on your country and fellow country men. Because you grow up knowing what your own people are made of and capable of. It's not so much about privilege alone, but having a healthy dose and sense of self worth, self esteem and self love.

My friend engaged an asian cabbie in conversation in the UK, while riding in his car. The cabbie told her it is very disappointing to see the way we Africans/Nigerians in particular behave overseas. He said we are quick to throw away our cultural values to embrace western ones, we are the ones who are quick to talk back to parents and disrespect them (that was an incident he witnessed in his cab with a Nigerian family)

Whereas he sees Indians, Chinese and some Asians hold onto their cultural values and practices, maintaining the family unit, and refusing to let the west negatively influence them. I think the cabbie's experience and narrative, may help you understand why you are having a hard time finding a Nigerian date.

Well-written rubbish. Maybe go to "diaspora" yourself and experience if this is true. This post is guilty of the same thing you're accusing the older immigrants of. It's always some cabbie or some far fetched story that cannot be verified.

People adjusting to their new surroundings and culture is very essential for survival. If you live in a developed country for more than 2 years, you will change inevitably because you start to see the the stark differences in culture and thought that has left Nigeria hopelessly backwards. So when a new immigrant comes to you, and you try to correct them or teach them new realities, they see it as you feeling superior. This is your problem

If your friend and his cabbie have no statistics to back up their views, let them hold their peace.

Celebrities / Re: Mohbad: How Police Picked Up Sam Larry From Lagos Airport On Arrival From Kenya by kodemann: 8:28pm On Sep 29, 2023
Time for you to think. What if all these woes you have listed here happen to you for real, since you are bringing it upon yourself to scam people? Think and repent of this shameful act before it's too late

Christy70:
please guys please don't just scroll pass. please I beg you in the name of Almighty GOD pls, If any good samaritan can please help me, no matter how little so we can buy foodstuff and cook, I will be very happy. my daughter and I we are starving. Please help us the last time we ate a good food was from our neighbor on  sunday. Since then we have surviving on drinking garri since Monday and the garri we use to have hope has finished. the little money I have I used it to pay for house rent so that we can at least have roof over our head. am pleading for help please, not for my sake but for my daughter please am a single mother. No matter how little it will go a long way to help us. May GOD bless you

Acct num: Faith
First Bank
Travel / Re: How Do I Behave Myself When I Go Abroad by kodemann: 11:01pm On Apr 27, 2023
This is one of those few occasions where "BE YOURSELF" is bad advice.

Travel / Re: How Nigeria Airport Staff Welcomed Me Home After 4 Years - Nigerian Man Laments by kodemann: 1:15am On Dec 22, 2022
If he didn't wrap it now, we would have said he was not careful enough. the idiots on this thread blaming him for not being careful enough have obviously never returned to Nigeria from anywhere and they don't understand how baggage handling works.

You don't see your bag until it comes to the carousel. Between unloading from the airplane and sending it for baggage claim, several airport staff have unfettered access to your bags and belongings.

I will go out on a limb and say that perhaps the wrap attracted them in the first place. Nigerian people are just dishonest. very sad and annoying. If this can happen on a regular basis - what are the chances that they would not put something incriminating in your bag just to get you in trouble??

The people responsible for this are not different from robbers. Robbers with a job: rob returnees and visitors of their belongings.

Damn!

Celebrities / Re: Pretty Mike & Women Wearing Penis Pants Attend Don Jazzy's Mother's Funeral by kodemann: 1:26am On Oct 09, 2022
Extremely disrespectful to the soul of the departed.

However, on second thought - he who gathers ant infested firewood invites lizards for a feast.
Celebrities / Re: Kate Henshaw Shares Video Of Floods In Dolphin Estate by kodemann: 3:00am On Sep 13, 2022
With flooding getting worse by the year in Lagos, we have all the signs of a looming major environmental crisis in a few years triggered by climate change and ineffective waste management. Nigeria and more especially, Lagos needs strong waste management and zoning laws. As an example, every major city in the world, even those not as nearly populated or endangered like Lagos are enacting policies to address single use plastics but none like it in Lagos.

The government, and Nigerian environmental scientists are doing nothing to address this. Shocking that a coastal city has pollution of this magnitude, considering its low altitude and proximity to the Atlantic.

Lekki landlords, be informed.
Politics / Re: Tinubu Group Offsets 40 Abuja Patients’ Hospital Bills by kodemann: 1:50pm On Sep 02, 2022
IF THE GOVERNMENT HAD CREATED A HEALTH INSURANCE SCHEME FOR ALL CITIZENS, THERE WOULD BE NO NEED FOR THIS LOTTERY BASED HEALTH BILL HANDOUT.

A 'GOVERNOR' IN CANADA FOR INSTANCE, CANNOT GO AND PAY ANYONE'S HEALTH BOLL SIMPLY BECAUSE EVERYONE IS ALREADY COVERED AND THERE IS NO BILL TO PAY. Don't get blinded by all these "philantropy" from failed government officials.
Travel / Re: Untold Truth About Why Immigrants Are Leaving Canada by kodemann: 9:16pm On Aug 27, 2022
Do not be deceived, people. The data points cover not just Nigerian immigrants, but settlers from all over the world. We are talking about people from England, Spain, Mexico, Nigeria, India, Bangladesh, the US. Every foreign born settler is an immigrant. Therefore, when the data tells you that some immigrants are leaving and you think they are talking about NIGERIAN immigrants, then you have been robbed. The immigrants that are leaving are those that have other options in their home country, not Nigeria where everything is tight.

He who has an ear, let him hear.

14 Likes 5 Shares

Politics / Re: BBC Mentions Tony Kabaka As A Cultist Who Worked For APC (2021 Video) by kodemann: 7:42pm On Aug 19, 2022
If a cultist like Kabaka endorses you publicly and the society has nothing to say about it, then the society deserves the kind of leadership it gets. Tinubu is in bed with Oluomo in Lagos, Sunday Adeyemo in Ibadan and other Yoruba states, and Kabaka in Benin. Lets not mention the hordes of Almajiri and illegal voters from other countries that will enter to vote for him.

Nigeria is a failed country.

If the youth can stand up to be counted, then evil will not win.

Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Nigerian Abandons N24 Million A Year Job, Relocates To U.K by kodemann: 12:11am On Jul 21, 2022
WatchYourSix:
.who da heck leaves 24 million per year job for masters in uk..

Thats a senior management remuneration ...
make una no dey cap any how jarè....People always like fabricating worst case scenarios to prove a point ..

Just say you don't know people.
24m per annum is like 2m per month. If you check it, boys that are working remote jobs are earning way more. For someone to earn that amount in Nigeria, they must be good at something. That same something will get them better offers out there. SO when you talk, pls remember that your circle of friends shape the way you see the world. Don't use that to judge.

Politics / Re: Femi Fani-Kayode: Nigeria Now World’s Mass Murder, Terrorism Capital by kodemann: 8:59am On Jul 07, 2022
FFK IS SAYING THE TRUTH

HOWEVER, knowing this man. For him to have said this, it means THERE IS NO FOOD FOR HIM HERE

The fact that he's saying the truth on this occasion does not make him a saint. Even a broken clock is correct twice a day.

ALATENUJE

Religion / Re: UK Govt Shuts Down Tobi Adegboyega’s SPAC Nation Over £1.9 Million Fraud by kodemann: 7:15pm On Jun 17, 2022
This is coming too late. I dislike that piece of animal excrement pastor with a passion.
Crime / Re: Nigerian Fraud Suspect Extradited To U.S. Over Alleged $148,000 Scam by kodemann: 7:52pm On Apr 27, 2022
Wow. He got his own personal oyinbo escorts to the US. He has made it in life!

Free flight, free everything, no need for visa sef.
Politics / Re: Fani-Kayode: Nigerian Leaders who Worked For UK, US by kodemann: 6:28am On Apr 25, 2022
FFK, you are stupid man seeking relevance by force.

5 Likes 2 Shares

Crime / Re: Nigerian Man Detained By Italian Police For Beating Wife Throws Baby From Storey by kodemann: 10:21pm On Apr 05, 2022
If I were a judge, I'll give him 50 years for attempted murder.
Foreign Affairs / Re: Anatoly Chubais Resigns And Flees Russia by kodemann: 9:05pm On Mar 23, 2022
Igbofam:
Where are the Putin fanboys who shout Western Propaganda everywhere. This news was declared by RUSSIA'S own media outlet TASS.

E don zehh for Russia
. grin

Those pro-Russia fools are nowhere to be found now. Complete idiots that cannot tell dictators from patriots. Many of them cannot survive the conditions ordinary Russians are subjected to, yet they sit here on the free internet and spew rubbish. I honestly wish many of them could be banished to Russia and I'll see if they remain pro-Kremlin advocates after 2 months of suffering and rights violation

Politics / Re: Russia May Take Sanctionary Measures Against Nigeria by kodemann: 8:39pm On Mar 12, 2022
This professor was making sense until he said Nigeria should get nuclear weapons.

Hello sir, good afternoon, how is the family?
Can Nigeria manage hydroelectric and gas power properly first?

Foreign Affairs / Re: Volodymyr Zelenskyy: Ukraine Left Alone To Fight Russia, 137 Dead by kodemann: 4:28am On Feb 25, 2022
Armaggedon:
You dragged your country into needless war.
NATO is not FIFA for goodness sake, it is an anti Russian military alliance. Having them in Russia's border is enough provocation.

Forget that they're neighbors. What right does Putin have to interfere in the way another country chooses to govern itself? India and Pakistan have totally different ways of life and ideas about governance and yet they coexist. What Putin is doing here is simply avoiding the Russian people rising up against his dictatorship. Most young Ukrainians and Russians alike do not agree with the iron handed rule of Putin and the communistic tendencies they had in their history. Putin, as far as we know is a soviet era relic who has simply refused to move on. All of this war-mongering will lead to his inevitable downfall. Last time I checked, he is the richest world leader with an estimated worth of 70 billion dollars.

What is happening now is like Britain coming back to haunt Nigeria if Nigeria should choose the Organization of Islamic Nations, just because Britain colonized us in the past. No one, regardless of their opinion has the right to invade another nation without provocation. America attacks only when there is justified cause.

Your example of US and Mexico does not hold water because the contexts are different. Russia is an aggressor that has attacked its neighbors many times in the past, and has used its military power to intimidate Ukraine, Belarus and others. The relationship between the US and Mexico and Canada is one of mutual respect and cooperation. What we're seeing in essence is Ukraine asking for NATO to shield them from an historical and present-day external aggressor.

So please before you oversimplify things, make sure you have your facts right and read up some international history. Allow me recommend this video on the history of Ukraine and Russia so you will understand the context better:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nK-yJD_fAtk&t=8s

Family / Re: A Black Caregiver Gets Wicked Treatment From Her White Boss's Mum (Photo, Video) by kodemann: 4:07pm On Feb 21, 2022
I'm not old so I cannot completely judge.

However I do believe that when one is mentally challenged, inhibition is greatly reduced and the true intentions of the heart come out without any filters. If you were a kind person facing mental illness, your kindness would shine through. The reverse is unfortunately true as well.

Practice kindness from the depths of your heart so that when you are not there, your body knows what to do by default.

I wish them good health.
Education / Re: Marwa Seeks Drug Tests For University Students, NDLEA Campus Outposts by kodemann: 2:36am On Feb 11, 2022
ManirBK:
By their comments we shall know them!!

I really commend NDLEA for this initiative.
It's a welcome development. Let the test be
made mandatory in all sectors in order to
have sanity in our system.
Not only the students lecturer also must be
tested because they are part of the system.

I support that it should start with the younger generation, where you can still intervene and enforce compliance. How do you stop someone like Fani Kayode from taking his drugs? But with the youth, you can still stop them before it's too late. Besides, the older generation have lived their lives already - nothing you can do to them at this stage.
Crime / Re: Lady Murdered By Boyfriend, Dumped Body In Acid Filled Bathtub In Australia(Pics by kodemann: 11:38pm On Feb 09, 2022
Complete piece of shit should never see the sun again. Keep him locked up forever!!!!!!
Politics / Re: Reno Omokri: Oby Ezekwesili Does Not Have A Beautiful Face. by kodemann: 2:04am On Feb 08, 2022
THIS IS HIS UNDOING. HE HAS CROSSED AN INVISIBLE LINE
Family / Re: Finally!! I Moved Out Of My Parents House!! by kodemann: 3:31am On Feb 05, 2022
Congratulations. I remember the first place I ever rented as well. This is a great step !
Sports / Re: I Am On The Run Because Of Sport Betting by kodemann: 10:27am On Feb 01, 2022
FERNANDEZISBACK:
Poorly written story..next time learn to give proper details and not try to paint betting in a negative manner then attribute it to nonsense..

Muntula! Did you get the info or not? and what makes you entitled to the full story? The way you write, you have 2 full stops between 'story' and 'next. Perhaps you meant to type the ellipsis but your writing sucks as well. Maybe try improving your own whack writing before pointing out the fault in another person's.

I guess 'Fernandez NEEDS TO RETURN' to wherever he's coming from and learn how to write well before pointing out the speck in someone's eyes.

Religion / Re: Yahoo Boys: Pastor David Ibiyeomie Tells Police Stop Collecting Money From Thems by kodemann: 6:32pm On Jan 28, 2022
Until he forbids his members from bringing ill-gotten wealth as offering, he has no moral right to caution the police.

Nigerian Pastors cut from the same cloth as Nigeria Police. They are one and the same.

Politics / Re: ISWAP Training Child Soldiers In North-East Nigeria (Photo) by kodemann: 8:40pm On Jan 19, 2022
The North will reap the fruit of mediocrity they have sown.
All the years of leaving Almajiri boys to their fate will come back to haunt all the "big men". Those same kids they failed to empower will be their end.

Imagine how a country sets poor standards for education simply because some people are from "educationally disadvantaged areas". a boy from the North gets to study medicine with jamb score of 190 while a bright kid from the south has no chance even with 250. You can see how the north played themselves systematically.

Nigeria is in a sad state right now.
Damn!

Religion / Re: HITTING Your Foot Against A Stone As A Christian. Meaning? by kodemann: 9:02am On Dec 12, 2021
Mark 13:22 -

because false messiahs and false prophets will appear and produce signs and omens to deceive, if possible, the elect.
Source: https://bible.knowing-jesus.com/words/Omens.

Please do not get drawn into omens. We have a God who is not bound by physical signs. Please pray to Him for guidance and try not to leave room for thoughts to get into your head.
Religion / Re: Marriage Was Not Designed To Make You Happy - Pastor Kingsley Okonkwo (video) by kodemann: 1:56pm On Dec 11, 2021
FOOOOL. No biblical backing for this nonsense he's preaching.

The Bible that says that man is better with a woman is joking abi? If you're better, wont you be happier? The whole thing falls on itself.
Food / Re: My Brother Brought Home 2 Monkeys This Morning (photos) by kodemann: 9:33pm On Dec 03, 2021
I eat chicken, therefore I judge you not.

But I will not lie and say that those photos did not touch me. They seemed like innocent monkeys, and now they're food.
Politics / Re: Passenger Destroys Properties At Lagos Airport Over Missed Flight (Photo, Video) by kodemann: 6:13pm On Nov 19, 2021
He'll miss the next Egypt Air flight for sure. He's not going anywhere anytime soon.

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 65