Stats: 3,184,991 members, 7,925,093 topics. Date: Monday, 19 August 2024 at 10:13 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (12534) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12279983 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (12531) (12532) (12533) (12534) (12535) (12536) (12537) ... (16530) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 2:33pm On Jan 31, 2022
Joezinho:

I think Dele Ajiboye. Not too sure though.

Not him. I think one in Slovakia or so. Not sure too.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joezinho: 2:48pm On Jan 31, 2022
forgiveness:

Then it has to be Sebastian Osigwe. Plays for Lugano in Switzerland. I think he got invited around November 2020 for the WC qualifiers.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 2:52pm On Jan 31, 2022
Joezinho:

Signor, I know chief Odegbami was a terrific player in his days short of old clips I've seen of him.. From what I've seen it looks likes he was a great dribbler and a good goal scorer but truthfully sir, many of the Green Eagles players during his era were average players compared to the SE players since 1994. They looked good against each other (IICC shooting Stars vs Rangers), but their averageness showed whenever they faced a team with semi-pro players. The only players from that era that could have made the modern era Super Eagles teams were Okala, Chukwu , Odegbami and Muda Lawal...

My point once again, is that Odegbami was a natural forward playing on the wings for the national team hence his high returns on goals while Finidi was a pure winger/ Right sided midfielder...
Do you think Uche Okafor, Thompson Oliha,Alloy Agu,Wilfred Agbonavbre,Emeka Ezeugu,Mike Emenalo would have made 1980 AFCON team...Pls add Adokiye Aimeseamaka,Felix Owolabi,Henry Nwosu,Best Ogedegbe to 1980 players who have everything to make 1994 team.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by nelszx: 2:54pm On Jan 31, 2022
PurpleHouse:
Judging by this Afcon performance of the SE, I strongly beleive we need Ighalo against Ghana, and at the world cup. In fact, we should forgive him and make sure he starts probably ahead of Osimhen.

I know Why.
You are John snow
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 2:59pm On Jan 31, 2022
Joezinho:

Then it has to be Sebastian Osigwe. Plays for Lugano in Switzerland. I think he got invited around November 2020 for the WC qualifiers.
Yes

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 3:10pm On Jan 31, 2022
Joezinho:

You are right. I think Matthew Yakubu.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Rapadl4(m): 3:15pm On Jan 31, 2022
Top 10 African footballers that lost their life's on the pitch

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dHhzbc8JOM0
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joezinho: 3:15pm On Jan 31, 2022
Kog45:
Do you think Uche Okafor, Thompson Oliha Alloy Agu,Wilfred Agbonavbre,Emeka Ezeugu,Mike Emenalo would have made 1980 AFCON team...Pls add Adokiye Aimeseamaka,Felix Owolabi,Henry Nwosu,Best Ogedegbe to 1980 players who have everything to make 1994 team.

No sir. But i think Peter Rufai, Uche Okechukwu, Ben Iroha, Mike Emenalo, Yekini, Amuneke,Chidi Nwanu , Uche Okechukwu , Oliseh would have made the 1980 AFCON team.

Signor, are you trying to tell me Aloysius Atiegbu, Martin Eyo, Ifeanyi Onyedika, Shefiu Mohammed, charles bassey were better forwards than Siasia or Yekini?

Or are Khadiri Ikhana, Godwin Odiye, David Adiele , Tunde bamidele better defenders compared to Uche Okafor, Chidi Nwanu or Uche Okechukwu?

What about Henry Nwosu, Franck Onwuachi? Better than Thompson Oliha and Jayjay Okocha?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by maidaboi(m): 3:42pm On Jan 31, 2022
Joezinho:

Mathew Yakubu is the one he is talking about

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by maidaboi(m): 3:43pm On Jan 31, 2022
forgiveness:

Mathew Yakubu
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joezinho: 3:49pm On Jan 31, 2022
maidaboi:
Mathew Yakubu is the one he is talking about

Forgiveness, i think this is the dude you are asking about Matthew Yakubu that plays for SFK Sered.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 4:01pm On Jan 31, 2022
lbrichman2:

Very high concentration levels
Superb confidence, exudes it
Knows when to rush out and when to stay back
Excellent with both feet
Knows how to do long and short passes
Great reflexes
In short, I LOVE THIS KEEPER!
If you watch Okoye's highlights, you would say you more than love him

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 4:27pm On Jan 31, 2022
maidaboi:
Mathew Yakubu

Exactly! Thanks
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 4:38pm On Jan 31, 2022
Oasis001:

All the 4 GKs shouldn't be invited again. None is good enough for the Eagles. Perhaps we should try out that Israel based GK, along with Leke Ojo. Uzoho might be considered as 2nd or 3rd GK.

I don't wanna see Maduka again in GWG until he begins to prove himself convincingly at Clubside. Especially if he eventually becomes No. 1 GK for Watford in EPL or Championship.

Maduka and Social Media caused us great Opportunity to win this Year AFCON Edition. I blame it all on Eguavoen though. He should have limited their Engagements on Social Media till end of Tournament.

Maduka did forget he's a Footballer. He seems more of a Model than a professional Footballer. Always seeking, craving for Ladies gibberish and Attentions...... don't wanna see him AGAIN.
So you think social media made Okoye to blunder? I do not think so. Was it social media that made Okoye concede four goals against Sierra Leone and one against Cape Verde?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 4:48pm On Jan 31, 2022
Joezinho:

You are right though. At one point Finidi George at his peak was regarded as the best right winger in world..

Dude was voted the best right sided midfielder in the world in 1998 ahead of Figo and Zanetti...
Finidi as a midfielder scored 16 goals for Real Betis in La Liga.

If only we have wingers with such intelligence now. I don't think Finidi dribbled much but his speed, off the ball running and tactical intelligence, crossing and passing + dead ball ability are some of the best I've seen of any African winger....
Did Finidi really have speed? I don't think so but he was extremely intelligent. It was said that if Finidi crosses the ball one of these two things will happen: the GK either catches the ball or the attacker scores. He was that good

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 4:49pm On Jan 31, 2022
Mujtahida:

If you watch Okoye's highlights, you would say you more than love him

I still don't understand that one. It is a very big mystery. Honestly I would make him see a sports psychologist before he returns to the team. If we just go by what we see at his club coupled with his career trajectory there shouldn't even be a debate. But on another hand his Super Eagles performances wouldn't be enough to get him a deal at Akwa United or even Dakkada

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 4:56pm On Jan 31, 2022
BascoVanVeli:

I still don't understand that one. It is a very big mystery. Honestly I would make him see a sports psychologist before he returns to the team. If we just go by what we see at his club coupled with his career trajectory there shouldn't even be a debate. But on another hand his Super Eagles performances wouldn't be enough to get him a deal at Akwa United or even Dakkada
It's a wonder to me and I've pondered on it to no end. Okoye's highlights shows him making incredible one on one saves. Man comes to Nigeria and every shot at him is likely to see him picking the ball from our net. It's a mystery.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 4:59pm On Jan 31, 2022
Astrid4:

Ezenwa never had a blunder for super eagles he was keeping cleansheet back to back for eagles during qualifiers and he conceded two goals in 6 games and the goals came through penalty none came from an open play and something spectacular about ezenwa you hardly test ezenwa in goal the reason is because he has a way he arrange his defense and bark instructions to his defenders
His theatrics was too much. Maybe that was a mask for his fears but he should have been more professional. We are not Kenya or Uganda. Although I agree he got us through the WCQ in fine mettle

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by quickberry(m): 4:59pm On Jan 31, 2022
forgiveness:

Matthew Yakubu of Sered FC
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 5:03pm On Jan 31, 2022
PurpleHouse:
Judging by this Afcon performance of the SE, I strongly beleive we need Ighalo against Ghana, and at the world cup. In fact, we should forgive him and make sure he starts probably ahead of Osimhen.

I know Why.
Ogbono go still draw even when e don sour but e don sour.

Ighalo will be in the conversation not because at this stage he's got quality we can tap in the team but because we are afraid since we feel our young guns didn't do much at the AFCON.

Left for me, Ighalo should rest. I watched him against Cape Verde and he was flat.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 5:04pm On Jan 31, 2022
Subzero47:

Propably ahead of Osimhen una, see what Tunisia did to these people
The defeat bend many people mind.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 5:08pm On Jan 31, 2022
Shukusheka:
Una dey use Youtube compilation dey judge players. Na so Chelsea take sign Bakayoko grin grin grin
I just dey laugh seeing many people go bunkers over him. He might be quality but it is not from YouTube highlights that I will reach that conclusion. Let him be invited, we will know the moment he steps on the pitch.

The first day I watched Karl Ikeme, I just knew this guy is solid. E no go better for leukemia.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 5:12pm On Jan 31, 2022
elyte89:

Ode ni bobo yi grin grin grin grin
It comes upon him like a wave. There was one 'madman' here that handled him quite well some weeks back and he was meek like a puppy. I shock that day.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 5:16pm On Jan 31, 2022
Simmy Nwankwo has joined Parma in the Serie B .
It's a wonder that after his 20 goals feat last season he ended up in the lowest team in the league and now back to the second division.
Some may say it's due to having a bad agent, but it's more due to not having some skillsets required of a modern day striker...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by chrisooblog: 5:18pm On Jan 31, 2022
For real!

Dude already had us forgetting about Enyeama. I'm sure it was Ikeme's impressive performances in goal that gave Oliseh the liver to dump Vincent like that.

Mujtahida:

I just dey laugh seeing many people go bunkers over him. He might be quality but it is not from YouTube highlights that I will reach that conclusion. Let him be invited, we will know the moment he steps on the pitch.

The first day I watched Karl Ikeme, I just knew this guy is solid. E no go better for leukemia.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 5:19pm On Jan 31, 2022
Joezinho:

Forgiveness, i think this is the dude you are asking about Matthew Yakubu that plays for SFK Sered.

Exactly! But he has been relegated to the bench.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by chrisooblog: 5:22pm On Jan 31, 2022
He was reasonably fast but not blistering like Ahmed Musa or Tijani Babangida. You have said it all his football IQ and crossing were elite.

Mujtahida:

Did Finidi really have speed? I don't think so but he was extremely intelligent. It was said that if Finidi crosses the ball one of these two things will happen: the GK either catches the ball or the attacker scores. He was that good

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 5:25pm On Jan 31, 2022
quickberry:

Matthew Yakubu of Sered FC

Yeah! Thanks.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 5:25pm On Jan 31, 2022
Danielnino00:
Simmy Nwankwo has joined Parma in the Serie B .
It's a wonder that after his 20 goals feat last season he ended up in the lowest team in the league and now back to the second division.
Some may say it's due to having a bad agent, but it's more due to not having some skillsets required of a modern day striker...

The thing pain me sha

Abi the guy no get good agent ni

20 seria goals is not an easy fit ,skill set or not dude should easily got an average club at worst
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 5:28pm On Jan 31, 2022
Subzero47:

Propably ahead of Osimhen una, see what Tunisia did to these people

That guy use to cap before the Tunisia defeat ,so never mind .
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by solonnachi: 5:37pm On Jan 31, 2022
darkelf:
1 week anniversary of no-hype of Naija players. This thread is a breathe of fresh air cheesy

If na before, we for don dey see - "his dribble was key and it lead to the pass that lead to the assist"

Very yeye and misleading fanbase

Guy. You are a bad child

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 5:39pm On Jan 31, 2022
BascoVanVeli:

It maybe passion. One guy told me some days ago that most of the full breed Nigerian players will always be ready to go extra miles and even sacrifice anything for the country's success unlike the FBs that are just playing for the country for playing sake. It sounded like a nonsense to me before but I think he got a point.

(1) (2) (3) ... (12531) (12532) (12533) (12534) (12535) (12536) (12537) ... (16530) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: 16 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 51