Stats: 3,169,740 members, 7,875,858 topics. Date: Saturday, 29 June 2024 at 11:34 PM

EPL Chatroom - All Discussions - European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) (1985) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / EPL Chatroom - All Discussions (1608964 Views)

EPL 2023/2024: Who Would You Say Is The Flop Of The Season? / EPL: Weekend's Results, Updated Premier League Table And Top Scorers / EPL: Five Things We Learnt From The English Premier League This Weekend (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1982) (1983) (1984) (1985) (1986) (1987) (1988) ... (4925) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by obainojazz(m): 7:40pm On Mar 16, 2023
Politicians have been stealing money that would have been utilised to build projects that’ll generate revenues… These guys have been our problem and they deserve no pity.

Imagine electricity was fixed 50years ago and the money not looted, we would have been focused on other things by now and let’s not forget how industries will thrive with constant electricity.

Imagine money meant to construct roads were not inflated or eaten and those roads actually happened… we for be talking about something else by now.

We are still talking about electricity and roads by this time when in reality… 90% of our Federal roads should have been constructed and we should talking about how to construct tunnels and co.

Let’s not even forget more than 50% of Nigerians don’t even pay tax…. Make money and chop alone 😵‍💫

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by DontBullshitMe: 7:47pm On Mar 16, 2023
Theflint1:
Lol, if only you knew how much our politicians steal from inflated contracts...we're talking about a country where contracts are inflated by up to 200 times their actual value and you're saying little will change if our politicians stopped stealing?

Politicians cannot steal outside the country's Government budget.

If a country's budget is 20 billion dollars, there are some obligatory spending like loan servicing, recurrent expenditures, subvention payment etc which cannot be avoided that will take about 80% of the 20 billion. The remaining 2 billion is what the Governor can then allocate for anything. So, basically there is a 2 billion cap to the amount he can steal.
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by ShaqFu: 7:48pm On Mar 16, 2023
liveLongNprospa:

How does inec having logistics issue change the fact that alot of people came out to vote and couldn't.

Isn't the blame supposed to be on inec?
Isn't this even a bigger indictment on inec?
how do you know alot of people came out to vote? Do you have the actual number of people who came out to vote but couldn't?
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by DontBullshitMe: 7:51pm On Mar 16, 2023
Ibime:

Country whose debt servicing is equivalent to80% of their yearly budget

Who no know say Naija done cast finish never wake up
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by Amigoss: 7:52pm On Mar 16, 2023
obainojazz:
Politicians have been stealing money that would have been utilised to build projects that’ll generate revenues… These guys have been our problem and they deserve no pity.

Imagine electricity was fixed 50years ago and the money not looted, we would have been focused on other things by now and let’s not forget how industries will thrive with constant electricity.

Imagine money meant to construct roads were not inflated or eaten and those roads actually happened… we for be talking about something else by now.

We are still talking about electricity and roads by this time when in reality… 90% of our Federal roads should have been constructed and we should talking about how to construct tunnels and co.

Let’s not even forget more than 50% of Nigerians don’t even pay tax…. Make money and chop alone 😵‍💫

This is not true.
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by Amigoss: 7:57pm On Mar 16, 2023
Private sectors,Civil servants,bus drivers,market women,artisans,shop owners, Business owners and contractors all pay tax in Lagos that I live in.Where does the 50% who dont pay tax come from?

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by Amigoss: 8:01pm On Mar 16, 2023
obidients are toxic,bullies,evil and lowlifes.innit?

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by liveLongNprospa(m): 8:08pm On Mar 16, 2023
If you calculate the amount stolen so far in each state from 1999 till now and inject it back into each states.

Tell me how the standard of living won't go up
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by DontBullshitMe: 8:14pm On Mar 16, 2023
obainojazz:

Nigeria has a lot of problems. Singling out the current Nigeria politicians as the sole problem of the country is a bit unfair. Though they also play a huge role.

You mention something about how if some problems have been tackled 50 years ago, we wouldn't need to confront those problems Today. So, Our past leaders also have their faults and blame.

The Nigerian populace also have its problems. There is the obsession for money, love for immediate consumption and the general lack of foresight.

There is also the crude and primitive brand of politics we play. Sharing political office zone by zone, ethnicity by ethnicity, region by region. Our Politics have also been monetised, the degree of your wealth will determine the office you can contest for.

So many issues. You can't just fix one and think that is all.

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by obainojazz(m): 8:14pm On Mar 16, 2023
Amigoss:

This is not true.
Below is from PWC around 2015

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by izzou(m): 8:17pm On Mar 16, 2023
obainojazz:
Below is from PWC around 2015

All the ones that Local government used to collect, especially the daily tickets that traders and commercial bus drivers pay, i hope you know it is not captured in this data?
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by obainojazz(m): 8:18pm On Mar 16, 2023
Amigoss:
Private sectors,Civil servants,bus drivers,market women,artisans,shop owners, Business owners and contractors all pay tax in Lagos that I live in.Where does the 50% who dont pay tax come from?
In Lagos that you live in but forgetting Nigeria no start and end in Lagos

Lagos is the only state maximising this potential and probably thanks to alphabeta….

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by liveLongNprospa(m): 8:18pm On Mar 16, 2023
Amigoss:

Lmaooooooo I say this thing be like staged stuff.. Yunno he's an actor
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by abduleez1(m): 8:18pm On Mar 16, 2023
izzou:

Ogun state has to be one of the worst states in Nigeria, compared to what they generate.

I no dey kuku like stats for Nigeria matter, because it doesn't tell 1% of the true story.

I want Dapo to win again and again. One day, the sufferings will reset their head

Ogun state is actually the most stupid state in Nigeria I've ever seen. Anytime I hear about that state na vex I dey.
Imagine the industries and factories in that state and it's proximity to Lagos. That state factories sef fit be times two of Lagos. I wonder what they do with their IGR for years.

Once you leave Lagos enter that state and e roads you go dey vex. Roads worse than bad state. You'll now be wondering whether some of the roads had ever been paved in its lifetime before.

E be like suffering and mediocrity no dey tire those indigenes. angry
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by liveLongNprospa(m): 8:19pm On Mar 16, 2023
obainojazz:
In Lagos that you live in but forgetting Nigeria no start and end in Lagos

Lagos is the only state maximising this potential and probably thanks to alphabeta….

It's the same everywhere actually.
The taxes the informal sector pays each day is alot.
Like you even get taxed to build your own house on your land you bought with your money
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by obainojazz(m): 8:19pm On Mar 16, 2023
DontBullshitMe:

Nigeria has a lot of problems. Singling out the current Nigeria politicians as the sole problem of the country is a bit unfair. Though they also play a huge role.

You mention something about how if some problems have been tackled 50 years ago, we wouldn't need to confront those problems Today. So, Our past leaders also have their faults and blame.

The Nigerian populace also have its problems. There is the obsession for money, love for immediate consumption and the general lack of foresight.

There is also the crude and primitive brand of politics we play. Sharing political office zone by zone, ethnicity by ethnicity, region by region. Our Politics have also been monetised, the degree of your wealth will determine the office you can contest for.

So many issues. You can't just fix one and think that is all.
Past and present leaders will share the blame… we’ve never been blessed with good leadership
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by liveLongNprospa(m): 8:20pm On Mar 16, 2023
Amigoss:

Delete oo.. It's from a movie set
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by kad199: 8:20pm On Mar 16, 2023
Roland17:

Using the cost of governance again doesn't fly. There are numerous types of Democracy. Democracies are adapted to fit the dynamics of every country. All the countries you used as example practice a type of democratic government that suits their dynamics. The developing/ poor countries in Africa have adapted theirs to fit what they want. What we are doing in Nigeria is intentioned to promote corruption and that is why there is no desire to amend our constitution. For example, INEC were given over N300Billion to execute the elections but somehow, the same election is riddled with large scale operation and technological issues that the N300Billion. What gives?

But was Inec actually given that money? Cos it would have been better they shared the money amongst us and Buhari continue to rule. Am sure we are not more than 300million people. grin
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by izzou(m): 8:20pm On Mar 16, 2023
abduleez1:

Ogun state is actually the most stupid state in Nigeria I've ever seen. Anytime I hear about that state na vex I dey.
Imagine the industries and factories in that state and it's proximity to Lagos. That state factories sef fit be times two of Lagos. I wonder what they do with their IGR for years.

Once you leave Lagos enter that state and e roads you go dey vex. Roads worse than bad state. You'll now be wondering whether some of the roads had ever been paved in its lifetime before.

E be like suffering and mediocrity no dey tire those indigenes. angry

The IGR they post online does not even reflect in the condition of that state.

That state suppose dey compete with development for Lagos.

There are more industries there than even Lagos (I might be wrong though)
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by obainojazz(m): 8:25pm On Mar 16, 2023
izzou:

All the ones that Local government used to collect, especially the daily tickets that traders and commercial bus drivers pay, i hope you know it is not captured in this data?
But how much is remitted to the government coffers?

Let’s even forget people that pay way below what they should be paying…

I’ve seen some people that had to pay five years worth of tax to show proof for japa purposes…. Now imagine how many that didn’t japa not paying.

Do you believe all revenue collected from drivers goes to the state account?

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by obainojazz(m): 8:27pm On Mar 16, 2023
liveLongNprospa:

It's the same everywhere actually.
The taxes the informal sector pays each day is alot.
Like you even get taxed to build your own house on your land you bought with your money
Are you talking omo onile tax as I never experience tax to build on your property…
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by izzou(m): 8:29pm On Mar 16, 2023
obainojazz:
But how much is remitted to the government coffers?

Let’s even forget people that pay way below what they should be paying…

I’ve seen some people that had to pay five years worth of tax to show proof for japa purposes…. Now imagine how many that didn’t japa not paying.

Do you believe all revenue collected from drivers goes to the state account?

You are making my point for me.

That data captures those who are documented.

But there are many people who pay tax to the government that are not documented.

A haulage bus pays 4000 every day in Alaba International to Local government boys. This is not captured in your data

Abi no be tax be that?
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by Roland17(m): 8:30pm On Mar 16, 2023
kad199:
But was Inec actually given that money? Cos it would have been better they shared the money amongst us and Buhari continue to rule. Am sure we are not more than 300million people. grin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPiP-EF01hg
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by Donjazet2: 8:31pm On Mar 16, 2023
Izzuo this was me 7 months ago. This was a post you attacked me for! You said I was being "controversial". Do you still think this post was controversial?

Donjazet2:
And just like that, once again we have an influential and prominent Yoruba leader in Lagos castigating the igbos.
Not hausas, not gwari, not itsekiri. Always the igbos.

WHY?? WHY??

What have igbos as a whole done to Tinubu that all his followers must always hate on this tribe? Just why??
Tinubu is turning Lagos is into a hotbed for tribal tensions and setting the tone for ethnic cleansing.

This is not right.
https://twitter.com/Franeb/status/1572538850756689920?t=CHCaS5N8n_OOPxVEGwP99w&s=19

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by obainojazz(m): 8:33pm On Mar 16, 2023
izzou:

You are making my point for me.

That data captures those who are documented.

But there are many people who pay tax to the government that are not documented.

A haulage bus pays 4000 every day in Alaba International to Local government boys. This is not captured in your data

Abi no be tax be that?
If I employ 5 drivers on 100k salary… They should pay PIT no matter how much they give to Local government boys.

I worked in a tank farm back in naija and believe me, the 4000 Naira gets added as business expense… what should be taxed is the driver’s earnings
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by BlueRayDick: 8:37pm On Mar 16, 2023
Donjazet2:
Blueraydick, how did this happen?

Lagos PDP collapses structure for labor party?
Does this give labor party an upper hand here?

PDP is a dead party in Lagos, nobody takes them serious . For u to know, how many seats did they win in the house of assembly elections ?
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by Joezinho: 8:39pm On Mar 16, 2023
Una true true deserve the ikpeazus and orjis.

Clowns.

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by izzou(m): 8:39pm On Mar 16, 2023
obainojazz:
If I employ 5 drivers on 100k salary… They should pay PIT no matter how much they give to Local government boys.

I worked in a tank farm back in naija and believe me, the 4000 Naira gets added as business expense… what should be taxed is the driver’s earnings

Your argument with prosper was that many people don't pay tax.

And i am showing you that the problem, in my opinion is that a lot of taxes are unaccounted for.

4000 daily as tax means the person is earning 40,000 a day. How many Nigerians earn that daily?

Our politicians will always post data as proof that few people pay tax, but then, there is a lot more of unaccounted tax going through the back door

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by ToyinDipo(m): 8:40pm On Mar 16, 2023
If you exchange Nigerian’s politicians for any of the 1st world countries, give them 20 years, they will ruin that country, these guys are the biblical locusts.

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by monerozi5590: 8:45pm On Mar 16, 2023
Ibime:

Country whose debt servicing is equivalent to80% of their yearly budget

Who no know say Naija done cast finish never wake up

Ibime you might be right but what can you make out of this file. This are official documents from DMO. Debt Management Office. Abuja. As of September 2022.

1... Nigeria Actual Domestic Debt Service.
2.... Nigeria Actual External Debt Service.

Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by monerozi5590: 8:55pm On Mar 16, 2023
raumdeuter:

Let's start with a state like Anambra how much of the $500m will go to recurring expenses how much

When you say harsh decisions like what? And how will the populace react to it? In 4yrs Soludo is up for re election and the opponent will be promising what he knows is not feasible

On campaign trail we will be hearing that there's no reason Anambra cannot be paying 100k minimum wage and every living soul in Anambra 40k per month

He knows this is not possible

But because of the style of governance we adopted we have to deal with this every 4yrs while also budgeting for expensive electioneering every 4yrs

It's either we increase the size of the cake or little will change even if Barack Obama becomes president

The oil we depend on majorly sef, the moment international prices shake we don enter yawa

No fear boss. We are actually diversifying our Economy. Non Oil Revenue might go up this year. We are expecting 10 trillion from the Non Oil Revenue. FIRS might make it public soon according to an interview I watched today on Arise TV.

We now have Steel Producing Plant in Nigeria. Na foreign investment sha. African Natural Resources and Mines Limited. Is situated in Southern Kaduna, Kaduna State. Another source of foreign exchange.
Re: EPL Chatroom - All Discussions by abduleez1(m): 8:55pm On Mar 16, 2023
Ibime:

Of course na

You mean am?? How can one apply??
Some sections need sanitization. grin grin

(1) (2) (3) ... (1982) (1983) (1984) (1985) (1986) (1987) (1988) ... (4925) (Reply)

Arsenal Fans Thread: Finally Reborn! The Red & White Army: FA CUP Champions 2020 / Fc Barcelona Fan Thread: "més Que Un Club" / Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion

Viewing this topic: 5 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 65