Stats: 3,170,678 members, 7,878,979 topics. Date: Wednesday, 03 July 2024 at 10:40 AM

'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG (14498 Views)

Tinubu Appoints New Leadership Across Information, National Orientation Sectors / Governor Akeredolu Swears In His Son, Babajide As Agency's DG, Explains Why / President Buhari Re-appoints Garba Abari, National Orientation Agency DG (2) (3) (4)

Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by iwaeda: 11:11am On Jun 12
donogaga:
The National Orientation Agency (NOA) has insisted that its version of the new national anthem released last week was the correct one.

The Director-General of NOA, Lanre Issa-Onilu, said this in a statement issued on Tuesday by the agency’s Deputy Director of Press, Paul Odenyi.

Mr Issa-Onilu was responding to an observation made by the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, on the national anthem during Tuesday’s plenary.

Mr Akpabio, during the plenary, identified errors in lines three, five, and 18 of the national anthem released by the NOA..

“Where you have, ‘Nigerians all, are proud to serve’, they said ‘Nigerians all, and proud to serve’, that is number one, it should be ‘are’.

“And then it said ‘though tribes and tongues may differ’, they said, ‘though tribe and tongue, I hope you understand and at the end where we said ‘Nigeria shall be blessed’, they did not say so. They said ‘Nigeria may be blessed’.

“We are using the word shall, which is compulsion, that this country shall be blessed. So, tell the National Orientation Agency to drop what they are circulating now. Congratulations to all of us” Mr Akpabio said.

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/mVvCK3bbFbZVcwBJ/?mibextid=oFDknk

Previous Thread:
https://www.nairaland.com/8122032/akpabio-identifies-errors-new-national
And
Criminals
Progressing in confusion. So much problem in APC camp.
grin grin grin grin grin grin
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by onuman: 11:12am On Jun 12
Hollyharjii:
What a national disgrace!

Can't you proofread it before signing it
Ha ha ha. And still claiming that his NOA revised anthem is correct.
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by onuman: 11:16am On Jun 12
MasterJayJay:
Babablus and confusion.

I will never sing that anthem. They don't even know the right version.

Tinubulation is using the anthem to distract us from his failures.

Then continue to sing your military dictators' call for more wars National Anthem. Who is forcing you to sing the original National Anthem which Nigerians from all sides approved for independent Nigeria in 1960?
New generation Nigerians, perhaps including you, were taught that Nigeria is a country formed by 36 states and Abuja with a unitary government system and a call for war National Anthem. They agreed.
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by Shurtman79(m): 11:20am On Jun 12
Confusion everywhere undecided
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by phemmie06(m): 11:20am On Jun 12
Of all the issue bedeviling the nation, the only thing that concerns the senators is tribes and tongues (i.e s)
Are they walking and working the talk?
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by MasterJayJay: 11:22am On Jun 12
onuman:

Then continue to sing your military dictators' call for more wars National Anthem. Who is forcing you to sing the original National Anthem which Nigerians from all sides approved for independent Nigeria in 1960?
New generation Nigerians, perhaps including you, were taught that Nigeria is a country formed by 36 states and Abuja with a unitary government system and a call for war National Anthem. They agreed.
Senate version of national anthem or NOA version, which one should Nigerians sing? That should be where your energy should be directed to.
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by phemmie06(m): 11:23am On Jun 12
kiss
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by Jackipapa: 11:28am On Jun 12
I Blame Tinubu!
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by Tareq1105: 11:28am On Jun 12
doggedfighter:
Akpabio ,try find shame preferably in your time.

Akpabio always putting himself in irrelevant things.

He's now on di*CK measuring National anthem assignment with NOA.

Nothing tangible to show as a speaker other than sending prayers into fellow criminals account.

Those observations by Akpabio are very germaine.

... "Nigerians all, are proud to serve..."(line 5) not Nigerians all, and proud to serve.

... though tribe(s) and tongue(s).... (line 3) should be in plural.

.... "Nigeria shall be blessed" (line 18) and not Nigeria may be blessed.

Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by kollog: 11:37am On Jun 12
donogaga:
The National Orientation Agency (NOA) has insisted that its version of the new national anthem released last week was the correct one.

The Director-General of NOA, Lanre Issa-Onilu, said this in a statement issued on Tuesday by the agency’s Deputy Director of Press, Paul Odenyi.

Mr Issa-Onilu was responding to an

observation made by the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, on the national anthem during Tuesday’s plenary.

Mr Akpabio, during the plenary, identified errors in lines three, five, and 18 of the national anthem released by the NOA..

“Where you have, ‘Nigerians all, are proud to serve’, they said ‘Nigerians all, and proud to serve’, that is number one, it should be ‘are’.

“And then it said ‘though tribes and tongues may differ’, they said, ‘though tribe and tongue, I hope you understand and at the end where we said ‘Nigeria shall be blessed’, they did not say so. They said ‘Nigeria may be blessed’.

“We are using the word shall, which is compulsion, that this country shall be blessed. So, tell the National Orientation Agency to drop what they are circulating now. Congratulations to all of us” Mr Akpabio said.

Previous Thread:

A committee will soon be set up to look into it and money will be allocated for that too.
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by bentenny(m): 11:43am On Jun 12
This is what happens when you rush a bill into law without making a holistic assessment!
We would have avoided all these inconsistencies if there was an engagement with the public!
Now we don't even know the correct one as the number 3 citizen is still dragging with the non existent NOA about a hurriedly rushed national anthem!
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by Hollyharjii: 11:44am On Jun 12
onuman:

Ha ha ha. And still claiming that his NOA revised anthem is correct.

Abi o
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by SocialJustice: 11:52am On Jun 12
These idiots can't even manage switching to a new anthem, no wonder the country is some how.
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by CrossRhodes: 11:55am On Jun 12
donogaga:

Mr Issa-Onilu was responding to an observation made by the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, on the national anthem during Tuesday’s plenary.

Previous Thread:
this is embarrassing
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by CrossRhodes: 11:56am On Jun 12
MasterJayJay:

Senate version of national anthem or NOA version, which one should Nigerians sing? That should be where your energy should be directed to.
Any version person like make e sing abeg
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by DaddyCoool: 11:57am On Jun 12
What this underlines is that Mr Apkabio is NOT good at English - hence his almost illiterate grammatical explanations.
NOA version is better and grammatically more correct
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by mastermaestro(m): 12:05pm On Jun 12
adioolayi:
Senate President sef..

I feel Senator Akpabio sometimes talks too much..
Why not send his concerns to NOA or even summon the DG of NOA for clarifications..

Why causing more acceptability problems for an Anthem that is yet to gain full acceptance of the masses.

Senator Akpabio...small small..abeg

You spoke really well. This is a minor issue that should be resolved through official lines of communication and not on television like Akpabio did. Now the agency does not want to look incompetent, it will defend itself publicly to protect its image and ego.

Recent gaffes prove that Akpabio has really depreciated mentally.
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by abidem4real: 12:07pm On Jun 12
donogaga:

Previous Thread:
How does this bring down the skyrocketing prices of foodstuffs and other commodities in Nigeria? Nincompoops!!!
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by Jeje247: 12:08pm On Jun 12
No be the anthem they spent 890 million for? Abi na another one
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by EmmyMaestro(m): 12:16pm On Jun 12
This is how it starts, they will soon leave the importance issues that need to be discussed and addressed and start engaging in senseless debates and be distracting everybody, don't worry it is when labor will off the power grid again, their head go clear
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by DeOTR: 12:20pm On Jun 12
DaddyCoool:
What this underlines is that Mr Apkabio is NOT good at English - hence his almost illiterate grammatical explanations.
NOA version is better and grammatically more correct
No, it shows you don't know basic English.
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by Diligence: 12:21pm On Jun 12
Fela comes to mind: CONFUSIONBREAKYBONEE

Applied
People's
Confusion
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by Honestey: 12:28pm On Jun 12
I thought this country has used this anthem before, why argument today?
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by Vulcan24(m): 12:35pm On Jun 12
Something is wrong with this picture called Nigeria! The painter was in a bad mood and the expression is off cue!

Anthem when there is no life in the human that will recite it!!!
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by sterlingD(m): 12:40pm On Jun 12
What is all this now?

Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by dtruth50: 12:49pm On Jun 12
This correction for don chop billions
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by FireUpNow(m): 12:50pm On Jun 12
Many Nigerians don't know this authentic national anthem ooo. Presido should have also brought back old pledge .
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by Lomprico2: 1:24pm On Jun 12
Distractions
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by Benmsu: 1:25pm On Jun 12
Even national anthem this people dey drag.
Na achievement?
Re: 'Our Version Of National Anthem Authentic' - National Orientation Agency DG by nedu666: 1:25pm On Jun 12
Akpabio and noa should go to court and sort themselves out

Senior Boko-Haram Member Arrested In Maiduguri / Umaru Musa Yar'adua's 64th Birthday (posthumous) Is Today! / Police To Investigate Wike Over Audio Tape

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 34