Stats: 3,170,693 members, 7,879,028 topics. Date: Wednesday, 03 July 2024 at 11:29 AM

Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo (20777 Views)

Rivers: Pro-Fubara lawmakers To screen LG Caretaker Committees today (see List) / Pro-Wike v Fubara lawmakers: Certified True Copies of Appeal Court Judgement / We Will Obey The Law: 17 Ebonyi Lawmakers Appeal Judgement Sacking Them (2) (3) (4)

Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by kcmichael: 1:42pm On Jun 14
Rivers Crisis: Appeal Court Adjourns Hearing Of Pro-Wike Lawmakers’ Pleas To June 20, Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo

An Appeal Court in Port Harcourt, Rivers State capital has ordered the 27 Rivers State House of Assembly members loyal to the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Nyesom Wike, to maintain status quo.

The appellate court gave the order at a virtual ruling held via Zoom on Friday on two Motions filed by Pro-Wike’s embattled Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Martins Amaewhule and 26 other lawmakers who defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in December 2023.

The lawmakers had filed an appeal challenging the order of injunction granted by the Rivers State High Court, restraining them from parading themselves as lawmakers and that their acclaimed defection was invalid.

SaharaReporters had reported that Rivers State High Court Judge, Justice Okogbule Gbasam, ruled that Amaewhule and the other 26 lawmakers were still members of the PDP.

The judge ruled that the claimants failed to provide evidence of the defection, stating that party membership can only be proven through listing on the party's register or a membership card.

Justice Gbasam emphasized that mere TV ceremonies and verbal declarations are insufficient to establish defection.

Since the lawmakers' names remain on the PDP's membership register, they are still considered PDP members, the court ruled.

But the Rivers State Government denied reports that the 27 lawmakers led by Amaewhule were still members of the PDP as ordered by court, saying such an assertion was misleading and false.

The government’s position was stated by the Attorney-General of the state and Commissioner for Justice, Dagogo Israel Iboroma.

According to him, the suit before the court did not seek to declare the seats of Amaewhule and 26 others vacant.

On Friday, the appeal court in a ruling on the first motion, granted the Appellants’ prayers for leave to compile and transmit the Records of Appeal, deeming the Appellants’ Brief of Argument as filed, accelerated hearing and a stay of further proceedings at the High Court.

However, the Appellate Court refused to grant the Appellants’ prayer for stay of execution and the setting aside of the interim order of the State High Court.

The court held that granting the Appellants’ prayer for stay of execution of the lower court order would amount to determining the appeal at this stage.

The court therefore ordered that the Appellants must maintain the present status quo pending the hearing of the appeal.

The court ordered that the Respondents are to file their briefs within 72 hours of being served.

It thereafter adjourned the hearing of the appeal to June 20.

https://saharareporters.com/2024/06/14/rivers-crisis-appeal-court-adjourns-hearing-pro-wike-lawmakers-pleas-june-20-orders

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Joshy4u: 1:51pm On Jun 14
Ahahahahah.... SIM Fubara has upgraded his network to 24G.
On Monday, all the local government chairmen will be left in the cold.
God no de sleep.

93 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by jlinkd78(m): 1:56pm On Jun 14
Nwanosike how mkt
Las las u go leave Ikwerre l.g.a office without being noticed

47 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Oghene86: 1:56pm On Jun 14
Joshy4u:
Ahahahahah.... SIM Fubara has upgraded his network to 24G.
God no de sleep.

Guy when man is against you, you can run to God, but when nature is against you there's nothing you can do, Wike's rascality must come to an end.

93 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by EngrKemp: 2:02pm On Jun 14
The court should maintain wiseness

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Joshy4u: 2:04pm On Jun 14
[quote author=Oghene86 post=130471844]

Guy when man is against you, you can run to God, but when nature is against you there's nothing you can do, Wike's rascality must come to an end.[/quote
I told people the South South politics is wired in a different way. No one man can control an entire state after tenure, not to talk of the region. Presently, Wike only small politicians he can control. The main people that made him strong is against him. Imagine fighting a political war that has all 4 former governors and crazy exmilitants against you.

14 Likes

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Mercenary123: 2:09pm On Jun 14
Finally, wike and his gangs otilo in river state

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by phantom(m): 2:15pm On Jun 14
End of Discussion ! The LG chairmen will be out by 18th June. That's one structure down for Fubara to install his.

44 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Nonny95: 2:15pm On Jun 14
Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by magoo10(m): 2:17pm On Jun 14
Follow who eye dey open you say no you prefer to follow drunkard.

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Mercenary123: 2:18pm On Jun 14
Any legal expert in the house should explain this ruling for us

Wike and fubara men are celebrating victory. Who do we believe now

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Seefinish: 2:20pm On Jun 14
Mercenary123:

I am not a lawyer but for my understanding, the judgement favor Fubara while Wike men are to wait till the ruling of the Appeal Court

On Tuesday's morning the local government chairmen who are loyal to Wike are going to look stupid because the new set of people are going to occupy their offices

63 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Emuf: 2:21pm On Jun 14
Seefinish:
U

U for Union
Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Melagros(m): 2:22pm On Jun 14
COMRADES, but some Agbadorians were happy some days back that a certain court had reinstated the foolish lowmakers

16 Likes

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Confirmedzombie: 2:25pm On Jun 14
The LGA chairmen are going no where on the 18th.

They will remain in office. Nobody I repeat nobody can remove them.

If Fubara has 10 heads let him match his foot into the councils.

No police, Army can remove any chairman.

We are on ground at PHALGA, obio Akpir, Ikwerre, Emohua etc.

18th will be bloody, we are ready waiting for Ipob to come remove our chairman.

Fubara will be thought a lesson. I beat my chest, ipob will be destroyed on 18th June.

Fubara bring it on, we are waiting

100 Likes 11 Shares

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by oyichi: 2:28pm On Jun 14
E don finish, congratulations Fubara

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by oyichi: 2:31pm On Jun 14
Confirmedzombie:

Fubara will be thought a lesson. I beat my chest, ipob will be destroyed on 18th June.

this one don smoke, after your tenure has elapsed, you want to remain in office as what?

104 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by chudu(m): 2:31pm On Jun 14
Confirmedzombie:

Tout

47 Likes 1 Share

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Oghene86: 2:34pm On Jun 14
[quote author=Joshy4u post=130471983][/quote]

Winter is coming, former lawmakers take heed and manage una small cash 😀 it's going to be a very long winter

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Joshy4u: 2:44pm On Jun 14
Oghene86:

Winter is coming, former lawmakers take heed and manage una small cash 😀 it's going to be a very long winter
The okwakwa go cold pass Rusia own

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Chikel20000(m): 2:48pm On Jun 14
Wike in d mud

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by F117nighthawk: 2:51pm On Jun 14
[😃😃😃😃😃 lovely submission

post=130471759]Ahahahahah.... SIM Fubara has upgraded his network to 24G.
God no de sleep.[/quote]

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by asiwaju60: 2:52pm On Jun 14
Oghene86:

Guy when man is against you, you can run to God, but when nature is against you there's nothing you can do, Wike's rascality must come to an end.
Did you even understand the ruling..

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Joshy4u: 2:54pm On Jun 14
Confirmedzombie:

Wetin you smoke don enter your brain already... drink enough water and sleep, you go de OK. Because even the chairmen are more confused than you are at the moment. Have you seen in Naija, where speaker de elongate stay of chairmen without Governor Something alien to constitution.

23 Likes 1 Share

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by crestedaguiyi: 3:02pm On Jun 14
make una let us rest for this state sha
Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by TheElites19s: 3:05pm On Jun 14
Mercenary123:

What the court meant is that Martins Amaewhule is still the speaker pending still next week when the court will give the final judgement

Appeal Court as replied on the ruling of State high Court that gave judgement some days ago

"The Court of Appeal however refused to grant the prayer for stay of execution and setting aside the interim order of the Lower Court as there is a presumption of correctness of an order of a Court. It held that granting same would be tantamount to determining the appeal at this stage. The Court went on to order that the present status quo should be maintained pending the hearing of the Appeal"

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Oghene86: 3:07pm On Jun 14
asiwaju60:
Did you even understand the ruling..

Since you understand the ruling go rest 😂, don't disturb me, don't know what is your business with Rivers State matter
Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by phantom(m): 3:09pm On Jun 14
TheElites19s:
What the court meant is that Martins Amaewhule is still the speaker pending still next week when the court will give the final judgement

Appeal Court as replied on the ruling of State high Court that gave judgement some days ago

"The Court of Appeal however refused to grant the prayer for stay of execution and setting aside the interim order of the Lower Court as there is a presumption of correctness of an order of a Court. It held that granting same would be tantamount to determining the appeal at this stage. The Court went on to order that the present status quo should be maintained pending the hearing of the Appeal"

Amaewhule or Fubara?
Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by Mercenary123: 3:15pm On Jun 14
TheElites19s:

. More confusion. The other guy that gave his own explanation said Amaewule is no longer the speaker while jombo is the recognize one
Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by TheElites19s: 3:35pm On Jun 14
Mercenary123:
. More confusion. The other guy that gave his own explanation said Amaewule is no longer the speaker while jombo is the recognize one
No real confusion like that because the court as make it clear that the state high Court didn't as jurisdictions on the case

But the saving grace for Martins Amaewhule for now, is the stay of execution he got from justice Omotosho last year Federal High Court FTC

If you understand the game play now is to prevent Sim from sending names of interim LG chair to the other Guy for screening

Re: Pro-Wike Vs Fubara Lawmakers: Appeal Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo by oyichi: 3:44pm On Jun 14
TheElites19s:

what was the status quo when the former speaker filed for the appeal, you are just decieving yourselves

20 Likes 1 Share

James Ibori Dancing At His Thanksgiving Service (Video) / Festus Keyamo Tweets About Dapchi Girls. See Reactions / Senator Adeyeye: Buhari Has No Choice But To Leave In 2023

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 50