Stats: 3,169,791 members, 7,875,966 topics. Date: Sunday, 30 June 2024 at 05:46 AM

Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them - Car Talk (133) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them (110550 Views)

Wrong Overtaking: Who Is At Fault? / REMOTE FAULT ASSESSMENT AND DIAGNOSIS GUIDE By AutoMoTech / Let's Troubleshoot This Car Fault. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (130) (131) (132) (133) (134) (135) (136) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by kingreign(m): 8:11am On Jun 13
Strongtoweracad:
Receive sense.....even a psycho reasons better than you.....thou art irredeemable.....chai...naija you do this one ooo....one man down[sup][/sup]

Nah, rather na you be Yaba left patient.
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by Strongtoweracad: 8:36am On Jun 13
Oya calm down let's reason together....watin be your problem gan gan?
kingreign:

Nah, rather na you be Yaba left patient.
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by kingreign(m): 11:17am On Jun 13
Strongtoweracad:
Oya calm down let's reason together....watin be your problem gan gan?

My problems are,
1. Stop derailing this thread, this thread is not created for car sales or purchase reasons or advise or tips. It's created for car maintenance and repairs.
2. Learn how to spell correctly.
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by olushola4me: 1:28pm On Jun 13
Good day, everyone.

Temp. rises when accelerating moderately, but tends to come down when decelerating.

Also, significant shortage of oil was noticed.

Camry 07

What is the likely cause? Thanks.
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by 2shure: 2:40pm On Jun 13
Camry 07 to2010 has oil burn defects from valve seals.temp rising na fan and radiator issue. Nigerian used crap
olushola4me:
Good day, everyone.

Temp. rises when accelerating moderately, but tends to come down when decelerating.

Camry 07

Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by Abbeyismo(m): 2:49pm On Jun 13
olushola4me:
Good day, everyone.

Camry 07

Oil shortage na factory issue
Temp rises
Need propal diagnosis.
Block radiator or bad water pump.
And might be a top gaskets issues too.

Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by Jamie1000: 9:55pm On Jun 13
22 pin gear. Gear slips from 2 to 3 and can't go above 3. Car jarks with a loud sound sometimes. Recommend solution. Please
Muscle camry 010
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by Abbeyismo(m): 11:04pm On Jun 13
Jamie1000:
22 pin gear. Gear slips from 2 to 3 and can't go above 3. Car jarks with a loud sound sometimes. Recommend solution. Please
Muscle camry 010
Try have the car scan sir and drop scan code
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by kingreign(m): 9:07am On Jun 14
Jamie1000:
Muscle camry 010

Location?
If I Abuja DM, I can recommend a transmission rebuilder.
If not in Abuja, scan & post codes.
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by kingreign(m): 9:10am On Jun 14
olushola4me:
Good day, everyone.

Camry 07

Check water pump, thermostat, radiator for coolant temperature rise, note, head gasket may have burnt.

You didn't mention the engine type. 2AZ-FE engine for those years are known to burn oil due to defective piston rings.

Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by Parzival001(m): 12:13pm On Jun 14
My car does hard starting sometimes but will eventually start of 3-4 trials. I’ve noticed this happens when I want to drive the car after driving it 2-3 hrs ago. It never happens when you come to start it after a long time or overnight.
It’s a corolla 2014

Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by Abbeyismo(m): 2:10pm On Jun 14
Parzival001:
My car does hard starting sometimes but will eventually start of 3-4 trials. I’ve noticed this happens when I want to drive the car after driving it 2-3 hrs ago. It never happens when you come to start it after a long time or overnight.
It’s a corolla 2014
Pressure relase valve inside the fuel pump might be bad.
The scan code did you work on the engine if no,the code wont stop it from starting ones.
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by oladele239(m): 8:30pm On Jun 14
Car fault : high rpm of about 1600 always on cold start or after a long parking rest... It will take about 10 to 15 mins to drop to 800/900 every time car has rested for long hours.

Honda EOD
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by grace4grace: 9:22pm On Jun 14
Please help. My Honda civic 2006 has refused to start after the battery was replaced when the one there ran down. The problem was the key was left at the ignition during the change of battery. Pls how can this be fixed?
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by kingreign(m): 10:03pm On Jun 14
Parzival001:
It’s a corolla 2014

Replace fuel pump ASSY.
Your fuel pressure regulator valve is either bad or the fuel casing rubber seal holding the fuel pump is absent
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by fixitng: 10:43pm On Jun 14
oladele239:
Car fault : high rpm of about 1600 always on cold start or after a long parking rest... It will take about 10 to 15 mins to drop to 800/900 every time car has rested for long hours.

Honda EOD

It is normal for the engine to run at a higher-than-normal idle RPM after initial startup, then to gradually reduce idle speed to a normal 700–800 RPM range as the engine warms up a bit. As per the case of taking longer time to drop the throttle body maybe dirty or obstructed by dirt or scale, it can disrupt the flow of air entering the engine and cause an increase in RPM. By thoroughly cleaning the throttle body assembly, will remove obstructions and ensure optimal airflow to the engine.

Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by kingreign(m): 6:57am On Jun 15
fixitng:

It is normal for the engine to run at a higher-than-normal idle RPM after initial startup, then to gradually reduce idle speed to a normal 700–800 RPM range as the engine warms up a bit. As per the case of taking longer time to drop the throttle body maybe dirty or obstructed by dirt or scale, it can disrupt the flow of air entering the engine and cause an increase in RPM. By thoroughly cleaning the throttle body assembly, will remove obstructions and ensure optimal airflow to the engine.

It's normal, modern cars require that an engine run at a range of temperature to ensure smooth, efficient running. To achieve this, at cold start up the engine is ran at higher RPM for some seconds at open loop, as the temperature rises close towards the desired range, the RPM reduces.

Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by jceesquare(m): 7:42am On Jun 15
kingreign:

It's normal, modern cars require that an engine run at a range of temperature to ensure smooth, efficient running. To achieve this, at cold start up the engine is ran at higher RPM for some seconds at open loop, as the temperature rises close towards the desired range, the RPM reduces.
The complain is that it takes 10-15 mins to drop to lower RPM which isn't normal in any situations.

Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by akusucymon: 8:02am On Jun 15
I have a 2005 avensis wagon with 1AZ engine (down nozzle) with an abnormally high fuel consumption. I use 30k fuel from Benin to warri now. It has a meter on the dashboard that indicates fuel consumption per 100km.formerly it use to be between 7.5-9 liter per 100km. But now it reads as high as 16 - 17 liter per 100km. I have done several computer scan which makes me doubt the ability of the machines and operators. Changed plugs, coil, air flow, injector head etc.. please anyone here has experienced such? If so what caused it and how and where did u fix it. Tnks for your help in anticipation
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by kingreign(m): 9:28am On Jun 15
jceesquare:

The complain is that it takes[b] 10-15 mins[/b] to drop to lower RPM which isn't normal in any situations.

Ah, abnormal o.
The car complaint should run a scan on that car. I suspect the throttle valve.
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by fixitng: 9:59am On Jun 15
akusucymon:
I have a 2005 avensis wagon with 1AZ engine (down nozzle) with an abnormally high fuel consumption. I use 30k fuel from Benin to warri now. It has a meter on the dashboard that indicates fuel consumption per 100km.formerly it use to be between 7.5-9 liter per 100km. But now it reads as high as 16 - 17 liter per 100km. I have done several computer scan which makes me doubt the ability of the machines and operators. Changed plugs, coil, air flow, injector head etc.. please anyone here has experienced such? If so what caused it and how and where did u fix it. Tnks for your help in anticipation

There’s need to bring down your exhaust completely to check for leakages including the catalyst. If check engine light is showing on the dashboard it’s possible your catalyst has been tampered or having a leakage. Moreover, replacing plugs do not completely resolve issues because most new plugs are not even original that’s why it’s advisable to buy belgium small pin plugs. You can also try using injector cleaner the next time you buy fuel to clear carbon.
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by fixitng: 10:00am On Jun 15
kingreign:

Exactly, you are right. It shows the engine is in good condition with high compression.

Thanks.
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by 2shure: 12:33pm On Jun 15
Wait.must u drive the car.did u say 30k fuel from benin to warri.haba.no vex shey na v12.cos how a whole useless 4plugs avensis gondey take 30k fuel on top how many kilometres. Oga your exhaust dey leak,your exhaust net don get hole wey dey zap fuel. Changing plugs shey na new olug or na tokunbo. Nee plug wey dey inside those red and white toyota carton na fakest. Your exhaust dey leak,pr your nozzles are dirty and blocked,
akusucymon:

Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by Gombs(m): 7:25pm On Jun 15
Good evening house.

My wife has a 2003 matrix, it vibrates somehow when I D, it doesn't when it's in R or P or N

When speedo, it doesn't vibrate. Pls, what could be the possible cause? Thank you all in advance
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by fixitng: 9:59am On Jun 16
Gombs:
Good evening house.

My wife has a 2003 matrix, it vibrates somehow when I D, it doesn't when it's in R or P or N

When speedo, it doesn't vibrate. Pls, what could be the possible cause? Thank you all in advance

Get your mechanic to check your spark plugs firing one after the day and replace accordingly with small pin tokunbo plugs. Also, your fuel filter may need to be flushed. Afterwards buy injector cleaner next time you want to refuel to clear carbon.
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by Healthrelatedjo: 12:00pm On Jun 16
PROPERTY FOR SALE

A SPACIOUS & STANDARD 4NOS OF 2 BEDROOM FLATS AVAILABLE FOR SALE.

LAND SIZE: 2 PLOTS

LOCATION: KOJUSOLA ESTATE, OFF AYETORO ROAD, ADEHUN, ABEOKUTA.

TITLE: C OF O

PRICE: ₦40M SLIGHTLY NEGOTIABLE
Video of property available on request
WhatsApp 09035279569
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by akusucymon: 12:17pm On Jun 16
My brother, same question I ask my self this morning before I stepped out, kindly advise myself to leave the car first.
However, a brief history, I got a new engine February, and after installation I noticed the car does not change gear well from 3 above, some people told me that is the reason for the fuel consumption and the I should check my gear this and gear that. Until one electrician drove the car and told me the car is not breathing and we called a panel to check the exhaust, no catalyst in the front and the one in the back is blocked by rusted net, don't know where it came from, so I was advised to remove whatever is left of the blocked catalyst. I did and the vehicle acceleration is gear is very good now, but the fuel consumption didn't stop
2shure:
Wait.must u drive the car.did u say 30k fuel from benin to warri.haba.no vex shey na v12.cos how a whole useless 4plugs avensis gondey take 30k fuel on top how many kilometres. Oga your exhaust dey leak,your exhaust net don get hole wey dey zap fuel. Changing plugs shey na new olug or na tokunbo. Nee plug wey dey inside those red and white toyota carton na fakest. Your exhaust dey leak,pr your nozzles are dirty and blocked,
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by akusucymon: 12:19pm On Jun 16
Thank you for your suggestions, if you have a competent hand around Benin or warri Pls let me know
fixitng:

There’s need to bring down your exhaust completely to check for leakages including the catalyst. If check engine light is showing on the dashboard it’s possible your catalyst has been tampered or having a leakage. Moreover, replacing plugs do not completely resolve issues because most new plugs are not even original that’s why it’s advisable to buy belgium small pin plugs. You can also try using injector cleaner the next time you buy fuel to clear carbon.

Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by 2shure: 12:21pm On Jun 16
Yeah,catalyst has about 5 to 10 difference on mpg the main thing is 02 sensors,plugs,engine oil. By the way ,u suppose know say fiel wey dey around na highly adulterated so it burns faster than match stick.i have exhaust net leak and bad plugs but guess what.6litres go still carry me at least 24km.anything after that the car go stall,off so i dey plan to go fix am by next weekend.exhaust net 8k,plugs 5k. Nawa o. Sonething that wont cost me 4k total before now
akusucymon:
My brother, same question I ask my self this morning before I stepped out, kindly advise myself to leave the car first.
However, a brief history, I got a new engine February, and after installation I noticed the car does not change gear well from 3 above, some people told me that is the reason for the fuel consumption and the I should check my gear this and gear that. Until one electrician drove the car and told me the car is not breathing and we called a panel to check the exhaust, no catalyst in the front and the one in the back is blocked by rusted net, don't know where it came from, so I was advised to remove whatever is left of the blocked catalyst. I did and the vehicle acceleration is gear is very good now, but the fuel consumption didn't stop
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by kola42: 9:34pm On Jun 16
Good evening, gurus in the house. My gearbox (yaris 08) was leaking oil, the gear master said it was gearbox oil pump and converter. Replaced the oil pump, but he couldn't get the converter at ladipo. Can the *converter* be repaired??
Because no sign its spoilt, pls help

Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by lyort: 10:35am On Jun 17
akusucymon:

different things can cause high fuel consumption. what were the codes that came up during the scan?
Re: Tell Us Your Car Fault Lets Assess And Fix Them by lyort: 10:46am On Jun 17
kola42:
Good evening, gurus in the house. My gearbox (yaris 08) was leaking oil, the gear master said it was gearbox oil pump and converter. Replaced the oil pump, but he couldn't get the converter at ladipo. Can the *converter* be repaired??
Because no sign its spoilt, pls help

if the gear works properly before the disassembly, i don't think there should be a problem with the converter except if he wants to replace it due to dirty transmission oil already living inside the converter which can contaminate the new oil. but if he has to reuse it he should ensure the sleeve of the support shaft that goes into the oil pump/gearbox is smooth or shiny silver and not brown (like its burnt due to overheating)

(1) (2) (3) ... (130) (131) (132) (133) (134) (135) (136) (Reply)

2020 Mercedes Benz AVTR Unveiled: Breaks Car Record With Its Looks / Remotely Follow Your Vehicle Repairs Online / Benefits Of Using Coolants Versus Water In Car Radiators.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 53