Stats: 3,182,978 members, 7,919,133 topics. Date: Monday, 12 August 2024 at 10:16 PM

Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) - Travel (662) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) (618873 Views)

Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) / Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 / Living In The Uk/life As A UK Immigrant (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (659) (660) (661) (662) (663) (664) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by ReesheesuKnack: 12:57pm On Aug 10
missjekyll:

If it leads to good things happening for my community,I m going to chase whatever it is till the ends of the earth. If that's ' far left', so be it.

Say another thing,this one don old

Finally, my sister is holding up her ‘far-left’ badge with honour.
Way to go.

Good morning MissJekyll (& Hyde).

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by ReesheesuKnack: 1:04pm On Aug 10
Lexusgs430:

He claimed NAFDAC approved it........ Does each miraculous miracle product, have NAFDAC approved number...........

If they do and NAFDAC approved his miraculous products, that organisation needs to be scrapped and prosecutions issued........

For the sake of NAFDAC & Dora's legacy, I hope jeremiah simply bluffed....... 😁

NAFDAC approval does not necessarily mean a formulation does what us claims. NADDAC approval (just as FDA) only certifies that the product is fit for consumption or use. It doesn’t certify efficacy. So yes! Uncle Fufeyin’s formulation may have NAFDAC seal. But it’s for non-toxicity, not for efficacy.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by LaXxOnebody(m): 1:26pm On Aug 10
Congratulations!

hustla:

Bossman, job search dey

Between Jan and April, did about 12 interviews, finally got 2 jobs before graduation..

I rest my case
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by LaXxOnebody(m): 1:29pm On Aug 10
Reacting to a situation or person that threatens my existence is rational.

Also, the absence of emotions is also a display of some sort of emotion.

BeckyB1:
Thank you very much for stating this fact.
A lot of people trying to jump on her do not want to understand that she expresses her sincere opinion without sentiments and "expected" emotions.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Lexusgs430: 1:30pm On Aug 10
ReesheesuKnack:

NAFDAC approval does not necessarily mean a formulation does what us claims. NADDAC approval (just as FDA) only certifies that the product is fit for consumption or use. It doesn’t certify efficacy. So yes! Uncle Fufeyin’s formulation may have NAFDAC seal. But it’s for non-toxicity, not for efficacy.

If he got a pure water factory, and receives a nafdac seal for that..... But now uses the same pure water factory seal for miracle water production ..... That's simply an illegal change of purpose (I would expect nafdac to sue Jeremiah, and cancel their registration)........

Jeremiah don buy market....... Liborous already offered a pro bono service to vdm....... 😜🤣

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goke7: 1:46pm On Aug 10
Lexusgs430:

If he got a pure water factory, and receives a nafdac seal for that..... But now uses the sane pure water factory seal for miracle water...... That's simply an illegal change of purpose (I would expect nafdac to sue Jeremiah, and cancel their registration)........

Jeremiah don buy market....... Liborous already offered a pro bono service to vdm....... 😜🤣

not following the matter initially but this one wey e don enter court, it will be interesting to watch now but trust Naija, na settlement out of court go end the matter. I foresee the prophet withdrawing the case make business no enter bush, that's how we roll o.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by ReesheesuKnack: 1:47pm On Aug 10
Lexusgs430:

If he got a pure water factory, and receives a nafdac seal for that..... But now uses the sane pure water factory seal for miracle water...... That's simply an illegal change of purpose (I would expect nafdac to sue Jeremiah, and cancel their registration)........

You got it slightly wrong.

If he gets Pure water factory seal. And he produces pure water as per standards Then no NAFDAC rule has been broken.

If he claims that the pure water he produces from his NAFDAC-certified factory has some miraculous powers, it is not a NAFDAC problem. It only becomes a NAFDAC issue if he claims he adds other ingredients in the water to make it miracle water.
I hope this helps.

But if you need further clarification, happy to explain.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Missposh: 4:08pm On Aug 10
Please why are used cars on different Facebook groups cheaper than the ones on the likes of auto trader and the models on the Facebook groups are even more recent? Is it safe to buy from such Facebook groups? How can I avoid/detect scammers?

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by justwise(m): 5:04pm On Aug 10
Missposh:
Please why are used cars on different Facebook groups cheaper than the ones on the likes of auto trader and the models on the Facebook groups are even more recent? Is it safe to buy from such Facebook groups? How can I avoid/detect scammers?

Those cheap recent models are mostly from scammers, avoid them at all costs.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by dustydee: 5:18pm On Aug 10
deept:

Ok, I've only heard about people doing the procedure abroad
From what I have heard, the success rate in Nigeria is higher than that in the UK. A lot of people go back home to have it done, probably due to the "flexibility" in the procedure there.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Lexusgs430: 6:25pm On Aug 10
ReesheesuKnack:

You got it slightly wrong.

If he gets Pure water factory seal. And he produces pure water as per standards Then no NAFDAC rule has been broken.

If he claims that the pure water he produces from his NAFDAC-certified factory has some miraculous powers, it is not a NAFDAC problem. It only becomes a NAFDAC issue if he claims he adds other ingredients in the water to make it miracle water.
I hope this helps.

But if you need further clarification, happy to explain.

But that's false description and wrong use of registration/license .....

You can't have a license for a pure water factory and claim to produce miracle water. What addictives makes your pure water miraculous....... So he also got nafdac to explain to........

But as expected, the Nigerian way shall end the matter......

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by NezzyMike: 6:42pm On Aug 10
justwise:
[/b]

The ones in the same city nko? I think when MOT is about to expire, gets cheaper too for old model.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by justwise(m): 6:54pm On Aug 10
NezzyMike:

The ones in the same city nko? I think when MOT is about to expire, gets cheaper too for old model.

Even the one next door to you, 99.9% of those Facebook market cars are from scammers, try and contact one of them and see.

Run if they ask for deposit or promise to deliver it to you if you pay for fuel or some mileage.

If you must go to view it make sure you go with someone who can also drive and run a check using the registration number before going to view it.

You can also do google reverse image search just to know if that car picture was taken from a different location.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by missjekyll: 7:23pm On Aug 10
ReesheesuKnack:

Finally, my sister is holding up her ‘far-left’ badge with honour.
Way to go.

Good morning MissJekyll (& Hyde).

I mean not even 7 market days ago, you were over here defending violent arsonists,terrorists and would be murderers.

But I m the one who's far left? *shrugs
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Viruses: 8:10pm On Aug 10
Missposh:

Because it is scam. You have already detected them so avoid.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goodenoch: 8:26pm On Aug 10
justwise:
[/b]

As many people have said, it's because they are scams.

Buy from a dealer unless you know how to inspect cars very well or can go with someone who does. Private sales are dicey. When it goes well, it goes very well and you'll get a good deal but when it goes badly you can end up with a lemon and no legal recourse.

Use auto trader to benchmark prices so you know you're getting a good deal, and make sure you get a warranty from the dealer as well.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by NezzyMike: 10:15pm On Aug 10
justwise:

Even the one next door to you, 99.9% of those Facebook market cars are from scammers, try and contact one of them and see.

Run if they ask for deposit or promise to deliver it to you if you pay for fuel or some mileage.

If you must go to view it make sure you go with someone who can also drive and run a check using the registration number before going to view it.

You can also do google reverse image search just to know if that car picture was taken from a different location.

Thank you
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by lightnlife: 11:50pm On Aug 10
Happy Weekend, country men and women wink Hope everyone is safe in the midst of the unrest.

I'll like to ask if it's possible to renew/extend a UK visa on an expired passport.

Please share your experiences. Thanks
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by missjekyll: 1:25am On Aug 11
https://youtube.com/shorts/nOJv0Gw56GY?si=BaJ8Yed6spNuAHIc

1 of the racists who was at Manvers, Rotherham. Hopefully this gives you just a bit of comfort.

See the way he is even asking " am I going to a cell?". No you are not Dundee. The police will take you to Disney land. He is not that smart undecided

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by peacefull(f): 3:46am On Aug 11
Gerrard59:

Due to the language, not many non-East Asians work in corporate Japan, so minimal competition for the plum jobs, but the government had to protect blue-collar jobs for ethnic Japanese who don't work in the corporate space. Unlike now that the labour shortage is so severe such that Sri Lankans are even invited to work in factories. The key thing is: protect the natives' economic interests before non-natives.

I'm sorry for late reply. I apologies you.

About the key thing, that's what Japanese people want or thik like that naturally.
I maybe can say that most of Japanese people want government to protect Japanese people in every way, not only about economic interest.
Sadly, people don't feel government is doing their work very well.
And if Japanese people said about it, some non Japanese people said it's discrimination.
Many Japanese people are already angry, disappointed, annoying, frustrating etc, about government and non Japanese people matters.
It's not started now.

Please don't misunderstand Japanese people.
Most of Japanese people are welcome to non Japanese people who have good manners and good morals like respecting our country, people, culture, rules, law etc.
But against non Japanese people who are disrespecting our country, people, culture, rules, law etc.

About Sri Lanka, their government (Ministry of Labour and Foreign Employment of Sri Lanka) encourages? promote? Sri Lankan people to working in Japan.
Sorry, I don't know which one is right English.
And Japan is involved in debt restructuring Sri Lanka.
I have read about one company sign to memorandum of understanding with Ministry of Labour and Foreign Employment of Sri Lanka.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by lavida001: 4:28am On Aug 11
deept:

This by the BBC yesterday on immigration.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c77l41z8yn7o.amp

I appreciate the fact that the home secretary is staying on some decisions until relevant reviews are completed by appropriate bodies.

Speaking to the BBC's Radio 4 Today programme, she said: "If we had a domestic workforce willing to work then we wouldn’t need these international recruits."

Why are they not willing to work fgs?
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Lexusgs430: 6:23am On Aug 11
lavida001:

Speaking to the BBC's Radio 4 Today programme, she said: "If we had a domestic workforce willing to work then we wouldn’t need these international recruits."

Because they can abuse the benefit system...... At times, we need to commend African rulers for imbibing in its citizenry, that hustling/survival/hardworking mentality......... 😁🤣

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by deept(m): 6:58am On Aug 11
lavida001:

Low wages/salaries. Typically immigrants will accept lower wages for same job as Brit. Then there's the benefit system, why work when i can get it for free (for work shy able bodied folks). Laziness and entitlement. Lack of incentive for productivity.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goke7: 8:32am On Aug 11
deept:

Low wages/salaries. Typically immigrants will accept lower wages for same job as Brit. Then there's the benefit system, why work when i can get it for free (for work shy able bodied folks). Laziness and entitlement. Lack of incentive for productivity.

The Low wages narrative is what will continue to make immigrants as objects of attack even with the increase in the salary threshold for skilled workers and the planned increase again in the construction and IT sectors will this narrative go away? I thought there is a minimum wage that applies to all occupations. Even in a country like the US where wages are much higher it’s still the same narrative politicians used for campaign purposes. So you see this low wages shit it’s all propaganda, simple.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Treadway: 8:52am On Aug 11
deept:

correct.

Same as the whole point of the concept of illegals taking 'black jobs' comment.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Treadway: 9:12am On Aug 11
Goke7:

The Low wages narrative is what will continue to make immigrants as objects of attack even with the increase in the salary threshold for skilled workers and the planned increase again in the construction and IT sectors will this narrative go away? I thought there is a minimum wage that applies to all occupations. Even in a country like the US where wages are much higher it’s still the same narrative politicians used for campaign purposes. So you see this low wages shit it’s all propaganda, simple.
I like painting scenarios.

If you were a black American, who hasn't had to convert dollar to naira mentally for years, do you believe you would be happy to take lower than minimum wage under the table jobs for example? Cos those are the jobs that Nigerians wey japa with visitor visa, or those from Mexico wey cross the border typically dey do.

I think the average black American even when shit poor, thinks he is likely better off financially than the black immigrant, cos he hasn't lived his entire life converting dollar to naira for example. All he knows is the concept of what the dollar can buy and the concept of a comfortable life based on what he can do with the dollar. The black immigrant due to his knowledge and experience from the other side, knows damn well that at all at all na im bad pass. So just like I waited a year after NYSC and didn't take the 50k jobs, the 70k jobs and preferred to sit my ass at home till the one that I felt I would enjoy better and would pay what I desired came along, cos while my folks were not rich, we sha dey ok, but someone from Niger or Benin Republic with the exact same qualifications as me would happily take those jobs if the opportunity presents itself. Same with artisans, in the very recent past before balablu killed naija patapata, Togolese and Benin Republic guys would happily collect less than half of what naija artisans will charge and do an even better job cos their realities/outlook on the pay differs from our own.

Just my opinion, can't support this one with hard facts

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Goke7: 9:57am On Aug 11
Treadway:
I like painting scenarios.

If you were a black American, who hasn't had to convert dollar to naira mentally for years, do you believe you would be happy to take lower than minimum wage under the table jobs for example? Cos those are the jobs that Nigerians wey japa with visitor visa, or those from Mexico wey cross the border typically dey do.

I think the average black American even when shit poor, thinks he is likely better off financially than the black immigrant, cos he hasn't lived his entire life converting dollar to naira for example. All he knows is the concept of what the dollar can buy and the concept of a comfortable life based on what he can do with the dollar. The black immigrant due to his knowledge and experience from the other side, knows damn well that at all at all na im bad pass. So just like I waited a year and didn't take the 50k jobs, the 70k jobs and preferred to sit my ass at home till the one that I felt I would enjoy better and would pay what I desired came along, cos while my folks were not rich, we sha dey ok, but someone from Niger or Benin Republic with the exact same qualifications as me would happily take those jobs of the opportunity presents itself. Same with artisans, in the very recent past before balablu killed naija patapata, Togolese and Benin Republic guys would happily collect less than half of what naija artisans will charge and do an even better job cos their realities/outlook on the pay differs our own.

Just my opinion, can't support this one with hard facts

So who’s actually responsible for all these? Immigrants, govt, private sector or who?

Why have all the successive governments from all the political parties not addressed this? Don’t you think it’s high time the govt come clean to their citizens on the true affordability of wages? how much do people earn in the uk civil service? So does it mean the govt itself is undercutting their own people? So why do they lie to the people that immigrants accept low wages when the government itself offer low wages. Can you see there’s no transparency in all these yet immigrants will continue to be the object of attack and propaganda. How much salary does the nhs itself offer. Are junior doctors and nurses not agitating for salary increases? Does that have anything to do with low wages accepted by immigrants? I hope you know these jobs can’t be done using visitors visas so the under table jobs don’t even apply. How much do teachers earn both in the uk and US, The govt itself should show example and pay more living wages so its citizens who automatically have the right to work documentation can access it instead of going after immigrants that can easily be stopped at the border by the same govt.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by LionInZion: 10:24am On Aug 11
ehizario2012:

Honestly, the last few days made me "feel" what the Jews must have felt in November 1938 during the kristallnacht/night of the broken glass. Imagine how dire the situation would have been if the police, army and government was brazenly supporting the maiming and looting of helpless immigrants??

May evil never prevail again. Sir Starmer and the native Brits who rose up against these "far right" uninformed thugs must be appreciated. The Germans failed to rise up to Hitler and his likes, and that's what led to the ultimate suffering of the Jews. As bad as things might be, Britain should be commended to an very large extent.

Bro, I felt the same way and I think it was a legitimate feeling. As you said big kudos to the government and the reasonable and compassionate people who came out to give those thugs a run for their money. There were rumours of Anti migrants protest in my area on Wednesday. Many of us were too terrified to go outside. But guess what, there was a swift peaceful counter protest against them, and that was the game changer that restored the community to its usual bubbling and peaceful one. Yea, huge thanks to those who aren't too British to confront those people and proving to them they're in the minority.

Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Zahra29: 10:38am On Aug 11
deept:

The sectors with the largest shortages (or that are still on the occupation shortage list) indicates the areas where native Brits are not willing to work. And these are usually the sectors with very low/minimum wage combined with perceived / actual very hard graft - when compared with other sectors that pay more (or will pay more in the future e.g. junior doctor to consultant is a massive pay leap) and/or are not so arduous.

These acute shortages have more recently been seen in health and social care hence the care visa route was opened. Immigrants from South Asia and Africa are now filling these roles because it is easier to get sponsorship which is the aim for most and they don't have the option of benefits if they don't work. There was a similar acute shortage with HGV drivers when Brexit hit , but wages increased significantly and boom, no more shortages because it became a more attractive venture for many Brits.

Labour have just legislated in the King's Speech for a new Fair Pay Agreement to boost staff wages, benefits and rights in social care across England. The aim is to ease the sector’s recruitment and retention issues and is part of their agenda to boost the domestic workforce, something the Tories did not prioritise.

https://www.unison.org.uk/news/press-release/2024/07/kings-speech-sets-out-plans-to-start-mending-broken-public-services/

So it'll be interesting to see if/what impact this new pay agreement has when it is rolled out.

Also after the junior doctors recently received a 22% pay increase, other sectors such as teachers have started to agitate for more. So it'll also be interesting to see how Labour addresses the issue of pay in the wider public sector.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by omoluka: 11:23am On Aug 11
Good morning guys, please i need genuine updates regarding sponsorship jobs in the UK abeg 🙏
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by obioraval(m): 12:02pm On Aug 11
hustla:

Yeah, Im on the thread too. Gathered a list of quality lawyers others have used on the thread

hooyou.com
messersmithlaw.com and wegreened appear to be quality ones

Please share pointers if you have and if you would like to do it alone or with a lawyer. Think it's really expensive so I want to try and see if I can figure everything out myself in 6 - 9 months if I can.
Been following this YT channel and he breaks it down into easy to understand chunks that makes the process a bit less scary (not sure the post won't be hidden cos of the links)

https://youtube.com/@oscarsgreencard?si=rkeAu4MEbvMdKwZv

I will send a DM later in the day smiley

I belong to a community on WhatsApp run by People Amp. They broke down everything alongside their YouTube videos. And they are really helpful. Here's a playlist of theirs about EB 2.

https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLUTNbTppCzM7blRVxXIUFfLm4sc7s10xZ&si=UrrSHV4s0rwbpaRp

Using a lawyer or not depends on individual circumstances tbh. Though I feel a lawyer would easily navigate through the petition as it's their terrain. But it boils down to choice. I feel UK GTV is more straightforward.
Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Cyberknight: 1:07pm On Aug 11
Zahra29:

The sectors with the largest shortages (or that are still on the occupation shortage list) indicates the areas where native Brits are not willing to work. And these are usually the sectors with very low/minimum wage combined with perceived / actual very hard graft - when compared with other sectors that pay more (or will pay more in the future e.g. junior doctor to consultant is a massive pay leap) and/or are not so arduous.

These acute shortages have more recently been seen in health and social care hence the care visa route was opened. Immigrants from South Asia and Africa are now filling these roles because it is easier to get sponsorship which is the aim for most and they don't have the option of benefits if they don't work. There was a similar acute shortage with HGV drivers when Brexit hit , but wages increased significantly and boom, no more shortages because it became a more attractive venture for many Brits.

Labour have just legislated[/i] in the King's Speech for a new Fair Pay Agreement to boost staff wages, benefits and rights in social care across England.

''Promised
'', you mean. The monarch's speech is basically a wishlist until bills are drafted, passed and enrolled. Anything can happen in the interim, especially changed political priorities. wink

(1) (2) (3) ... (659) (660) (661) (662) (663) (664) (Reply)

Travelling To Canada Part 5 / General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 6 / Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here.

Viewing this topic: Globalshaper, Treadway, BeckyB1(f), divinegrace4me, Tstone1(m), Barezzi(m) and 3 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 75