Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / NewStats: 3,207,198 members, 7,998,170 topics. Date: Saturday, 09 November 2024 at 09:02 AM |
Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Agriculture / A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos (147671 Views)
The 4 In 1 Yam A Nairalander Harvested From Her Backyard (Photos) / Step By Step Guide For Growing Tomato--pictures / My Backyard Cucumber With Pictures (2) (3) (4)
(1) (2) (3) ... (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) ... (24) (Reply) (Go Down)
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Kalusam(m): 7:09pm On Oct 19, 2014 |
Great work and your soil is indeed suitable for this. How much did you get the hybrid seeds? Pappyshoes: 1 Like |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by touchmeder: 10:08pm On Oct 19, 2014 |
MANGAM: Yeah the soil looks dark and rich. |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by MANGAM(m): 6:36pm On Oct 20, 2014 |
Day 50 |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Pappyshoes(m): 7:15pm On Oct 20, 2014 |
MANGAM:Thanks @MAGNAM. The farm is in Ogun State, along Ikorodu Road axis, after WAPCO. 1 Like |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Pappyshoes(m): 7:21pm On Oct 20, 2014 |
Kalusam:It's actually a mix of sandy loamy soil, water retention is very low. Hybrid seeds' costs: F1 Koloss....N1,600.00 per can of 50 gramms. Kaolack....N4,000 per can of 500 gramms. 4 Likes |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by world1(m): 8:15pm On Oct 20, 2014 |
Pappyshoes:Please I need F1 Koloss urgently where can I get it to buy? |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Pappyshoes(m): 8:33pm On Oct 20, 2014 |
world1:Call Mr. Dayo on 08030886296. @ AgriTropics, Custom Bus Stop, Ibadan. 1 Like 1 Share |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by world1(m): 8:35pm On Oct 20, 2014 |
Pappyshoes:Thanks so much. You've really make my day. |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Pappyshoes(m): 8:58pm On Oct 20, 2014 |
world1:Boss!!! |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by LONGFELLOW02(m): 9:16pm On Oct 20, 2014 |
Pappyshoes: like hw many seeds are in F1 koloss 50gramms? |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Pappyshoes(m): 9:25pm On Oct 20, 2014 |
LONGFELLOW02:1000 seeds. |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by LONGFELLOW02(m): 11:07pm On Oct 20, 2014 |
Pappyshoes: wow that's nice. . That means 10,000 seeds of F1 koloss will be around 16,000 naira imagine wat world1 is selling for 50,000 naira. Thanks jare |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by world1(m): 5:34am On Oct 21, 2014 |
LONGFELLOW02:Haba LONGFELLOWO2 Have I ever advertise watermelon seed for 50,000 to you? Try to process information very well before typing. 1 Like |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Kalusam(m): 8:26am On Oct 21, 2014 |
The thread is going nice. We should remember we are here to help ourselves and not accuse one another. Please between F1 Koloss and Kaolack which one is bought most by customers. I ask because every business is for the customers, while you may breed a water melon that's large, if your customer don't like it then you might have wasted time and money satisfying yourself, not your customers! 1 Like |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Kalusam(m): 8:59am On Oct 21, 2014 |
Thanks for the timely information bro...I really appreciate. I have sent you an e-mail request via NL. Waiting for you reply so we discuss more. Pappyshoes: 1 Like |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Pappyshoes(m): 10:40am On Oct 21, 2014 |
Kalusam:Kaolack is the commonest, it's the light green type you usually see around. Your production depends on your target and your choice. The WM in this pic is Kaolack variety.
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Pappyshoes(m): 10:47am On Oct 21, 2014 |
Kalusam:Mail request replied, sir. 1 Like |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Kalusam(m): 4:21pm On Oct 22, 2014 |
Hello Pappy, You mean 500 grams of Kaolack is N4,000 or do you rather mean 50grams? Pappyshoes: 1 Like |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by LONGFELLOW02(m): 5:10pm On Oct 22, 2014 |
world1: world1: |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Pappyshoes(m): 5:11pm On Oct 22, 2014 |
Kalusam: Pappyshoes:#4K can/container contains 10,000 seeds. Call the seller to confirm. |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by RhinoTech(m): 6:01pm On Oct 22, 2014 |
RhinoTech We deliver websites at affordable prices. Contact us at rhinot@programmer.net. And if you're our 50,000th enquirer or If you're our 50th client signed up as a contract, we will design a blog or static 5-page site for you at no cost. To participate in offer, address your correspondence Subject/Title as OFFER AND INQUIRY.* Refer a friend and get 10% commission of the initial payment. For contracts, 50% initial payment, balance on completion of project. Full money-back guarantee if deadline is not met for static sites. Full money-back guarantee on other projects if deadline is not met. 50% money-back guarantee if client is unsatisfied with finished project.** Prices inclusive of domain name and hosting.*** Offer valid from October 23, 2014 - October 31, 2014. With prices from $100 for 5-page static website or a blog. Get a site for your school, Get a site for your business, Launch your real estate agency to the world, Sell your service beyond your locality... Let's build you a web presence. Call us for info on 07083158218 or email us at rhinot@programmer.net * (Winner pays for domain name and hosting. we design for free). ** (Dissatisfaction shall be a function of fair assesssment). *** (There are no assurances intended domain names will be available. However, client will be informed of close names available before acquisition. Also choice of hosting company will be at Rhinot's discretion). ALL CONDITIONS ARE AS STATED AND BINDING ON CLIENT). 1 Like 1 Share |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Kalusam(m): 10:39pm On Oct 22, 2014 |
Thanks and thanks again. Will be in IB Next week for this event: www.nairaland.com/1914317/invitation-2014-national-agribusiness-summit#27370049 So will try and get the seeds and get further info. From my research the Koalack is a good variety, especially suited for Africa. I haven't heard from u since I sent you a mail. Pappyshoes: |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Pappyshoes(m): 10:42am On Oct 23, 2014 |
Kalusam:Sorry, mail replied just now. |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by LONGFELLOW02(m): 1:22pm On Oct 23, 2014 |
Kalusam: costumer like both because the taste are thesame. . I think why some consumer/costumer prefer kaolack is because of the price. I also think F1 koloss will be more profitable for farmers than kaolack because of the size. I bought one F1 koloss in outskirt of abuja@500naira while one kaolack is sold for 150naira-200naira. can you see the difference? I prefer F1 koloss. 2 Likes |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by judemorfy(m): 3:37pm On Oct 23, 2014 |
MANGAM:yea,its fungi infection,buy Z-force 2 spray else it will spread round d whole farm 2 Likes |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by fixedhollies(m): 8:00pm On Oct 23, 2014 |
Best thread ever for nairalanders... 1 Like |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Meritbaba(m): 9:20pm On Oct 24, 2014 |
nice thread, op pls can i still plant the water melon am in Osun State |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by LONGFELLOW02(m): 9:25am On Oct 26, 2014 |
Mangam wat happen nw. . Are u not gving us update about the farm again? |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Pappyshoes(m): 7:37pm On Oct 27, 2014 |
Day28: Pls Note: Make it a duty to spray your WM with pesticide regularly for better output. 1 Like
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by roxell120(m): 8:22pm On Oct 27, 2014 |
dis watermelon seems to be very delicate to plant and sensitive to everything.i planted a few in my compound while following dis thread but it has suffered series of attacks,from ants ,rotten roots to wilting which watering saved few.i watch dem everyday more dan my baby but i ve lost hope on dia survival.as i travelled out for three days now,i know dey are all dead.my wife isnt even happy wit me for having dem dia cos of dia ogbanje sicknesses.i stay in awka oo.it cud be d reason though |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by sholay2011(m): 8:26pm On Oct 27, 2014 |
roxell120:Na wa oo. |
Re: A Thread For Growing Watermelon In your backyard With Photos by Kalusam(m): 8:51pm On Oct 27, 2014 |
Did you plant the improved varieties from certified seed companies or the ones from a water melon fruit? roxell120: |
(1) (2) (3) ... (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) ... (24) (Reply)
My Successful Cucumber Sack Farm In Kaduna / Cost Analysis For 1,000 to 3000 Poultry (layers) Capacity & Feed Mill In Nigeria / How To Start A Profitable Plantain Farm In Nigeria (pics)
Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 39 |