Stats: 3,169,771 members, 7,875,930 topics. Date: Sunday, 30 June 2024 at 02:44 AM

Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism - Sports (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism (18868 Views)

Mikel Obi & His Twin Girls On A Stroll (photo) / Mikel Obi & His Twins Waiting For Christmas Dinner / Police Drop Mikel Obi Racism Case (2) (3) (4)

Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by Abraham2013(m): 11:44pm On Nov 04, 2014
thegoodjoehunt3:
Mikel is not crap as you guys make him to be. Avram Grant, Scolari, Ancelotti, Villas-Boas are not fools playing Mikel regularly at Chelsea and amassing a lot of titles. Before Mourinho dropped Mikel, Chelsea was above Liverpool. After he dropped Mikel, Chelsea went trophyless for the first time in recent years.

Matic is a talented lad but ask yourself why Mourinho refused to sell Mikel. When Chelsea was having a bad run towards the end of last season and Crystal Palace outplayed Chelsea, Mourinho had to bring back Mikel to play Liverpool.

Even Kanu benched at Arsenal. Does that make him a poor player. Gervinho was benching at Arsenal. Look at how amazing he is at Roma.
I tink I agree wit u a bit on dis one cos people keep comparing matic wit mikel. As far as am concerned, mikel is d one benching himself @ chelsea cos he has failed to up his game and improve his forward play game. I tink mikel has failed to come to terms dat mourinho no longer wants to play d makelele type of DM, rather he wants to play micheal essien type of DM were d DM does not only break attack and initiate counter attack buh also participate in d counter attack and eventually contributing some goals too. Mikel has kept his makelele type of DM which wen he plays, chelsea may not concede much goals buh dey may not score much either. Dat is y mourinho uses him towards d end of games to tighten d defence knowing fully well dat mikel is far beta dan matic in dat aspect. So if mikel can raise his game, he will eventually put matic to d bench.
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by thegoodjoehunt3(m): 11:57pm On Nov 04, 2014
Abraham2013:

I tink I agree wit u a bit on dis one cos people keep comparing matic wit mikel. As far as am concerned, mikel is d one benching himself @ chelsea cos he has failed to up his game and improve his forward play game. I tink mikel has failed to come to terms dat mourinho no longer wants to play d makelele type of DM, rather he wants to play micheal essien type of DM were d DM does not only break attack and initiate counter attack buh also participate in d counter attack and eventually contributing some goals too. Mikel has kept his makelele type of DM which wen he plays, chelsea may not concede much goals buh dey may not score much either. Dat is y mourinho uses him towards d end of games to tighten d defence knowing fully well dat mikel is far beta dan matic in dat aspect. So if mikel can raise his game, he will eventually put matic to d bench.
Excellent critique.

The truth is that Mourinho always has two phases of the game. If you notice, Chelsea has not been convincing in recent games. Many people now know that if you take out Fabregas, they won't gel or perform with so much force. If Mourinho feels he would need a defensive approach.

Those games do not come often. Mikel is a better passer of the ball than Matic. He is brilliant also. Mikel needs to play in a way he urges the team to perform. He should stop waiting for the attackers to make perfect runs before he gives his long passes. His passes should spur the team to perform.

With that he can get back into the side. Matic throws away a lot of passes and Mourinho does not seem to mind. Maybe Mikel should let his guard down a bit and take risk.

Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by thegoodjoehunt3(m): 12:34am On Nov 05, 2014
Abraham2013:

I tink mikel should be d one shielding d defence just like he did wen playing wit lampard and ballack. Overall mikel is a much beta DM dan a deep flying midfielder cos all d DFM u mentioned can hit d target 4rm 30 metres buh mikel will find it difficult doing d same 4rm even 20 metres. So I tink keshi should summon d courage to play him in d DM and play onazi in front of mikel just as ramires plays in front of mikel in Chelsea's midfield and will stop conceding sily goals like d ones we conceded against congo.
You can not play Ramirez without an Oscar, Fabregas or Mata. You still need someone who can coordinate the midfield with simple passes.

That is why Hope Akpan has to shield and Mikel coordinating. I also liked Raheem Lawal and Mikel's combination.

I also think and Akpan, Onazi and Mikel combination can work but Raheem Lawal is more disciplined than Onazi and would contribute in maintaining our midfield shape.
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by Alexsmith20(m): 1:48am On Nov 05, 2014
buskie13:
See what GEJ has caused.....Keshi is not a coach...when we have more eligible players....kalu uche is there...Keshi is collecting bribe
So you think everythink is about BRIBE?.

Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by olajide8(m): 4:49am On Nov 05, 2014
thegoodjoehunt3:
If Coach Keshi wants to bring in a player from Malta, people will shout.

By the way, replacing Mikel is not easy. Technically brilliant players are difficult to find. Look at Italy, since 2000 until today, they have not been able to replace Pirlo. Xavi and Xabi Alonso was irreplaceable until Thiago Alcantara came along.

Super Eagles have had very great players but only Finidi George, Kanu and Mikel have showed technical brilliance in the Super Eagles. It is hard to explain this quality. I never watched Coach Keshi play in midfield, but I heard he was that sort of player.

They spend more time reading the game than playing it.

So it is not just about scouting players.
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by olajide8(m): 6:01am On Nov 05, 2014
thegoodjoehunt3:
There is a difference with players with exceptional ability on the ball and players with exceptional thinking game. Some have both like Silva, Pastore and Iniesta. A player like Mikel is more like the thinking side without using much ability. That is why many criticise him without looking at his contributions.

Mikel does not need to make a dazzling Okocha's skill or a Yaya Toure's 100m senior boys dash to wreck havoc in the team. He can just watch the game and know the direction of play. He knows when the team is not set to attack. Attacking at such times will lead to loss of possession.

He will keep passing back until he sees a gap or an excellent run.

Mikel is more than half a footballer. He is a genius and his favorite side is overlooked.

Note most highly technical footballers do not spend much time on the ball and are hardly praised or given World Best like Kroos, Xavi and Pirlo. The praises goes to Ribery, Messi and Kaka.

80% of mikels passes are to his defenders, defensive play - only 20% forward- out of that only 15% are delivered while 5% are cut off, now watch his matches for nigeria and please try and stop comparing him with geniuses like xavi, that doesn't allow the opponent destroy his team members legs on the field with wrong short passes- a genius is one that can single handled change the fortune of a team eg kanu, okocha, messi, CR7 but definitely NOT mikel* you have to have watched each players contribution on a field and not the flow of the match to determine who does what- look at emenike's passes to our 7 can't remember his name now, the hausa boy from kano pillars ahmed musa- that banged in 2 goals against argentina that was excellence personified* look at ball distribution and attack of the defence by babatunde and osaze - on point, they had to practical starve mikel of the ball to result in those goals *it was onaze, osaze, babatunde, emenike, ahmed that created and converted the goals- its not about running a 100m dash nor dribbling its about the gap that would be felt in your absence- and that's what happened to oganyi onaze* at the world cup- look at what happened to liver pool when they sold alfonzo (or what do you call him, their central defended., steven gerrad, captain fantastic -had to work twice as hard on the field)
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by buskie13(m): 7:02am On Nov 05, 2014
Alexsmith20:
So you think everythink is about BRIBE?.
if not bribe.....of what use is he to the team....someone who can't pass de ball accurately ...loses possession... he can't retrieve de ball back....Mikel is not supposed to be in the national team.....i wonder what Keshi meant that no player is bigger than the team...it's obvious Mikel is proving us wrong
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by LeoSanchez(m): 7:53am On Nov 05, 2014
kunlesehan:
Mikel, Mourinho and Keshi all have something in common.
iz it the letter 'I' in their names?
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by kris(m): 8:05am On Nov 05, 2014
Some people talk like say Keshi no be naija man. Even the Nigerian president dey collect bribe, one way or another.

Why is it so hard to believe that Keshi go collect bribe? I don't think that Keshi asked Mikel for bribe, but Mikel probably dash him money and other things in the past, just as a good gesture, and since then, it's hard for Keshi to say no to the boy.

And people like Martin refuse to bribe, because they feel they're good enough to be on the team without paying anybody.
While someone like Salimi will give all his money to Keshi, so as to be included. Same with Agbim.

If Mikel is that good, he will be in the starting 11 for Chelsea, and other clubs will be fighting to buy him.

In the World Cup games, he lost the ball many times while trying to dibble, and he falls a lot to the ground, like say the guy no get stamina.
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by Abraham2013(m): 8:28am On Nov 05, 2014
thegoodjoehunt3:
You can not play Ramirez without an Oscar, Fabregas or Mata. You still need someone who can coordinate the midfield with simple passes.

That is why Hope Akpan has to shield and Mikel coordinating. I also liked Raheem Lawal and Mikel's combination.

I also think and Akpan, Onazi and Mikel combination can work but Raheem Lawal is more disciplined than Onazi and would contribute in maintaining our midfield shape.
Rightly said buh d lack of attacking instinct or an eye 4 goal clearly puts mikel out of dat bracket. Cos fabregas, oscar or mata r all creative player buh dey also hav attacking instinct and an eye 4 goal. So if one plays mikel dere, d team would be playing wit a man short in d attack which is wat we notice in SE matches of recent were d gap between d attack is to much cos mikel is not an attacking minded midfielder. I strongly believe mikel should coordinate d midfield 4r d DM position. Secondly, don't u tink lukman haruna or solomon owello would do beta dan mikel in d CM or AM role? Cos while haruna played dere 4 d SE in 2010 world cup, he did well even beta dan mikel IMO.
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by danbrowndmf(m): 9:25am On Nov 05, 2014
[quote
author=thegoodjoehunt3 post=27716973]If Coach Keshi
wants bribe, do you think he would be collecting money from Salami
instead of Martins?

Still shaking my head in Yoruba.
[/quote] u'v been defendn mikel here since.mikel came into the national team oruma was nt doin well.mikel is also nt doin well for naw.he shuld face competition.imagine ur sayn mikel is d best player against south africa so ur naw judgn a word class mid fielder with only one match dt so bad of u bro. keshi said mikel did well in afcon and naw hez nt doin well nd we are yelling at him.has he also forgot dt martins his one of nigeria best striker ever buh since he has droped a lil bit form dy stop calln him.same should be done to Mikel,he should face competition. imagine someone lyk onazi is even more confident than mikel in Nigeria mid field.that a shame to him bro.
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by thegoodjoehunt3(m): 10:18am On Nov 05, 2014
Abraham2013:

Rightly said buh d lack of attacking instinct or an eye 4 goal clearly puts mikel out of dat bracket. Cos fabregas, oscar or mata r all creative player buh dey also hav attacking instinct and an eye 4 goal. So if one plays mikel dere, d team would be playing wit a man short in d attack which is wat we notice in SE matches of recent were d gap between d attack is to much cos mikel is not an attacking minded midfielder. I strongly believe mikel should coordinate d midfield 4r d DM position. Secondly, don't u tink lukman haruna or solomon owello would do beta dan mikel in d CM or AM role? Cos while haruna played dere 4 d SE in 2010 world cup, he did well even beta dan mikel IMO.
Mikel does not play as an attacking midfielder. At the AFCON, we had Mba ahead of him in midfield. At the World Cup we had Babatunde ahead of him. In the last Sudan game, Mikel played an advanced role when they started but in the second half, Aluko played the attacking midfield.
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by thegoodjoehunt3(m): 10:27am On Nov 05, 2014
olajide8:

80% of mikels passes are to his defenders, defensive play - only 20% forward- out of that only 15% are delivered while 5% are cut off, now watch his matches for nigeria and please try and stop comparing him with geniuses like xavi, that doesn't allow the opponent destroy his team members legs on the field with wrong short passes- a genius is one that can single handled change the fortune of a team eg kanu, okocha, messi, CR7 but definitely NOT mikel* you have to have watched each players contribution on a field and not the flow of the match to determine who does what- look at emenike's passes to our 7 can't remember his name now, the hausa boy from kano pillars ahmed musa- that banged in 2 goals against argentina that was excellence personified* look at ball distribution and attack of the defence by babatunde and osaze - on point, they had to practical starve mikel of the ball to result in those goals *it was onaze, osaze, babatunde, emenike, ahmed that created and converted the goals- its not about running a 100m dash nor dribbling its about the gap that would be felt in your absence- and that's what happened to oganyi onaze* at the world cup- look at what happened to liver pool when they sold alfonzo (or what do you call him, their central defended., steven gerrad, captain fantastic -had to work twice as hard on the field)
I do not have time to dig up stats but it has been proving that Mikel makes lots of creative forward passes.

Mikel has been part of many Nigerian goals. Mikel has a lot of assists to his name. Remember Musa's first goal against Sudan?

When Mikel left the field, when Nigeria played USA, our midfield fell apart. You guys never comment about Mikel's role is important only Onazi.

When Onazi injured, we needed a strong runner. That is not Mikel's role and Ambrose who could have played there was also injured by Matuidi.
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by thegoodjoehunt3(m): 10:34am On Nov 05, 2014
kris:
Some people talk like say Keshi no be naija man. Even the Nigerian president dey collect bribe, one way or another.

Why is it so hard to believe that Keshi go collect bribe? I don't think that Keshi asked Mikel for bribe, but Mikel probably dash him money and other things in the past, just as a good gesture, and since then, it's hard for Keshi to say no to the boy.

And people like Martin refuse to bribe, because they feel they're good enough to be on the team without paying anybody.
While someone like Salimi will give all his money to Keshi, so as to be included. Same with Agbim.

If Mikel is that good, he will be in the starting 11 for Chelsea, and other clubs will be fighting to buy him.

In the World Cup games, he lost the ball many times while trying to dibble, and he falls a lot to the ground, like say the guy no get stamina.

How many Nigerian players can get into the starting eleven of Chelsea? Only Mikel can start matches at Chelsea yet you want to slaughter Coach Keshi. Maybe Mourinho took bribe to start Mikel in the Capital One cup game for Chelsea. Shaking my head in Yoruba.
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by Akpama47(m): 10:59am On Nov 05, 2014
thegoodjoehunt3:
Mikel is one of the reasons I like Coach Keshi. Mikel is not as poor as people make him to be. Look at Fellaini at Man Utd. Many Man Utd fans castigated him and wanted him out of the team. Today, he is one of the few players that brings class to the midfield.

Sometimes, people should know there is more to football than watching a player run with the ball. Decision making, intelligence and knowing when to attack or defend is important to the team.

Mikel is a very technical player and has tried his best for the team.

I keep pointing at the fact that Mikel was the best Nigerian player in the match against South Africa. After the game, many were abusing Mikel that he was one of the reasons we did not win the game. I shook my head in Yoruba.

I hear you o,when you have your own football team you can make him the captain
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by kris(m): 12:24pm On Nov 05, 2014
thegoodjoehunt3:
How many Nigerian players can get into the starting eleven of Chelsea? Only Mikel can start matches at Chelsea yet you want to slaughter Coach Keshi. Maybe Mourinho took bribe to start Mikel in the Capital One cup game for Chelsea. Shaking my head in Yoruba.

Chelsea have a contract they signed with Mikel long time ago, so if dem use am or not they pay him, so why not use him once in a while.

Also Mikel be number 10 for Chelsea? We won't have wahala with Keshi if he uses Mikel for the same role he plays in Chelsea.

It's somebody be Bus Driver for London, una come bring am come Naija come make am Doctor, to dey treat sick people. A lot of people go die o! walai talai. lol
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by abatically(m): 2:01pm On Nov 05, 2014
kris:

Also Mikel be number 10 for Chelsea? We won't have wahala with Keshi if he uses Mikel for the same role he plays in Chelsea.

Mikel doesn't play number 10 for Nigeria either. Of is it because he wears the no 10 shirt? Mikel's role in the team is as a holding midfielder, not a no 10.

Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by majorfarms(m): 2:43pm On Nov 05, 2014
John Mikel Obi may not be the fastest or most creative midfielder in the Eagles, but he brings his own aura an strenght into the team. I'm no fan of Mikel at all, because since his move to Chelsea, and being converted to a DM, his growth stopped and started spinning downwrds, but in the Super Eagles, he is stil the bedrock of our middle. Onazi tackles and hassles oppostions, but the head of calm rests on the shoulders of Obi. He may have 3poor games out of 5, but I'll still start him in the Eagles. Why we see his flaws is because we have no one to be creative in the middle, and since he wears the numbr 10, we easily pick him out as the villian...#GodblessNaija.

Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by vibesbazedotml: 7:28pm On Nov 05, 2014
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by kris(m): 11:55pm On Nov 05, 2014
abatically:

Mikel doesn't play number 10 for Nigeria either. Of is it because he wears the no 10 shirt? Mikel's role in the team is as a holding midfielder, not a no 10.

If he's not playing as number 10, then why give him jersey number 10?

Who is playing as number 10 then? It looks more like Mikel is playing number 10, but not really good at it.
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by thegoodjoehunt3(m): 12:02am On Nov 06, 2014
kris:

Who is playing as number 10 then? It looks more like Mikel is playing number 10, but not really good at it.
Edin Dzeko wears 10 for Man City bit he doesn't play the 10 role.
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by edi287: 2:01am On Nov 06, 2014
thegoodjoehunt3:
If Coach Keshi wants to bring in a player from Malta, people will shout.

By the way, replacing Mikel is not easy. Technically brilliant players are difficult to find. Look at Italy, since 2000 until today, they have not been able to replace Pirlo. Xavi and Xabi Alonso was irreplaceable until Thiago Alcantara came along.

Super Eagles have had very great players[b] but only Finidi George, Kanu and Mikel have showed technical brilliance in the Super Eagles
. It is hard to explain this quality. I never watched Coach Keshi play in midfield, but I heard he was that sort of player.

They spend more time reading the game than playing it.

So it is not just about scouting players.[/b]

You forgot about Oliseh.

Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by edi287: 2:13am On Nov 06, 2014
bastien:
Lol Nosa kick and follow? Chai like Seriously dude, Mikel is not technically sound,even with so many years in Europe top league. Do you know why many managers and coach in Europe like depending on black players as their DM? Because they are all technically sound playing on sand in Africa and that gives them the strength to cover the pitch for 90mins,Mikel lacks pace,poor ball passer,no urgency and doesn't read the game. Watch Tiote, Song,Diame, Yaya, Onazi, Mulumbu, Muntari, Nosa, Azeze, etc all these players are box to box DM ,with alot urgency in them, only Nosa have few years experience in Europe. Why is Mike case different? If you can't score create chances. Mikel is overrated
Bullshit!!!

Criticize mikel for not being fast and agile or scoring enough, but don't you dare say he is not technically sound. That's almost blasphemy.
Of all the players you mentioned, only Yaya, song and probably Diame is as technically gifted and tactically savvy as mikel.

My problem with Mikel is he didn't develop as we thought he would which is in part of him being complacent and not pushing himself to the next level. I think he got carried away playing for chelsea. It's like he's content with sitting on the bench.

Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by kris(m): 6:37am On Nov 06, 2014
thegoodjoehunt3:
Edin Dzeko wears 10 for Man City bit he doesn't play the 10 role.

Who dey play number 10 for us na? At least Edin Dzeko is a forward, how you go carry 10 go give someone you expect to be close to the back?
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by Nobody: 7:53am On Nov 06, 2014
kris:

I guess gallas also played no 10 for arsenal when he was there. And Ronaldo plays no 7 for Madrid, Zidane also played no 5 for real Madrid. Oh, and Drogba also plays no 11 for chelsea.

Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by Nobody: 7:59am On Nov 06, 2014
kris:

Who dey play number 10 for us na? At least Edin Dzeko is a forward, how you go carry 10 go give someone you expect to be close to the back?

Dude, gallas wore the number 10 shirt for arsenal and he was a defender. Modern football doesn't really follow the numbers on the back of players. Moreover when plying 4-4-2 formation then no 10 is not required. Against Manchester United, Manchester city played 4-4-2 and didn't play with number 10 because their number 10 David Silva was injured.

At the world Cup, azeez, babatunde played no 10 for us. Against France, moses played no 10 I'm the first half. Sometimes a number 10 is not required based on formation.

Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by thegoodjoehunt3(m): 9:23am On Nov 06, 2014
kris:

Mba, Babatunde, Azeez, Nosa, Aluko etc.
Re: Why Keshi Won't Drop Mikel Obi: His Professionalism by thegoodjoehunt3(m): 9:27am On Nov 06, 2014
edi287:

You forgot about Oliseh.
That is true. Oliseh was a technical genius.

London 2012: Nigeria Was Disqualified In 4x400 Women's Relay / Age Scandal! Stanley Okoro: Heartland Winger Aged 30 Playing For Nigerian U-17s / Lionel Messi Scores Again As Miami Reaches Leagues Cup Semifinals

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 86