Stats: 3,168,833 members, 7,872,798 topics. Date: Wednesday, 26 June 2024 at 10:17 PM

Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? - Religion (14) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? (47595 Views)

Should A Man Who Is A Born-Again Christian Be A Gynaecologist? / When Are christians Permitted to KILL and Can A Christian Be A Soldier? / Can A Born Again Christian Be A Traditional Ruler In Nigeria? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) ... (26) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by shdemidemi(m): 2:05pm On Jan 11, 2015
Hiswordxray:

"7 If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will b ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you."(John 15:7)
"53 Then Jesus said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you have no life in you. 54 Whoever eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day. 55 For My flesh is food indeed, h and My blood is drink indeed. 56 He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood abides in Me, and I in him. 57 As the living Father sent Me, and I live because of the Father, so he who feeds on Me will live because of Me." (John 6:53-57)
Those Who abide in Jesus are the Church.

Do all Israelites abide in Jesus?
Or is it only the Church that abide in Jesus?

Since the wife is one with het husband did Jesus have two bride? 1). the Church 2).Israelites.

There was nothing like a church(Jew and Gentile) at this time, Jesus was speaking to the Jews who needed to accept Him as their king to start a kingdom where Jesus will rule them. Gentiles were not a part of all of this.

Gentiles were brought in majorly by Paul (after Jesus' death and resurrection), who said this
Ephesians 2:12
[size=20pt]remember that at that time you were separate from Christ, excluded from citizenship in Israel and foreigners to the covenants of the promise, without hope and without God in the world.[/size]
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by Hiswordxray(m): 2:05pm On Jan 11, 2015
shdemidemi:

Don't use insult bro, we can use scripture.

James and Peter preached what they knew, what they had been taught but Paul had an encounter with Christ after all of that, where Jesus taught him what he needs him to aver.
Acts 26
12 “One day I was on such a mission to Damascus, armed with the authority and commission of the leading priests. 13 About noon, Your Majesty, as I was on the road, a light from heaven brighter than the sun shone down on me and my companions. 14 We all fell down, and I heard a voice saying to me in Aramaic,[d] ‘Saul, Saul, why are you persecuting me? It is useless for you to fight against my will.[e]’

15 “‘Who are you, lord?’ I asked.

“And the Lord replied, ‘I am Jesus, the one you are persecuting. 16 Now get to your feet! For I have appeared to you to appoint you as my servant and witness. Tell people that you have seen me, and tell them what [size=26pt]I will show you in the future[/size]. 17 And I will rescue you from both your own people and the Gentiles. Yes, [size=26pt]I am sending you to the Gentiles [/size]
I'm sorry if you think am insulting you but in just trying to point you to your foolishness.
So Peter and James who were taught by Jesus himself preached what they know but it was different from what this same Jesus taught Paul.

Wow! Why is Jesus contradicting himself?
Why did he taught Peter and James the wrong gospel or didn't Peter and James teach what Jesus taught them?
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by Hiswordxray(m): 2:09pm On Jan 11, 2015
shdemidemi:

There was nothing like a church(Jew and Gentile) at this time, Jesus was speaking to the Jews who needed to accept Him as their king to start a kingdom where Jesus will rule them. Gentiles were not a part of all of this.

Gentiles were brought in majorly by Paul (after Jesus' death and resurrection), who said this
Ephesians 2:12
[size=20pt]remember that at that time you were separate from Christ, excluded from citizenship in Israel and foreigners to the covenants of the promise, without hope and without God in the world.[/size]
What is the Church?
Who are part of the Church?
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by shdemidemi(m): 2:22pm On Jan 11, 2015
Hiswordxray:

I'm sorry if you think am insulting you but in just trying to point you to your foolishness.
So Peter and James who were taught by Jesus himself preached what they know but it was different from what this same Jesus taught Paul.

Why did he taught Peter and James the wrong gospel or didn't Peter and James teach what Jesus taught them?

You don't need to be sorry, we only need to respect each other regardless of opinions.

I will tell you about a man Called Apollos, he was a Jew, a teacher of the law and he was not just that, he was eloquent. He came in touch with a couple that had been taught by Apostle Paul about GRACE. This couple called him aside after they had listened to him. Guess what, he upgraded his message.

Acts 18
24 And a certain Jew named Apollos, born at Alexandria, an eloquent man, and mighty in the scriptures, came to Ephesus.

25 This man was instructed in the way of the Lord; and being fervent in the spirit, he spake and taught diligently the things of the Lord, knowing only the baptism of John.

26 And he began to speak boldly in the synagogue: whom when Aquila and Priscilla had heard, they took him unto them, and expounded unto him the way of God [size=20pt]more perfectly.[/size]

27 And when he was disposed to pass into Achaia, the brethren wrote, exhorting the disciples to receive him: who, when he was come, helped them much which had believed through [size=20pt]grace[/size]:

28 For he mightily convinced the Jews, and that publicly, shewing by the scriptures that Jesus was Christ.

Jesus taught them what they needed to know before his passion. If He taught them everything, there will be no need for Paul. Paul came on the scene and all is history.

There is a reason why the muslims sort of reverence their mohammed than who they call Jesus. They believe the last message is the greatest message. Paul's message was the last message to the church concerning our salvation.

Gal 1:12
For I neither received it of man, neither was I taught it, but by the revelation of Jesus Christ.
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by shdemidemi(m): 2:24pm On Jan 11, 2015
Hiswordxray:

What is the Church?
Who are part of the Church?

The church is the mystical body of Jesus Christ

Everyone who believe the gospel are part of this body.
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by BabaGnoni: 2:28pm On Jan 11, 2015
Hiswordxray:

Well pointing out can be done with the utmost decorum and done without mudslinging is what shdemidemi is saying bro

The gospel is the same. The gospel never changed
The message, the recipients of the message, the timing of the message etcetera are all progressive

God is not the author of confusion. Jesus is not contradicting himself

Bro, you definitely recall Peter saying in 2 Peter 3:16 that some of Paul's teachings are sometimes difficult to swallow or stomach

15And remember, our Lord’s patience gives people time to be saved.
This is what our beloved brother Paul also wrote to you with the wisdom God gave him—
16speaking of these things in all of his letters.
Some of his comments are hard to understand,
and those who are ignorant and unstable have twisted his letters to mean something quite different,
just as they do with other parts of Scripture.
And this will result in their destruction.

2 Peter 3:15-16 NLT
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by shdemidemi(m): 2:39pm On Jan 11, 2015
BabaGnoni:

so what is the faith Adam did not depart from then bro?
What exactly is/was this faith?. Hmm?
Also apart from God earlier guaranteeing so, Adam eating the fruit or Adam disobeying God, why did Adam die?

The only faith you can associate with Adam is that he heard from God and he believed what he heard.

Adam died because he disobeyed. He acted against what he knew.
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by vooks: 2:41pm On Jan 11, 2015
He was talking to individuals not to a nation. You claim the branches are Israel nation. Do you think before typing away? What about after?

shdemidemi:

Better!

Did you see the part where it says Jesus was speaking to Jews?

Do you realise Jesus instructed the disciples from taking the message of the kingdom to Gentiles at this point?

Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by shdemidemi(m): 2:45pm On Jan 11, 2015
vooks:
He was talking to individuals not to a nation. You claim the branches are Israel nation. Do you think before typing away? What about after?

Were Gentiles included in all of this, at the time when Jesus was speaking?
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by vooks: 2:50pm On Jan 11, 2015
Bidam,
God saves you THROUGH faith,not a momentary historical event but a continuous life of faith.

That's what conditional eternal security is all about. If you don't regard initial faith as a condition,why do you regard continuing/remaining in faith as a condition?
Bidam:
Yes.God saved you through faith as an act of kindness. You had nothing to do with it. Being saved is a gift from God.Ephesians 2:8
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by vooks: 2:51pm On Jan 11, 2015
No they were not.

Do you agree he was talking to INDIVIDUALS about the need to continue/abide in him and not a nation?
shdemidemi:

Were Gentiles included in all of this, at the time when Jesus was speaking?
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by shdemidemi(m): 2:54pm On Jan 11, 2015
vooks:
No they were not.

Do you agree he was talking to INDIVIDUALS about the need to continue/abide in him and not a nation?

This guy and his style of argument. I asked you a question you return with a question.

Were Gentiles included in all of this, at the time when Jesus was speaking? SIMPLE
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by BabaGnoni: 2:57pm On Jan 11, 2015
BabaGnoni:
Also apart from God earlier guaranteeing so, Adam eating the fruit or Adam disobeying God, why did Adam die?

shdemidemi:
The only faith you can associate with Adam is that he heard from God and he believed what he heard.

I said "... apart from God earlier guaranteeing so, Adam eating the fruit or Adam disobeying God, why did Adam die? "
Why do you have to parrot in "Adam died because he disobeyed" after the hint not to?
We all know that much, anyway it doesnt matter. You've repeated it, no point crying over split milk

This by the minute is becoming interestingly more.

So when you say "...He acted against what he knew..." that in essence means he departed from the faith
He ultimately and effectively lost the faith in disobeying (i.e. departing from what he knew)

He died as a result of losing that faith out of disobedience (i.e. stemmed out of departing from what he knew)
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by vooks: 2:59pm On Jan 11, 2015
I just answered you; Gentiles were not included

Now, do you agree with me that he was appealing to the disciples as INDIVIDUALS/branches and not a NATION?
shdemidemi:

This guy and his style of argument. I asked you a question you return with a question.

Were Gentiles included in all of this, at the time when Jesus was speaking? SIMPLE

Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by Goshen360(m): 3:55pm On Jan 11, 2015
Ubenedictus:

hehehe

you must believe in a blind God.

Say that to the Apostle Paul when you're ready to open scriptures.... wink wink wink
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by Goshen360(m): 4:01pm On Jan 11, 2015
@ italo, so you are a sickler because you fall sick? I can't stop laughing over here.... grin grin grin. I know this kind of subject is bigger than some people and they will struggle to handle it.... grin grin grin

Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by Nobody: 4:02pm On Jan 11, 2015
vooks:
Bidam,
God saves you THROUGH faith,not a momentary historical event but a continuous life of faith.

That's what conditional eternal security is all about. If you don't regard initial faith as a condition,why do you regard continuing/remaining in faith as a condition?
I think you should go back and reread my post. I said good works are the evidence that you are saved.God graciously works in us to will and to do of His good pleasure.Paul was sure of a crown of righteousness for fighting, finishing, and keeping the faith. (II Timothy 4:7-8.).
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by Goshen360(m): 4:03pm On Jan 11, 2015
Chei, una don scatter ground for this thread oo...... grin grin grin. I no even fit catch up again. Anyway, make una enjoy....Happy Sunday to all.
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by shdemidemi(m): 4:13pm On Jan 11, 2015
Goshen360:
Chei, una don scatter ground for this thread oo...... grin grin grin. I no even fit catch up again. Anyway, make una enjoy....Happy Sunday to all.

Noo..I no gree. U must download your part of the fight of faith here...lol grin

Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by Goshen360(m): 4:20pm On Jan 11, 2015
shdemidemi:

Noo..I no gree. U must download your part of the fight of faith here...lol grin

Abeg make we leaf am like that, most part\somethings I'm with you and some we disagree, so I will just leaf am like that plus, you know say I will definitely chat and contribute supposing I have time. I'm doing a lot this time so get somethings done so, nairaland is least of my schedule.
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by vooks: 4:39pm On Jan 11, 2015
My broda,
I understand you well. We need faith to access salvation. I only add that we need to remain in faith to keep our salvation. We depart from faith and we lose our salvation.

Have a blessed Lord's Day
Bidam:
I think you should go back and reread my post. I said good works are the evidence that you are saved.God graciously works in us to will and to do of His good pleasure.Paul was sure of a crown of righteousness for fighting, finishing, and keeping the faith. (II Timothy 4:7-8.).
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by shdemidemi(m): 4:42pm On Jan 11, 2015
Goshen360:

Abeg make we leaf am like that, most part\somethings I'm with you and some we disagree, so I will just leaf am like that plus, you know say I will definitely chat and contribute supposing I have time. I'm doing a lot this time so get somethings done so, nairaland is least of my schedule.

ok. would have been nice to see what part we disagree though. Do what you got to do, May God guide and see you through.
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by Hiswordxray(m): 4:44pm On Jan 11, 2015
shdemidemi:

You don't need to be sorry, we only need to respect each other regardless of opinions.

I will tell you about a man Called Apollos, he was a Jew, a teacher of the law and he was not just that, he was eloquent. He came in touch with a couple that had been taught by Apostle Paul about GRACE. This couple called him aside after they had listened to him. Guess what, he upgraded his message.

Acts 18
24 And a certain Jew named Apollos, born at Alexandria, an eloquent man, and mighty in the scriptures, came to Ephesus.

25 This man was instructed in the way of the Lord; and being fervent in the spirit, he spake and taught diligently the things of the Lord, knowing only the baptism of John.

26 And he began to speak boldly in the synagogue: whom when Aquila and Priscilla had heard, they took him unto them, and expounded unto him the way of God [size=20pt]more perfectly.[/size]

27 And when he was disposed to pass into Achaia, the brethren wrote, exhorting the disciples to receive him: who, when he was come, helped them much which had believed through [size=20pt]grace[/size]:

28 For he mightily convinced the Jews, and that publicly, shewing by the scriptures that Jesus was Christ.

Jesus taught them what they needed to know before his passion. If He taught them everything, there will be no need for Paul. Paul came on the scene and all is history.

There is a reason why the muslims sort of reverence their mohammed than who they call Jesus. They believe the last message is the greatest message. Paul's message was the last message to the church concerning our salvation.

Gal 1:12
For I neither received it of man, neither was I taught it, but by the revelation of Jesus Christ.
Paul met Peter and James at the early stage of is ministry (although not too early but before he fully accept is mission to the Gentiles). Why didn't he update them?
And I'm sure the book of James was written after James met Paul. Then why isn't it updated?
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by Hiswordxray(m): 4:56pm On Jan 11, 2015
shdemidemi:

The church is the mystical body of Jesus Christ

Everyone who believe the gospel are part of this body.
If the Church is the body of Jesus and Jesus is the vine then it is only logical to say the branches which is a part of the vine is the Church.
Jesus came to built the Church and when he was alive he built and place the twelve foundation stones of the Church (Rev 21:14).
The Church hasn't fully emerge when Jesus was alive but the foundation was there.
In John 15 Jesus was referring to the foundation stones and the future Church not Israel.
Israel is not the body of Christ but the Church is.
Can you see.
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by shdemidemi(m): 4:58pm On Jan 11, 2015
Hiswordxray:

Paul met Peter and James at the early stage of is ministry (although not too early but before he fully accept is mission to the Gentiles). Why didn't he update them?
And I'm sure the book of James was written after James met Paul. Then why isn't it updated?

Paul was not sent to impose what he heard on James or Peter. He was sent to the Gentiles. Remember God had appeared to Peter in a trance to reveal a change in operations when he was ordered to visit Cornelius. That was the only reason Peter admitted to what Paul was saying. Peter became an alibi of some sort when the issue about the Gentiles was raised among the Jewish believers.
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by shdemidemi(m): 5:05pm On Jan 11, 2015
Hiswordxray:

If the Church is the body of Jesus and Jesus is the vine then it is only logical to say the branches which is a part of the vine is the Church.
Jesus came to built the Church and when he was alive he built and place the twelve foundation stones of the Church (Rev 21:14).
The Church hasn't fully emerge when Jesus was alive but the foundation was there.
In John 15 Jesus was referring to the foundation stones and the future Church not Israel.
Israel is not the body of Christ but the Church is.
Can you see.

Bro, you are mixing noodles with okro grin you will purge o.
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by Hiswordxray(m): 5:26pm On Jan 11, 2015
shdemidemi:

Why do you say that?
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by Hiswordxray(m): 5:30pm On Jan 11, 2015
shdemidemi:

Paul was not sent to impose what he heard on James or Peter. He was sent to the Gentiles. Remember God had appeared to Peter in a trance to reveal a change in operations when he was ordered to visit Cornelius. That was the only reason Peter admitted to what Paul was saying. Peter became an alibi of some sort when the issue about the Gentiles was raised among the Jewish believers.

OK, Peter and James were sent to go and mislead the Jews by preaching the wrong Gospel of works. While Paul was sent to preach the right Gospel of faith.
And Jesus failed in training his disciples despite how he tried to emphasize faith in his ministry.
Isn't that what you are saying?
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by shdemidemi(m): 5:45pm On Jan 11, 2015
Hiswordxray:

OK, Peter and James were sent to go and mislead the Jews by preaching the wrong Gospel of works. While Paul was sent to preach the right Gospel of faith.
And Jesus failed in training his disciples despite how he tried to emphasize faith in his ministry.
Isn't that what you are saying?

Peter and the rest were commissioned to do a job.
Acts 1
8 But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you. And you will be my witnesses, telling people about me everywhere—in Jerusalem, throughout Judea, in Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”

Jesus had told them to take the gospels to Gentiles but -

Acts 11:9

Now those who had been scattered by the persecution that broke out when Stephen was killed traveled as far as Phoenicia, Cyprus and Antioch, spreading the word only among Jews.

Paul was called by Christ to do the job that needed to be done, which was to take the gospel to Gentiles.
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by BabaGnoni: 5:47pm On Jan 11, 2015
Goshen360:
@ italo, so you are a sickler because you fall sick?
I can't stop laughing over here.... grin grin grin.
I know this kind of subject is bigger than some people and they will struggle to handle it.... grin grin grin
^^^
"abi o ri nkan" loosing meaning "una never see wonderment yet"
Me too comot hat, took two steps back and paid obeisance to him grin grin grin
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by BabaGnoni: 5:48pm On Jan 11, 2015
shdemidemi:
Purge? grin grin grin
Why purge, this is a first. Any potty around...
This shdemidemi sef with "...mixing noodles with okro..."
Keep it up, you never know if long enough, you might get to exchange the day job for comedy
Re: Can A Christian Be Justify & Still Be Guilty As Charged? by BabaGnoni: 5:57pm On Jan 11, 2015
BabaGnoni:

shdemidemi:

I said "... apart from God earlier guaranteeing so, Adam eating the fruit or Adam disobeying God, why did Adam die? "
Why do you have to parrot in "Adam died because he disobeyed" after the hint not to?
We all know that much, anyway it doesnt matter. You've repeated it, no point crying over split milk

This by the minute is becoming interestingly more.

So when you say "...He acted against what he knew..." that in essence means he departed from the faith
He ultimately and effectively lost the faith in disobeying (i.e. departing from what he knew)

He died as a result of losing that faith out of disobedience (i.e. stemmed out of departing from what he knew)

^^^
Dont forget responding

(1) (2) (3) ... (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) ... (26) (Reply)

7 Reasons Why I Respect The Jehovah’s Witnesses / Masquerade Converts To Christianity And Becomes An Evangelist In 6 Months(photo) / Modele Fatoyinbo: I Am Not Your Friend If You Don’t Celebrate Biodun Fatoyinbo

Viewing this topic: 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 78