Stats: 3,174,814 members, 7,893,156 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 July 2024 at 05:21 AM

Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name (38297 Views)

IPOB: Nnamdi Kanu To Drag Buhari, Security Agencies To UN, ICC / Akwa-Ibom Lawyers Drag Buhari To Court Over NDDC Appointment / Official Portrait Of Buhari As He Drops General Title From May 29 (2) (3) (4)

Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by lalasticlala(m): 5:56pm On May 19, 2015
Lagos lawyer, Ebun-Olu Adegoruwa has threatened to drag president-elect, Muhammadu Buhari to court, for asking Nigerians to stop calling him “General” from May 29.

A statement by his Media Director, Mallam Garba Shehu, had stated that: “From May 29, 2015, the President-elect and Vice-President-elect are to be respectively known and addressed as Muhammadu Buhari, President, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, Federal Republic of Nigeria and Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, Vice President, Federal Republic of Nigeria”.

Reacting, the lawyer described the statement as shocking and unacceptable.

He argues that by virtue of Buhari’s membership of the Nigerian Army, he became Head of State, and earned salaries and benefits even when he contested elections in 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2015.

Adegboruwa warned that should Buhari ignore his appeal, by insisting on denying his past, whilst he continues to earn salaries and benefits through the same rank that he seeks to jettison, “I shall file a suit before the Federal High Court, to seek an injunction to restrain the President-elect from denying his official and legal titles, or alternatively, to give up, pay back and restore, all the pensions, salaries and benefits that he has so far earned, either as a commissioned officer of the Nigerian Army, or as a former military Head of State.”

The letter reads:

EBUN-OLU ADEGBORUWA & CO

Barristers, Solicitors, Consultants

PRESS RELEASE ON BUHARI’S STATUS

MAJOR-GENERAL MUHAMMADU BUHARI (Retd.), AN ARMY GENERAL FOR LIFE

I have read the press statement of the President-elect of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Major-General Muhammadu Buhari (Retd.), indicating that as from May 29, 2015, he would like to be addressed simply as Muhammadu Buhari, without reflecting his official designation as a retired officer in the Nigerian Army.

This is totally shocking, and rather unacceptable. I therefore humbly urge all Nigerians to disregard this appeal from the President-elect, as it is illegal and immoral, upon the following reasons.

1. Major-General Muhammadu Buhari (Retd.) is the official and legal status, title, designation and appellation of our dear President-elect. He has no choice in the matter but to continue to carry this cross, for life.

2. The military in Nigeria and the world over, is a dignified professional institution, built upon the solid foundations of discipline, selflessness, courage, dignity, loyalty and patriotism. It is an institution that everyone should be proud of, except those of them who were trained and equipped by this noble institution, but chose to capture civilian power, through coup detat.

3. Under and by virtue of the Armed Forces Act, (s.25) a retired army officer, such as the President-elect, is forever a part and parcel of the Nigerian Army.

4. Under and by virtue of Paragraph 1(1) of the 1st Schedule of the Armed Forces Pensions Act, Major-General Muhammadu Buhari (Retd.), is entitled to and has indeed been receiving and benefiting from pension, as an officer who held a regular commission, before his retirement.

5. Major-General Mohammadu Buhari (Retd.) illegally seized power in Nigeria from an elected President, on December 31, 1983 and forcefully crowned himself as Head of State. He forcefully held on to power for 1 year, 239 days, before he was also deposed on August 27, 1985, by General Ibrahim Babangida (Retd.). He is thus a retired commissioned officer of the Nigerian Army and he remains so for as long as he lives.

6. Major-General Muhammadu Buhari (Retd.) attends the Council of State meeting as former Head of State, which office he held in his capacity as a Major-General.

7. Under and by virtue of section 1 of the Remuneration of Former Presidents and Heads of State Act No. 32 of 1999, Major-General Muhammadu Buhari (Retd.), is entitled to a very fat salary as pension, for life. He is also entitled to the following benefits:

(i) Chief Administrative Officer of not less than Grade Level 12;

(ii) Personal Secretary of not less than Grade Level 12;

(iii) Four armed policemen as his private security;

(iv) A top ranking State Security Service officer as his Aide De Camp;

(v) Three official vehicles to be changed every four years;

(vi) Three drivers to be paid by Federal Government;

(vii) Diplomatic Passport for life;

(viii) Free medical treatment in Nigeria for himself and members of his family;

(ix) Free medical treatment abroad for himself and members of his family;

(x) Thirty days annual leave;

(xi) Well equipped and well furnished office accommodation;

(x) Well equipped and well furnished living apartment, not less than five bedroom duplex;

(xi) Free telephone, etc.

(cool The President-elect became entitled to all the above, by virtue of his membership of the Nigerian Army; he became Head of State, by virtue of his commission as an officer of the Nigerian Army and he has earned these salaries and benefits as such, over the years, even when he contested elections in 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2015.

(9) The moral question, involved in the President-elect’s sudden change of status, is in the fact that he contested election and canvassed for votes, from Nigerians and he was so voted for, as a retired military general. He should continue to bear and carry that honourable title of Major-General, for as long as he lives.

10. Thus, so long as Major-General Muhammadu Buhari (Retd.), is earning his pensions from the Nigerian Army, so long as Major-General Muhammadu Buhari (Retd.), is earning all his benefits as a former military Head of State and so long as Major-General Muhammadu Buhari (Retd.), has not changed his name and status in the way recognised by law, the good people of Nigeria, in particular the Nigerian Army, are well urged to continue to address him as a retired Major-General.

PERSONAL APPEAL

From all the foregoing, I therefore humbly appeal to the President-elect, to continue to bear his official name and status, by which he once climbed to power. I do sincerely sympathise with the President-elect, on the very sad and distasteful memories, that this title attracts to him, but it is his cross to carry. Nigerians voted for him, in spite of his past and that should be enough encouragement for him, to strive to erase any negative impression, that it may have occasioned.

The best option for the President-elect, to erase those memories from our hearts, is not by seeking to deny his past, but rather to use his present position, to address the fundamental issues of corruption, epileptic power supply, unemployment, insecurity, infrastructure development and such other issues, that were the subject of his campaign promises.

COURT CASE

Should the President-elect ignore this appeal, by insisting on denying his past, whilst he continues to earn salaries and benefits through the same rank that he seeks to jettison, I shall file a suit before the Federal High Court, to seek an injunction to restrain the President-elect from denying his official and legal titles, or alternatively, to give up, pay back and restore, all the pensions, salaries and benefits that he has so far earned, either a commissioned officer of the Nigerian Army, or as a former military Head of State.

The problem facing Nigerians presently is not about designation, titles or status, but rather that of fulfilment of all the promises made during the campaigns. WE WANT REAL CHANGE, NOW, NOW, NOW!

Thank you all. God bless Nigeria.

EBUN-OLU ADEGBORUWA, ESQ.

http://dailypost.ng/2015/05/19/lawyer-threatens-to-sue-buhari-for-dropping-general-title-from-name/

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by shakazuldadon: 5:57pm On May 19, 2015

The way me and lalasticlala dey go front page.. na speed train o grin

Anyways GMB should expect distractions from all sides but as the leader we need, he must tune off all distractions and focus on good DEMOCRATIC governance because we have our PVCs and won't hesitate to use it 2019.

However the lawyer makes very very very valid points and just slam dunks buhari which is totally cool.. GMB cannot run away from general title because it's what he is and its his shadow with an evil past record. However he can redeem himself as a civilian president.

Good luck General Buhari

37 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by Nobody: 5:59pm On May 19, 2015
For some Lawyers, when there is no job, just pick up a futile cause and publicize it and then you like a celeb to some

My cousin that is a lawyer told me that he doesn't see anything special with someone like Festu Kenyam, that he is just a noisemaker grin

I laugh tire that day.

77 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by Ezenwammadu(m): 5:59pm On May 19, 2015
We have some seriously hungry and attention seeking lawyers.Many retired officers has dropped that title.Obj dropped his,Ojukwu dropped his and many others

96 Likes 12 Shares

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by socialmediaman: 6:00pm On May 19, 2015
This man is just seeking cheap attention. This kind of news is what you see when the country has stabilised, not at this time.. So Mr man, piss off...

22 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by Nobody: 6:00pm On May 19, 2015
*_*
Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by cycline404(m): 6:00pm On May 19, 2015
Here we are again!
Attention seeking lawyers!!!

During election, GMB was so matured and smart!
They talked about Certificate he was watching, now they want to waste some printing papers in court, because he choose to drop General from his name.

I never heard Gen. Obasanjo during his time! I only heard President Obasanjo

Jobless lawyers! You had better join the trekkers!

81 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by tociano009(m): 6:00pm On May 19, 2015
grin adonbilivit

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by adebisiolumide5(m): 6:00pm On May 19, 2015
sOME PEOPLE AND BUSY body ehn!!!! rubbish

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by Ilekeh(f): 6:00pm On May 19, 2015
Some people have no case, so they create a case for themselves.

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by misterh(m): 6:00pm On May 19, 2015
Wozzoldiz nonsense sef?

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by ednoville(m): 6:00pm On May 19, 2015
Dear President Muhammad buhari(elect),
My name is Edwin Obaje and today 19th of may, I’m a year older, I hope you wish me a happy birthday when and if this letter gets to you, it’s my heartfelt desire that you get to read it. Also, your acknowledgement of the receipt of this letter and promise to take immediate action when you get to office as it concerns the content of this letter will be a wonderful birthday gift to me which I’ll cherish for a life time.
As a child right activist, I’ve been personally monitoring events around the country as they affect the total well being of the Nigerian child but none has burdened my heart like that of the recurring sad stories of children being infected and dying from lead poisoning. First, in Zamfara state and now in Niger state. Just recently 28 children have died from lead poisoning from illegal gold mining in Rafi area of Niger state, action must be taken quickly if they are not to suffer irreversible neurological damage.
Doctors Without Borders (DWB), an international NGO has been treating children from a 2010 mass lead poisoning in Zamfara state that killed 400 kids and left many paralyzed, blind and with learning disabilities because of a three-year delay in government funding for a clean up. DWB have claimed they have cured 2,688 of 5,451 people infected and hope to complete treatment next year. They have had most success in the worst affected village of Bagega where all but 189 of 1426 people have had the lead leached from their bodies.
Mr President-elect, It will be of interest to you to know that all those newly infected in Niger State are under the age of 5 years which is the age range of children with the lowest immunity against foreign infection or invasion, 43 per cent of the 65 sickened children are dying. The new mining sites which were found to contain leaded ores are often brought home for crushing and processing and are associated with this devastating impact of this outbreak, the fact that villagers make up to ten times as much from gold than from farming is the major factor encouraging illegal mining in these states. It has been discovered that Zamfara state where the processing area was found contains over 100,000 parts per million of lead which is far above 400 parts per million which the UN considers safe
Sir, the root cause of this lead poisoning crisis has been identified as unsafe mining and ore processing. People who engage in mining and ore processing must be given access to facilities and programs to allow them safely mine and process ore without exposing themselves or others to toxic lead. I therefore, On this my birthday passionately appeal to your incoming government to provide full support to these organizations especially the Doctors without Borders that are risking their lives and investing their time and resources to help curtail this crisis as previous Governments efforts to forbid artisanal mining have failed.
I hope you’ll wish me a happy birthday, but your wish for me can only come through if you’ll sincerely regard this passionate request as a national emergency in defense of the rights of the Nigerian children as adopted by the United Nations 1989 convention of the rights of the child which Nigeria is signatory as you begin your historic journey of change.
Our leaders of tomorrow depend on you; posterity beckons on you, save the children and save our future. Congrats on your election and thank you for taking time to read this.
EDWIN OBAJE
(May 19, 2015)
On behalf of affected Children

47 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by Nobody: 6:00pm On May 19, 2015
If you get rid of lawyers ad Journalists then you are not far from Utopia

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by IlikePDP7: 6:01pm On May 19, 2015
Obviously he's an ldiot. And btw Buhari and all other Retd Generals are no longer in the Military so no one is mandated to address them as such.
His long epistle is so useless i bet the Judge will jail his ass for being such a dumbass.

13 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by Nobody: 6:01pm On May 19, 2015
Ezenwammadu:
We have some seriously hungry and attention seeking lawyers

You're right.

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by luckman20(m): 6:01pm On May 19, 2015
Op and lawyer take it

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by klickash077(m): 6:01pm On May 19, 2015
nothing we no go hear for this nigeria. maybe the person below me will have something tangible to say to this issue. as for me make I go queue for fuel for filing station

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by Thespecialone(m): 6:01pm On May 19, 2015
Interesting.
Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by Pavore9: 6:01pm On May 19, 2015
I hope this is not another charge and bail lawyer......how did we address Obasanjo during his Presidency?

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by coolhamid(m): 6:02pm On May 19, 2015
The lawyer got some points up there... GMB shouldnt deny his past. A general will always be a general

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by admax(m): 6:02pm On May 19, 2015
Chai...this lawyers sef, someone said you shouldn't address him as a General after May 29th and you want to sue him for that?? OBJ was addressed as Chief Obasanjo when he was the President. Please don't distract Buhari with unnecessary court cases, he has more important battles to fight.

8 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by Sleekyshuga(f): 6:02pm On May 19, 2015
Huh grin grin?

This is JOBLESSNESS in its matured stage..

Attention seeker but so doing it the wrong way undecided undecided..

Do I blame him? No.. Why? Cos he doesn't have a job cheesy cheesy..

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by Nobody: 6:02pm On May 19, 2015
DIS IS STRANGE

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by braine(m): 6:02pm On May 19, 2015
Na wah.
Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by dridowu: 6:02pm On May 19, 2015
jobless lawyer i guess
Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by Damalex4luv(m): 6:03pm On May 19, 2015
All this I never chop lawyer wey dey look for relevance. Rubbish as if Baba iyabo no drop him own general name too.. shocked shocked shocked

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by Nobody: 6:03pm On May 19, 2015
Relax.
He's only hustling. wink

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by morhsuud22(m): 6:03pm On May 19, 2015
natural daf.tness
Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by presido2e(m): 6:03pm On May 19, 2015
Obasanjo stopped being referred to as a "General" after being sworn in as President in 1999, or was this lawyer asleep then?

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by masseratti: 6:03pm On May 19, 2015
Seriously, NJC or NBA should start dis barring some lawyer for unscrupulous cases,this is time wasting for God's sake,wss the this lawyer in moon when Obj dropped his title? He is taking about world over has he ever heard of President Ike the former General Ike of the USA?

Re: Lawyer To Drag Buhari To Court For Dropping General Title From Name by gen2briz(m): 6:03pm On May 19, 2015
Lagos lawyer sha....
Make Dem take their time do better things.

EFCC In Benue Intercept Bags Of Cash Meant For Vote-buying - Photos / El-rufai To Critics : GO AND DIE If You're Not Happy Over My Appointees / Stop Criticizing Ex-president Jonathan’s Administration – Rotimi Amaechi

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 46