Stats: 3,168,842 members, 7,872,833 topics. Date: Wednesday, 26 June 2024 at 11:13 PM

Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion - European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) (2373) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion (8893913 Views)

Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 / Manchester United Fan Thread: Premier League Champions 2010/11 / Manchester United Fan thread: Forever Reds (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2370) (2371) (2372) (2373) (2374) (2375) (2376) ... (14225) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by funlord(m): 9:07am On Nov 11, 2015
cool EPIPHANY;

"When I spoke to Danny Blind, it was a very good conversation. I think I'm a team player and the other players in the team also think that. I don't think I'm in a difficult path of my career as the media talk, but I just think my form isn't very good right now.

"I'm still working hard. Just because I don't show the exact form that I showed at the World Cup or last year @ psv, it doesn't mean I don't work hard. Right now, I feel good again. Other people don't see what I'm doing in training so people think I'm not busy with football but that's not true."

"Of course, it's difficult when you're on the bench but it's going better right now. If I get my chance to play, I will take it. I think lots of things have changed. I'm in a new club right now and it's a different level compared to the Dutch league."

"Such things play a big role when you're trying to find your way and it was a bit easy at the start but then I fell back and you could see it in the way I played. However, you can assume I'm busy with working on that and getting back to the top. I feel fit and I'm trying to show on the training ground that I'm doing my best to perform well"

Memphis depay......Sky sports!!!
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by tess1(m): 9:09am On Nov 11, 2015
Saying Chicharito will be lost in this sytem is a total fallacy. We`ve seen him getting at least two chances in the two matches he`s featured this season though he didn`t score. Were those chances ftom crosses?

Also, saying that Chicha played for us in the last 3 seasons and that he and Rooney started 3-5-2 is another fallacy because Chicha only played 46 mins in the league in 2014/15 season before he was loaned out to Real Madrid. Also,in the current season, he only played 23 mins in the league. Is that time enough for him to know if he`ll fit into the system? NO.

There is no conviction that he wouldn`t fit into this system because he wasn`t given enough playing opportunity.

If we are to apply the same rule, then Rooney who has been giving us shit sonce being played upfront should have been dropped since the game against newcastle. Some pundits are even now saying that it is LVG`s system that is making Rooney to be under-performing. If this is the case, he too should`ve been sold off since.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by SailorXY: 9:16am On Nov 11, 2015
elampiro:

Rooney has been our top scorer in the last two seasons, [s]and he is mostly likely to end our top scorer baring injuries[/s]. Under Moyes despite being injured and playing many minutes in the deep he ended top of our scorers chart. He was also was highest in Asists.

SAF is backing him to get into gear this season. Apart from Martial he is still most likely to get us goals. A proven player is a proven player.
ogbeni no dey wish us bad abeg undecided end top scorer ko. what did we manage with his top scoring the past two years? *spits*

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Nobody: 10:12am On Nov 11, 2015
Some people still believe Rooney will end up being our top scorer grin grin

We go all dey here together by May
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by RuuDie(m): 10:29am On Nov 11, 2015
StarBoard:

Sorry i had to edit this.

I do not agree with the above.

He dismantled the backroom staff and appointed his lackeys.
So it's not like he didn't have the freedom to do what he wanted, but because he has nothing upstairs, he bungled that opportunity, even with a side that was league defending champions.

On the matter of him running the ship, the job of Man. United manager is NOT for all and sundry.

As per his first season with Sociedad, where did he end up? mid-table, as is his usual position.
And if he was as good as some of us think he is, why couldn't he conjure up the same magic this season?

For all we want to say about LvG,both good and bad, he has earned the right to do things any way he likes. His career resume speaks for itself. Moyes cannot and should not be allowed to do anything his way till he wins a trophy. He shouldnt even coach a sunday league team sef.

We will see about all this come the end of the season!
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by coogar: 10:29am On Nov 11, 2015
nyabinghi:
shame on mata he failed to win epl since ever something kagawa did in his debut season,fab4 and haz10 have won for chelsea,

fab4 & haz10 didn't win the league for chelsea, jose mourinho did. how come fab didn't win it in his 6 seasons at arsenal? how come hazard didn't win it under benitez?

kagawa was injured for most of 12/13. he wasn't instrumental to our league title. SAF won the league. you have to look at the calibre of manager in a team before apportioning blame.

until jose's arrival.....mata was chelsea's best player. even when hazard arrived, mata bested him. his assists brought chelsea back from the dead in the final in munich & his assist won uefa cup for chelsea a season later.

that's the mark of a great player!

mata was seen as a liability by mou and was sold off and later chelsea got improved result let him outscore wazza in europe, is mahrez a striker, he earns lower than mata but shits on mata

he wasn't seen as a liability.....
he didn't want to be a bench player at chelsea having won their player of season back to back.

mata has disgraced rooney.....
how come mata keeps scoring & rooney cannot score in the same system? what should concern you is that our leading striker, highest earner and captain simply isn't a goal threat and struggles in the PL.

mata has more PL goals than rooney in 2015 and herrera(another midfielder) ties rooney on 6. both mata and herrera have played much less as well in terms of minutes on the pitch, so it's a valid concern.

to put rooney's pathetic performance into perspective, gerrard(who has since left the PL) has the same amount of PL goals as rooney in 2015. shouldn't that even embarrass you as a fan of rooney? grin

admit it, your idol is finished. he's lost pace, power, aggression & his first touch is worse than clifford orji's.....this is what you expect these days when rooney is on the ball.... grin

13 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Nobody: 10:36am On Nov 11, 2015
RuuDie:

We will see about all this come the end of the season!
For the record, this is not about LvG vs Moyes.
It' s about how incompetent Moyes was as United manager and how he should never have been one in the first place.

van Gaal might win nothing and could still be given leeway and benefit of the doubt at Man. United.
Moyes is still searching for his first trophy nearly a quarter of a decade into his management sojourn, where scraps like Allardyce, Redknapp, McLeish, MacLaren alll have won trophies.

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by coogar: 10:52am On Nov 11, 2015
nyabinghi:
depay got united just 2 goals all season what odion ighalo achieved in just 17 minutes lvg deserved to be shot for this sham and scam

at this rate, you might need junior to come count for you. depay has 4 goals all season.....and he's a winger!

nyabinghi:
coogar so u now count penalties to back ur mata but slate hazard and wazza for same penalties, tell me how depay is beasting epl

even if we remove mata's 2 goals from penalty kicks, he has outperformed rooney.

mata - 2 goals, 3 assists(949 mins)
wazza - 2 goals, 0 assist(982 mins)

any other excuse? grin
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by elampiro(m): 11:49am On Nov 11, 2015
SailorXY:

ogbeni no dey wish us bad abeg undecided end top scorer ko. what did we manage with his top scoring the past two years? *spits*

Past two years was a bridge period. The time we needed to put ourselves together in the post Ferguson era. Just a few successive goals he will be back. His energy has returned. His confidence still needs to improve.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by sinizia: 12:09pm On Nov 11, 2015
AdeLaNa1:
Some people still believe Rooney will end up being our top scorer grin grin

We go all dey here together by May

Some people are just irredeemable. undecided
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by sinizia: 12:30pm On Nov 11, 2015
Goal Scorer: Mata (4 Goals)
Top Assists: Mata (3 Assists)
Highest Pass Accuracy: Schneiderlin (91% Pass Accuracy with 539 Comp. Passes)
Highest Shot Accuracy: Anthony Martial (78% Shot Accuracy with a Total 11 Shots)
Most Completed Passes: Bastian Schweinsteiger (598 Completed Passes with an 86% Pass Accuracy)
Most Chances Created: Mata (20 Chances Created: 3 Assists and 17 Key Passes)
Most Cards: Darmian (5 Yellow Cards and 0 Red Cards)

No Rooney among these stats, yet someone would have me believe that Gaal is the cause of Fatso's incompetence or that Fatso will top our scoring list. Grandeur delusions. undecided

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by elampiro(m): 2:16pm On Nov 11, 2015

When Gaal came, everyone had to start afresh. Although there were records before his arrival and he knew what he wanted.

He had a preseason where Rooney was the tournament best player even with European biggest football teams participating.

Welbeck outperformed Chicharito. Lingard also performed greatly, in fact Lingard has been great in last three preseasons.

The season started and the manager gave Chicha a start and he was still poor. Lingard was unlucky as he suffered injury. Welbeck came and showed he was more useful than Chicharito.

We had Rooney, Van Persie, Wilson Chicharito, Welbeck as strikers. Lingard Winger/striker. 6 strikers but none was firing as expected. Gaal brought Falcao, a tested striker, then he decided to give a second chance to Chicharito, Welbeck who were not even up to Rooney and RVP, by sending them on loan. Welbeck refused a loan move, he opted for outright departure.

At the end the manager analyzed all his strikers both on ground and on loan. He retained Rooney and Wilson only. Rooney for his holding balance and playing ability while Wilson probably for his pace and for future development.

Gaal made it clear that he was mostly rewarding players who helped in the successive wins in the run in and got a top four finish. We gained consistency in scoring the very moment Van Persie got injured and Falcao relegated to the bench while on the other hand Rooney was moved to the top. It was easily evident Rooney had the best ball balance in the danger zone because before then our strikers were bullied off the ball by defenders or in some occasions they fell to the ground on their own for no reason.

It's not like Gaal did not try everything else before he took his decision.

Last season we put many balls into the box from crosses but they were easily delt with by opposing defenders. Falcao only scored one and that was the end for us.

We will need ball playing strikers more than poachers in the system. Poachers will give us short one. They will touch the ball only 18 times in a match. and they will mostly be bullied off it.

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by elampiro(m): 2:37pm On Nov 11, 2015

The last two games, we can see Rooney is doing things he refused to do in all previous games. He is jumping now - jumping higher, he is running faster and longer, he is shooting more, he is not just tackling but chasing back and wining them. He is passing better. His control and take downs are better. He's playing more direct and even confronting defenders with direct runs. Now he has to boost his confidence.

Sometimes I wonder if he were told to stretch his muscles less in previous games. I wonder how suddenly he played more with energy in the last one week, particularly the last game.

It looks like the managers knew something we didn't know. Hence they kept faith and tried to bring him to fitness.

I wish he continues even better and start scoring.

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by funlord(m): 3:14pm On Nov 11, 2015

^^^^^

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Nobody: 3:57pm On Nov 11, 2015
grin grin He is jumping higher and higher. He is running faster. He is shooting more. He is stretching his muscles. grin grin

Wat are the basic requirements of a Striker if not to do these things on a regular basis??

Sometimes it feels as if its a 10 yr old that is behind this elàmpiro account

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by elampiro(m): 4:01pm On Nov 11, 2015
AdeLaNa1:
grin grin He is jumping higher and higher. He is running faster. He is shooting more. He is stretching his muscles. grin grin

Wat are the basic requirements of a Striker if not to do these things on a regular basis??

Sometimes it feels as if its a 10 yr old that is behind this elàmpiro account

You don't know what it means to bring a player to fitness. My statements would be understood by any intelligent being.

Sometimes if you force fitness, you get a hamstring or a muscle injury and you go back to square one. If someone like Rooney should go to injury for a month, it means he will need another four months to get to where is is now.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by elampiro(m): 4:03pm On Nov 11, 2015
Many of una no know ball. Why I dey even dey waste my time.

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Nobody: 4:07pm On Nov 11, 2015
elampiro:

You don't know what it means to bring a player to fitness. My statements would be understood by any intelligent being.

Sometimes if you force fitness, you get a hamstring or a muscle injury and you go back to square one. If someone like Rooney should go to injury for a month, it means he will need another four months to get to where is is now.
Yes! Yes! You're absolutely right! Lets give Rooney the pleasure of the whole season sef to get back to fitness.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by 190theclown: 4:22pm On Nov 11, 2015
Nihilist:

Ahh black people dey rugby?

The only ones I ever saw there were at the prisons at Onley

where black people come de grin
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by elampiro(m): 4:26pm On Nov 11, 2015
AdeLaNa1:
Yes! Yes! You're absolutely right! Lets give Rooney the pleasure of the whole season sef to get back to fitness.

Oga please don't give Rooney time.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by SIRcumalot: 4:51pm On Nov 11, 2015
elampiro:

Many of una no know ball. Why I dey even dey waste my time.

Lwkmd!!
Soon as rooney goes on a wonderful run of assist and goal scoring then you can say whatever, now isn't the time.

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by airmark(m): 4:58pm On Nov 11, 2015
Rooney's 3 goals in UCL play off will not count but depay's 2 goals in the same play off will count and give him 4 goals this season. hmmmn, some people sha.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by elampiro(m): 4:59pm On Nov 11, 2015
SIRcumalot:

Lwkmd!!
Soon as rooney goes on a wonderful run of assist and goal scoring then you
can say whatever now isn't the time.

I am not even saying anything of praise. I am giving some points like a situation report on his gradual improvement. And he really showed energy in his last game. I said he needs to add confidence to that. His confidence is currently shattered.

Anything bad in this?

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Nihilist: 5:00pm On Nov 11, 2015
190theclown:

where black people come de grin

The surrounding areas...Leamington Spa, Warwick, Coventry, Brum, banbury

I dey go rugby once in a while, and the place just white anyhow
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by SIRcumalot: 5:18pm On Nov 11, 2015
elampiro:

I am not even saying anything of praise. I am giving some points like a situation report on his gradual improvement. And he really showed energy in his last game. I said he needs to add confidence to that. His confidence is currently shattered.

Anything bad in this?

There is nothing bad and rooney last two games is an improvement over is general performance this season.
Your post can be misinterpreted as a way to excuse rooney's abysmal performance this season.
Rooney should be already used to attacks from the media by now once, he improves on his present form the fans will love him again.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by coogar: 5:40pm On Nov 11, 2015
SIRcumalot:

Lwkmd!!
Soon as rooney goes on a wonderful run of assist and goal scoring then you can say whatever, now isn't the time.

when will that be?

don't you people get tired of these excuses? rooney is the only player in the world that is allowed to have fitness problems during the course of a season.

if all these kinda excuses were given for the forwards sold by LVG, they would all still be here. admit it, rooney is finished! he's not at OT because anyone expects him to come back to fitness, he's still at OT because they want him to break SBC's goal record at the club.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by SailorXY: 5:41pm On Nov 11, 2015
elampiro:

The last two games, we can see Rooney is doing things he refused to do in all previous games. He is jumping now - jumping higher, he is running faster and longer, he is shooting more, he is not just tackling but chasing back and wining them. He is passing better. His control and take downs are better. He's playing more direct and even confronting defenders with direct runs. Now he has to boost his confidence.

Sometimes I wonder if he were told to stretch his muscles less in previous games. I wonder how suddenly he played more with energy in the last one week, particularly the last game.

It looks like the managers knew something we didn't know. Hence they kept faith and tried to bring him to fitness.

I wish he continues even better and start scoring.
These your tales sef.
Do you know that the whole team is being held back by Wayne Rooney? Let's not look into the last two years, player sales & surrounding circumstances, I'm looking @ this season.
As it stands, nothing suggests Chicharito would've fared worse than Rooney. Even if Chicharito is a poacher (let's assume cuz we all know his ball skills improved massively) & the team carries him, the opposition knows there's a genuine goal-threat in there somewhere & will be wary. What we get with Rooney is the team carrying him YET he offers nothing to trouble the opposition even when through on goal. As a "ball-playing striker" (refer to coogar's .gif) all he does is miscontrol the ball, run like a donkey, pride himself on 'work rate' & bull - who cares about that from a CF? Seeing Rooney score these days is an exception rather than a norm, & when you factor in the playing time he seizes from better options - it becomes a monumental disgrace!

Chicharito had a very poor showing in his final game before his sale there's no doubt about it, but what if he's already been told he stood no chance no matter how Rooney fares? We all heard LvG say something like that quite raw in public, how much less in private meetings?

Let's not deceive ourselves, Martial was brought in cuz it was glaring we would be closer to Chelshit right now than to top 4 if Rooney continued leading the line. Every single player has been benched or shunted about just to accommodate Rooney, where's the substantial result? Defensive stability will crack if the strikers are not turning defenders' efforts to points!

Two paltry goals (he even had to be pushed in for one) & you think Rooney is worth discussing? Grab a random Man United fan by the balls even from Rooney's county & demand a list of performers this season (MUFC players) - White Pele won't feature in anyone's top 15 except his regular ball lickers undecided

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Nobody: 5:55pm On Nov 11, 2015
SailorXY:

These your tales sef.
Do you know that the whole team being held back by Wayne Rooney? Let's not look into the last two years, player sales & surrounding circumstances, I'm looking @ this season.
As it stands, nothing suggests Chicharito would've fared worse than Rooney. Even if Chicharito is a poacher (let's assume cuz we all know his ball skills improved massively) & the team carries him, the opposition knows there's a genuine goal-threat in there somewhere & will be wary. What we get with Rooney is the team carrying him YET he offers nothing to trouble the opposition even when through on goal. As a "ball-playing striker" (refer to coogar's .gif) all he does is miscontrol the ball, run like a donkey, pride himself on 'work rate' & bull - who cares about that from a CF? Seeing Rooney score these days is an exception rather than a norm, & when you factor in the playing time he seizes from better options - it becomes a monumental disgrace!

Chicharito had a very poor showing in his final game before his sale there's no doubt about it, but what if he's already been told he stood no chance no matter how Rooney fares? We all heard LvG say something like that quite raw in public, how much less in private meetings?

Let's not deceive ourselves, Martial was brought in cuz it was glaring we would be closer to Chelshit right now than to top 4 if Rooney continued leading the line. Every single player has been benched or shunted about just to accommodate Rooney, where's the substantial result? Defensive stability will crack if the strikers are not turning defenders efforts to points!

Two paltry goals (he even had to pushed in for one) & you think Rooney is worth discussing? Grab a random Man United fan by the balls even from Rooney's county & demand a list performers this season - White Pele won't feature in anyone's top 15 except his regular ball lickers undecided
This brings me bak to the Swansea game. Our defence wasn't really on point but it was solid enough. All we had to do was score. If Rooney had scored half the chances dat fell to him, Swansea wouldn't ve been able to rally themselves and win dat match. And if we had won instead, we'd at least be topping the league with one point now.

Rooney just keeps wasting all the efforts of our attacking midfielders.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by SIRcumalot: 6:08pm On Nov 11, 2015
coogar:

when will that be?

don't you people get tired of these excuses? rooney is the only player in the world that is allowed to have fitness problems during the course of a season.

if all these kinda excuses were given for the forwards sold by LVG, they would all still be here. admit it, rooney is finished! he's not at OT because anyone expects him to come back to fitness, he's still at OT because they want him to break SBC's goal record at the club.
What does SBC's goal record mean ?
Check my reply to Elampiro's comment am not making excuses for the guy.
Rooney isn't finished and I don't think he has fitness issues he has just been playing horribly.
If he improves upon his performance in the last two games (which is possible) I see no reason why he won't hit a purple patch soon.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by sinizia: 6:11pm On Nov 11, 2015
SailorXY:

These your tales sef.
Do you know that the whole team is being held back by Wayne Rooney? Let's not look into the last two years, player sales & surrounding circumstances, I'm looking @ this season.

Let's not deceive ourselves, Martial was brought in cuz it was glaring we would be closer to Chelshit right now than to top 4 if Rooney continued leading the line. Every single player has been benched or shunted about just to accommodate Rooney, where's the substantial result? Defensive stability will crack if the strikers are not turning defenders' efforts to points!

Two paltry goals (he even had to be pushed in for one) & you think Rooney is worth discussing? Grab a random Man United fan by the balls even from Rooney's county & demand a list of performers this season (MUFC players) - White Pele won't feature in anyone's top 15 except his regular ball lickers undecided

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by coogar: 6:19pm On Nov 11, 2015
SIRcumalot:

What does SBC's goal record mean ?
Check my reply to Elampiro's comment am not making excuses for the guy.

sir bobby charlton's record must mean something to the decision makers at the club. it's weird that a striker that has a miserably 2 PL goals in almost 1,000 mins is undroppable...

Rooney isn't finished and I don't think he has fitness issues he has just been playing horribly.

it then begs the question - why is a striker playing horribly starting for man utd? 2 goals in 980+ minutes as a striker? cheesy grin my great great grandmother would offer a better strike rate.

If he improves upon his performance in the last two games (which is possible) I see know reason why he won't hit a purple patch soon.

he's not going to improve...dead that thought!
when rooney is on fire, he's on fire. rooney cannot start a season with 2 goals in his first 11 league games........and then go on to score another 23 goals in the remaining 26 league games.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by afrodoc2: 6:27pm On Nov 11, 2015
StarBoard:

For the record, this is not about LvG vs Moyes.
It' s about how incompetent Moyes was as United manager and how he should never have been one in the first place.

van Gaal might win nothing and could still be given leeway and benefit of the doubt at Man. United.
Moyes is still searching for his first trophy nearly a quarter of a decade into his management sojourn, where scraps like Allardyce, Redknapp, McLeish, MacLaren alll have won trophies.

Bros how Ruudie and Nyabingho continue to support the Moyes appointment is one of the deep mysteries of the modern age

This man has won NOTHING all his life, has shown no evidence (in speeches,player acquisition,tactics or results) that he is up to the task of managing a big team AND yet they continue to support him. He took a team from 1st to 7th and who knows we might have been the in relegation waters the next season.

LVG has had some success in terms of football style and titles in practically all his clubs, he has resume, evidence, references....he has earned the right to more time.
The Moyes appointment was a mistake, it should be acknowledged as such and we move on

(1) (2) (3) ... (2370) (2371) (2372) (2373) (2374) (2375) (2376) ... (14225) (Reply)

Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021

Viewing this topic: 3 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 90