Stats: 3,175,892 members, 7,895,886 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 July 2024 at 08:25 PM

Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 - Travel (307) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 (868411 Views)

Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 / Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 5 / Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 4 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (304) (305) (306) (307) (308) (309) (310) ... (401) (Go Down)

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by Harjeehbaday(m): 5:16pm On Feb 20, 2016
Hello Everyone,
Been a while i posted but i read this trend every day.
I intend to travel June 30th but yet to decide which hospital and doctor to use. I used WHMC in 2014 and Dr La and may still do same except i get a better deal.
The tickets are really expecting especially considering that it will be start of Summer!. Wish everyone the best.
Any July or August mum heading to Houston
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by Mummylicious(f): 5:39pm On Feb 20, 2016
Please where are the marylands mum june 2016,God bless u all pls help a sis!
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by Mummylicious(f): 5:40pm On Feb 20, 2016
Maryland mums*
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by veejohnson: 5:49pm On Feb 20, 2016
Bas20:

Hi zilly , how were u able to pay all , wanted to do same but the terms and conditions states you can only pay a maximum of 2,800 for ceasarian and 2,500 for VG . I am a bit confused . !!!!!pls help
Please zilly, could you also tell me the bank you used and the exchang rate and charge at the bank you used. I also want to do the same to get d hopital bill of my head, although term nd condition say other wise but if am not lanning on cancelling I tink it ok. Thank you for d help.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by biollar1: 6:49pm On Feb 20, 2016
Hey dear, just sent u a mail. Kindly read and revert at the earliest.

Many thanks

ZillyO:

It depends on the bank, some banks will want to see a letter from a Naija doctor stating what is wrong with you and referring you, then the one from doctor abroad accepting you plus his invoice showing what it will cost you.
But I think diamond bank is simple, just the invoice from the hospital bearing your name and amount, you fill a form A and give them authority to debit your account for Naira equivalent.
Form A typically means accessing FGN money and you need to show genuine proof to gain access, the Bank will bid for you and pay on your behalf to the hospital. But always remember to ask for telex copy, that's your proof of payment and might be useful at POE
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by IjayMama: 7:52pm On Feb 20, 2016
Hello ladies. To those who have used Dr E or is currently using her, can someone give me her mobile number pls? I'm using her but forgot to get her mobile number & I have a situation and need to speak to her urgently. Her office is closed today and can't wait till Monday. Kindly help. Can be sent to my mail box whiteeve2002@yahoo.com Thanks mamas.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by Zumabeezle: 8:34pm On Feb 20, 2016
ansol:

I actually booked airbnb and used it for my visa processing. It was in Richmond and cheap. Because I booked for a long duration about 10weeks we had to make part payment. If it long stay... your card will be booked and then 1st installment dedcuted. You will then pay the 2nd installment after you check in (if I can stil remember) and the 3rd installment after a month been there... not sure. But I know I was to pay three time cos only the first installment was deducted but your card will be booked.

I cancelled mine after we change our mind and the host was very kind enough to refund ALL of my money paid to her by airbnb. I had asked for this favour from her before making payment to airbnb and she confirm she will refund me if I change my mind but should carry her along well. This was to cater for case of visa rejection. So some airbnb may be good and cheap.

My advise though... you can book some days. get there to check if all is well. Before making long commitment.

@

@tonjub. She's the one asking about airbnb.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by cindermum: 8:38pm On Feb 20, 2016
Hello all, I have been following this thread for about a month now and we got the visa on Tuesday the 16th Feb 2016 in Abuja.

Here's my transcript;

Myself and husband: Good Morning sir
VO: Good morning and why are you going to the US?
Husband: To have our baby
VO: is this your first child
Husband: Yes, this is our first
VO: Please excuse me for some minutes (came back after about 2mins)
VO: can I have your correspondence with the hospital
Husband: yes please, gave him the printed conversation and the maternity package plan. 
VO: spent sometime looking at the conversation and also went online to look up the name of the hospital and I guess to confirm other things on the maternity package plan.
VO: So what do you do?
Husband: I'm bleep bleep bleep 
VO: and how much do you earn monthly?
Husband: I earn bleep which is a total of proceeds from bleep and bleep
VO: so how much will this trip cost both of you?
Wife: Handed the budget spreadsheet to him and this man started calculating and looking at some chart on the wall
VO: who will be paying for this trip
Husband : I will be responsible and he hands over his acct Statement and the VO only looked at only 4pgs and returned to us. 
VO: so how much have you saved for this trip in total?
Husband: Bleep
VO: remind me again, where's this hospital in the US?
Husband & I: chicago illinois 
VO: Ok and smiled then typed for another few seconds and said do you know that even if your child is an American citizen, you will be refused entry into the US and banned if you seek public aid blablabla..
Husband & I: yes we know (at this time we knew we had gotten it and my husband said Oya pack the documents lol)

VO: Alright. Congratulations. Your visa applications have been approved. Your passports will be ready for pick-up at the above collection center in 2-3 business days. 

Husband & I: thank you sir.

Got outside and yanked my jacket off.
He didn't ask me any question sef after I prepared like I was going to write a professional exam and also warned my husband not to jeopardise my American dream.I made him do mock interview at least once a day.. I frustrated him with it lol.  

‎Any Chicago mum due in May please?

18 Likes 1 Share

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by ZillyO: 8:41pm On Feb 20, 2016
veejohnson:

Please zilly, could you also tell me the bank you used and the exchang rate and charge at the bank you used. I also want to do the same to get d hopital bill of my head, although term nd condition say other wise but if am not lanning on cancelling I tink it ok. Thank you for d help.

I used Diamond Bank and form A's last rate as at past week was N197.5/$

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by Vlesparza: 9:13pm On Feb 20, 2016
freshfarid:

Please pm me details. Tnx

Im not sure what you mean the details are on the post.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by Nobody: 9:43pm On Feb 20, 2016
cindermum:
Hello all, I have been following this thread for about a month now and we got the visa on Tuesday the 16th Feb 2016 in Abuja.

Here's my transcript;

Husband: yes please, gave him the printed conversation and the maternity package plan. 
VO: spent sometime looking at the conversation and also went online to look up the name of the hospital and I guess to confirm other things on the maternity package plan.
Wife: Handed the budget spreadsheet to him and this man started calculating and looking at some chart on the wall
Husband : I will be responsible and he hands over his acct Statement and the VO only looked at only 4pgs and returned to us. 
VO: Ok and smiled then typed for another few seconds and said do you know that even if your child is an American citizen, you will be refused entry into the US and banned if you seek public aid blablabla..
Husband & I: yes we know (at this time we knew we had gotten it and my husband said Oya pack the documents lol)

VO: Alright. Congratulations. Your visa applications have been approved. Your passports will be ready for pick-up at the above collection center in 2-3 business days. 

He didn't ask me any question sef after I prepared like I was going to write a professional exam and also warned my husband not to jeopardise my American dream.I made him do mock interview at least once a day.. I frustrated him with it lol.  

....will pm u pls
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by IjayMama: 10:05pm On Feb 20, 2016
Please mamas...still waiting...pm or email will be highly appreciated...help please, so I don't have to dial 911 dis weekend, biko
IjayMama:
Hello ladies. To those who have used Dr E or is currently using her, can someone give me her mobile number pls? I'm using her but forgot to get her mobile number & I have a situation and need to speak to her urgently. Her office is closed today and can't wait till Monday. Kindly help. Thanks mamas.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by ozycy: 10:28pm On Feb 20, 2016
IjayMama:
Please mamas...still waiting...pm or email will be highly appreciated...help please, so I don't have to dial 911 dis weekend, biko
I don't know about personal number but I know the office number is in the paper you were given during registration. Cc chicagobound, firsttymum oda Mamas
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by biollar1: 10:28pm On Feb 20, 2016
Hello Mamas and Papas

I urgently need name of banks still processing Form A. I just heard from someone that some banks stopped already? Please how true is this?

Anybody used Form A recently? I need to know/target banks to face on Monday Biko.

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by MrsDan: 11:37pm On Feb 20, 2016
ify4charm:

Hi mrsdan, hope u and baby are fine. I was asking about the obgyn group u used and the breakdown of the fees as the doctors only say they charge $2200 excluding lab but seem to be vague on the cost of the lab test. So I was hoping other Northside mummies could help clarify the total as well as the breakdown of fees paid to the obgyn. Thank u.

I really must check to be sure. I just can't seem to remember much about the delivery and all. Was charged about $2500 for deliver but got $1250 refund. Sorry but will surely get back to you.

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by IjayMama: 1:11am On Feb 21, 2016
Yeah, I have the office number but they ain't open during the weekend. Thanks tho.
quote author=ozycy post=43107368]
I don't know about personal number but I know the office number is in the paper you were given during registration. Cc chicagobound, firsttymum oda Mamas
[/quote]
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by leleti: 2:27am On Feb 21, 2016
Hi NLders.been a ghost reader for a while now.just started my search.know it will be Houston,so far leaning towards Oakbend.any Houston mamas traveling September?can we rub minds please? Apologies for my midnight post. Sleep has refuse to show.belle things.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by Bimdazzle: 3:22am On Feb 21, 2016
ansol:

Ok quick update on our journey so far. I travelled with my wife Jan 01, 2016. Before then, my wife's guardian prefer she stays with people where they could offer help and care since she's a first time mum and her first time in U.S. That means we would head to McKinney Texas instead of Houston Ticket we already booked. I didn't change the ticket and we agreed we would enter through Houston and then use bus to Dallas then the host would come pick us. Downtown Dallas is about 30-40mins from McKinney (I guess).

Houston POE was a breeze though wifey spent an hour just waiting to be attended to. They check her correspondence and counted her cash (went with 8k).

Then from houston we used bus to McKinney to Dallas and then host picked us. The Bus was cool mehn. Enjoyed the free WiFi too. About 4hrs 30mins or so.

She eventually got a doctor in McKinney for $2400 and Hospital for $3300. She had normally delivery and welcomed our first baby (boy) on Feb 13, 2016. So far the bill has been ok. No hidden charge. Hospital Paeditrician we paid $268 (should have been 200 but we paid 68 extra for an additional service we requested).
First visit to Paed was $100 and subsequent was $85. Doctor accepted our naija medical record we paid $68 dollars for extra test conducted.

Wifey will start document processing from Monday and should be done in 2-3weeks by my calculation.

We would like to thanks everyone for the info shared here.... God bless you all. Meanwhile I had to call Dr E office and apologise for not coming back to Houston and she gave her blessings. Sent her a mail too cos the office manager was really understanding and nice.

In all sha we are doing fine and counting down to seeing wifey and cute boy soon.

Nb: even though my wife don born... I still read up to date in this thread as if I get UME to write. I don't comment often though but I read all... everyday!
Hi , pls can you share the name of the hospital and Doctor used in Dallas, as this seems a very reasonable price for Dallas. Thanks
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by neks31(f): 3:59am On Feb 21, 2016
nefertitiram:

grin You see am na! U suppose roger me two Orijin!

Lollll anything for my girl
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by Peebles23(f): 4:20am On Feb 21, 2016
Goldribbonz:
Pls who knows of any hospital in Houston that will give me a chance at VBAC and also has maternity package.

I do buh bros justwise no go gree here. I jus had vbac last week.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by feddy27: 6:28am On Feb 21, 2016
IjayMama:

They don't give their personal numbers. Call the office number and they will link it to her pager. If you can't get tru, go to oakbend ASAP, give dem ur name since u re registered and tell dem u re her patient. They will contact her immediately. Meanwhile, watever it is, don't waste time and head to the hospital now. All the best, it will end in praise!

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by tktgal: 7:46am On Feb 21, 2016
Congratulations on your visa. Pls can I confirm what exchange rate you used on your budget sheet? Was it the official or parallel rate? Thanks.

cindermum:

Here's my transcript;

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by ajujuju: 9:32am On Feb 21, 2016
Peebles23:

I do buh bros justwise no go gree here. I jus had vbac last week.

Hi dear.

Abeg no vex. Would like info on the hospital and package and thd truth about how painful VBAC really is...Lol, I'm a chicken when it cms to pain.

Pls accept my request
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by ajujuju: 9:35am On Feb 21, 2016
Hello house. Good Morning.

Since dollar has us thinking and porting to elpaso and using Form A i jst thot to ask this very nagging question.

Wont it be a problem at POE dat our transcripts show a different hospital and doctor detail?
Will d officers giv a hard time?

Pls anyone with experience, pls share.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by fomskhalifa: 10:50am On Feb 21, 2016
ajujuju:
Hello house. Good Morning.

Since dollar has us thinking and porting to elpaso and using Form A i jst thot to ask this very nagging question.

Wont it be a problem at POE dat our transcripts show a different hospital and doctor detail?
Will d officers giv a hard time?

Pls anyone with experience, pls share.
Hmmm my dear I read here sometime back that a mum was sent back with her daughter and her visa was even cancelled for such o, I don't know but I feel you sha. The lord is your muscle
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by Kemo88: 11:01am On Feb 21, 2016
Hi everyone,
How's everyone doing? While reading through the thread I noticed some people mentioned sending money directly to an American account and the bank with do that at the CBN rate. May be I'm not getting it right hence my confusion. How does this work? Is this what the form A is about? Can someone shed some light on this? I thought you have to put the dollars (you got by yourself) in your domicilliary account before you can send it to the US.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by Nobody: 11:12am On Feb 21, 2016
Kemo88:
Hi everyone,
How's everyone doing? While reading through the thread I noticed some people mentioned sending money directly to an American account and the bank with do that at the CBN rate. May be I'm not getting it right hence my confusion. How does this work? Is this what the form A is about? Can someone shed some light on this? I thought you have to put the dollars (you got by yourself) in your domicilliary account before you can send it to the US.
read zillyo's post she has shed a lot of light on form A and how it works
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 3 by biollar1: 11:16am On Feb 21, 2016
Kemo88:
Hi everyone,

No dear.

A situation where your bank credits the hospital/school on your behalf while debiting your Naira account is tagged Form A. It has nothing to do with your dorm account or u physically paying in the $s. It's an instruction from you telling your bank to do so on ur behalf. By doing this u get to benefit at the official CBN rate.

(1) (2) (3) ... (304) (305) (306) (307) (308) (309) (310) ... (401)

Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part2 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 6 / German Embassy And Visa

Viewing this topic: 6 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 82