Stats: 3,176,162 members, 7,896,953 topics. Date: Monday, 22 July 2024 at 04:24 AM

The NBA Begins - Sports (176) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / The NBA Begins (1684164 Views)

Two Nigerian Players In The NBA Finals / Miami Heats Wins The NBA Final / Unbelievable! Kobe Bryant The Nba Player Of The Decade: (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (173) (174) (175) (176) (177) (178) (179) ... (2268) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: The NBA Begins by Nobody: 3:52am On Mar 20, 2016
That kawhi switch on curry to defend him before he tried to shoot the three. Son, thats how to defend him
Re: The NBA Begins by Roland17(m): 3:52am On Mar 20, 2016
SIRcumalot:

most teams have defend curry like this and he still torches them, klay was also cold before my stream died you may be right but fatigue must factor in somehow.

No team and i repeat no team has stifled Curry this season for the entire 4 quarters of the game like the Spurs are doing tonight, they are denying him dribble space, they are switching multiple players, they are meeting him at the half court..

This is Popovic with a plan

Re: The NBA Begins by Nobody: 3:53am On Mar 20, 2016
Roland17:

No team and i repeat no team has stifled Curry this season for the entire 4 quarters of the game like the Spurs are doing tonight, they are denying him dribble space, they are switching multiple players, they are meeting him at the half court..

Did you see that kawhi switch on curry some seconds ago? Bro, that is real defense right there.
Re: The NBA Begins by kliq(m): 3:54am On Mar 20, 2016
game over
Re: The NBA Begins by Skywalker5(m): 3:58am On Mar 20, 2016
kliq:
game over

I said it before.Spurs are very dangerous.no three points from warriors.no wins.

Re: The NBA Begins by Roland17(m): 3:58am On Mar 20, 2016
Donlittle:
Did you see that kawhi switch on curry some seconds ago? Bro, that is real defense right there.

That switch summarized the game, absolute stifling. even with 10 seconds to go, Curry has Parker on his face from his half of the court to the last shot, no dribble space to create rhythm.

This is the toughest i have see Aldridge play under the rim, he fought for every ball under that rim like his life depended on it.

Re: The NBA Begins by Skywalker5(m): 3:59am On Mar 20, 2016
Wow warriors lost for the 33 time at spurs home game.wow
Re: The NBA Begins by Nobody: 3:59am On Mar 20, 2016
I wish cuban would do what the spurs is doing to duncan to DIRK. surround him good players where he does not have to play a lot. I really want him to go out contending. Anyways, this victory is for all of us, unless u are a golden state fan.
Re: The NBA Begins by Mizzzbeee(f): 4:03am On Mar 20, 2016
We missed Iggy's defense tonight embarassed other teams would be watching this game and taking notes. Playoffs would definitely be interesting smiley series tied. Who would win this regular season match up? Id say either 2-2 or 3-1 Golden state! cheesy who is with me?

Re: The NBA Begins by Nobody: 4:05am On Mar 20, 2016
Roland17:

That switch summarized the game, absolute stifling. even with 10 seconds to go, Curry has Parker on his face from his half of the court to the last shot, no dribble space to create rhythm.

This is the toughest i have see Aldridge play under the rim, he fought for every ball under that rim like his life depended on it.
I do not know why other point guards do not play him like that, i guess they are scared of getting shitted* on, and rightly so.

When you play for a coach like pop, better follow the game plan.

This is a testament to good coaching, and players not trying to rush everything. I hope Westbrook and the OKC watched the game, because i do believe outside the spurs, okc is the next thing that can beat this team, but they will need to defend, and westbrook should stop running around like a headless chicken trying to outmatch curry on offense. Being stupid aggressive does not mean better defense.

Re: The NBA Begins by SIRcumalot: 4:07am On Mar 20, 2016
Roland17:

curry still got some good looks he just bricked it,
am not saying pop's master plan didn't work out, though some of those shots GSW usually knocks them down also bogut absence was huge.

Re: The NBA Begins by Nobody: 4:12am On Mar 20, 2016
So Tim Duncan is retiring this year? Got to
Re: The NBA Begins by SIRcumalot: 4:17am On Mar 20, 2016
never knew Tony Parker was this good a defender now wetin happen for the cavs Miami game cheesy
Re: The NBA Begins by Nobody: 4:18am On Mar 20, 2016
SIRcumalot:
never knew Tony Parker was this good a defender
now wetin happen for the cavs Miami game cheesy
Cleveland lost?
Re: The NBA Begins by Nobody: 4:20am On Mar 20, 2016
This tyronn lue guy, he has probably lost the same game David Blatt lost.
Re: The NBA Begins by Mizzzbeee(f): 4:26am On Mar 20, 2016
Donlittle:
Cleveland lost?
blowout 101-122 grin Clippers lost too to short handed memphis cheesy #pretenders
Re: The NBA Begins by Nobody: 4:37am On Mar 20, 2016
Mizzzbeee:
blowout 101-122 grin Clippers lost too to short handed memphis cheesy #pretenders
lol, i like the clippers though, they just need to do better. No excuse, If rick carlise has a CP3 and Blake on his team, he would be more recognize in this league.

The tyrone lue guy, stop trying to play small ball with that team. They might even be a first round exit with the way it is going. Everyone was blaming Blatt, i guess the guy knew what this team could do, and could not.

P.S, i think Doc Rivers is overrated. tongue tongue tongue tongue
Re: The NBA Begins by Bobbieydeey: 9:17am On Mar 20, 2016
No Iggy, no bogut, no ezeli...... Easy spurs win. Watch curry come out with a plan. Would love a spurs - Warriors series.
Re: The NBA Begins by Roland17(m): 2:54pm On Mar 20, 2016
Bobbieydeey:
No Iggy, no bogut, no ezeli...... Easy spurs win. Watch curry come out with a plan. Would love a spurs - Warriors series.

My concern about a 7 game series lays with the Spurs, can they match the intensity, pace and switches in a series? towards the end of the second quarter Tony parker and theSpurs were severely gassed. they had their hands on their knees wen there was either a time out or a foul call and that is worrisome.

Last night was vintage Popovic, he called a time out in the first 2 mins because the Warriors cut the lead to 1 point 9-8 i think. Spurs would have to replicate last nights defense on Curry for chance to defeat the Warriors. Denying Curry dribble space was the most potent because his shots require's some sort of dribble bounce to create rhythm.

Offensively, Spurs would have to beast the Glass offensively and defensively like they did last night, special mention to L.Aldridge, he was unbelievable under the rim last night, he fought for every rebound, matched the intensity and made some of his favorite jumpers.
Re: The NBA Begins by Bobbieydeey: 4:13pm On Mar 20, 2016
It was not just Currys night, missing shots well it happens I think he was 1/8, curry later tweeted that was his best game lol
Roland17:

My concern about a 7 game series lays with the Spurs, can they match the intensity, pace and switches in a series? towards the end of the second quarter Tony parker and theSpurs were severely gassed. they had their hands on their knees wen there was either a time out or a foul call and that is worrisome.

Last night was vintage Popovic, he called a time out in the first 2 mins because the Warriors cut the lead to 1 point 9-8 i think. Spurs would have to replicate last nights defense on Curry for chance to defeat the Warriors. Denying Curry dribble space was the most potent because his shots require's some sort of dribble bounce to create rhythm.

Offensively, Spurs would have to beast the Glass offensively and defensively like they did last night, special mention to L.Aldridge, he was unbelievable under the rim last night, he fought for every rebound, matched the intensity and made some of his favorite jumpers.
Re: The NBA Begins by Roland17(m): 4:25pm On Mar 20, 2016
Bobbieydeey:
It was not just Currys night, missing shots well it happens I think he was 1/8, curry later tweeted that was his best game lol

Allow me emphasize this, there is absolutely no way the Warriors win a 7 game series either in the conference finals or the championship with Curry locked down defensively for the entirety of the series.
Re: The NBA Begins by SIRcumalot: 5:22pm On Mar 20, 2016
we'll still get more games from these guyz that last nite was alright but doesn't tell the whole story of how a series between these two go play out.

mavs -blazers should be something this nite.
Re: The NBA Begins by Bobbieydeey: 5:41pm On Mar 20, 2016
Roland17:

Allow me emphasize this, there is absolutely no way the Warriors win a 7 game series either in the conference finals or the championship with Curry locked down defensively for the entirety of the series.
I'm sure Steve Kerr wld watch that match and also look for a way to corner that tactics, cuz spurs really exposed them but mehn they followed curry to the end, blocked all the pick n roll Chai just the way pistons handled Micheal Jordan during his bulls era
Re: The NBA Begins by Bobbieydeey: 5:45pm On Mar 20, 2016
I just don't understand this cavs team, they haven't beaten Miami since 2015 hian, they just seem to lost everything when playing Miami
Re: The NBA Begins by Eruditor: 9:06pm On Mar 20, 2016
Credit to the Spurs. They played well and held the most offensive team in the NBA this season to 79 points, but there is alot of over analysis even here and few other blogs.

Klay and Curry combined for 2/18 yesterday from the 3pt line. That's as bad as they need to shoot to lose a game. 3 or 4 of the last 18 came in the final secs of the 4th quarter when they tried to reduce the deficit. It was a horrid show 3pt wise but please, 4 of the last 87pts for SAS came as a result of FTs caused by intended fouls from GSW to save time and try to level the game. In otherwords, GSW defended well enough to keep SAS at bay.

Concerning the double teaming and rotation on the screen, obviously there were moments were it can be attributed to the reason Steph shot poorly but please again, it wasn't always the reason. SAS played this same tactics in January and he made 37pts because he shot better. Even yesterday he had about 5 clear/non-contested shots that he normal buries, but he didn't.

Not taking anything away from Green who had 2 blocks on Steph. Green played well. Along with Aldridge and Manu I'd say they played the best on the Spurs team. Perhaps asking GSW to make it 32-1 against this Spurs after playing the Mavs was a hard task but they would have 2 more regular season games and the playoffs to make a statement.

I still feel they are on course to repeating NBA finals this year again. Let's see if Pop has Steph and GSW as a whole figured out.

Re: The NBA Begins by Roland17(m): 11:28pm On Mar 20, 2016
Eruditor:
Credit to the Spurs. They played well and held the most offensive team in the NBA this season to 79 points, but there is alot of over analysis even here and few other blogs.

Klay and Curry combined for 2/18 yesterday from the 3pt line. That's as bad as they need to shoot to lose a game. 3 or 4 of the last 18 came in the final secs of the 4th quarter when they tried to reduce the deficit. It was a horrid show 3pt wise but please, 4 of the last 87pts for SAS came as a result of FTs caused by intended fouls from GSW to save time and try to level the game. In otherwords, GSW defended well enough to keep SAS at bay.

Concerning the double teaming and rotation on the screen, obviously there were moments were it can be attributed to the reason Steph shot poorly but please again, it wasn't always the reason. SAS played this same tactics in January and he made 37pts because he shot better. Even yesterday he had about 5 clear/non-contested shots that he normal buries, but he didn't.

Not taking anything away from Green who had 2 blocks on Steph. Green played well. Along with Aldridge and Manu I'd say they played the best on the Spurs team. Perhaps asking GSW to make it 32-1 against this Spurs after playing the Mavs was a hard task but they would have 2 more regular season games and the playoffs to make a statement.

I still feel they are on course to repeating NBA finals this year again. Let's see if Pop has Steph and GSW as a whole figured out.

You made some salient and interesting points however, you are unconsciously refusing to fully credit Popovic and the Spurs for last nights performance, you would rather term last nights performance to an off night from the splash brothers which does not justify or summarize the game.

I would remind you that Duncan was scheduled to start last night until Popovic saw the team sheet for the Warriors, which was without injured Bogut and pulled the plug on Duncan starting, he also went small with B. Diaw who i consider one of the most intelligent players in the game and that neutralized Barnes and Green especially during the first quarter as it was a matchup nightmare for both who switched severally to contain Diaw.

This is not about the shooting slump from their freebie spot, Curry was 4-18 for FG and 1-12 from the three, while is splash twin was 7-20 for FG and 1-20 from the three point lane. these indicators describe a well designed defensive tactics which worked.

Last nights game was different from their first meeting in January because the Spurs CONTROLLED the pace of the game, Popovic slowed the game and made it a half court game against the full court transition offense the Warriors are renowned for.

During their first meeting Curry enjoyed the luxury of dribbling the ball into the half court, he was allowed dribbles to create rhythm for his shot which is a very vital aspect of his offense, there were no switches on curry or high picks, the video recap of that game should be available on NBA.com.

Spurs were dominant under the rim, they had no answer for L. Aldridge under the rim, the man was intense under the rim, when your opponents intentionally foul you to save the clock what does that tell you? it obviously means you are doing something great against their wish and they are worried they were running out of time.

I have repeatedly stated that my fear for the Spurs team is the ability to match this Warriors intensity with discipline for a seven game series if it ever came to that.

The Warriors are still the best team in the league and the most favored to win it all, however, last nights loss is very very important, a shooting slump was against the Lakers when they still scored 95, a successful defensive tactics was against the Spurs and more importantly against a contender in the same conference.

Re: The NBA Begins by SIRcumalot: 11:40pm On Mar 20, 2016
Dirk!!!! and d Will who couldn't hit anything against GSW just came up big for the mavs
Re: The NBA Begins by xp17(m): 4:00am On Mar 21, 2016
texas A&M vs Northern Iowa. The game was a bomb. A&M narrowly made it to sweet XVl
Re: The NBA Begins by Roland17(m): 4:49am On Mar 21, 2016
xp17:
texas A&M vs Northern Iowa. The game was a bomb. A&M narrowly made it to sweet XVl

I honestly could not believe Northern Iowa lost that game, they led by 9 i think, they lost focus and could not handle the pressure from A&M. After the tie at the end of regular time, i knew the experience and maturity of A&M would prevail.

How about the game winning shot from Bronson Koenig of the badgers to defeat Xavier, so many upsets in this years madness.
Re: The NBA Begins by Skywalker5(m): 5:57am On Mar 21, 2016
joephemzyz:
;Dim back guys, and I'm having luscious for breakkie this week. Lol

Guy, where u dey oo? U Don quiet since.come explain wetin happen ooooo?
Re: The NBA Begins by Yonce(f): 6:29am On Mar 21, 2016
Roland17:

You made some salient and interesting points however, you are unconsciously refusing to fully credit Popovic and the Spurs for last nights performance, you would rather term last nights performance to an off night from the splash brothers which does not justify or summarize the game.

I would remind you that Duncan was scheduled to start last night until Popovic saw the team sheet for the Warriors, which was without injured Bogut and pulled the plug on Duncan starting, he also went small with B. Diaw who i consider one of the most intelligent players in the game and that neutralized Barnes and Green especially during the first quarter as it was a matchup nightmare for both who switched severally to contain Diaw.

This is not about the shooting slump from their freebie spot, Curry was 4-18 for FG and 1-12 from the three, while is splash twin was 7-20 for FG and 1-20 from the three point lane. these indicators describe a well designed defensive tactics which worked.

Last nights game was different from their first meeting in January because the Spurs CONTROLLED the pace of the game, Popovic slowed the game and made it a half court game against the full court transition offense the Warriors are renowned for.

During their first meeting Curry enjoyed the luxury of dribbling the ball into the half court, he was allowed dribbles to create rhythm for his shot which is a very vital aspect of his offense, there were no switches on curry or high picks, the video recap of that game should be available on NBA.com.

Spurs were dominant under the rim, they had no answer for L. Aldridge under the rim, the man was intense under the rim, when your opponents intentionally foul you to save the clock what does that tell you? it obviously means you are doing something great against their wish and they are worried they were running out of time.

I have repeatedly stated that my fear for the Spurs team is the ability to match this Warriors intensity with discipline for a seven game series if it ever came to that.

The Warriors are still the best team in the league and the most favored to win it all, however, last nights loss is very very important, a shooting slump was against the Lakers when they still scored 95, a successful defensive tactics was against the Spurs and more importantly against a contender in the same conference.

GSW also didn't have Ezeli and Iguodala......especially Iguodala. The game might have turned out different.
Re: The NBA Begins by SmooshCHN: 7:43am On Mar 21, 2016
Yonce:

GSW also didn't have Ezeli and Iguodala......especially Iguodala. The game might have turned out different.
Roland17 is right. Spurs played better offensively and defensively. They controlled every aspect of our game.

(1) (2) (3) ... (173) (174) (175) (176) (177) (178) (179) ... (2268) (Reply)

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup

Viewing this topic: 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 60