Stats: 3,186,633 members, 7,930,132 topics. Date: Saturday, 24 August 2024 at 11:18 AM

Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. - Travel (45) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. (698944 Views)

The Adventures Of A Village Scholar In Germany / Getting A Green Card By Adjustment Of Status: My Yankee Experience / Naija to Yankee Thoughts And Experiences (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (42) (43) (44) (45) (46) (47) (48) ... (221) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by electronic(m): 4:18pm On Feb 06, 2017
FrankNetter:

How do I contact you bro?
Blog link or URL pls.
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 4:42pm On Feb 06, 2017
Blend in? or Stand out?

So, over the weekend, on saturday precisely, I and my younger brother went to have our hair cuts at the same barbing saloon. The procedure is: walk in, hang up your coat, walk straight down to the counter, check out the pricelist, make your choice of cut(s), pay up and wait for your haircut.
As I stated earlier, the saloon is run mostly by blacks. Being dark skinned myself, I didn't notice any funny looks the first time I was there.

On this occasion, I did exactly what I thought was normal, hang coat, pay, sit and wait.

I guess you all know the superbowl was played last night, Its a BIG deal in the USA here. While waiting, I was playing scrabble on my phone and I totally ignored my surroundings. After some minutes, my younger brother who was seated beside me tapped me and pointed forward -my turn had reached.

About 10minutes into having my haircut, I casually observed what was going on around me, it was then I noticed that everyone was engaged in a superbowl/trump conversation, both the barbers and those having haircuts; it was basically a one-big-happy-family moment. that's when it dawned on me that I wasn't participating in the conversation.

The whole situation was beginning to look like I was basically snubbing everybody and "carrying shoulder up".

I was, at that point, left with two decisions:

Join in the conversation, air my views with my nigerian accent and blend in
Finish what you started and continue to ignore everyone

What do you guys feel I should have done?

guys, check out the blog, its still in progress though. Constructive criticisms are highly welcome.
https://yankeexperience./

13 Likes

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 4:43pm On Feb 06, 2017
electronic:

Blog link or URL pls.

still in progress though.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 4:46pm On Feb 06, 2017
FrankNetter:

Change your background to white.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 4:49pm On Feb 06, 2017
slimmy2005:
Change your background to white.

Any particular reason?
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 4:55pm On Feb 06, 2017
FrankNetter:

Any particular reason?
For clarity and easy to read. You can make the text white instead of light grey.
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 5:00pm On Feb 06, 2017
FrankNetter:

bro dont change it to white leave it aw it was becuz your background depict the source of your inspiration 4 creatin the blog............also it subliminally pass a message about life on the edge(other side).
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 5:02pm On Feb 06, 2017
tescoman90:

bro dont change it to white leave it aw it was becuz your background depict the source of your inspiration 4 creatin the blog............also it subliminally pass a message about life on the edge(other side).
Do you create blog or webpage for people to read? or you create just for yourself alone? I am giving him advice as an expert here.
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by osemwengie1: 6:02pm On Feb 06, 2017
Hello, please am going to be in Chicago on 27. Kindly help with your xperience with cbp at point of entry
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Ademat7(m): 6:22pm On Feb 06, 2017
FrankNetter:

How do I contact you bro?
Email: Adematinfo@gmail.com
Instagram: adematinfo
Twitter:adematinfo

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 6:41pm On Feb 06, 2017
Ademat7:

Email: Adematinfo@gmail.com
Instagram: adematinfo
Twitter:adematinfo

check out the blog and drop your thoughts, Thanks.
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Ademat7(m): 7:01pm On Feb 06, 2017
FrankNetter
D content is cool,a blogger friend said white should hv been d background while black or any color is used for the text(visual matter was his reason)

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by chika12345(m): 7:09pm On Feb 06, 2017
The blog is cool.
Don't change any bloody color, its okay like that

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 7:14pm On Feb 06, 2017
Ademat7:
FrankNetter
D content is cool,a blogger friend said white should hv been d background while black or any color is used for the text(visual matter was his reason)

chika12345:
The blog is cool.
Don't change any bloody color, its okay like that

its like we would vote on this.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 7:16pm On Feb 06, 2017
check out the blog here
https://yankeexperience.

if you like the Black background, kindly hit like

voting ends by noon (12:00 pm) on the 7th of February, 2017.

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 7:16pm On Feb 06, 2017
check out the blog here
https://yankeexperience.

if you like the White background hit like

voting ends by noon (12:00 pm) on the 7th of February, 2017.

29 Likes

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 7:34pm On Feb 06, 2017
Ademat7:
FrankNetter
Atleast, someone shares same idea. There is much to web design than having a web designer. You need to see the reason why people contract their web design to PR agencies. This is just one of the reason.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by electronic(m): 7:37pm On Feb 06, 2017
FrankNetter:

I like the black BGRND ohhh...it doesn't reflect light in your eyes when Reading...
But try the white too so we can try it out.

However note that white is more catchy for none faithfuls that might stumble on your blog.

But add more pics to keep readers glued.
Nice writing style though.. grin

But I just love the Black grin
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 7:40pm On Feb 06, 2017
electronic:

I like the black BGRND ohhh...it doesn't reflect light in your eyes when Reading...
God bless you

pls can you click the like button above you just to confirm dat.

thanks

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 7:48pm On Feb 06, 2017
electronic:

But try the white too so we can try it out.

However note that white is more catchy for none faithfuls that might stumble on your blog.

But I just love the Black grin
The black background is not bad at all. I gave two options for him to consider. Maintain the black background and make the text pure white instead of light grey (we have people with eye issues as well) or do the reverse (white background with black text). It would be unfair to an albino and others with eye issues or concentration issues.

(1) (2) (3) ... (42) (43) (44) (45) (46) (47) (48) ... (221) (Reply)

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 10 / Giving Birth In Canada / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9