Stats: 3,170,024 members, 7,876,843 topics. Date: Monday, 01 July 2024 at 08:18 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (1624) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12009735 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1621) (1622) (1623) (1624) (1625) (1626) (1627) ... (16402) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 6:16am On Sep 30, 2017
tbaba1234:

Even in difficult games like against USA and Italy, Ronaldo was not brought on. He was 17, the impact, he could have made is debatable.

you see you are now distorting facts.

First against USA I recall Brazil had a player sent off and they scored not so late into the game, like the 68min or so, in that case which sane manager will bring on a striker when you are one man down and you have already scored a goal?

And the final against Italy was too big an occasion to introduce a rookie who was yet to make any appearance at the world cup, if the coach had done that and they lost then he would have been killed for that. The reason why he did not play then is because he is/was a striker and strikers don't get subbed in anyhow
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 6:31am On Sep 30, 2017
komekn:

It's not devotion but knowledge add to that I am in England and involved with English football. I go to
mainland Europe possibly 6/7 times a year maybe more. Watch a few games when I can or if I have too so my knowledge of European football is not in depth.

Would you want me to make unsubstantiated comments or makes deductions without a deep underpinning understanding of the subject.

That's why I leave comments on the Nigerian league to those who know more.
It was said in jest.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by chrisooblog: 6:47am On Sep 30, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

Joel Obi is a fantastic player no doubt but with respect to someone being groomed to take over Mikel, we are talking of a player having the precise balance in play and can cover a wide range of positions in the midfield, including the deep midfield role, playing as a deep lying playmaker.

I see K. Nwakali as a better fit.
Joel obi has unique abilities that stand him out. He can play with or without Mikel in our midfield so he's not necessarily his replacement.

K. Nwakali is a good potential no doubt but taking him to world cup based on that when we have better players than him would be a great injustice. He is still finding his feet in the lowly rated Dutch league. I don't mind him being invited to train with Mikel and co to get a feel of the national team
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 6:54am On Sep 30, 2017
Mickael2:

Trabzonspor. Currently he is a bench warming DMF there(he did make a substitute appearance as a CMF not too long ago that was why I didn't take his bait)

So, you know he can play comfortably in both positions but you pretended or played ignorant not to know. grin

Chopping bench changes nothing about his ability to play in those positions. grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 6:56am On Sep 30, 2017
Joebie:
Trabz na .. he still dey there.
He is a dmf/cmf I think

He knows what I am talking about.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 6:58am On Sep 30, 2017
Joebie:
Rohr awaits Arsene Wenger's decision on Iwobi when Arsenal takes on Brighton this weekend, before taking a decision on whether to replace him with a player in the standby list.

Why is Kayode not on the list? I am suspecting foul play..
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 7:03am On Sep 30, 2017
Mickael2:

welcome to the 'Onazi haters fanclub' according to my good friends Kog45 and Sir forgiveness

Na u sabi. grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 7:03am On Sep 30, 2017
forgiveness:

So, you know he can play comfortably in both positions but you pretended or played ignorant not to know. grin

Chopping bench changes nothing about his ability to play in those positions. grin

90% of DMFs can play as CMFs. Kante, Busquets, Kroos, Ndidi and the list goes on so there is nothing special there. The question is how effective is Onazi in the CMF role compared to other potential CMFs that we have? And the answer is....not very effective
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by joseph1013: 7:09am On Sep 30, 2017
Guys, good morning.

I didn't want to comment until I get to the last page but it keeps getting longer and longer. I'm still on page 1600. LOL

The recent event was unfortunate and I hope thesupernerd would come back. Thanks Icon4s for playing the role of an elder, as usual.

Nairaland is nobody's house. And while I have gotten angry and said some not-too nice words in the past and I can't promise I won't get angry in the future, I believe we can resolve our differences in a humane manner. Even identical twins fight. I look forward to seeing people on this thread offline someday soon. tbaba1234, a get-together for the group okay?

safarigirl, I see you. But go easy on our guy. The deed is done, time to mend fences.

Joebie, you make this thread rock.

I expect these setbacks from time to time, but the thread is self-correcting.

*Back to reading from 1600. But mehn, you guys can talk, maka why? terzurum5, what is wrong with these people?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 7:16am On Sep 30, 2017
komekn:

You don't groom players.

Players prove themselves worthy after putting up consistent quality performances at thier club. Only then can they be worthy of a call to the SE on merit not assumed potential and or past youth football glories.

If Nwakali is good enough then let him prove it in the Eredivisie a league ranked 11th in Europe and a team that is far from the top in the Eredivisie. A perfect setting to showcase his quality and prove his pedigree.

When Mikel was at Lyn Oslo for the very limited time he was there he was clearly outstanding quality.

In comparison Nwakali has done nothing so far, it is a disservice to more deserving players just like Joel Obi. It would mean murdering fair play and merit in cold blood in broad daylight.

Thank you very much for saying it as it is.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 7:41am On Sep 30, 2017
Mickael2:

90% of DMFs can play as CMFs. Kante, Busquets, Kroos, Ndidi and the list goes on so there is nothing special there. The question is how effective is Onazi in the CMF role compared to other potential CMFs that we have? And the answer is....not very effective

A normal comment from Onazi's sworn enemy. I wouldn't expect u to say anything else.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 7:47am On Sep 30, 2017
Kog45:
Pls who is Ambrose?don't tell me is Efe,then Taiye Taiwo should be recalled.

Efe is only 28.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:53am On Sep 30, 2017
forgiveness:

Why is Kayode not on the list? I am suspecting foul play..
no foul play bro...
just that rohr can't see beyond his more sometimes...
he is making me angry.....
one will expect kayode or dessers to be called up to replace iwobi...
I pray he gets to field aina against the Zambians.... young Aina I believe will do better than elderson...

what's the essence of running after this players to get them play for Nigeria and still leave them on the bench...
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by solonnachi: 7:54am On Sep 30, 2017
This Zambian coach is just making himself unnecessarily popular. He is all over the news boasting that the Chipolopo will beat our Eagles. He is busy spiritualizing the game. Hasn't he read Isaiah 40: 28-31? But I like the way we are being quiet about our plans. Let him keep talking.
But my major fears are that Victor Moses, Leon Balogun and Mikel Obi are not injured this WEEKEND, we need them to strengthen our WEEK-ENDS during the Oct 7 game against WICKED Zambia.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:55am On Sep 30, 2017
BascoVanVeli:

Efe is only 28.
please....don't talk as if you don't know the truth...

take a good look at that league....I mean the NPFL and tell me if there is a true 20-22 years old playin there...

I once had a chat wit a NNL player...who happened to have 3 different years of birth.

please forget their ages...please
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 7:58am On Sep 30, 2017
BascoVanVeli:

A normal comment from Onazi's sworn enemy. I wouldn't expect u to say anything else.
don't mind him...
I just don't wanna have an argument this morning...
I doubt if he had ever watch onazi play for Nigeria...in 2013 afcon, last world cup an also all through this qualifiers especially against Cameroon.

i feel he has something personal wit onazi...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 8:01am On Sep 30, 2017
chrisooblog:
Joel obi has unique abilities that stand him out. He can play with or without Mikel in our midfield so he's not necessarily his replacement.

K. Nwakali is a good potential no doubt but taking him to world cup based on that when we have better players than him would be a great injustice. He is still finding his feet in the lowly rated Dutch league. I don't mind him being invited to train with Mikel and co to get a feel of the national team

I wonder where you read taking him to the World Cup. I said let him train alongside Mikel. Slowly groom him into the the team. This will be done in qualifier games and Friendlies. Not tournaments.

However, just like Argentina took a young Manuel Iturbe to the last World Cup without him being in the World Cup squad list, K. Nwakali can still join the team to the World Cup to train with them. He must not be part of the main squad list.

Gerrit?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 8:07am On Sep 30, 2017
Mickael2:

the national team camp lasts barely a week, highest 6-10 times a year, how will you groom a player using that limited number of time? Oya the 'grooming' Oshimen received how has it helped his life? Origi is keeping the guy cozy on the bench and I don't even rate Origi that much

The few times the player trains in camp is better than lots of time training with players who are even of less quality than him. You can not tell how Osimhen training with Rohr has helped Osimhen by watching on TV. He is developing and is a young player. The training always helps.

By the way Benching does not mean no development. The young man is even lucky to have players like Origi and Mario Gomez in camp to study and train with. With time the effect will show.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by terzurum5(m): 8:08am On Sep 30, 2017
joseph1013:
Guys, good morning.

I didn't want to comment until I get to the last page but it keeps getting longer and longer. I'm still on page 1600. LOL

The recent event was unfortunate and I hope thesupernerd would come back. Thanks Icon4s for playing the role of an elder, as usual.

Nairaland is nobody's house. And while I have gotten angry and said some not-too nice words in the past and I can't promise I won't get angry in the future, I believe we can resolve our differences in a humane manner. Even identical twins fight. I look forward to seeing people on this thread offline someday soon. tbaba1234, a get-together for the group okay?

safarigirl, I see you. But go easy on our guy. The deed is done, time to mend fences.

Joebie, you make this thread rock.

I expect these setbacks from time to time, but the thread is self-correcting.

*Back to reading from 1600. But mehn, you guys can talk, maka why? terzurum5, what is wrong with these people?
The Extraordinary love for their darling Super Eagles simple
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 8:10am On Sep 30, 2017
Humility017:

please....don't talk as if you don't know the truth...

take a good look at that league....I mean the NPFL and tell me if there is a true 20-22 years old playin there...

I once had a chat wit a NNL player...who happened to have 3 different years of birth.

please forget their ages...please

People only cry overage when they don't like the player. If Mikel was not in our good book people would be crying the same thing. All I can say is that he has shown no signs of slowing down.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 8:12am On Sep 30, 2017
BascoVanVeli:

People only cry overage when they don't like the player. If Mikel was not in our good book people would be crying the same thing. All I can say is that he has shown no signs of slowing down.
following mikel....antecedent you will know the dude is around his disclosed age.
I just don't wanna mention names...please you know the ages of those NPFL players than I do....

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 8:12am On Sep 30, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

The few times the player trains in camp is better than lots of time training with players who are even of less quality than him. You can not tell how Osimhen training with Rohr has helped Osimhen by watching on TV. He is developing and is a young player. The training always helps.

By the way Benching does not mean no development. The young man is even lucky to have players like Origi and Mario Gomez in camp to study and train with. With time the effect will show.

you see you are contradicting yourself. So he has top players like Gomez and Origi to train with why then do we have to 'groom' him in the national team? I thought your excuse is that he is playing with players below his level? Which current SE striker is better than these guys? So why is he coming to our team exactly since he can learn from better players in his club?

Back to Nwakali, he is still sitting on the bench, that means the starters are better than him. We all know that you can always learn from anybody, so telling me that he must come to a 6-day camp to learn instead of inviting bonafide starter-materials is not fair at all

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 8:13am On Sep 30, 2017
Humility017:

don't mind him...
I just don't wanna have an argument this morning...
I doubt if he had ever watch onazi play for Nigeria...in 2013 afcon, last world cup an also all through this qualifiers especially against Cameroon.

i feel he has something personal wit onazi

It's obvious that they both fought over the same girl at some point in time, lol.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 8:14am On Sep 30, 2017
Mickael2:

if he truly is one of our most promising talents then he should be at a top club right now. It is not our fault that he is in the dutch league, his quality may still shine now but telling me that we should use the national team to market him to clubs isn't right, besides he has nothing to offer the national team at all right now.

Ok let me ask, is there any top teams that 'groom' players in this way?

No one says using the National team to market him. I said use the National team to build one of our most promising talents. Do not use that he must be in a top club by now as an excuse. European football does not work like that for African players. The road is harder. That is why we must make conscious efforts to make it easier for our players to develop. Especially, the special ones. Kelechi Nwakali was spotted in his early things and rose to prove the coaches and analysts who spotted him right by bagging the U17 World Cup golden ball.

Now we must not fold our arms and let the fate of his success lie in the arms of the Europeans. We should be more proactive with our special talents.

We need someone in the future who can bring to the team the kind of quality Mikel has. Kelechi Nwakali is a player who ticks the right boxes. Both in talent potential, role and style of play.

So waiting for the Europeans is comical.

Marketing entails playing him for clubs to see his quality. That is not what I said. I said bring him to camp to train along side Mikel, who is a high quality player. This will aid his growth.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 8:16am On Sep 30, 2017
BascoVanVeli:

So Onazi is more effective in the Cmf role than say Raheem Lawal or John Ogu or Joel Obi or Ajagun?

Meanwhile Humility, this argument is solely based on Onazi's performance(s) as a CMF, not his game against Cameroon(I believe I said he had a nice game against Cameroon although I did point out his deficiencies)
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 8:16am On Sep 30, 2017
Mickael2:

you see you are contradicting yourself. So he has top players like Gomez and Origi to train with why then do we have to 'groom' him in the national team? I thought your excuse is that he is playing with players below his level? Which current SE striker is better than these guys? So why is he coming to our team exactly since he can learn from better players in his club?

Back to Nwakali, he is still sitting on the bench, that means the starters are better than him. We all know that you can always learn from anybody, so telling me that he must come to a 6-day camp to learn instead of inviting bonafide starter-materials is not fair at all

The discussion is about Kelechi Nwakali who does not have Origi and Mario Gomez kind of quality in the club and role he plays for. I Wonder why you are talking Osimhen. Please, Osimhen and Kelechi Nwakali are different players.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 8:18am On Sep 30, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

No one says using the National team to market him. I said use the National team to build one of our most promising talents. Do not use that he must be in a top club by now as an excuse. European football does not work like that for African players. The road is harder. That is why we must make conscious efforts to make it easier for our players to develop. Especially, the special ones. Kelechi Nwakali was spotted in his early things and rose to prove the coaches and analysts who spotted him right by bagging the U17 World Cup golden ball.

Now we must not fold our arms and let the fate of his success lie in the arms of the Europeans. We should be more proactive with our special talents.

We need someone in the future who can bring to the team the kind of quality Mikel has. Kelechi Nwakali is a player who ticks the right boxes. Both in talent potential, role and style of play.

So waiting for the Europeans is comical.

Marketing entails playing him for clubs to see his quality. That is not what I said. I said bring him to camp to train along side Mikel, who is a high quality player. This will aid his growth.

you did not understand what I said. I am not talking about top clubs, he is at a low club right now but can't tie down a regular shirt, what does that tell you?

When he was at his former club, they were playing him as a winger sometimes, doesn't that tell you that he may not be a natural midfielder anymore?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by somehow: 8:18am On Sep 30, 2017
Whata pity. Plastic legged player.
Joebie:
Expected return date very soon.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 8:19am On Sep 30, 2017
TheGoodJoe:

The discussion is about Kelechi Nwakali who does not have Origi and Mario Gomez kind of quality in the club and role he plays for. I Wonder why you are talking Osimhen. Please, Osimhen and Kelechi Nwakali are different players.

but you have given this same excuse for Oshimen before, do I need to dig it up?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 8:19am On Sep 30, 2017
Mickael2:

You can learn from players but it is ridiculous claiming a player can learn the same thing from average midfielders, compared to top quality legends.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 8:21am On Sep 30, 2017
Mickael2:

Onazi was played as a CMF all through at Lazio.

Nevertheless, Ndidi can't play the CMF role. grin

How effective was he at Lazio? grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 8:22am On Sep 30, 2017
Mickael2:

but you have given this same excuse for Oshimen before, do I need to dig it up?
Dig what you want. I said, Rohr invited Osimhen to study and also groom him for the team because he sees Osimhen in his future plans. That is me explaining why Rohr called Osimhen to camp. I also said the same thing of Awaziem.

This is different for me making a statement on Rohr grooming Kelechi Nwakali as a replacement of Mikel in a long term plan. I explained the reason because of the balance high quality midfielders bring to the team.

These are two different points. I want Nwakali to come and learn from a master.

(1) (2) (3) ... (1621) (1622) (1623) (1624) (1625) (1626) (1627) ... (16402) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: 16 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 86