Stats: 3,185,273 members, 7,925,875 topics. Date: Tuesday, 20 August 2024 at 04:18 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (1794) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12286265 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1791) (1792) (1793) (1794) (1795) (1796) (1797) ... (16532) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 8:21am On Oct 13, 2017
Icon4s:

This one made me laugh out loud.

Back to the basic:
1. You don't change a winning formation.
2. You don't change a winning Team.

National team football is a lot lot different from Club football. In club football because of the quality of players at your disposal, you can chose to alter formation even severally in a single game. You can chose to go to the market to buy a particular due to a new formation the club has chosen to adopt. If a formation or tacticsfails the coach has several other matches to redeem himself

This is national team football.
Caution here in very key. You don go about experimenting squads at random except for friendly matches.

The key to national team selection is to optimize your available resources especially when you are limited compared to the major oppositionsyou are to face.

If the midfield combo of Ndidi-Onazi-Mikel has been giving you the right results why change it?

O I understand the need to play Iwobi at the AM position but right now Mikel is more effective in that position so we have to move Iwobi to the wings.

What happens to Simon? Yes Iwobi has reclaimed his wings position from him. Can we recall Simon was not a starter in Rohr's earlier matches?

Now going back to the issue of consistency. We saw what happened against SA with so many changes to the starting lines up, with some of the regulars missing for various reasons known to us.

Consistency is key in team building. One or two changes may be made depending on various circumstances.
Rohr knows his team already and there is no need for wild experiments. It is important that the team maintains shape and cohesion as this would be vital as they compete at the World Cup.

First I would like to ask you your definition of a middle 'giving you the right results', for me it means dominating a game against a Zambian team is a sure banker and that is not the result we have.

A coach does not come with a set formation, simply plugging in players to suit that his formation. No, a coach comes with an open mind, trying to generate a formation that will work with what he has. Now let us assume that Iwobi has a monstrous season at AMF, scoring and assisting like it's nobody's business. Maybe Iheanacho is converted back to an AMF and he also has a monstrous system there, but currently our system only requires one AMF but now we have three AMFs, to make it more interesting Joel Obi also has a great season at CMF and stays injury free. So if you are the coach will you still maintain your 4-2-3-1 formation knowing fully well that the players you have are mainly midfielders? Will you still maintain the same midfield trio of Ndidi-Onazi-Mikel because they huffed and puffed and secured a win against Zambia? Just some questions then I can conlude

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 8:21am On Oct 13, 2017
Mickael2:

i didnt know the national team is reserved exclusively for some. David Villa was recently recalled to the Spanish national team, are they lacking potent strikers? If Ike Uche or Martins or even Osaze has what we need then we should call them back
Oh boy expect slacks,me i no dey.Uche,Martins,Osaze?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 8:25am On Oct 13, 2017
ECHIEJILE FIT TO PLAY ON SUNDAY -- Silvaspor coach

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 8:25am On Oct 13, 2017
tbaba1234:
Dele Aiyenugba highlights for last season. As expected, many penalty saves. grin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cSWxYJYuTJo

Aiyenugba can be called up but he will have a battle on his hands.

Did Aiyenugba fumbled against Guinea? grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 8:26am On Oct 13, 2017
Kog45:
Oh boy expect slacks,me i no dey.Uche,Martins,Osaze?

me I dey kamkpe ooo grin na just examples wey I give
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 8:27am On Oct 13, 2017
forgiveness:

Did Aiyenugba fumbled against Guinea? grin

big time. One of the goals he was beaten at his near post, two shots on target, two 'saveable' shots on target, two goals

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 8:29am On Oct 13, 2017
HEARTLAND BACK IN THE NPFL AFTER 1 YEAR

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by do4luv14(m): 8:29am On Oct 13, 2017
krattoss:
If gernert Rohr should just stumble on this thread....he go laugh tire grin grin

some People don take advantage of nairaland turn pundits overnight grin

hahahahahahaha!!!!...... Jst lik ah don start to dry laff already, hahahahah wey "GERNERT" Rohr dey sec grin grin grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Magink: 8:32am On Oct 13, 2017
Guys u can listen to genot rohr on Lagos talks 91.3 he's live on radio.
Said enyeama might come back
Said an u-20 player that plays for a big country is going to play for us refused to give name

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 8:32am On Oct 13, 2017
Mickael2:

so Etebo played as a LW against Algeria? I never knew. That is the height of ridiculousness, me I am done with you on this topic

And Etebor played in this makeshift position against South Africa what did he do? grin

He failed woefully. grin

We need players in their natural positions and not makeshift. grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 8:35am On Oct 13, 2017
Magink:
Said an u-20 player that plays for a big country is going to play for us refused to give name

I think Tammy Abraham or one of the German boys.

Please give us more info
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 8:35am On Oct 13, 2017
QUOTES: “Iheanacho has started to look stronger and fitter in training.” -- Shakespeare
Source: https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/shakespeare-iheanacho-stronger/

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 8:36am On Oct 13, 2017
Kog45:
Oh Iheanacho and thegoodjoe is like Ndidi and Michael2, Akpeyi,Mikel and icon4s, Komne and Nigeria born English player, Ajagun and forgiveness,Awaziem and Safarigirl,Mikel and Kog45 just to mention a few.

I believe when it reach a certain stage in d course of our discussion or arguments we should put aside our love or hate for a player and let football reason take over.

This is d only way we can have good and constructive analysis.In one of my comment yesterday i said Awoniyi was like a son to me but did u ever see me mentioning his name has a potential player to be in d WC team,not yet for him but if he make it fine.

Dele Aiyenugba very closed guy to me,am one of d people that make sure he signed his first professional contract as a footballer but I read all d heated arguments about him yesterday and my comment on him was on football reason,i did not allowed my judgment to be based on personal relationship.

Good to love a player but when it comes to reality we should face it and talk football without sentiments.

I can mention some monikers(icon4s, safarigirl,Bascon velli,tbaba1234,Humility, enomakos,Joseph1013) despite their likeness for a player when it reach certain point they come out and say d truth,this is more reason i hold Jobie and mujtahida in high esteem when it comes to unbiased football analysis.

For instance,i remember safarigirl was one of d championing of Tammy Abraham but now one of d strongest antagonist coz she believe he insulted Nigeria.

Lol...that oga forgiveness and ajagun is legendary...then add raheem lawal, tiago ilori....you made his day.

I understand all your wrote though....
we can't really rule out value from our perceptions and opinions...reason why there is still a debate that social sciences....despite the use of some scientific variable is still not a science..

I just pray we all throw our weight and unflinching support behind rohr when he finally release his 24 man list....even if our favorite players are not included
after all it is not every time one must have his way

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 8:36am On Oct 13, 2017
Magink:
More please
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 8:37am On Oct 13, 2017
I hope Pinnick is learning lol

Magink:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elyte89: 8:39am On Oct 13, 2017
[quote author=Joebie post=61373238]I hope Pinnick is learning lol

Pinnick elenu jawaya
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 8:47am On Oct 13, 2017
WATFORD COACH SPEAKS ON ISSAC SUCCESS' HOOKER TROUBLE

“The player and everyone knows the obligations at this club and he knows the rules,’ of course, people who love football don’t like this situation. Football is his life. He needs to be careful – everyone needs to be careful – and know the right way. What we are talking about is one situation in September.

“We expect him to be out for six to eight weeks,It’s a knee injury, a problem he had in one session here. It was a normal situation and looked nothing special at that moment but after examinations, the problem is bigger and now we need to wait for him.” Marco Silva said at his pre match conference ahead of Saturday’s game against Arsenal.

Source: http://owngoalnigeria.com/2017/10/12/18204/
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 8:50am On Oct 13, 2017
Mickael2:

big time. One of the goals he was beaten at his near post, two shots on target, two 'saveable' shots on target, two goals

Can you post the highlight of that particular match for all the world to see how he was beaten, just for the sake of clarification? grin

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elyte89: 8:51am On Oct 13, 2017
[quote author=forgiveness post=61373670]

Can you post the highlight of that particular match for all the world to see how he was beaten, just for the sake of clarification? ;

AIYENUGBA AGENT cool cool cool
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by soetanoreoluwa(m): 8:54am On Oct 13, 2017
Nigerdeltaboi:
Are you Great Ife ...nice to meet you oooo
I am an unrepentant AWO boy grin

Nice meeting you too...

Yes I studied in OAU... Stayed in block 7...AWO craziness... Lol grin

I'm happy to see you... Just dey imagine upper common room where all things happen...
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by soetanoreoluwa(m): 8:57am On Oct 13, 2017
Naijaphobia:
I no know wetin make me spend 5years for that hall alone.

The way I dey see your comment I know say na awo boys dey always write like that... Lol... Argument upon argument with aroism

Any course in IFe is plus X... That X... Means you dunno when you will graduate grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by soetanoreoluwa(m): 8:58am On Oct 13, 2017
Naijaphobia:
Me be Awo boy but I no dey do aro again

grin...lol one will stop at a particular time in life... I no dey aro sha... But I dey always watch
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mickael2(m): 9:00am On Oct 13, 2017
forgiveness:

And Etebor played in this makeshift position against South Africa what did he do? grin

He failed woefully. grin

We need players in their natural positions and not makeshift. grin

are you sure you know the position Etebo played against SA? CMF is not the same as AMF
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 9:00am On Oct 13, 2017
tbaba1234:

I think Tammy Abraham or one of the German boys.
Please give us more info

Could it be that Torunarigha?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by austenite(m): 9:03am On Oct 13, 2017
Joebie:
Putting another player in the same position does not mean like-for-like.
like-for-like is when they are similar players in strengths.. two players can play the same position but be given different roles. grin based on their strength.
Dynamism calls for some adjustments by one or two other players after a player is introduced. That's tactical.

Modified
Nigeria played a 4-2-3-1. That is double DMF.. Players drift during a match. Agu came in as a DMF. Onazi was a DMF not CMF

Modified2
Rohr worked according to the options he had when Onazi got injured. You said Mikel told Agu... were you there? haha.. see assumption oh. You are forming an opinion over an assumption. You were also reading Rohr's mind that he thought Agu can play as a CMF because he was a DMF. ABi na you train the boys for camp?. Rohr was quoted as saying only Iwobi's substitution was tactical. And I have every reason to believe that.
Pure, joebie you are right on this, iwobi's substitution was pure tactical, he brought in a different style of play entirely coupled with his excellent pass accuracy and vision. As for Mikel AGU, he started as a cmf before he switched over to the dmf role in that match. As for people saying that rohr is not a good tactician, maybe we should tell rohr to resign so we can hire them to see what they can do. Even if we hire guardiola, people will always look for something to say, please you cannot know these players more than the coach. Analysis on nairaland is not equivalent to coaching. Let's learn to appreciate what we have.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:07am On Oct 13, 2017
Mickael2:

from your views I have learnt one thing today which I think I should ask you to be sure.

So if in a game CR7 is marked out of the game by one or two defenders and he has a poor game but Benzema manages to run the opposing defence ragged(despite the fact that he too had a defender on him just like CR7), then it was actually CR7 that won the game because one defender marked him out? I think this makes sense now

The point is key to the win. Iheanacho's performance, constant running, despite the Algerians game plan to keep him caged created room for Victor Moses to cause havoc.

To substitute that with Real Madrid is, a team like Atletico Madrid having a game plan to keep CR7 caged but CR7 putting in extra effort with runs thus creates room for Bale to have a brilliant performance. Pundits and fans might rave about Benzema's brilliant performance does not stop someone pointing out the key role of CR7 in giving Benzema room to excel.

Keep in mind Nacho also kept the Algerians under pressure with his pressing runs.

I am pointing out you can not tag that a poor performance. Simple.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Magink: 9:09am On Oct 13, 2017
I think the player is Felix or ojokojo
If Carl beats cancer he is going to the world cup, even if he doesn't play.
Said he told the players to give him out of their match bonuses.
Hmmm I think Rohr was the one who put a call across to the coach of balogun not to play him in that final game before Zambia.
I'm not sure Tammy will play for us o cos NFF had to get clearance from the FAs of Wales, Scotland and England for Ola stressful that.

Said fringe players will play against Algeria
Ogu was injured in the Last game that was y he wasn't subbed on(foot). Ebuehi as well
Said he won't invite home based cos our journalist wants it but only the best.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 9:12am On Oct 13, 2017
Humility017:

to be honest wit you...my brother.
Alhassan stands a better chance to be called into the SE as an AM...Than Ajagun...
reason because rohr already knows the first and even assessed him in training...
ajagun will have to get involved in close to 20-25 goals this season to get rohr's attention

Is that why people have to lie? And should I just accept those fat lies hook, line and sinker? shocked grin

Is it because Alhassan will do better than Ajagun or because Alhassan get people for NFF?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 9:12am On Oct 13, 2017
Mickael2:

First I would like to ask you your definition of a middle 'giving you the right results', for me it means dominating a game against a Zambian team is a sure banker and that is not the result we have.

A coach does not come with a set formation, simply plugging in players to suit that his formation. No, a coach comes with an open mind, trying to generate a formation that will work with what he has. Now let us assume that Iwobi has a monstrous season at AMF, scoring and assisting like it's nobody's business. Maybe Iheanacho is converted back to an AMF and he also has a monstrous system there, but currently our system only requires one AMF but now we have three AMFs, to make it more interesting Joel Obi also has a great season at CMF and stays injury free. So if you are the coach will you still maintain your 4-2-3-1 formation knowing fully well that the players you have are mainly midfielders? Will you still maintain the same midfield trio of Ndidi-Onazi-Mikel because they huffed and puffed and secured a win against Zambia? Just some questions then I can conlude

'IF' you said.

And of course nothing is cast in stone.

If Iwobi's prowess as an AM projects astronomically, definitely we try him in that position and we hope he transfers this ability to the national team.

But again you said 'IF' .

So until then.

But for now I still stick with Mikel as the top AM.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 9:14am On Oct 13, 2017
NEWSFLASH: Football legend George Weah takes early lead in Liberia presidential election

Source: http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/football-legend-george-weah-takes-early-lead-liberia-presidential-election-1642996

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Magink: 9:14am On Oct 13, 2017
Said Alex was 50-50 his staff voted for or against pertaining Simon v Alex.
He told Alex b4 he was subbed to finish the job
He knows the issue abt Echejile that's y one of the German boys r coming
Also knows that Simon final ball is horrendous working on it.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 9:15am On Oct 13, 2017
I am listening live , he said Ogu couldn't play because he was nursing an injury and also eagles have been there for ikeme by giving him part of their match bonus. He also said ikeme will be at the world cup weather he gets healed or not.
On balogun he said he is speaking with Mainz coach to unsure balogun plays regularly. Said before the Zambia game a player sent him a message on WhatsApp saying ' coach it already done ' and he rohr got angry and rebuked the player for saying so.
On simon he acknowledged Simon's problems with final balls and said he has told him to improve.

(1) (2) (3) ... (1791) (1792) (1793) (1794) (1795) (1796) (1797) ... (16532) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: 2 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 59