Stats: 3,176,092 members, 7,896,663 topics. Date: Sunday, 21 July 2024 at 06:20 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (2344) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12129774 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2341) (2342) (2343) (2344) (2345) (2346) (2347) ... (16451) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 1:00pm On Dec 11, 2017
kennysville:
For those who did not see the interview.... from the wronged man himself.....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3B0a_4TBHIQ
leave matter abeg.

You can drag a horse to the stream, but cannot force it to drink water. People wey no gree hear word, no be this one go change their mind.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 1:02pm On Dec 11, 2017
safarigirl:
so, now we can use 2010 World Cup for Enyeama (which is the only thing uses 98% of the time anyway)....but, if dem wan use 2010 for Martins now......

Anyway, football is not based on past performance, but current performance.... Let me borrow that one. Seven years is like a millennium in football.

As can be seen, in 2014 World Cup, dem don sabi the guy finish, so he couldn't thwart nothing. In 2018, it will be a meeting of old friends now, and he will probably concede five.
No, no, no at the bolded. Your earlier assertion was that Enyeama has never been magical in any of the three WC he featured in. I replied you showing that you were mistaken in your assertion. Don't stretch it to mean that that should be used as a basis for his invitation and then throw in the Martins bait. I wont swallow because that was not the basis of your earlier post and my reply.

Is Argentina going to change Romero who in 2014 chopped two from Musa when they meet us again? So familiarity with a player's style is now the criteria a coach will use in selecting his team? Tell me something else please.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 1:04pm On Dec 11, 2017
Please, next week will be Efe Ambrose week, since we are now doing #BringBackTheOldTeam

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 1:05pm On Dec 11, 2017
forgiveness:

Dele Aiyenugba and Nwofolor. Soon, Enyeama go join and Dele Alampasu go start.
kai wahala dey Akpeyi dey jittery,Ezenwa full of basic errors,Uzoho team B(div 3)keeper,Alampasu bench warmer,Ajiboye not rated,Aiyenugba not wanted,Nwokolor not seen,Maduka real dilemma,Ikeme health issue,and Enyeama tested but retired.

Rohr should wake up or else this goalkeeper issue would be our undue at WC
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 1:05pm On Dec 11, 2017
kennysville:

Haba... Brother!! Fear God na! Before 2010 we don dey face argentina. 1994, we almost beat them if not fo wuruwuru of Maradona, Claudio Cannigia and the referee.... bear in mind that we scored first thru samson siasia. 2002 nko? They practically huffed and puffed. Took out Kanu Nwankwo before the game went far enough for them to win.

Not like we were peeing our pants whenever argies faced super eagles....
Enyeama is good, very good. Aint no disputing that. He did some saves against almighty messi. And personally, i think it is a motivation for him whenever we face Argentina to always stop messi's goal attempts. But thats where it ends.

We have never been afraid of Argentina. Since we been playing competitive matches, they have always managed pipping us not walloping us.
Hahahaha hahahaha. Okay agreed. I was exaggerating to make the point that if not for his saves perhaps the dynamics between us and the Argentines might have so changed that we would be afraid whenever we meet them notwithstanding that we've always held our own against them.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 1:06pm On Dec 11, 2017
Mujtahida:

No, no, no at the bolded. Your earlier assertion was that Enyeama has never been magical in any of the three WC he featured in. I replied you showing that you were mistaken in your assertion. Don't stretch it to mean that that should be used as a basis for his invitation and then throw in the Martins bait. I wont swallow because that was not the basis of your earlier post and my reply.

Is Argentina going to change Romero who in 2014 chopped two from Musa when they meet us again? So familiarity with a player's style is now the criteria a coach will use in selecting his team? Tell me something else please.
did Romero quit the team in that period?

We are not changing Enyeama, we are replacing because HE LEFT.

I said the ENTIRE Argentine team don sabi am, I did not say Messi alone, so why use Musa?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kennysville(m): 1:07pm On Dec 11, 2017
Mujtahida:

You've never had enemies in the NFF and we all know that those same officials are the main hindrance to his return. He didn't abandon the players. Do you know that Enyeama personally called Akpeyi after the Argentina match to encourage him. Do you know that? Who does such a thing if not a man whose heart is that of a father or at least a big brother. Have you not read his tweets congratulating the team most times while carefully put it across in such a way that it would not look like he's grovelling? (Efe Ambrose also tweets showing he is following the team) How can you say all these things when you have not spoken to Enyeama and yet find it so easy to judge the man and the situation ever so scathingly? Is it that easy to judge?
You can you abandon the SE?

My prayer for you is may you never see another man doin what u were supposed to be doing. There is no greater mess one can be than that.

Lemme also address all these enemy talks thats flying around. Please mention their names and lets see. Start from quotes from the said enemies. When he questioned the choice of Kaduna or was it Kano then, he was to be arraigned for disciplinary hearing. So are the NFF not wothin their rights for that? Who are his enemies? Mention their names, mention also what made them hate so much as to become enemies with him.

The other day, TheGoodJoe was saying it was a script written by the NFF that Oliseh acted out. And as irrational as we feel Oliseh is, he would choose the timing of Enyeama's loss to act out the script abi? Haba!!!
Lets not be too blinded by emotions to forsake rationality. Yorubas will say if we are crying, we can still see

My call to everyone is bring out the facts around this story. Who are Enyeama's haters that dont want him to return? Set the record straight and stop echoing what isnt true all around. At least I posted Enyeama's video from him as the agrieved party

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 1:08pm On Dec 11, 2017
safarigirl:
so, he did not abandon the team after the Oliseh debacle?

All these enemies in NFF you people keep mentioning sha....reads like some "village people are after me" narrative

So, if he has enemies, why is anyone still considering him in the team? Or will the enemies disappear once he returns?

It is easy. It is you people that are complicating the guy's life as if he has not told you he is not doing again. If I was Enyeama, I would do a full video clearly telling everything as it is rather than allowing speculations fly.

E no hard to do one minute video.

I have already forgotten this guy's issue, after all, when the entire thing first happened, I was insulting Oliseh and till today, I will continue insulting the mumh Oliseh, but Enyeama is not a saint in it either.
Nobody among the NFF officials have called for Enyeama's recall. At least they are non - committal in their talks regarding him. It's Rohr that wants Enyeama. No one else.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 1:14pm On Dec 11, 2017
safarigirl:
did Romero quit the team in that period?

We are not changing Enyeama, we are replacing because HE LEFT.

I said the ENTIRE Argentine team don sabi am, I did not say Messi alone, so why use Musa?
I used Romero to show that we too are familiar with him na not necessarily just Musa since you were saying that Argentina don sabi Enyeama finish. Now you are bringing in because he left. But earlier you didn't mention that. You only said Argentina don sabi am finish.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 1:15pm On Dec 11, 2017
Mujtahida:

Nobody among the NFF officials have called for Enyeama's recall. At least they are non - committal in their talks regarding him. It's Rohr that wants Enyeama. No one else.
so, not one f them?

Says a lot about Enyeama then... How he take offend everybody wey dey NFF?

They say if one person is against you, they have issues, but if everybody is against you, you have issues.

If he cannot find one supporter, it is an indictment on his person.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 1:17pm On Dec 11, 2017
Mujtahida:

I used Romero to show that we too are familiar with him na not necessarily just Musa since you were saying that Argentina don sabi Enyeama finish. Now you are bringing in because he left. But earlier you didn't mention that. You only said Argentina don sabi am finish.
if he left, he should be a non-issue.

Most of the players that played against Romero are not even in the team anymore
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 1:22pm On Dec 11, 2017
kennysville:

My prayer for you is may you never see another man doin what u were supposed to be doing. There is no greater mess one can be than that.

Lemme also address all these enemy talks thats flying around. Please mention their names and lets see. Start from quotes from the said enemies. When he questioned the choice of Kaduna or was it Kano then, he was to be arraigned for disciplinary hearing. So are the NFF not wothin their rights for that? Who are his enemies? Mention their names, mention also what made them hate so much as to become enemies with him.

The other day, TheGoodJoe was saying it was a script written by the NFF that Oliseh acted out. And as irrational as we feel Oliseh is, he would choose the timing of Enyeama's loss to act out the script abi? Haba!!!
Lets not be too blinded by emotions to forsake rationality. Yorubas will say if we are crying, we can still see

My call to everyone is bring out the facts around this story. Who are Enyeama's haters that dont want him to return? Set the record straight and stop echoing what isnt true all around. At least I posted Enyeama's video from him as the agrieved party
na so Nigerians be o...pesin no dey progress, dem go say na village people, household enemies....the whole world sef

Somebody cannot just wake up and dislike somebody, what did Enyeama do to amass this much angst against him from the NFF? We are talking of over hundred people, and he has no supporter, haba!

Dem dey talk like say Enyeama no offend anybody, they just froze him out because they are jealous of him and his achievements grin

Abeg, that one that Oliseh acted out a script is balderdash, thank God when Oliseh reached Fortuna, he did the same thing and faced the same consequences, make everybody know say that is just Oliseh's way.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 1:30pm On Dec 11, 2017
kennysville:

U don finish matter be dat! No addition.

I make bold to say if Enyeama was the one goalie that went to Olympics with the eagles and the issues that befell the team happened, na Kasala be that. Because I know he is not afraid to take on the whole sports ministry, whether Dalung and his grandparents are there or not! But a wise man chooses his battle. When you see a crouching tiger, its not because of timidity. Such should be his philosophy.

Enyeama left the national team because he didnt want competition in Ikeme, forget all the noise you guys make about inhumane treatment metted out to him. He said it himself! Being a second choice goalie was the problem. He only fueled it with th captaincy issue. Watch the interview I posted sometime ago here.

Enyeama is so polar, he can make an issue out of the color of his Jersey for whoever cares to listen. I am not gonna say we dont want him. I am just setting the records straight. If the coach wants him, it is fine by me. Whatever we get, is wat we get.

As my lady has said, it is not like Enyeama is the savior. That he has reduced scorelines or margins of goals scored against us does not mean we didnt end up losing!
Kai, just when I was rethinking what you said concerning my talk about Enyeama's enemies. So can you by your own criteria prove the bolded? Wasn't Enyeama in the team when Lagarsback picked Ejide ahead of him? Did he let off fires? The bolded is a first coming exclusively from your stables. So please back it up factually not suppositions and imagination. Why do you say the bolded @competition with Ikeme considering he didn't make no bones about being second for Ejide especially since you yourself say that the captaincy was not the issue but a ruse.

Enyeama is no savior. Please tell me which of our players has ever been a saviour? We are talking about contributions per time. You look at the one we lost despite Enyeama's saves but ignore the ones we won because of his saves. If he hadn't made that last minute safe and Bosnia had equalised against us shebi we would have been out first round and guess what you would have conveniently used it to say 'shebi even with Enyeama we dropped out at the first round'

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 1:39pm On Dec 11, 2017
Kog45:
kai wahala dey Akpeyi dey jittery,Ezenwa full of basic errors,Uzoho team B(div 3)keeper,Alampasu bench warmer,Ajiboye not rated,Aiyenugba not wanted,Nwokolor not seen,Maduka real dilemma,Ikeme health issue,and Enyeama tested but retired.

Rohr should wake up or else this goalkeeper issue would be our undue at WC

Hahahaha!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 1:41pm On Dec 11, 2017
forgiveness:

Dele Aiyenugba and Nwofolor. Soon, Enyeama go join and Dele Alampasu go start.

Nwokolor has not played a single game this year.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 1:43pm On Dec 11, 2017
Mujtahida:

Enyeama is not a magician but I say that of all our players from the last three WC none, I repeat none has been outstanding as Enyeama. The WC has always been his stage. Did you watch Nig v Argentina in 2010 WC? Ohhh my goodness Enyeama thwarted waves after waves of attack from Messi and the attacking horde of the Argentines and if I recall he was given man of the match award. None of our players have ever been magical. None but they've done their best and we should honour them. I guess if five years from now someone says Mikel or Iheanacho were not magical it won't seat well with you.
Enyeama is a very solid gk. He is not just solid but in the history of goalkeeping in Nigeria he is the best we've ever had. Ask Icon4s and Kog45

Enyeama is our all time best.

The goalkeeping position is not one to be toiled with.

It is not like an out field position where you have more room for experiments.

This is the Senior World Cup where the best all over the world play against each other.

A world cup goalkeeper especially if he is first choice must be one that has been tested and proven.

A 45mins friendly game may be enough to have a conclusion on an out field player but not a Goal keeper. Even Ezenwa with all his heroics against Cameroon, Zambia and Algeria can be said not to be tested enough even though the only goals he conceded in all 4 games were penalties. His down side was that he showed lack of composure and positional abilities. You now place more confidence on a rookie that played only 45mins of which the Argentines only had 1 shot at goal.

I have said it and I will still say it that, in the absence of Enyeama, I would rather make Ezenwa first choice rather than Uzoho.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kennysville(m): 1:58pm On Dec 11, 2017
Mujtahida:

Kai, just when I was rethinking what you said concerning my talk about Enyeama's enemies. So can you by your own criteria prove the bolded? Wasn't Enyeama in the team when Lagarsback picked Ejide ahead of him? Did he let off fires? The bolded is a first coming exclusively from your stables. So please back it up factually not suppositions and imagination. Why do you say the bolded @competition with Ikeme considering he didn't make no bones about being second for Ejide especially since you yourself say that the captaincy was not the issue but a ruse.

Enyeama is no savior. Please tell me which of our players has ever been a saviour? We are talking about contributions per time. You look at the one we lost despite Enyeama's saves but ignore the ones we won because of his saves. If he hadn't made that last minute safe and Bosnia had equalised against us shebi we would have been out first round and guess what you would have conveniently used it to say 'shebi even with Enyeama we dropped out at the first round'

Lemme try again. I lost all i typed when i tried responding to you. Keep in mind that Enyeama hadnt won Afcon in 2010. He had point to prove then. Largaback bein a white man too was also a thing he wouldnt wanna mess with. Did he not mess with Sia1? If Siasia comes out to tell you his views about Enyeama, you will be shocked.
Now we av won Afcon now, who is this uncircumcised phillistine (Oliseh) disrespecting me. Head don dey swell now. What has he Oliseh achieved that I havent achieved (narratives mine)

At the 1st bolded quote, Enyeama said it himself and I quote " I cant be a 2nd choice goalie in the team after 13years in the National team". What other proof do you need?

At 2nd bolded, if I may answer, I would say none. None of our other players were saviours. But I will also acknowledge our past and present crop of players for their service to Nigeria. Just to jibe at what you said, if musa didnt score 2 goals against argentina, you know the score would have read 3-0 right? Yeah ..... 3- tondo!!!

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kennysville(m): 2:04pm On Dec 11, 2017
Icon4s:

This is the Senior World Cup where the best all over the world play against each other.

A world cup goalkeeper especially if he is first choice must be one that has been tested and proven.

A 45mins friendly game may be enough to have a conclusion on an out field player but not a Goal keeper. Even Ezenwa with all his heroics against Cameroon, Zambia and Algeria can be said not to be tested enough even though the only goals he conceded in all 4 games were penalties. His down side was that he showed lack of composure and positional abilities. You now place more confidence on a rookie that played only 45mins of which the Argentines only had 1 shot at goal.

I have said it and I will still say it that, in the absence of Enyeama, I would rather make Ezenwa first choice rather than Uzoho.

Lolzzzz na early exit be that! If we were talking about who to make first choice between Akpeyi and Ezenwa, I would understand. Seriously, i would!

Lets draw a few comparisons here, Short vsTall, Imposing physical presence, Confidence, Reach, Defenceline Organisational Abilities. There goes what informs my decision to go with Uzoho. Exposure wise, he is more exposed to quality matches than Ezenwa. And if given the chance, the dude will prove me right!

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 2:08pm On Dec 11, 2017
If Enyeama gets small playing time and agrees to come back, it will be thing of joy for me because I know he is a reliable and trusted hand. WC is not u19 or amateur tournament where you can take risk with untested and inexperienced GK. It is for the best in the world hence the best must be used and the best is Enyeama. EOD

Sebi na with mouth em take retired? Make una no worry, na the same mouth em go take come out from retirement. grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 2:09pm On Dec 11, 2017
Enyeama raised an issue about being second choice in the national team under Carl. There was a bit of ego in his decision to quit. Lets not forget, Oliseh also dropped Mikel.

Rohr has made it clear that there will be no pre-condition to Enyeama 's return. This means that he has to prove that he is still number 1.

From indications, Enyeama has resisted calls by friends like Colin Udoh, Idah Peterside etc.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kennysville(m): 2:11pm On Dec 11, 2017
tbaba1234:
Enyeama raised an issue about being second choice in the national team under Carl. There was a bit of ego in his decision to quit. Lets not forget, Oliseh also dropped Mikel.

Rohr has made it clear that there will be no pre-condition to Enyeama 's return. This means that he has to prove that he is still number 1.

From indications, Enyeama has resisted calls by friends like Colin Udoh, Idah Peterside etc.

And may your day be long and may u enjoy each day. May God almighty satisfy you early and fill ur life with all good things.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 2:11pm On Dec 11, 2017
Icon4s:

I no dey this Ezenwa matter with you o..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Goke7: 2:13pm On Dec 11, 2017
Icon4s:

The issue with some of you is that you are trying to justify enyeama's recall on his past heroics [same with martins] This is the same error we did in 1998 as rufai was called due to his past heroics too [even Rashidi yekini]. Are you sure that Enyeama today is still the same Enyeama of 2014. That he has resumed action does not mean he is still as sharp as before.

I think we are exercising unnecessary fear going to the world cup as we always assume that we need to go with our very old legs before we can make impact. During the wcq series, we were so fearful about ezenwa, but did that stop us from qualifying against experienced teams like Cameroon and algeria? I remember when we played serbia in 2014 and keshi introduced a young babatunde, it was like what the hell? but the guy turned out to be a revelation for us in that match and with a superb assist to musa for his first goal against argentina before he was injured.

We are just entertaining fears anytime we qualify for the world cup and we suddenly remember players we were not thinking about before. I think going forward, it's better we don't participate in the world cup anymore cos what's the use of qualifying if you can't trust the current players you have especially the ones who did all the hard work of qualifying. What if all these old legs we want go to the world cup, mess up like it happened before, are we not going to blame the coach for being stupid to take along tired legs? We are behaving as if we had no keeper in our previous matches. Are we the only team suffering weakness in some departments going to the world cup? You can't have a 100% team and no team in the world does. Brazil has had reputations of not having the best of goalkeepers yet they have won the world cup 5 times. Please let's major more on our strengths and be cautious in our areas of weakness. Recalling players who have retired or close to retirement will not solve these weak areas or can Enyeama guaranteed a clean sheet against the argentines? Abeg o. Recalling players based on past heroics is a very big NO for me. In 2014, Enyema was breaking records of clean sheets in France but is it the same Enyeama of today? Sorry for my long post

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kennysville(m): 2:16pm On Dec 11, 2017
Actually to say the truth, Enyeama is the best. NO DOUBT!!! In fact I dont have issues with him rescinding his decisions. But first, he owes all of us an apology.

I will not join those who sing pity party songs and say he got wronged or treated badly. There are the facts. Ego and pride as it was found in Lucifer was his problem. Shikena!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Goke7: 2:16pm On Dec 11, 2017
safarigirl:
Please, next week will be Efe Ambrose week, since we are now doing #BringBackTheOldTeam

I will also champion the recall of Aiyegbeni abi no be striker we de find? grin

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 2:21pm On Dec 11, 2017
tbaba1234:

Nwokolor has not played a single game this year.

Are Jan, Feb, March, April and May part of this year? grin

Because most of the 26 matches he played were during these months. grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Mujtahida: 2:23pm On Dec 11, 2017
Icon4s:

We were talking about the individual brilliance of Enyeama right?

For the MOTM performance to be given to a player from the losing side it really means that player was so so outstanding.

Enyeama could not multiply himself into 11 players.

You are trying hard to rubbish Enyeamas performances just to promote Uzoho. Hahaha. A goal keeper for a Team B side. Not as if it is even a Team B of a top Spanish club. Abeg fear God o.
The bolded is the form of revisionism that we should oppose. Look at how Enyeama's fine record is almost being rubbished (and thank God no one has screamed 'hater') because of how he fell off in the issue between him and Oliseh and his decision ever since.
Today Mikel is on his way to becoming one of the finest captains the Eagles have produced but would we stand and look when few years from now people try to rubbish his record because he was slack in his early days as a SE player?
Uzoho is a fine goalkeeper but he's not gone through the crucible. I thought Ezenwa was a fine gk until Algeria exposed him. Whenever this gk issue comes up I feel Ikeme's absence all the more. Left for me we need Enyeama. But we can't force him back. Yet no one should rubbish his record. He's not the best gk we have had between the sticks for nothing.
Just some days ago I watched Jay Jay Okocha in the Afcon final against Zambia and I was like is this Jay Jay? He was awful and then I understood why he wasn't westerhof's preferred midfielder. But I don't think we'd mention five best midfielders for Nigeria and Okocha will not be second or third. Enyeama let in goals, made mistakes, we lost matches with him between the sticks, Enyeama is still the best we've had thus far. Whether he makes a return or not, whether we personally want him in the team or not his record cannot and should remain inviolate.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kennysville(m): 2:23pm On Dec 11, 2017
Goke7:

The issue with some of you is that you are trying to justify enyeama's recall on his past heroics [same with martins] This is the same error we did in 1998 as rufai was called due to his past heroics too [even Rashidi yekini]. Are you sure that Enyeama today is still the same Enyeama of 2014. That he has resumed action does not mean he is still as sharp as before.

I think we are exercising unnecessary fear going to the world cup as we always assume that we need to go with our very old legs before we can make impact. During the wcq series, we were so fearful about ezenwa, but did that stop us from qualifying against experienced teams like Cameroon and algeria? I remember when we played serbia in 2014 and keshi introduced a young babatunde, it was like what the hell? but the guy turned out to be a revelation for us in that match and with a superb assist to musa for his first goal against argentina before he was injured.

We are just entertaining fears anytime we qualify for the world cup and we suddenly remember players we were not thinking about before. I think going forward, it's better we don't participate in the world cup anymore cos what's the use of qualifying if you can't trust the current players you have especially the ones who did all the hard work of qualifying. What if all these old legs we want go to the world cup, mess up like it happened before, are we not going to blame the coach for being stupid to take along tired legs? We are behaving as if we had no keeper in our previous matches. Are we the only team suffering weakness in some departments going to the world cup? You can't have a 100% team and no team in the world does. Brazil has had reputations of not having the best of goalkeepers yet they have won the world cup 5 times. Please let's major more on our strengths and be cautious in our areas of weakness. Recalling players who have retired or close to retirement will not solve these weak areas or can Enyeama guaranteed a clean sheet against the argentines? Abeg o. Recalling players based on past heroics is a very big NO for me. In 2014, Enyema was breaking records of clean sheets in France but is it the same Enyeama of today? Sorry for my long post

Actually, Enyeama has enough time to get fit. Goal keepers are special breed. You could see in the Egyptian national team. Their keeper is Old as innnnnn Old. But the dude is still able to do it. And thats why I cant discard a player based on age. When it comes to what Enyeama can offer, there is no doubt. If he is match fit, he is practically better than all those we have.

That is not to discredit what you have said. But bear in mind that a goalkeeper is just one of the elements in a team.

Lemme pose this trivia to us all. Which would we prefer, strong defence, strong attack, bad goalkeeper OR... good goalkeeper good defence bad attack? OR GOOD goalkeeper, bad defence, bad attack?

I rest my case
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 2:25pm On Dec 11, 2017
forgiveness:

Are Jan, Feb, March, April and May part of this year? grin

Because most of the 26 matches he played were during these months. grin

Lol, ok this season
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by SerVik(m): 2:29pm On Dec 11, 2017
Away from the Enyeama issue, Victor moses' chelsea have been drawn to face Barca in the last 16 of the Champions League.

Barca typically attacks from their left side, with Messi typically looking out to pick alba. This would be moses' biggest test yet, he has to be disciplined enough to stop those passes. Going forward, he'd also come against alba and umtiti, this should give him a taste of what to expect at the world cup.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kennysville(m): 2:34pm On Dec 11, 2017
Mujtahida:

The bolded is the form of revisionism that we should oppose. Look at how Enyeama's fine record is almost being rubbished (and thank God no one has screamed 'hater') because of how he fell off in the issue between him and Oliseh and his decision ever since.
Today Mikel is on his way to becoming one of the finest captains the Eagles have produced but would we stand and look when few years from now people try to rubbish his record because he was slack in his early days as a SE player?
Uzoho is a fine goalkeeper but he's not gone through the crucible. I thought Ezenwa was a fine gk until Algeria exposed him. Whenever this gk issue comes up I feel Ikeme's absence all the more. Left for me we need Enyeama. But we can't force him back. Yet no one should rubbish his record. He's not the best gk we have had between the sticks for nothing.
Just some days ago I watched Jay Jay Okocha in the Afcon final against Zambia and I was like is this Jay Jay? He was awful and then I understood why he wasn't westerhof's preferred midfielder. But I don't think we'd mention five best midfielders for Nigeria and Okocha will not be second or third. Enyeama let in goals, made mistakes, we lost matches with him between the sticks, Enyeama is still the best we've had thus far. Whether he makes a return or not, whether we personally want him in the team or not his record cannot and should remain inviolate.

But i bet you didnt say that or think so back then? Question is why? All the stuff that Almighty Pele of brazil played in the 60s and 70s, could he play those today?. Football has changed. Back then people like Okocha were basically part of what made soccwr the beautiful game. You are only saying that because of what you know soccer to be today. Things have changed. There is no longer the need for showboating. Objectivity is now the order of the day. Whatever you do that doesnt add to the gain of the team is jettisoned. And thats why the traditional 10 is being phased out. We miss quality dribbles. Now its all about tactical fouls, taking one for the team(yellow or red cards), and pace!

Keep also in mind that Okocha was very young and just loves the soccer ball at that time. Even at old age he is in now, if allowed to play 20 mins of a competitive game, you will still see that he has it in him. Its like the dude now has eyes all over his body.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 2:38pm On Dec 11, 2017
safarigirl:

I understand your concern. I have always read and related with your thoughts.

But on this one you need to realize two things.

1. No team will go as far as winning a cup without a good goalie. You would need to re-watch an highlight of the 2010 world cup between Netherland and Spain to understand. Top class goal keeping on display for both sides. Saving blushes.

2. At the moment, Akpeyi and Ezenwa are prone to errors. That is not good for our campaign. It is not always easy to comeback the way we did against Argentina when your goalie makes an unpardonable error. Likewise it is demoralizing and hurtful for both fans and players when the team has worked really hard to maintain a lead up till the dying minutes only for your error prone goal keeper to give in a cheap goal and squander the efforts. That's tragic.

Uzoho is basically untested. I believe he is on his way to be our next super goalie but at this moment, not until we have tested him in many friendlies we cannot confidently rely on him to lead the lines at the world cup.

So basically we have no confidence in any of our 3 goalies for now, so if Enyeama is fit and doing well do you not think Rohr should invite him?

For other positions we do not need any Old member for chemistry sake, but for the goal keeping department.............

We would be an unserious team if we do not take our goal keeping department serious.

Questence.

(1) (2) (3) ... (2341) (2342) (2343) (2344) (2345) (2346) (2347) ... (16451) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: akwesenana, Philosopher1979, Giv3n, Livewire5(m), lelion, opes and 13 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 123