Stats: 3,170,014 members, 7,876,804 topics. Date: Monday, 01 July 2024 at 07:15 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (4201) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12009587 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (4198) (4199) (4200) (4201) (4202) (4203) (4204) ... (16402) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by darkelf: 2:42pm On Jun 21, 2018
forgiveness:

Onazi and Echijele are good. That is why dey are in the team.

Tomorrow, we'll know if they really are. We'll see how echiejile copes with the pace and power of the Icelandic attackers and if Onazi can at least show some discipline.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 2:44pm On Jun 21, 2018
andrew444:

3-5-2 is not bad but the coach knows better,Just because nairalanders says 3-5-2 is the way doesn't means the coach should use it,rohr is not here on nairaland to copy ideas

You get it.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by darkelf: 2:45pm On Jun 21, 2018
Guys, if you're watching the match between Denmark and Australia, you'll notice the tirelessness of pione sisto.

How he tries to initiate the attack and run back to the defence to help out without falling down unnecessarily. Note that this same guy doesn't play wing back for celta-vigo. Instead, he's an attacker. I hope Vic Moses can learn a thing or two from how he plays.

sad
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by OMANBALA1: 2:47pm On Jun 21, 2018
Unless if Onazi has picked form overnight and Ndidi had a stroke(God forbids) and Echiejile is the only player alive in that team. I would even play Ezenwa as outfield player against Echiejile.

May God help Rohr!!

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by realpoacher(m): 2:48pm On Jun 21, 2018
soetanoreoluwa:
According to Charles Anazodo

He said Mikel to play as DM and Vic Moses as wing back

Colins Udoh too share thesame too...

They are both in Russia...

If Mikel will play DM or CM tomorrow while Rohr switches to 3-5-2 then I will bring back my support 100% for the team.

Because right now my mind don comot for this team and the tournament as a whole... Na sidon look mode i dey now

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by OMANBALA1: 2:51pm On Jun 21, 2018
The constant tripping and falls of VicMo is because he tries to do too much, simply. His intention is to dribble everybody and the only way to fix that without telling him to stop is to move him to wing back...Shikena.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by LieDetector(m): 2:51pm On Jun 21, 2018
soetanoreoluwa:
442 formation... Surprise surprise... grin

Heart racing
Lol. This is a joke right? If this is our legitimate starting line up, then come 4pm on Friday, I'd start preparing beans other than witnessing another heart break. Onazi and Echiejile of all people? Ighalo too? I comment my reserve

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 2:53pm On Jun 21, 2018
I’m ready to sacrifice myself for the team – Captain
The Super Eagles’ coach, Gernot Rohr, has stated that the position that Mikel Obi plays was not the reason Nigeria lost its match against Croatia.
Following the 2-nill drubbing of Nigeria by Croatia, many soccer loving Nigerians have reserved the harshest remarks for the Super Eagles and their handlers.
Many sports analysts believed that Nigeria lost the match from the bench rather than the pitch and blamed the head coach for some glaring technical mistakes.
Rohr said, “There should be sacrifice. Etebo playing number 6 doing very well. There was Ndidi playing number 6, doing very very well. Do you want us to play with 3 number 6?”
While defending the position that Mikel played in the match against Croatia, Rohr said, “We’ve won all our games in Nigeria in the last two years. This Obi Mikel in this attacking position is giving the size of passes. Remember against Cameroon, we won 4-0.
“It was exactly the same organisation. So, if you had played with Mikel as number 6, and another one, number 10, and you lost the game, you would ask the same question, ‘Why did you change now and you make him play number 6? You won all the games with him in number 10.

Source: https://www.makeitglobal.biz/mikels-playin/

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon79(m): 2:55pm On Jun 21, 2018
My brother, honestly, that's the formation that gives us the best chance to win. But I doubt if Gernot Rohr would be bold enough to experiment with that formation.

Rohr is not a bully coach, does not exhume much confidence, not ambitious(based on the his interviews) and this is rubbing off on the team.

O pari

TheSuperNerd:
Icon79, this formation of yours as shared by Soetan is wow. Similar to my 3-5-2, similar to TheGoodJoe's. Goodness me, I water. cheesy

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by chilex9: 2:57pm On Jun 21, 2018
How can they drop Ndidi?

Is Rohr high?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 2:57pm On Jun 21, 2018
Icon4s:
The Super Eagles’ coach, Gernot Rohr, has stated that the position that Mikel Obi plays was not the reason Nigeria lost its match against Croatia.
Following the 2-nill drubbing of Nigeria by Croatia, many soccer loving Nigerians have reserved the harshest remarks for the Super Eagles and their handlers.
Many sports analysts believed that Nigeria lost the match from the bench rather than the pitch and blamed the head coach for some glaring technical mistakes.
Rohr said, “There should be sacrifice. Etebo playing number 6 doing very well. There was Ndidi playing number 6, doing very very well. Do you want us to play with 3 number 6?”
While defending the position that Mikel played in the match against Croatia, Rohr said, “We’ve won all our games in Nigeria in the last two years. This Obi Mikel in this attacking position is giving the size of passes. Remember against Cameroon, we won 4-0.
“It was exactly the same organisation. So, if you had played with Mikel as number 6, and another one, number 10, and you lost the game, you would ask the same question, ‘Why did you change now and you make him play number 6? You won all the games with him in number 10.

The last paragraph is exactly typical of what most peeps that were against Mikel playing the AM role would have said.

Rohr really knows Nigerians now.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by ChrisKels: 2:57pm On Jun 21, 2018
forgiveness:

You mean Kouyate doesnt play in Ndidi's position!? shocked shocked grin Bhuuuhahaha!

You can lie ooooooo. sad

Wetin be dis?

U see as you rush bring out this stat now, but other stats wey I dey beg u to show, u no gree because e no favour u Lol. Kouyate plays more as a CM and he plays it better than Etebo.

Remember u told me keita Balde will displace Iheanacho neglecting the fact that Iheanacho doesnt play in same position as Balde grin now Kouyate can no longer bench Etebo just because he is recorded as a DM even though he plays more as a CM

Keep twisting
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nitobegiku: 3:00pm On Jun 21, 2018
Sign-Up for this PERFECT Side-Income Opportunity (Make 1,000 [20%] on every referral purchase as an AFFILIATE) - HERE.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon79(m): 3:02pm On Jun 21, 2018
Yup. In that formation:
Etebo - box 2 box midfielder
Ndidi - DM cum Destroyer
Obi - DM cum deep lying playmaker
Iwobi - In the #10 role
Kelechi - #9
Along with your two wingback (Ebuehi and Moses)

That's a very balanced team right there!

O pari

soetanoreoluwa:

This formation look so real definitely Mikel and Ndidi wil be anchor men...

We can make good stuff out of this...
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by COOL10(m): 3:03pm On Jun 21, 2018
daveP:

Simy
Joel Obi
Onazi
Ogu/Omeruo
. Are you saying he's gonna start Joel and Onazi together again?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by realpoacher(m): 3:03pm On Jun 21, 2018
My formation and starting XI against Iceland

Uzoho, Balogun, Ekong, Omeruoh, Ndidi, Mikel, Etebo, V. Moses, Ebuehi, Iheanacho, Ighalo

Subs

Ogu, Idowu, Simy

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Martz101: 3:03pm On Jun 21, 2018
forgiveness:

Onazi and Echijele are good. That is why dey are in the team.
thanks for this, idowu has not shown his better than Echiejile

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by ChrisKels: 3:05pm On Jun 21, 2018
Na sidon dey look I dey now, anything wey Rohr wan do, make him do, all we need na results. If him want, make him bench all his best players, its his call but make him remember say person like me nogo spare him if the result is negative.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by COOL10(m): 3:08pm On Jun 21, 2018
LieDetector:
Lol. This is a joke right? If this is our legitimate starting line up, then come 7pm on Friday, I'd start preparing beans other than witnessing another heart break. Onazi and Echiejile of all people? Ighalo too? I comment my reserve
. Lwkmd grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by chilex9: 3:10pm On Jun 21, 2018
OMANBALA1:
Unless if Onazi has picked form overnight and Ndidi had a stroke(God forbids) and Echiejile is the only player alive in that team. I would even play Ezenwa as outfield player against Echiejile.

May God help Rohr!!

My brother...sounds like a joke.......
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 3:10pm On Jun 21, 2018
I like the idea of Simy and Ighalo upfront. Bold call. We are ready for physical duels. I still have my reservations on Echiejile.

Modified
Wait o! Where Ndidi? This na another experiment
soetanoreoluwa:
442 formation... Surprise surprise... grin

Heart racing
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by COOL10(m): 3:10pm On Jun 21, 2018
Icon4s:

. I understand his point but change is inevitable and at this present time,Mikel doesn't look best suited for the Number 10 role.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by COOL10(m): 3:13pm On Jun 21, 2018
Martz101:

thanks for this, idowu has not shown his better than Echiejile
. I don't think anyone has complained of Idowu here. If so,then you can't say he's not better than Echiejile. In fact Idowu is WAY better than Echiejile.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Unlimited22: 3:15pm On Jun 21, 2018
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kennysville(m): 3:16pm On Jun 21, 2018
Do we still need evidence that this man is sabotaging all his works and trying to get himself sacked? Well if that list is the team to play, with no creative midfielder, hmmm na long balls be that O! Another useless tactics!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 3:18pm On Jun 21, 2018
Icon4s:

I won't be surprised if you come up and say you prefer Okpotu to Ronaldo. Hahaha

We dey talk Lokosa u dey yan Okpotu.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 3:23pm On Jun 21, 2018
andrew444:

3-5-2 is not bad but the coach knows better,Just because nairalanders says 3-5-2 is the way doesn't means the coach should use it,rohr is not here on nairaland to copy ideas
it has been PROVEN, BEYOND REASONABLE DOUBT, that Rohr does NOT know better than anybody.

Let us stop excising rubbish with "Rohr knows better".......it is only insanity that will make someone throw away a formation that has worked for you to play a repeatedly failed formation.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 3:25pm On Jun 21, 2018
LieDetector:
Lol. This is a joke right? If this is our legitimate starting line up, then come 7pm on Friday, I'd start preparing beans other than witnessing another heart break. Onazi and Echiejile of all people? Ighalo too? I comment my reserve
the game is for 4PM, not 7 PM. You should start preparing the beans earlier than 7
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 3:27pm On Jun 21, 2018
Dropping Ndidi and Iwobi?? Is Rohr Freeking dazed!!!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by ChrisKels: 3:30pm On Jun 21, 2018
kennysville:
Do we still need evidence that this man is sabotaging all his works and trying to get himself sacked? Well if that list is the team to play, with no creative midfielder, hmmm na long balls be that O! Another useless tactics!

Lol we wanna play dwarves against giants grin grin

#sidondeylook
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 3:31pm On Jun 21, 2018
soetanoreoluwa:

How effective are we with long balls?

Etebo is good with and can also give us a foul on the box

What about onazi misplaces passes?

Onazi and simmy would have be okay...

Anything can happen before tomorrow sha

Both Etebo and Victor can cause commotion.

My only fear is, Mikel and Onazi should not start to dey argue for match.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Certitude(m): 3:33pm On Jun 21, 2018
safarigirl:
it has been PROVEN, BEYOND REASONABLE DOUBT, that Rohr does NOT know better than anybody.

Let us stop excising rubbish with "Rohr knows better".......it is only insanity that will make someone throw away a formation that has worked for you to play a repeatedly failed formation.
Just because he isn't playing the formation everyone wants...? Rohr knows better than us all. We can't keep typing formations on keyboard and feel we're better than the coach because he is losing. None of us here met him before he chose to play 3 at the back. I'm not saying the 4-4-2 is the best tho as I would prefer the 3-5-2. But anyone who thinks he is better than the coach should get a coaching licence.

(1) (2) (3) ... (4198) (4199) (4200) (4201) (4202) (4203) (4204) ... (16402) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Suzzytee05(f), UncleHaba22 and 10 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 41