Stats: 3,184,296 members, 7,923,360 topics. Date: Saturday, 17 August 2024 at 01:31 AM

Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) - Foreign Affairs (2803) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) (6426198 Views)

Am I The Only One Whos Tired Of This Kenya Is Ahead Thread / Femi Adesina: "I Don't Lie, No Matter What"; Nigerians React / Kenyans Are Far Behind Nigerians In Every Aspect – Fani-Kayode (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2800) (2801) (2802) (2803) (2804) (2805) (2806) ... (9933) (Go Down)

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by kikuyu1(m): 2:03pm On Dec 23, 2018
theenchanter:
keep consoling ur self, I doubt if JKIA handles what MMIA handles per annum.

NIGGA,WE'VE SHOWN YOU THE STATS HOW MANY TIMES!? Are you guys dumb or in denial, srsly!
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Ibrahimanis: 2:03pm On Dec 23, 2018
TayserMahiri:

Some things don't make sense. For instance asking which is the biggest bank is a useless question. All banks need to do is provide adequate services and be innovative. The bigness is useless. Same to GDP, rail and roads. A massive country would have massive banks by virtue of pop but still be poor compared to a smaller country with smaller banks and fewer roads. We have tried to explain this per capita thing for eons but it seems you guys just will never get the concept. Let's debate about how well whatever is there serves the purpose.

The exception would be when comparing a country like Kenya and Tanzania where the expected fails to hold. E.g Kenya has bigger banks n bigger everything despite being less populous and smaller in landmass.
If big is useless, then IMF and WB will not be releasing which is the "biggest" list every year.

Not everything is measured in per capita, GDP per capita, PPP per capita, military spending per capita e.t.c good and fine. But when you start measuring Bank assets per capita, Music sector per capita, Airport capacity per capita, road network per capita, rail network per capita, everything per capita, you are going out of line.

While population and land mass influence building of roads and rail, their are many other factors overlooked like trade, government policy e.t.c

Do you know that one of the main reason why US interstate was built was for easy mobility of soldiers?
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nobody: 2:04pm On Dec 23, 2018
FrudstaPresidnt:
He is such a pussy, don't you know?
One SA gal single handedly beat him to stupor here on Niaraland, the other day.
Na him type we dey call woman wrapper for Naija grin

Ok ma dude I don't like how you bribe me angry

You like/share my posts then you attack me grin. Why the confusion. angry
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Ibrahimanis: 2:05pm On Dec 23, 2018
Kenyanstar:

I know its impossible to get such information from the lethargic Nigerian government. The Kenyan government ensures that such information is available to the common man to track progress and final product of their tax payers money.
Enjoy your victory while it lasts grin grin
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by darfay: 2:05pm On Dec 23, 2018
Ibrahimanis:

It's not a pretty good indicator because there are loopholes in it.

1. If it's a good indicator, why is it not use by economists around the world, because this is the first time I am hearing of it.

2. Not all Bank Assets are in a single country. For example, GT Bank is present in Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Gambia, Ghana e.t.c UBA in 20 African countries including Kenya, Ghana, e.t.c. Firstbank, Access Bank all have their assets spread across many countries. How do their assets in those countries serve Nigeria?

3. (I might be wrong on this though because I couldn't find the total Bank assets of Indonesia) but from indications, Indonesia has a superior Bank assets than SA, but SA leads in ratio to population. Will you say SA banking is superior to Indonesia's?

4. Going by your logic, we also have to factor in the number of customers (population) of a particular Bank (country) to determine how superior they are because banks only invest in (lend to) their customers.

5. Your argument is simplistic because it does not matter how big the assets of a banks in a country is if the masses can not access the money. And to determine how masses can access the money, you factor in borrowing power of customers, lending power of banks e.t.c.

6. And to determine the borrowing power of customers, you factor in minimum wage, income, expenses e.t.c at the end of the you have a very skewed result.

7. Banking depth, Banking transparency and regulation, Capacity of local investors, Macroeconomic opportunity and Enforceability e.t.c are the metrics mostly considered when measuring which banking sector is better while Bank assets is the only metric use to determine which banking sector is bigger/larger.

7. I genuinely enjoy our arguments, if you are no longer interested in this discussion, just say so, we'll go our separate ways, no need for the insults.

Make dem slug am out first before you resume

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by rvp2018: 2:05pm On Dec 23, 2018
Okay let clear this some basics first.
1) Banking assets - we are looking at in-country data has compiled by Nigeria and Kenya central banks. GT Bank Kenya bank assets will be under Kenya - not under Nigeria.

You need to ask Central Bankers why they analyze banking sector assets amongst other metrics.

2) Pretty good indicator - doesn't mean the only indicator - but trust me - the bank strength or arsenal is it's assets. Even if you banks had the best intentions, everyone had a bank account, and name all the other indicators - all that will come to cropper without strong balance sheet to lend or invest the money.

3) You're only arguing because Nigeria banking assets clearly exposes your over-cooked economy. You see South Africa has 370B banking assets. Nigeria which claim to be bigger has 100B. Kenya has 40B. That is all the argument is all about.

4) Population is factored everywhere we are talking about human activities. How would we not factor that?

Long story short - Kenya beat Nigeria in banking sector - you look for any other indicators - including Financial Access - and you'll not argue.

And this is one of the sector Nigeria is doing good after the reforms(forced mergers & acquisition) of 2000s.

Ibrahimanis:

1. If it's a good indicator, why is it not use by economists around the world, because this is the first time I am hearing of it.

2. Not all Bank Assets are in a single country. For example, GT Bank is present in Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Gambia, Ghana e.t.c UBA in 20 African countries including Kenya, Ghana, e.t.c. Firstbank, Access Bank all have their assets spread across many countries. How do their assets in those countries serve Nigeria?

3. (I might be wrong on this though because I couldn't find the total Bank assets of Indonesia) but from indications, Indonesia has a superior Bank assets than SA, but SA leads in ratio to population. Will you say SA banking is superior to Indonesia's?

4. Going by your logic, we also have to factor in the number of customers (population) of a particular Bank (country) to determine how superior they are because banks only invest in (lend to) their customers.

5. Your argument is simplistic because it does not matter how big the assets of a banks in a country is if the masses can not access the money. And to determine how masses can access the money, you factor in borrowing power of customers, lending power of banks e.t.c.

6. And to determine the borrowing power of customers, you factor in minimum wage, income, expenses e.t.c at the end of the you have a very skewed result.

7. Banking depth, Banking transparency and regulation, Capacity of local investors, Macroeconomic opportunity and Enforceability e.t.c are the metrics mostly considered when measuring which banking sector is better while Bank assets is the only metric use to determine which banking sector is bigger/larger.

7. I genuinely enjoy our arguments, if you are no longer interested in this discussion, just say so, we'll go our separate ways, no need for the insults.

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by darfay: 2:07pm On Dec 23, 2018
rvp2018:
1) Banking assets - we are looking at in-country data has compiled by Nigeria and Kenya central banks. GT Bank Kenya bank assets will be under Kenya - not under Nigeria.

You need to ask Central Bankers why they analyze banking sector assets amongst other metrics.

2) Pretty good indicator - doesn't mean the only indicator - but trust me - the bank strength or arsenal is it's assets. Even if you banks had the best intentions, everyone had a bank account, and name all the other indicators - all that will come to cropper without strong balance sheet to lend or invest the money.

3) You're only arguing because Nigeria banking assets clearly exposes your over-cooked economy. You see South Africa has 370B banking assets. Nigeria which claim to be bigger has 100B. Kenya has 40B. That is all the argument is all about.

4) Population is factored everywhere we are talking about human activities. How would we not factor that?

Long story short - Kenya beat Nigeria in banking sector - you look for any other indicators - including Financial Access - and you'll not argue.

And this is one of the sector Nigeria is doing good after the reforms(forced mergers & acquisition) of 2000s.

You are still trying to sound smart after tashamaria( who should be like a nephew to you ) defeated your ass
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by kikuyu1(m): 2:08pm On Dec 23, 2018
rvp2018:
You're wasting time. I was building website as 18yr old in 1999 and participating in the few online forums then - so I have solid 20yrs of online experience if that count for something- I learn a lot and share alot - I am barely 37 yr old now. As for your empty threats - you must be VERY VERY STUPID - it will take me exactly 5 minutes to be back with new moniker - this sites doesn't even ban IP - so I don't need to vpn tunnel here.

My friend I can teach you so much - in technology, business, economy, name it.

You need to find yourself a girlfriend and stop looking for one here in Nairaland.

And nobody made you the prefect of Kenyans here. I have dealt with dung flies like you for so many years you don't even register in my radar - keep looking for fresh dung from the Nigerians - they are going to unleash a lot of that soon.

Idk how this began and it doesn't matter but pls cease fire!
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by rvp2018: 2:10pm On Dec 23, 2018
See you're a small boy with conjured images of rich men. Wine is something westernized people drink after dinner. It's not something people go to a club or sit at their house to enjoy. I normally see many wannabe africans go to a club and order for wine. I'd excuse a woman for doing that - but you'd have to be a sissy man if you cannot handle alcohol. Drink beer or Whisky or Vodka or anything except if you're having a meal - then take the wines.
TayserMahiri:

Most millionaires I know do expensive wine. You might be the exception grin

Online experience grin nice one.

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Ibrahimanis: 2:12pm On Dec 23, 2018
rvp2018:

This again? You still believe that nigeria"s GDP is cooked grin

I've never said Nigeria's banking is bigger than SA.

And again their is no correlation between size of GDP and Size of a country's Bank assets.
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by darfay: 2:12pm On Dec 23, 2018
TayserMahiri:

Let's not imagine grin that idiot is a uni student

Haha a 37 year old grandpapa beat your ass

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by kikuyu1(m): 2:14pm On Dec 23, 2018
rvp2018:
Who told I am still building websites - I was not even in college - and I was making a clean 1M shs from those sites - You're an idiot my friend - some of us by time we were in 3rd yr at UON - everyone in our class had a job. I was already working for UN by my 4th year. I bought my first house in Nairobi at 24yrs - a year after graduating.So again listen son and I can teach you a lot. I am here basically to engage with intelligent people like Kikuyu and few Nigerians with some brains. This is sort of the medicine for my hyperactivity.

Keep your lanes. Keep the pictures coming. Keep the ladies entertained.

24 years??! Why am I not surprised?
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by rvp2018: 2:16pm On Dec 23, 2018
Of course I strongly believe you GDP is OVER-STATED. And there is enough evidence I have adduced. One such evidence is your total banking assets - compared to say South Africa or Egypt.

Banking is part of Financial sector of Economy. That is part of GDP. Yemi Kale will tell you your banking/finance sector is worth what clearly it is not worth.

Imagine you got very good banking - and yet your bank asset to GDP is - right there with Niger.
146. Nigeria 20%
147. Niger 20%

https://www.theglobaleconomy.com/rankings/bank_assets_GDP/

We have seen just how crazy your agriculture GDP figures are - that one alone is totally baked.

Ibrahimanis:

And again their is no correlation between size of GDP and Size of a country's Bank assets.

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by darfay: 2:22pm On Dec 23, 2018
TayserMahiri:

Most millionaires I know do expensive wine. You might be the exception grin

Online experience grin nice one.

Tashamaria don run. This must be a tragic day for her existence

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by kikuyu1(m): 2:24pm On Dec 23, 2018
Ibrahimanis:

If big is useless, then IMF and WB will not be releasing which is the "biggest" list every year.

Not everything is measured in per capita, GDP per capita, PPP per capita, military spending per capita e.t.c good and fine. But when you start measuring Bank assets per capita, Music sector per capita, Airport capacity per capita, road network per capita, rail network per capita, everything per capita, you are going out of line.

While population and land mass influence building of roads and rail, their are many other factors overlooked like trade, government policy e.t.c

Do you know that one of the main reason why US interstate was built was for easy mobility of soldiers?

Wrong. As usual. We do in fact use per capita especially for comparisons to find the mean.

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Jonraid(m): 2:26pm On Dec 23, 2018
Choose a metric of your liking and prove that Nigeria has the best banking sector. What of metrics like a banks adaptivity to technology talking of new trends like mobile banking fusion with the traditional banking system.Sophistication is something that Nigeria hasn't masterd yet. Your banking is more traditional and mainly relies on its larger customer base as its main pillar. Without creativity,Kenyan banks would be long dead with them being in a country that is the world's leader in mobile money and banking (we move tens of billions of US dollars through mobile money)and which also potentially has Africa's largest SACCO movement. The Kenya's financial sector is so sophisticated that every player needs to be on toes to get the market pie.With the quick growth of mobile money and SACCOs,I thought Kenyan banks will be edged out,I was wrong! The banks have been resilient even through the rate capping move by the CBK. Do you think that the Nigeria's financial system enjoys such sophistication that would threaten their banks out of business? A simple case like the state of your insurance industry would tell much about your financial sector and the gaps that need to be filled!
Ibrahimanis:

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by forgiveness: 2:31pm On Dec 23, 2018
mtisTheQubit:

Thats an airstrip idiot..ever heard of flying doctors... undecided

Hahahaha! grin
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by naijalander: 2:36pm On Dec 23, 2018
wewe ni mjinga

TayserMahiri:

Cc naijalander

Hii crib ni bedsitter
Na sina kiti so utakalia kitanda ee
Na hii kitanda ni four by six
Usingizi wa pono ka' uko six feet deep
Kabla nizame six inch deep
Acha ni-seti mood na...

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by naijalander: 2:36pm On Dec 23, 2018
Give it a rest.

TayserMahiri:

Mehn, I thought you had assimilated well already. So we still have mole within grin

Ok, did Kenya give you a job?
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by forgiveness: 2:39pm On Dec 23, 2018
mtisTheQubit:

liar liar pants on fire .. grin grin

Only fish brain will forget I gave verifiable source to back my claim. grin

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Jonraid(m): 2:46pm On Dec 23, 2018
Are mergers the next big thing? There has been a lot of talk about NIC and CBA merger if I'm not wrong. Should we embrace merging of Kenya's small banks and even look to enforce it through policy laws?
rvp2018:

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by FrudstaPresidnt: 2:50pm On Dec 23, 2018
TayserMahiri:

Ok ma dude I don't like how you bribe me angry

You like/share my posts then you attack me grin. Why the confusion. angry
Tah. .....bribe ke bribe ni?
Me bribe a pussy that was beaten blue and black by a lone Southy girl? I am a Nigerian u you know.
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Ibrahimanis: 2:51pm On Dec 23, 2018
rvp2018:
Of course I strongly believe you GDP is OVER-STATED. And there is enough evidence I have adduced. One such evidence is your total banking assets - compared to say South Africa or Egypt.

Banking is part of Financial sector of Economy. That is part of GDP. Yemi Kale will tell you your banking/finance sector is worth what clearly it is not worth.

Imagine you got very good banking - and yet your bank asset to GDP is - right there with Niger.
146. Nigeria 20%
147. Niger 20%

https://www.theglobaleconomy.com/rankings/bank_assets_GDP/

We have seen just how crazy your agriculture GDP figures are - that one alone is totally baked.

So US GDP is cooked too grin, because despite it's bigger economy, it's banking assets is smaller than Japan's.

Bank assets to GDP does not mean anything. It just shows that there are other sector bigger than banking. Lebanon's Bank assets to GDP is higher than Japan's or China's does that mean it's banking sector is bigger?

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by rvp2018: 2:53pm On Dec 23, 2018
I am ambivalent. I think we need small innovative like Equity or say Unitas sacco - but we also need well capitilized banks. Small banks are big risk - they can collapse any time - like Imperial or Chase bank.

So I'd say CBK should continue to raise the capital requirement - and hopefully we will have big enough banks to be able to fund big ticket projects.

Jonraid:
Are mergers the next big thing? There has been a lot of talk about NIC and CBA merger if I'm not wrong. Should we embrace merging of Kenya's small banks and even look to enforce it through policy laws?

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Jonraid(m): 2:54pm On Dec 23, 2018
No correlation at all? What does GDP measure? Aren't banks important institutions when talking about 'money matters and economics ' which GDP itself seeks to measure?
Ibrahimanis:

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Ibrahimanis: 2:54pm On Dec 23, 2018
kikuyu1:

Wrong. As usual. We do in fact use per capita especially for comparisons to find the mean.
So you are saying we can use per capita to determine which country has better rail or roads?
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Ibrahimanis: 2:56pm On Dec 23, 2018
Jonraid:
No correlation at all? What does GDP measure? Aren't banks important institutions when talking about 'money matters and economics ' which GDP itself seeks to measure?
What I am saying is that just because you have a bigger GDP does not equate to a bigger banking sector like he insinuated.
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by rvp2018: 2:56pm On Dec 23, 2018
Again we are not looking at one indicator - but the aggregate of many indicators. I can imagine a banking island like Mauritus or Swiss would be top-heavy banking compared to other services - I also imagine some small countries will have some skewed sector data - but overally I don't expect wild swings - or difference - btw economies of same size - in so many indicators - like we see btw Nigeria and South Africa. We don't see those huge disparities btw Egypt and South Africa - sectorwise.
Ibrahimanis:

So US GDP is cooked too grin, because despite it's bigger economy, it's banking assets is smaller than Japan's.

Bank assets to GDP does not mean anything. It just shows that there are other sector bigger than banking. Lebanon's Bank assets to GDP is higher than Japan's or China's does that mean it's banking sector is bigger?

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by rvp2018: 2:59pm On Dec 23, 2018
Of course. Maybe some countries GDP are basically one resource like Oil. Now tell us where Nigeria GDP is coming from. You claim to have 81B dollars worth of agriculture which we know is TOTAL BOLLOX. Now that you admit you banking sector is very tiny compared to South Africa - can you tell us where the Nigeria GDP emanates from? Nollywood?
Ibrahimanis:

What I am saying is that just because you have a bigger GDP does not equate to a bigger banking sector like he insinuated.

Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nobody: 2:59pm On Dec 23, 2018
rvp2018:
See you're a small boy with conjured images of rich men. Wine is something westernized people drink after dinner. It's not something people go to a club or sit at their house to enjoy. I normally see many wannabe africans go to a club and order for wine. I'd excuse a woman for doing that - but you'd have to be a sissy man if you cannot handle alcohol. Drink beer or Whisky or Vodka or anything except if you're having a meal - then take the wines.

Let's stop this back and forth you are now making outrageous claims for a 40 yr old millionaire.
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nobody: 3:00pm On Dec 23, 2018
rvp2018:

Told ya I don't fight with grandpa's. They fight themselves to submission.
Re: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by Nobody: 3:04pm On Dec 23, 2018
Ibrahimanis:

No idea. Mobility in case of war?

(1) (2) (3) ... (2800) (2801) (2802) (2803) (2804) (2805) (2806) ... (9933)

Viewing this topic: 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 87