Stats: 3,169,961 members, 7,876,653 topics. Date: Sunday, 30 June 2024 at 11:24 PM

What Movie Are You Watching Now? - TV/Movies (1712) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / TV/Movies / What Movie Are You Watching Now? (3857055 Views)

What Series Are You Watching And Who Is Your Favorite Character? / What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 / What Series Are You Watching Now? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1709) (1710) (1711) (1712) (1713) (1714) (1715) ... (3872) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 9:05am On Oct 30, 2019
DandeNumeruno:

and how does this answer my question all I can piece together from this rubbish you typed is that you have a weird fixation on trees and forests. this is what happens when people smoke weed in the morning instead of eating proper food. grin grin

It answers your question very well. Objectively, it is difficult to act the character of the joker. Joaquin Phoenix pleased both fans and haters on his acting.

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 9:10am On Oct 30, 2019
thelastorca:
you want to decide whether to watch a movie, you can

1) read the reviews
2) watch the preview
3) find your friends of like mind. i like star wars, but if i wanted to discuss the merits of a star wars movie, i would ask from a geek.

different people are looking for different things from movies. some are looking for a story, some are looking for action,

no point in any quasi intellectual superiority complex.

one could also say that watching movies is just a from of escapism for weak minded people who want to un tether from their reality

One could also say that every piece of art, especially films is a philosophy put forward by its creator that furthers the human quest in finding the meaning of life.

In summary, a movie is a philosophy. It has meaning. And the philosophically inclined will debate its meaning and purpose in relation to life or society.

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Nobody: 9:13am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

One could also say that every piece of art, especially films is a philosophy put forward by its creator that furthers the human quest in finding the meaning of life.

In summary, a movie is a philosophy. It has meaning. And the philosophically inclined will debate its meaning and purpose in relation to life or society.

a movie, is first and foremost, a vehicle to make money for its producers

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bn_JMw6mTrE

oya, tell me the meaning and philosophy in this movie . let us debate it

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by DandeNumeruno(m): 9:16am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

It answers your question very well. Objectively, it is difficult to act the character of the joker. Joaquin Phoenix pleased both fans and haters on his acting.

this guy sef.....

i don't have time for long grammar, i'll cut straight to the point. look at the imdb, rotten tomatoes & metacritic reviews& ratings of joker. are the ratings all 100% are the reviews all positive and yet, according to you joker is objectively not boring your mental gymnastics is on crack lololololol.
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by DandeNumeruno(m): 9:20am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

you are digging yourself into a deeper hole. just cut your losses and move on.
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 9:22am On Oct 30, 2019
thelastorca:

a movie, is first and foremost, a vehicle to make money for its producers

oya, tell me the meaning and philosophy in this movie . let us debate it

I loved that movie when I was younger. The attack of the killer tomatoes.

The movie is a satire on popular horror movies with non human killers. Jaws and birds, especially.

The tomato both signifying the ridiculousness

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Nobody: 9:25am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

I loved that movie when I was younger. The attack of the killer tomatoes.

The movie is a satire on popular horror movies with non human killers. Jaws and birds, especially.

The tomato both signifying the ridiculousness

what is the philosophy behind the fast and furious series, in the last three?
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 9:28am On Oct 30, 2019
DandeNumeruno:

you are digging yourself into a deeper hole. just cut your losses and move on.

No, I'm creating a complex web of thoughts and you are an ignorant fly caught in the dexterous weaving.

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by DandeNumeruno(m): 9:31am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

No, I'm creating a complex web of thoughts and you are an ignorant fly caught in the dexterous weaving.

tell me the philosophy behind the twilight trilogy. grin grin
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 9:33am On Oct 30, 2019
thelastorca:

what is the philosophy behind the fast and furious series, in the last three?

The philosophy is very simple.

The power of conviction and brotherhood.

In every fast and furious movie, there is more than one good guy in an impossible situation that has to be solved with extreme speed and incredible stunts.

The determination to save themselves and sometimes the world gets the good guys through.

If you notice, the crew gets bigger in every new instalment of the movies. The brotherhood or family based sentiments are very pronounced.

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 9:38am On Oct 30, 2019
DandeNumeruno:

this guy sef.....

i don't have time for long grammar, i'll cut straight to the point. look at the imdb, rotten tomatoes & metacritic reviews& ratings of joker. are the ratings all 100% are the reviews all positive and yet, according to you joker is objectively not boring your mental gymnastics is on crack lololololol.

Critic reviews. There were critics who didn't like the movie. These people saw the movie before everyone else.

There were feminists who hated the white male angst of the movie, for example.

Stop being ignorant

https://www.themarysue.com/review-joker-masterclass-in-saying-nothing/
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by DandeNumeruno(m): 9:39am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

In every fast and furious movie, there is more than one good guy in an impossible situation that has to be solved with extreme speed and incredible stunts.

The determination to save themselves and sometimes the world gets the good guys through.

If you notice, the crew gets bigger in every new instalment of the movies. The brotherhood or family based sentiments are very pronounced.

pure balderdash. what you typed are moral lessons. most films have them.philosophy is very very very different
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by DandeNumeruno(m): 9:43am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

Critic reviews. There were critics who didn't like the movie. These people saw the movie before everyone else.

There were feminists who hated the white male angst of the movie, for example.

Stop being ignorant

https://www.themarysue.com/review-joker-masterclass-in-saying-nothing/

this guy lololololol
you just contradicted yourself and you didn't even notice.

aren't you the one that said joker is objectively not boring lololol

you're more confused than a reta.rd
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 9:43am On Oct 30, 2019
DandeNumeruno:

tell me the philosophy behind the twilight trilogy. grin grin

It explored the weird world of American teenage girls ideology on love and romance.

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Nobody: 9:44am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

https://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Film/TheFastAndTheFurious

you are simply referencing a trope - one of several

Badass Family:

The Toretto Gang of carjackers may be surrogate and multi-racial, but their love and loyalty towards each other is stronger than most Real Life blood-families. In fact, they explicitly refer to each other as family rather than just "friends", particularly at gatherings and when saying grace at meals.

Dom: I don't have friends. I have family.

The Toretto family itself qualifies, consisting of Dom, Mia & their significant others, Letty & Brian.
Owen and Deckard Shaw are both sociopathic Arrogant Kung-Fu Guy Blood Knights.Their mother seems

https://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/BadassFamily
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by DandeNumeruno(m): 9:45am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

It explored the weird world of American teenage girls ideology on love and romance.

and how is that philosophy
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 9:47am On Oct 30, 2019
DandeNumeruno:

this guy lololololol
you just contradicted yourself and you didn't even notice.

aren't you the one that said joker is objectively not boring lololol

you're more confused than a reta.rd

There are movies that are interesting but you might hate it overall.

Take Gemini Man by will smith. It was an action packed film that was interesting but it was an overall dead movie. Idiotic plot , clive owen and poor performance from.supporting cast.
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Nobody: 9:48am On Oct 30, 2019
thelastorca:
you want to decide whether to watch a movie, you can

1) read the reviews
2) watch the preview
3) find your friends of like mind. i like star wars, but if i wanted to discuss the merits of a star wars movie, i would ask from a geek.

different people are looking for different things from movies. some are looking for a story, some are looking for action,

no point in any quasi intellectual superiority complex.

one could also say that watching movies is just a from of escapism for weak minded people who want to un tether from their reality
This comment is very underrated.

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Nobody: 9:50am On Oct 30, 2019
abeg whats the philospy in debbie does dallas and deepthroat grin
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 9:50am On Oct 30, 2019
DandeNumeruno:

and how is that philosophy

The philosophy is the sweetness of forbidden love. That true romance survives the adversity of family and societal values.

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by DandeNumeruno(m): 9:51am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

There are movies that are interesting but you might hate it overall.

Take Gemini Man by will smith. It was an action packed film that was interesting but it was an overall dead movie. Idiotic plot , clive owen and poor performance from.supporting cast.

stop going in circles. if it's objectivity not boring, it wouldn't have been panned by critics. a lot of people have said they dozed off when they watched it. they can't all be lying. bro just accept that you fvcked up and move on.
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 9:52am On Oct 30, 2019
Viking07:
This comment is very underrated.

Or rather, it is very much overrated and appreciated by people who hate to engage in philosophical discussions.

If you dont like to discuss or argue, rate your movie and move on.

What is people's problem with other people's argument? Is it your intellectual superiority?

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Stonecoldstare1: 9:53am On Oct 30, 2019
Progenix:

Lol I laugh die after hearing the news. They Bleep GoT ending for me, jet out for Star Wars only to epically crash cosmically!!!

More painful now GoT prequel has been cancelled
Karma really is a bitch

I heard about the prequel being canceled but i'm still waiting from an official statement from HBO. IMO I never liked the story they chose for the prequel so I’m glad it's canceled but there's still a Targaryen prequel in the works (either Aegon's conquest or dance of dragons)
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by DandeNumeruno(m): 9:53am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

The philosophy is the sweetness of forbidden love. That true romance survives the adversity of family and societal values.

all I can tell from what you typed is that you don't know the meaning of philosophy.

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 9:54am On Oct 30, 2019
DandeNumeruno:

stop going in circles. if it's objectivity not boring, it wouldn't have been panned by critics. a lot of people have said they dozed off when they watched it. they can't all be lying. bro just accept that you fvcked up and move on.

Nigerians also walked out of interstellar and IT.

Audiences also walked out of the Exorcist.

There will always be people who can handle certain movies. Their opinions should be taken with a grain of salt...
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by DandeNumeruno(m): 9:57am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

Nigerians also walked out of interstellar and IT.

Audiences also walked out of the Exorcist.

There will always be people who can handle certain movies. Their opinions should be taken with a grain of salt...

yes, it's normal. taste is subjective. everyone look for different things in a movie.
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 9:58am On Oct 30, 2019
DandeNumeruno:

all I can tell from what you typed is that you don't know the meaning of philosophy.

The meaning of philosophy is a philosophical problem of itself.

But you are too dumb and adversarial against me to understand my point.

Move along

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Kaycee7(m): 10:00am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

1. People who have nollywood as their main genre of movies tend to favour movies with simplistic plots and overacting. Drama. That same logic works with people that seriously watch reality tv, they tend to be less intelligent.
Well, this is some bullshit stereotyping. I know very intelligent people that watch reality TV. Nollywood is not a genre. It's an entire movie industry with a lot of diverse offerings. What of the Americans that watch Hollywood movies exclusively and still favour movies with simplistic plots?

2. Not liking joker is not the problem. The problem is the reason for not liking it and how it is expressed.

I dont like romance movies because I am not romantic as a personal bias. However, I will still applaud a good romance film. I did not like 500 days of summer but I will always point out that it was a good movie.

Now, the people saying that the joker is boring or overrated cannot get out of their own personal bias. You might not like the joker but dont bring it down based solely on your own bias.
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by DandeNumeruno(m): 10:01am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

The meaning of philosophy is a philosophical problem of itself.

But you are too dumb and adversarial against me to understand my point.

Move along

see I was right, the ignoramus don't know the meaning and what's it's about. lololololol

simply put. philosophy is rational justification of answers to the most fundamental questions and the creation of concepts.
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 10:01am On Oct 30, 2019
DandeNumeruno:

pure balderdash. what you typed are moral lessons. most films have them.philosophy is very very very different

And what is the most popular topic in philosophy? Morality.

Checkmate, biitch.

Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by DandeNumeruno(m): 10:03am On Oct 30, 2019
Logic007:

And what is the most popular topic in philosophy? Morality.
Checkmate, biitch.
you are a dumb poser pretending to be smart. i've exposed today. lololololol.
Re: What Movie Are You Watching Now? by Logic007: 10:03am On Oct 30, 2019
DandeNumeruno:

see I was right, the ignoramus don't know the meaning and what's it's about. lololololol

simply put. philosophy is rational justification of answers to the most fundamental questions and the creation of concepts.

By your definition, philosophy applies to what I stated about the movies.

Move along.

(1) (2) (3) ... (1709) (1710) (1711) (1712) (1713) (1714) (1715) ... (3872) (Reply)

Live: Big Brother Naija 2018 (Double Wahala) BBNaija Live Thread / BBNaija 2021 Live Updates Thread / BBNaija 2019 Live Updates (Big Brother Naija 2019 Thread)

Viewing this topic: 9 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 51