Stats: 3,179,916 members, 7,909,430 topics. Date: Saturday, 03 August 2024 at 03:15 AM

Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! - Properties (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! (56545 Views)

A Yoruba Developer, Stephen Akintayo, Buys Land For Real Estate In South-East / Artisan Who Survived Ikoyi Building Collapse Reveals What He Did / *property For Sale At Festac Town* 7 Bedroom Ensuite Mansion House 3 Living Roo (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (12) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by mechanics(m): 1:46pm On Nov 25, 2019
Wow, congrats to him, little is much when God is in it.
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by Jaqenhghar: 1:50pm On Nov 25, 2019
naijadrivablog:

Nice, but why not first build in Nigeria (like in Lagos or another city), especially a rentable house, before buying a house in the UK?

Just a little case now, those Tax hungry people would seize it or something.
While in Niggeria Omonile or one another customer who has better connections will seize it
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by Arizonaguy(m): 1:50pm On Nov 25, 2019
Praizenewstv:
Popular online medical doctor, Dr. Harvey Olufunmilayo who migrated to the United Kingdom, UK 3 years ago, has just bought a house, praizenews report.

Sharing the photos of the exterior and the interior of the house, he wrote ;

https://twitter.com/DrOlufunmilayo/status/1198515306823667713?s=19

However revealing how it was made possible, Dr. Harvey mentioned that he cultivated a saving culture, and was able to save as much as 500-1000£ every month from his monthly income.

Source ; http://www.praizenews.com/nigerian-single-medical-doctor-buys-house-3-years-after-migrating-to-uk-see-how-he-did-it/

wow!! dude was way disciplined for him to have achieve this
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by bizzibodi(m): 1:53pm On Nov 25, 2019
If na Nigeria he will never agree to buy or build this type of house design,but why buy a house & not rent when u not a permanent resident.
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by Irore: 2:02pm On Nov 25, 2019
naijadrivablog:

Nice, but why not first build in Nigeria (like in Lagos or another city), especially a rentable house, before buying a house in the UK?

Omo ni ile and devel will collect all the money and the government using the police will be looking. Good decision abegyi….
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by 0monnak0da: 2:03pm On Nov 25, 2019
cococandy:

But owning (if one can afford it) always beats renting in the long run.
This is where I disagree . The ALWAYS part.

It is not true. It depends on so many factors including point of entry (cost) and locality.
Within a country there are sub-markets and we must not forget what led to the financial crisis of 2008.

The idea that owning a house is ALWAYS a good thing is just like the any other religious dogma It sounds good and persuasive but facts are different . Often Houses are LIABILITIES that take away money rather than generate money and the expectation that they will "appreciate" is speculation. Even if that happens it may not happen at a useful time in the lifetime of the "investor"

A little bit of analysis should suffice.

Generally speaking Houses prices are driven by demand and supply like most other markets but with housing the inflationary trend may surpass the baseline inflation because of over available and over cheap credit.
Often this is underpinned by government policy and resource allocation decisions e.g in the UK schemes like Help to Buy. favourable Stamp duty and tax regimes for first time buyers etc. Investing in property is good when supply is low and also credit is tight. When credit is available cheaply to everyone sooner or later there must be a correction
So you have House prices that may be artificially high and at risk at crashing as we saw after 2008. This may be a lower risk in the UK compared to the US because a lot more people in the US buy houses for speculation rather than to live in
If you look at the lifetime of a typical mortgage =25 years and compare the rent paid there may be no difference or very little difference.
There are pros and cons to each decision but property is not necessarily the best place to park your wealth. That is a myth
Property prices have crashed before or stagnated for long periods with owners trapped with debt in excess of the value of the property(negative equity) and this will happen again as long as cheap mortgages are available fuelling property price inflation. There will always be painful corrections from time to time.
If feels good to buy a house but if you are living in it then in my book that is not necessarily an "investment" but rather an expense.

The real test of property is whether rent covers the mortgage and running expenses. This is rarely the case unless there is a substantial deposit which is then money tied down not working
If you enter the market at the right point of the curve you will smile but property prices cannot appreciate for ever. With cheap credit it can become a BUBBLE and you do not want to be the last person holding a house that you cannot sell or can only sell for half of what you paid

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by bizzibodi(m): 2:05pm On Nov 25, 2019
This kind house will not b expensive to build,redbricks with wooden deckings, small simple roof design.2 buyers for 1 house.
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by 0monnak0da: 2:06pm On Nov 25, 2019
bizzibodi:
This kind house will not b expensive to build,redbricks with wooden deckings, small simple roof design.2 buyers for 1 house.
The house is built with blocks just like in Nigeria. The bricks are a covering just like plaster
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by Employmenthub(f): 2:14pm On Nov 25, 2019
If everyone is running to the US, who will stay and make nigeria better.

EmploymentHub is primarily designed to serve meticulously Job applicants, on how apply for job vacancies and get employed by making, editing and reviewing professional CV, serving attractive cover letter for a #3000. We also send free job vacancies to all our clients and do preliminary interview to trained them on how to answer interview questions.

Pls follow us on Instagram @employment_hub. Call, Text or WhatsApp 08080756701. We are available to service at your convenience. Thank you

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by Nobody: 2:15pm On Nov 25, 2019
pocohantas:
His friend is so fine.

Is he Nigerian?
Would he come back this Xmas?

i see you knocked flat by the brown belt tongue
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by bizzibodi(m): 2:18pm On Nov 25, 2019
0monnak0da:
The house is built with blocks just like in Nigeria. The bricks are a covering just like plaster
That is untrue.

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by Kennydoc(m): 2:20pm On Nov 25, 2019
itsme01:

Mortgage things

Always respect Nigerian professionals and hustlers who paid for their phones and gadget in full no contracts, paid for their cars in full no car loan and paid / built their house without mortgage... it takes a lot of hardwork

You think Nigerian professionals in the West don't also pay for their gadgets in full? The option of financing is there but sometimes, people still choose to pay in full to avoid paying the interest on the credits.

As for houses, only the mega rich can afford to pay in full, most people use mortgage. The interesting thing is that some people's monthly mortgage payment is roughly around or just slightly higher than the amount they pay as rent. So while paying the mortgage, it seems like they are just paying rent. After some years (maybe 20 or 30), the house becomes theirs.

You will only appreciate what this guy is saying when you compare him to fellow medical doctors of his age and status practising in Nigeria.

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by planetx: 2:21pm On Nov 25, 2019
House that you are paying the bank loan back over 30 years.

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by lebete3000: 2:22pm On Nov 25, 2019
mployer:
Most Uk trained Doctors can't even buy a house in 3yrs let alone a Nigerian trained Doctor.

He is a coded Yahoo boy undecided

And you know this how?
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by InvertedHammer: 2:29pm On Nov 25, 2019
/
Why not find out the meaning of "buying a house" in developed nations first before saying he is fraudulent?
He saved money for downpayment. The house will be his own after about 30 years of mortgage payment. Good thing is that he will be building equity in the house.
He told his story exactly the way Nigerians want it.

/

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by OGHENAOGIE(m): 2:30pm On Nov 25, 2019
obailala:
Loads of people also prosper in Nigeria where the system doesn't work, and there're also people in those places where things work who haven't prospered like this after decades. SO in summary, it's an individual thing.
a system that works well profit majority... stop twisting d matter...

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by googi: 2:33pm On Nov 25, 2019
When I saw this, I saw another Nigerian taunting and ostentatious display to other Nigerians at home. If every Nigerian that has a house came to the social media to announce, how many pages would it take?

Mind you, those that drive cabs with their medical degrees waiting forever to pass exam or to get appointments as residents or those that settled as technicians and other jobs never come to social media to announce.

We all cry about money laundering, what about investment of skills laundering? Medical doctors are the most invested in. Rawling in his first coming detained some of them that came on holidays until they repaid the investment.

Thank God, we have enough Nigerians here who know how the system works abroad when you want to buy a house. Your credit history for about 5 years is important unless you get a cosigner.

Someone mentioned that those that qualified abroad as medical doctors cannot buy a house that fast, true but why?

Because of starving salary and long hours paid to resident doctors. Well, Nigerians always compare dollar or pound to naira. It looks big in naira but by the time you pay bills in pounds or dollars, you have little left.

Yes, that guy here is right about more Nigerians buying better houses in Nigeria but not everyone even think about social media like those that have never seen anything big in their life.

Nobody wrote about those that pull gburu day and night and die in the process on top of frustration abroad.

Nigerians, please fight at home where your fight gain more returns and stand a better chance in your own country than outside where you have less right, yes I wrote less right. Right is for their own not you.

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by Nickisindigo(m): 2:33pm On Nov 25, 2019
sLentlover7778:
2020 my year of Canada grin grin grin..
bro let's go together
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by obidr(m): 2:40pm On Nov 25, 2019
googi:
When I saw this, I saw another Nigerian taunting and ostentatious display to other Nigerians at home. If every Nigerian that has a house came to the social media to announce, how many pages would it take?

Mind you, those that drive cabs with their medical degrees waiting forever to pass exam or to get appointments as residents or those that settled as technicians and other jobs never come to social media to announce.

We all cry about money laundering, what about investment of skills laundering? Medical doctors are the most invested in. Rawling in his first coming detained some of them that came on holidays until they repaid the investment.

Thank God, we have enough Nigerians here who know how the system works abroad when you want to buy a house. Your credit history for about 5 years is important unless you get a cosigner.

Someone mentioned that those that qualified abroad as medical doctors cannot buy a house that fast, true but why?

Because of starving salary and long hours paid to resident doctors. Well, Nigerians always compare dollar or pound to naira. It looks big in naira but by the time you pay bills in pounds or dollars, you have little left.

Yes, that guy here is right about more Nigerians buying better houses in Nigeria but not everyone even think about social media like those that have never seen anything big in their life.

Nobody wrote about those that pull gburu day and night and die in the process on top of frustration abroad.

Nigerians, please fight at home where your fight gain more returns and stand a better chance in your own country than outside where you have less right, yes I wrote less right. Rsight is for their own not you.
Why do I smell envy from all the nonsense written above.

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by Nobody: 2:45pm On Nov 25, 2019
naijadrivablog:

Wrong advice, building a house in Nigeria is the worst biz advice to anyone not living in Nigeria and besides the doctor is an idiot for celebrating a house bought on mortgage,we all bought houses here,but you don't see us posting it on social media.

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by AnanseK(m): 2:47pm On Nov 25, 2019
Good for him, but remember this is mortgage from a building society.

He will be paying exorbitant some of money with interest for this house until his retirement. If he defaults in payment the building society takes back the house. When he reaches old age he sells the house and uses the money to move into a private old people’s home.

Because he will be counted as having some money he is not qualified for government subsidy and the old people’s home may actually take all the money he has.

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by HMarshal(m): 2:48pm On Nov 25, 2019
Congrats bro, buh wuldnt building it in 9ja AV been a beta option considering tax
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by Toks2008(m): 2:48pm On Nov 25, 2019
Fadomero:
Very simple with fraudulent act very soon now dem go holdam naija abroad no be all of dem I trust

It's with mortgage so no big deal.

Nevertheless...i say congrats to him
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by spiceadole: 2:52pm On Nov 25, 2019
Thane:
Doctors re making it good in d UK, my friend just got married ystday in just under one yr of moving

I relocated to the UK few months ago.
The best decisive I ever made
Working as a doctor has never felt better
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by lakesider(m): 2:53pm On Nov 25, 2019
UK doc that have worked for 10years can't even afford a home..
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by millhouse: 3:04pm On Nov 25, 2019
E no go quiet now... with this when them begin dig your file see say na computer him Dey press for night joint the matter
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by papyt: 3:05pm On Nov 25, 2019
if he was ur brother would you allow him to come and settle in this shit-hole country
naijadrivablog:

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by naijadrivablog: 3:09pm On Nov 25, 2019
papyt:
if he was ur brother would you allow him to come and settle in this shit-hole country

Learn to read and comprehend. I said he should have built in Nigeria 1st before buying a house there.
Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by googi: 3:09pm On Nov 25, 2019
obidr:

Why do I smell envy from all the nonsense written above.

Envy, envy from who to who. Nobody envies someone if you have been there, done that and mentored others into the right ways.

Facts are stubborn fictions are easier to absorb. Those of us that have seen many misguided Nigerians wasting abroad must be wicked if we do not raise facts as many have done on this topic.

I feel sorry for your types because you will never learn until they post your picture wallowing on main streets abroad. Though I hate those doing that.

Re: Dr. Harvey Olufunm Buys House 3 Years After Migrating To UK - See How He Did It! by bilulu(m): 3:11pm On Nov 25, 2019
cococandy:
Stop paying rent in Canada. You will waste so much money that way.

If you can afford the down payment , buy a house. Sell it when you don’t feel like owning it anymore. Get your down payment back. if the house has appreciated since you bought it, you get the profit too. Some people put $50,000 down payment on a house when they buy and sell it in about 4 years, walking away with $80,000 to $120,000 after selling. Houses appreciated so much last year from the Seattle areas to the subs and even to Vancouver (dunno which part of Canada you’re in) people were cashing out bigly.

And your monthly mortgage would have been lower than the rent equivalent of that home. Renting a four bedroom will you at least $500 more every month compared to if you’re paying mortgage.

We Nigerians often think that if you don’t own something 100% then there’s not point.
Very not true.

I don’t want to go in personal details before some dubious imps on NL will start claiming to know me but seriously ditch the mindset and save/make money.
Nice one bro but I don’t really know if you can sell off a house you got on mortgage. If you live close to those on mortgage you will realize it is easier to pay rent than get a mortgage.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (12) (Reply)

When The Architect Has Phd In Space Management (photo) / What Is The Weirdest Rule A Landlady/Landlord Has Ever Given You? / What Is Happening To My Decking?

Viewing this topic: 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 65