Stats: 3,188,938 members, 7,935,988 topics. Date: Friday, 30 August 2024 at 08:43 PM

Vchukwuma20's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Vchukwuma20's Profile / Vchukwuma20's Posts

(1) (of 1 pages)

Celebrities / Re: NDA Comes For Rapper MI And Charass For Wearing Camo (Photo) by vchukwuma20: 12:53pm On Jul 27, 2015
Can they prove he was in Nigeria, am abroad an I rock camo the way I want, so if I was famous and I posted a photo, will they tweet about me as well?
Politics / Re: 13 Ex-Militants Dismissed From Lufthansa Pilot Training School In Germany by vchukwuma20: 5:11pm On Jul 24, 2015
God help us

Politics / Re: GRAPHIC PHOTOS: Nigerian Man Dies Trying To Escape From Malaysian Police by vchukwuma20: 9:07am On Jul 06, 2015
sad
Health / Re: So How Smart Is A Mosquito by vchukwuma20: 5:46pm On Jun 30, 2015
I had a flu. Go and search for your malaria guy
Health / Re: So How Smart Is A Mosquito by vchukwuma20: 5:06pm On Jun 30, 2015
Bilabong:

Immediately I saw this mention I knew it was you (the mosquito op) who is probably still suffering from malaria due to the intense of the last bite. Op pls how long did you say the effects last on your skin? Two years months weeks?
i think you have me confused for someone else.
Health / Re: So How Smart Is A Mosquito by vchukwuma20: 4:43pm On Jun 30, 2015
Bilabong:
Wetin make them smart?
so you just came in, read the topic and left a comment. i think even mosquitos are smatter than that.

Health / So How Smart Is A Mosquito by vchukwuma20: 4:23pm On Jun 30, 2015
Did you ever wonder exactly how smart these mosquitos are?

Picture this a cool moonlit summer evening, relaxing after a tough day and then you hear it. It begins as a distant high pitched whiny noise. The noise moves closer, seemingly zeroing in. And then you feel the lightest of caresses, brushing up against your skin. Too late you swat, and within minutes your skin begins to itch. Mosquitos! They are worse in some areas than others, but everyone has been victimized by them at one time or another.

But how does a mosquito find you in the first place? If you guessed that they are not smart enough to hang around doorways, you'd be right. Mosquitos are not that smart. Instead they use a basic sensory organ, they smell you. When we breath, we exhale carbon dioxide gas. Mosquitos can smell this gas from as much as fifty feet away! If that doesn't thrill you, you'll also be delighted to know that they smell the lactic acid which routinely oozes from glands in your skin. From these odors the mosquito can tell whether you are a tasty human as opposed to a bird, dog or horse.

There are about 150 species of mosquitoes in North America. Worldwide, about 3,000 species of mosquitoes have been described by scientists, and it is very likely that many more exist. Just which animal a kind of mosquito prefers to dine on depends on the mosquito.

You have undoubtedly heard of the dreaded sickness called malaria which is most common in Africa but does occur other places and more recently there have been a few cases in the US. This sickness is caused by a disease carrying species of mosquito called Anopheles Gambiae. This mosquito prefers humans as its main source of food and has been known to fly past thousands of cattle to bite the herdsman! Only when they cannot find humans will this insect dine on cattle.

You have probably noticed that some people seem more tasty to mosquitos than other folks. If there is a group of people sitting outside, it is not uncommon to see one or two people get the majority of bites while often there is one person who gets none! Our tastiness is related to natural differences in our body chemistry though we do not understand the specifics. Certain fragrances found in shampoos, soaps and powders will mask your natural scent but may make you even more attractive to the mosquito!

It is a common belief that mosquitos are either attracted or repelled by certain colours. It is not that mosquitos prefer blues to reds however, but more so that dark colours absorb more heat which in turn makes you more attractive to the hungry mosquito.

Actually, it is only the female mosquito that you need worry about, for only she dines on animals. Male mosquitos dine only on nectar. The females need the protein rich blood in order to produce eggs. The female requires one blood meal for each batch of eggs. If she is not interrupted by a slapping hand, the female will suck two or three times her weight in blood. Her body tells her when she has had enough when stretch receptors in her abdomen sense she has reached her limit. Scientists performed tests where these receptors were deactivated. The females continued to drink until they literally exploded!

When the female is full of food she is so heavy she may have some trouble flying. She looks for a safe place like under a leaf and processes the meal over the next few hours.
When you do get bitten by a mosquito you usually get a red bump that itches for a period of time which varies from severity of bite as well as from person to person. Some people only itch for a few hours, while others keep a red itchy bump for weeks! The red bump is caused by an allergic reaction to mosquito saliva. The mouth of the female mosquito is designed much like a needle in a syringe. When she bites you she buries the syringe into your skin and begins to suck blood. While she is doing this however, some of her saliva flows into the wound.

The mosquito saliva causes an allergic reaction which kicks in your immune system. Antibodies are produced by the body and chemicals are released to protect us from infection. It is this which causes the initial swelling. When our immune cells gather around the bite area, it makes the lump get hard.

It is the itch which annoys most people. Calamine lotion helps some, as does a tiny drop of ammonia. If you are wondering about the suggestion of ammonia, there is a commercial product called "Afterbite" which can be used for bee stings and mosquito bites, but the only active ingredient is ammonia!

Sometimes when someone is bitten many times, they develop a natural immunity to the saliva, but it usually takes a lot of bites. Other people (like myself) have an allergy to them which makes the bites last as long as two weeks!

Nairaland / General / Re: #itsonlyinnigeria Trending On Twitter (screenshots) by vchukwuma20: 1:33pm On Jun 23, 2015
It's only on Nigeria we collect money during festivals

Celebrities / Re: Photo Of The Lady That Was Mistaken For Mammy Water In Church by vchukwuma20: 5:05pm On Jun 21, 2015
What if they now see my ex?
Sports / Edin Dzeko Protests On His World Cup Goal Vs Nigeria by vchukwuma20: 5:00pm On Jun 21, 2015
This goal was disallowed on because the assistant referee thought he was on offside position... see for yourself

Sports / Asisat Wins Bbc Female Footballer Of The Year Award by vchukwuma20: 7:38pm On Jun 14, 2015
BBC Women's Footballer of the Year award: Asisat Oshoala wins

Nigeria and Liverpool forward Asisat Oshoala has been named as the BBC Women's Footballer of the Year.

The 20-year-old forward is the first player to win the new award from the BBC World Service, voted for by football fans around the world.

She beat Spain's Veronica Boquete, German Nadine Kessler, Scot Kim Little and Brazilian Marta to the honour.

"I would like to say thank you to the BBC, to my fans around the world and to everyone who voted," she said.

The award is the first of its kind hosted by a global broadcaster.
Asisat Oshoala

Oshoala signed for Liverpool Ladies in January 2015

Oshoala, who was the youngest player to be shortlisted, was the leading scorer at the Under-20s World Cup in Canada last summer and was voted the tournament's best player.

Her performances led Nigeria to the final, where they were narrowly beaten by Germany, and she was also a major influence in the senior Nigeria team who won the African Women's Championship in October.

That ensured their qualification for this summer's World Cup in Canada, which begins on 6 June with full coverage on the BBC.

Oshoala said the honour was a big lift for Nigeria before the World Cup and would help inspire young players in her homeland.

"It's a really good thing for us as a team because we now know that we have something great and now we want to go at the trophy," she said. "We can do it, we did it in 2014 we can also do it this year as well.

"There is going to be a lot of motivation for women's football in Nigeria now because of this award because there are a lot of fans out there.
Play media
Download Flash Player now
You need to install Flash Player to play this content.

BBC Women's Footballer of the Year: Asisat Oshoala profile

"Support for women's football in Nigeria is now growing very high.

"I know my Liverpool Ladies coach is going to be happy right now. Before I left the UK he called me and said to me 'don't worry I hope you win the award and we're going to celebrate it when you come back'."

Oshoala signed for Liverpool Ladies in January 2015, becoming the first African to feature in the Women's Super League, with manager Matt Beard calling her "one of the world's top young footballers".

Mary Hockaday, controller of BBC World Service English, paid tribute to Oshoala.

"At still only 20, she's proved herself a formidable talent on the pitch," she said. "I'm proud BBC World Service is supporting the women's game and thrilled with the interest in the award."

Shortlist for award
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Liverpool; Veronica Boquete (Spain & FFC Frankfurt); Nadine Kessler (Germany & VFL Wolfsburg); Kim Little (Scotland & Seattle Reign FC) and Marta (Brazil & FC Rosengard)

source: http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/32876188

Celebrities / Re: Ali Baba Disagrees With ‘don’t Judge Someone Just Because They Sin Differently T by vchukwuma20: 3:12pm On Jun 10, 2015
Technology Market / Re: The Amazing Showbox For Android Users by vchukwuma20: 3:09pm On Jun 10, 2015
sanmitee:
You have emancipated a lot of People here. Thumbs up bro!!!
How?
Phones / Re: Tecno H3 Discussion Thread by vchukwuma20: 12:23pm On Jun 10, 2015
You can't be an android user and you not hitting it on the showbox app. This thing pays for real ($10-$50) a week is not much but it is still easy money.
BTW my referral code is K0NgtcK. Mind the upper and lower case and that is a 'zero' not an 'oo'. Please help me help you. smiley
Phones / Re: Android, Anyone? Part II by vchukwuma20: 12:22pm On Jun 10, 2015
You can't be an android user and you not hitting it on the showbox app. This thing pays for real ($10-$50) a week is not much but it is still easy money.
BTW my referral code is K0NgtcK. Mind the upper and lower case and that is a 'zero' not an 'oo'. Please help me help you. smiley
Technology Market / Re: The Amazing Showbox For Android Users by vchukwuma20: 12:17pm On Jun 10, 2015
sanmitee:
Hw is d earning done?
Okay, showbox advertises other apps, so all you have to do is install and run these advertised apps to earn points, 1000points cashes out for $1. I just earned my first $20. smiley am also new to the app, but I will keep you posted as I learn more
Politics / Re: Remy Tinubu Snubs Saraki At Swearing-in Of Pro-Lawan Senators - TheCable by vchukwuma20: 12:07pm On Jun 10, 2015
Cray,

Politics / Re: Remy Tinubu Snubs Saraki At Swearing-in Of Pro-Lawan Senators - TheCable by vchukwuma20: 12:06pm On Jun 10, 2015
Politics / Re: Breaking: Finally, He Declares His Asset! by vchukwuma20: 12:05pm On Jun 10, 2015
It's about time
Politics / Re: Breaking: Finally, He Declares His Asset! by vchukwuma20: 12:05pm On Jun 10, 2015
Technology Market / The Amazing Showbox For Android Users by vchukwuma20: 11:58am On Jun 10, 2015
Politics / Re: Should Buhari Really Probe Our Past Ministers And Rulers? by vchukwuma20: 6:00pm On May 31, 2015
Did you guys at least read through?
Politics / Re: Should Buhari Really Probe Our Past Ministers And Rulers? by vchukwuma20: 2:44pm On May 31, 2015
ROSSIKE:
I'll answer No 1. The idea of "more urgent matters" makes no sense. That a person is answering to charges of theft in court does not mean the govt ceases to function. To suggest it does is an excuse for inaction.

Well in this case it's not just "a person", series of investigations and legal processes will be involved. We cannot probe some and leave some, that's also unjust.
Politics / Should Buhari Really Probe Our Past Ministers And Rulers? by vchukwuma20: 2:31pm On May 31, 2015
A fellow nairalander once commented "If this man does not probe Alison-madueke then he has disappointed us all". That comment got me thinking. Is that the priority? Without doubt these looters and criminals deserve even more than jail sentences. But these in my opinion are some reasons why I think we should just take it all and move on.
1. MORE URGENT MATTERS: We are all so hungry for justice but wait, would President Buhari have done well if he is able to deal with all these people (I also think it's impossible to actually probe them all) without first dealing with issues of security, power , corruption (with strategies that will in the long run) and unemployment among others?

2. JUST TO AVOID MAYHEM: It has become clear in the last couple of years that this bitter corruption has managed to enncroached into our supposedly credible military sector. My point is that this could make the issue of probing very violent. Even the common civilians will not fold their arms and let their ill-gotten wealth go.

3. WE CAN'T GET IT ALL BACK/WE CAN DO WITHOUT THEM: This one is a bit difficult to swallow, but the recent days disclosure if some money that was laundered since the time of late general. Abacha just indicates that we cannot recover everything. Haven't we survived since then?

4.MAYBE THEY CAN GIVE BACK TO THE SOCIETY: Okay I know this may sound a little desperate but hear me out. I is very normal to see these "Thieves" invest billions in other countries and the obvious reason is to avoid being thrown into where they belong. But what if nobody was on their tail chasing them around? What if all those billions were invested in production or agriculture or whatever here in Nigeria?
This is just my open minded and realistic opinion, feel free to add yours. I also welcome criticism thanks.

PS: I am a common Nigerian like you, struggling to make ends meet in my day to day life. not a tool being used by anyone.
Health / Re: Help!!! I Completely Lost My Sense Of Smell And Taste. by vchukwuma20: 6:07pm On May 14, 2015
missKiffy:
My mum can't smell things for years. Just go to the hospital when you can
Wow, another 'years' case. Am really nervous now.
Please do you happen to know how she lost her sense of smell?
Health / Re: Help!!! I Completely Lost My Sense Of Smell And Taste. by vchukwuma20: 5:57pm On May 14, 2015
Borrussia:
You need to go to a CLINIC not NAIRALAND.
. I will but I decided to make observations for a few days because am a bit short of cash at the moment , thanks for the advice though.

Health / Help!!! I Completely Lost My Sense Of Smell And Taste. by vchukwuma20: 5:41pm On May 14, 2015
Yes I have completely lost it, I can breathe comfortably from my nostrils(no catargh) and my tongue is not tasting bitter(no malaria). Everything is almost absolutely tasteless and my nose just doesn't perceive anything (no matter how pleasant or unpleasant ).
OK I suffered from severe headache, cold, body weakness and fatigue the past few days and by the symptoms I gathered I was suffering from influenza (the flu). I complained to a pharmacist who sold me some very effective meds.
Its two days now since I completed the dosage and I can neither taste nor perceive anything.
As expected I did some research and it is one of the side effects of the flu, but there was no direct info on how long this would last.
I got really nervous when someone claimed to have suffered the side effect for THREE WHOLE YEARS.
Please I need to know if anyone has experienced it witnessed such a case. I need your advice please.
I can't even imagine being like this for a week, I can't even begin to explain how this feels.
Phones / Re: 7 Things Everyone Hates About Whatsapp by vchukwuma20: 3:23pm On Dec 16, 2014
My only p I I've updated whatsapp like 6times..n my smileys sre still looking like sean tizzle's head undecided[color=#000099][/color]

Food / Re: My Home Made SHARWAMA Pictures & Recipe by vchukwuma20: 10:48am On Aug 26, 2014
Awesome[color=#770077][/color]

(1) (of 1 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 48