Stats: 3,179,880 members, 7,909,304 topics. Date: Friday, 02 August 2024 at 10:14 PM

Another: HISTORY - Poems For Review - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / Poems For Review / Another: HISTORY (1887 Views)

(2) (3) (4)

Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 8:39am On Aug 17, 2012
Debated whether to put them all on one thread. Figured not to. Want separate attention for each of my babies.

History

The terror of the moment is shackled in time;
Safe in the past the quakes of the heart.
The words and stories are in volumes bound;
We read, we read, safe from the hound:
The dogs of fear, the pack of doubts.
Vanishing prints and fading shouts:
Their course is run, their mistakes done.
So easy to judge unheeding the sound,
The barking and braying of today's fear-hound.
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 8:43am On Aug 17, 2012
Oh well, I'm on a roll. Another of my smaller babies can fit here.

Betrayal

With you I went a-hunting,
The joy was the sharing.
I was ahead unthinking
But for the game we're stalking.
The knife you held I gave you,
The bullet shot I did too.
My breath fades impromptu.
My friend, my blood's all over you.
Re: Another: HISTORY by Cuddlemii: 8:50am On Aug 17, 2012
You seem to have many babies. Are they from the same mother?
Re: Another: HISTORY by Ishilove: 9:02am On Aug 17, 2012
Cuddlemii: You seem to have many babies. Are they from the same mother?
O i'm sure he has a nursery tucked away somewhere.

@Ihedinobi, really good. Keep 'em coming smiley
Re: Another: HISTORY by Ishilove: 9:04am On Aug 17, 2012
"My friend, my blood's all over you!"

I love this line!

Keep 'em coming! cheesy
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 9:09am On Aug 17, 2012
Cuddlemii: You seem to have many babies. Are they from the same mother?

No, I'm a virgin father grin
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 9:16am On Aug 17, 2012
Ishilove:
O i'm sure he has a nursery tucked away somewhere.

@Ihedinobi, really good. Keep 'em coming smiley
Ishilove: "My friend, my blood's all over you!"

I love this line!

Keep 'em coming! cheesy

Why, thank you milady cheesy
Re: Another: HISTORY by Ishilove: 9:21am On Aug 17, 2012
Ihedinobi:

Why, thank you milady cheesy
Re: Another: HISTORY by Ishilove: 9:24am On Aug 17, 2012
I love Betrayal; simple, poignant and straight to the point
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 9:36am On Aug 17, 2012
Ishilove: I love Betrayal; simple, poignant and straight to the point

Thank you plenty much. The other is more cryptic, isn't it? Tasks one's intellect a bit more, right?
Re: Another: HISTORY by Ishilove: 9:41am On Aug 17, 2012
Ihedinobi:

Thank you plenty much. The other is more cryptic, isn't it? Tasks one's intellect a bit more, right?
Exactly! It is not for the intellectually lazy
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 9:48am On Aug 17, 2012
Ishilove:
Exactly! It is not for the intellectually lazy

Tell me what you see in the other one you like more. How does Betrayal come across to you? What do you think the poem means?
Re: Another: HISTORY by Ishilove: 9:56am On Aug 17, 2012
Ihedinobi:

Tell me what you see in the other one you like more. How does Betrayal come across to you? What do you think the poem means?
It is what it is; betrayal.

You trusted this fellow and he betrayed you; stabbed you in the back with the things he knew about you. Right?

Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 10:11am On Aug 17, 2012
Ishilove:
It is what it is; betrayal.

You trusted this fellow and he betrayed you; stabbed you in the back with the things he knew about you. Right?

Yep! The first four lines are equal to the meaning of the word, friend, in the last line. The picture I painted was supposed to show compadres, partners, practical brothers, among whom betrayal is the worst possible thing.

Ok, how about the first? How'd you dig it?
Re: Another: HISTORY by Cuddlemii: 12:55pm On Aug 17, 2012
@ihedinobi & ishilove, you can always make use of the chat room on the section.
Its best you have your discourse there instead of derailing your threads.
Its up to you though wink
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 2:05pm On Aug 17, 2012
Cuddlemii: @ihedinobi & ishilove, you can always make use of the chat room on the section.

There she goes again cheesy
Re: Another: HISTORY by cyrexx: 2:40pm On Aug 17, 2012
Cuddlemii: @ihedinobi & ishilove, you can always make use of the chat room on the section.

hmmmmm
Re: Another: HISTORY by Ishilove: 2:45pm On Aug 17, 2012
Ihedinobi:

There she goes again cheesy
Re: Another: HISTORY by Gloriagee(f): 2:51pm On Aug 17, 2012
Cuddlemi, I tell ya there's no need for matchmaking these two. Cyber sparks flying left, right n centre. Get a bullet proof

Betrayal

My friend, my blood's all over you.[/quote] Fav part too n I luv betrayal too
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 12:07am On Aug 18, 2012
Gloriagee: Cuddlemi, I tell ya there's no need for matchmaking these two. Cyber sparks flying left, right n centre. Get a bullet proof

Betrayal

My friend, my blood's all over you. Fav part too n I luv betrayal too

These aunty madam dem sef ah! :-/

Thanks for loving Betrayal too grin

Edited.
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 12:17am On Aug 18, 2012
So I come reason am. E come be like say anoda of my darlings fit show for hia cheesy
Not gonna title it though. Might be more fun that way smiley Hope you guys enjoy it as much as I do these days

I once held a little bird;
Such beautiful eyes.
I drowned in those lovely seas of brown.
That sweet little half-cheek smile....

So delicate, so flighty. She scared me
To hold, keep or release.
I rejoiced to hold her in my heart.
That subtle twist at the ankle....

I once held a fragrant rose
Such a heavenly scent
My eyes tear at the memory.
That babyish look when you cry....

Ah, never again to hold...
Ah, never again to give...
Oh, never again to drown
In those lovely seas of brown...
That crazy sense of humor....
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 4:43pm On Aug 18, 2012
Ok, here's the meaning of History. smiley

History

That's what the poem is about. It's all about the effect of dwelling upon the past, especially a past not involving the dweller.

The terror of the moment is shackled in time;
Safe in the past the quakes of the heart.
The words and stories are in volumes bound;
We read, we read, safe from the hound:
The dogs of fear, the pack of doubts.

All of our dealings with the past events that we examine are remote from us. We can afford to judge the actors associated with the events of the past because we are free from the doubts that assailed their decision-making, the fears that were so present with them.

Vanishing prints and fading shouts:
Their course is run, their mistakes done.

The actors have done. The facts are evident. History has been written in their words and their actions.

So easy to judge unheeding the sound,
The barking and braying of today's fear-hound.

And we in the present are so easily caught up with judging the actions of the players of history, assessing their failures and, sometimes, applauding their wise decisions, while failing to take account of our own current environment and dealing with our own challenges. In other words, we are analyzing our present away.

The Morale

The poem is an analogy. What we do with history is what we do with situations, conditions and environments that we are remote from.

We spend so much energy assigning blame to and applauding actors in a situation that is remote from us, remote mostly in the sense that even if the actions and decisions of the players affect us, we can't do much about it except complain and play arm-chair commentator.

And we do that totally disregarding the challenges of our own unique environment. If we dealt with those challenges truly, we might actually be better positioned to affect the happenings that we are commenting on. This is the reality that the poem seeks to call attention to.

Yeah, I can dig that it's too serious grin Sorry.......
Re: Another: HISTORY by Ishilove: 4:51am On Aug 19, 2012
Ihedinobi: Ok, here's the meaning of History. smiley

That's what the poem is about. It's all about the effect of dwelling upon the past, especially a past not involving the dweller.

All of our dealings with the past events that we examine are remote from us. We can afford to judge the actors associated with the events of the past because we are free from the doubts that assailed their decision-making, the fears that were so present with them.

The actors have done. The facts are evident. History has been written in their words and their actions.

And we in the present are so easily caught up with judging the actions of the players of history, assessing their failures and, sometimes, applauding their wise decisions, while failing to take account of our own current environment and dealing with our own challenges. In other words, we are analyzing our present away.

The Morale

The poem is an analogy. What we do with history is what we do with situations, conditions and environments that we are remote from.

We spend so much energy assigning blame to and applauding actors in a situation that is remote from us, remote mostly in the sense that even if the actions and decisions of the players affect us, we can't do much about it except complain and play arm-chair commentator.

And we do that totally disregarding the challenges of our own unique environment. If we dealt with those challenges truly, we might actually be better positioned to affect the happenings that we are commenting on. This is the reality that the poem seeks to call attention to.

Yeah, I can dig that it's too serious grin Sorry.......
Wow...really deep shocked

Double thumbs up smiley
Re: Another: HISTORY by Ishilove: 4:56am On Aug 19, 2012
Ihedinobi:

I once held a little bird;
Such beautiful eyes.
I drowned in those lovely seas of brown.
That sweet little half-cheek smile....

So delicate, so flighty. She scared me
To hold, keep or release.
I rejoiced to hold her in my heart.
That subtle twist at the ankle....

I once held a fragrant rose
Such a heavenly scent
My eyes tear at the memory.
That babyish look when you cry....

Ah, never again to hold...
Ah, never again to give...
Oh, never again to drown
In those lovely seas of brown...
That crazy sense of humor....
You berra confess, who was this chick that left you? I make bold to say that this poem is obviously about a woman.

Warrapun,she left you for a richer, older, more dashing Knight in toyota armour? grin tongue
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 6:04am On Aug 19, 2012
Ishilove:
You berra confess, who was this chick that left you? I make bold to say that this poem is obviously about a woman.

Warrapun,she left you for a richer, older, more dashing Knight in toyota armour? grin tongue

tongue tongue tongue grin grin
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 6:07am On Aug 19, 2012
@ishilove, tease tease don de hungry you, thou naughty gal grin
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 6:15am On Aug 19, 2012
Ishilove:
Wow...really deep shocked

Double thumbs up smiley

Yeah, I know. Sorry. grin Weird poet that I am......

Thanks for the thumbs up smiley
Re: Another: HISTORY by Cuddlemii: 8:46am On Aug 19, 2012
Gloriagee: Cuddlemi, I tell ya there's no need for matchmaking these two. Cyber sparks flying left, right n centre. Get a bullet proof

Betrayal

My friend, my blood's all over you. Fav part too n I luv betrayal too

I am happy for both of them. Its certain they are heading to the altar sooner than we think.
Re: Another: HISTORY by Ishilove: 10:14am On Aug 19, 2012
Cuddlemii:

I am happy for both of them. Its certain they are heading to the altar sooner than we think.

Cuddlemii!! embarassed embarassed angry
Re: Another: HISTORY by Ishilove: 10:14am On Aug 19, 2012
Ihedinobi: @ishilove, tease tease don de hungry you, thou naughty gal grin
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 11:20am On Aug 19, 2012
tongue well, if ure gon be any good as a poet, u have to conjure up more powerful imagery. Especially if your dealing with sonnets.else you go for the shock factor at the end.
'The dogs of fear, the pack of doubts.'?, 'hound, pound, found'?? Wtf, are u writing a nursery rhyme?
Betrayal With you I went a-hunting,
The joy was the sharing.
I was ahead unthinking
But for the game we're stalking.
The knife you held I gave you,
The bullet shot I did too. My breath fades impromptu.
My friend, my blood's all over you.
marginally better work, but stick to an era, 'a-hunting'?
I find both works rather tepid and predictable, from the first lines. There!
So don't fancy urself an Ezra Pound just yet!
Re: Another: HISTORY by Nobody: 11:21am On Aug 19, 2012

There Was A Section ( For All Romancelanders) / The Hand Of God {Spoken Word Format} / The Heart Of Friendship

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 42