Stats: 3,173,086 members, 7,887,145 topics. Date: Thursday, 11 July 2024 at 10:28 PM

Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule (12444 Views)

Drama Trails Scrapping Of First Lady Titles, Offices In States-Daily Trust / President Jonathan Decides On Emergency Rule In Borno, Others Today / See What 1999 Constitution States On Fayose's Eligibility To Rule Ekiti (2) (3) (4)

Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by sniperwolf(m): 12:13pm On Jun 20, 2013
I've never seen a Thuraya phone before. How do they look like
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by Nobody: 12:18pm On Jun 20, 2013
sniperwolf: I've never seen a Thuraya phone before. How do they look like
Can be like any other phone around but its signal is not GSM but satellite connectivity.
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by fujirice: 12:26pm On Jun 20, 2013
Na THURAYA them talk o! No be TRIUM. #thuRAya#
some pipo don dey display their ignorance already. Thuraya no be small pikin phone! *picks race with my flip-flop for my hand*
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by Nobody: 12:41pm On Jun 20, 2013
Abeg..what's the mission and vision statement of these BH guys?
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by write2obi(m): 12:48pm On Jun 20, 2013
Capnd143: Leave no stone untouched boys! Ban anything related to terrorism, even if shouting allah arkbar is related, ban it, anyone cought shouting should be shot on sight, anyone with long caftan and overgrowm beards with hungry and scary looks should be shot on sight, anyone that frequents the mosque regurlarly even without reason and carrying a load should be shot on sight, after this is done then we will negotiate with human rights watchdog later!
that's totally wrong.
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by Reyspin(m): 12:52pm On Jun 20, 2013
I bow for our security apparatus oo.. Dey are as useless as Police college Ikeja... Why ban it wen u knw d terrorist mite still use it in their enclave... Y not use d signal emanating from d satellite to trace dem and fish dem out... Abi dem no sabi trace satelite ni

I know all these is jex an excuse!!!
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by OluVerve(m): 1:19pm On Jun 20, 2013
lipsrsealed
Capnd143: Leave no stone untouched boys! Ban anything related to terrorism, even if shouting allah arkbar is related, ban it, anyone cought shouting should be shot on sight, anyone with long caftan and overgrowm beards with hungry and scary looks should be shot on sight, anyone that frequents the mosque regurlarly even without reason and carrying a load should be shot on sight, after this is done then we will negotiate with human rights watchdog later!
RED EYE MOVEMENT!
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by akinmusi(m): 1:32pm On Jun 20, 2013

You should take a look at these ones.

Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by Ogadtop(m): 1:43pm On Jun 20, 2013
how then will jtf communicate?
boko boiz fit use milk cup with thread ooo.that one sef go work wella
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by Ogadtop(m): 1:47pm On Jun 20, 2013
looks like thuraya noni. if u have seen turai yaraduwa,then wetin u still dey look for again?
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by vislabraye(m): 2:25pm On Jun 20, 2013
gerald09: OMG! Do dey still make that phone? Not seen it in years, well its the north I bet typewriter is still used as computers and the flinstones live close to d state house.
Thuraya phones is a brand of satelite phones. It doesn't mean its outdatedt.
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by adconline(m): 2:39pm On Jun 20, 2013
FG has the power to ask Thuraya to give such info. Go ask Blackberry how some Arabian countries demanded some info of their subscribers. Govts are monster and can threaten to shut their operation down or label comforter of enemy.
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by begwong: 3:40pm On Jun 20, 2013
i have one thuraya for sale.
PM me if interested.
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by litaninja(m): 4:50pm On Jun 20, 2013
You do understand the the satellite telephony provider (e.g. Thuraya) CANNOT be instructed by the Nigerian Government to stop services to the affected states. This technology covers a substantially higher area that your regular GSM / CDMA would. That said, they could get taps from the provider, but really how many service providers are they going to cover? how are they planning to get injunctions for said wire-taps?
As far as I am concerned, this is just going to affect a lot of innocent people communication with outside regions which is a no-no. Anyone could have a sat phone.

Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by Chimerase(m): 6:13pm On Jun 20, 2013
I wn laf die, I laf sootey tears comot ma eyes guy u wicked o cheesy
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by olivia4u: 9:43pm On Jun 20, 2013
litaninja: You do understand the the satellite telephony provider (e.g. Thuraya) CANNOT be instructed by the Nigerian Government to stop services to the affected states. This technology covers a substantially higher area that your regular GSM / CDMA would. That said, they could get taps from the provider, but really how many service providers are they going to cover? how are they planning to get injunctions for said wire-taps?
As far as I am concerned, this is just going to affect a lot of innocent people communication with outside regions which is a no-no. Anyone could have a sat phone.

Well said thuraya has over 300 services provider world wide, it will really be difficult for the federal government to get such information from thuraya.
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by Mobsync(m): 4:10pm On Jun 21, 2013
Capnd143: a man that dances to the rythm from the druming of a mad man is theoritical mad, so bro if u replied to my post and claim that my post is unnecessary noise making, i guess we are both making Noise! No harm meant bro! Have a nice day

So U're mad? That's a welcome development.
Re: Thuraya Phones Banned In States On Emergency Rule by Aleematism: 4:11pm On Jun 21, 2013
Can som1 show me the thuraya?

CCT Adjourns Onnoghen Pending Applications Till March 11 / We’ll No Longer Recognise Results Obtained Under Duress – INEC / Oko Oba Fire Situation Report

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 25