Stats: 3,191,955 members, 7,946,145 topics. Date: Wednesday, 11 September 2024 at 01:20 PM

Facebook Opens First African Office - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Facebook Opens First African Office (577 Views)

Good News! Donald Trump Opens First African Branch In Onitsha / Jonathan Opens Up: I’m Being Investigated For Corruption By Buhari / Facebook Opens First Office In Africa, And It Is Not In Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

Facebook Opens First African Office by siraj1402(m): 7:21am On Jun 30, 2015
Facebook has opened its first office in Africa to further the company’s commitment to help businesses connect with people and grow locally and regionally

Based in Melrose Arch, Johannesburg, the company’s newest business office will be headed by Ogilvy veteran, Nunu Ntshingila, the company’s new Head of Africa.

The office according to a statement by the company on Monday will support the significant growth in businesses and people using Facebook — Facebook’s active user population in Africa has grown 20% to 120 million in June 2015 from 100 million in September 2014.

More than 80% of these people access Facebook from their mobile phones.

“We are inspired by the incredible ways people and businesses in Africa use Facebook to connect. This momentum in Africa comes on top of strong advertiser partnerships and excellent adoption of our products across all regions. In Q1 2015, 52% of our total ad revenue came from outside the US and Canada. But we’re just getting started,” says Nicola Mendelsohn, VP, EMEA, Facebook.

“Mobile is not a trend; it’s the fastest development in communications we’ve ever seen. This couldn’t be more true in Africa – where so many people are mobile-only. This new office is a significant milestone for Facebook and our teams want to partner with businesses across the continent,” Mendelsohn adds.

“Africa is important to Facebook, and this office is a key part of our strategy to expand our investment and presence across EMEA. Facebook is already a central part of people’s lives in Africa, and with more than a billion people in Africa, we want to do more to help people and businesses connect.”

http://thenationonlineng.net/new/facebook-opens-first-african-office/

Re: Facebook Opens First African Office by siraj1402(m): 7:22am On Jun 30, 2015
And I guess we are the highest user.
Re: Facebook Opens First African Office by Gyarados(m): 7:27am On Jun 30, 2015
grin maybe in zimbabwe
Re: Facebook Opens First African Office by Nobody: 7:33am On Jun 30, 2015
From a social network to a business empire.
Re: Facebook Opens First African Office by Starships4u(m): 7:35am On Jun 30, 2015
I see...... God has made u great..... It begins with thinking.....
Re: Facebook Opens First African Office by SLIDEwaxie(m): 10:04am On Jun 30, 2015
whatever!
Re: Facebook Opens First African Office by stepo707: 10:17am On Jun 30, 2015
Abeg ooo.make them come employ me ooo

Groups Clash Over Osun Judge’s Call For Aregbesola’s Impeachment / Ambode Begs Navy To Stop Lagos Robberies / PDP Moves To Reconcile Aggrieved Members

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 10