Stats: 3,181,798 members, 7,915,265 topics. Date: Thursday, 08 August 2024 at 07:39 PM

We'll Block Your Bank Accounts If You Don't Pay Tax - FIRS - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / We'll Block Your Bank Accounts If You Don't Pay Tax - FIRS (979 Views)

"Senator Peter Nwaoboshi Has 20 Bank Accounts In 6 Banks" / Ikpeazu's Failure To Pay Tax Makes Him Unfit To Be Governor - Supreme Court / We'll Block Leakages In Revenue Agencies - Buhari (2) (3) (4)

We'll Block Your Bank Accounts If You Don't Pay Tax - FIRS by exactly77(m): 5:41pm On Aug 10, 2015
The Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS) has resolved to deal with tax evaders in the country. The agency said on Friday that it would deny individuals and companies who fails to enrol for taxation access to banking facilities.

Speaking at a news briefing in Lagos, FIRS Chairman, Sunday Ogungbesan said out of about 440,000 companies in the country, only about 120,000 pay taxes. He said it was difficult to track down the financial activities of inactive firms.

According to him, FIRS is collaborating with the central bank to enforce compulsory registration of companies and individuals with the tax authority before they can access their bank accounts.

He said Tax identification numbers were introduced for corporate bank accounts since 2012 but some companies who have been operating before then are currently not obliged by banks to have one.

Ogungbesan said, there is a need to review the tax laws as they are not stringent enough to deter evaders.

http://www.nigerianbulletin.com/threads/well-block-your-bank-accounts-if-you-dont-pay-tax-firs.115739/
Re: We'll Block Your Bank Accounts If You Don't Pay Tax - FIRS by Ozioma49(m): 5:44pm On Aug 10, 2015
Fp na must cheesy
Re: We'll Block Your Bank Accounts If You Don't Pay Tax - FIRS by bettercreature(m): 5:54pm On Aug 10, 2015
Well they have the right to block my account if i work in Nigeria
If not,NOBODY dare try it
Re: We'll Block Your Bank Accounts If You Don't Pay Tax - FIRS by hola106(m): 5:55pm On Aug 10, 2015
Dat gud nd interesting
Re: We'll Block Your Bank Accounts If You Don't Pay Tax - FIRS by tuffgongjo(m): 6:12pm On Aug 10, 2015
Hope this won't be more of Aim,less Achievements sha.
Re: We'll Block Your Bank Accounts If You Don't Pay Tax - FIRS by yrret: 6:15pm On Aug 10, 2015
I hear lot of drama this days.
Re: We'll Block Your Bank Accounts If You Don't Pay Tax - FIRS by mrvitalis(m): 6:44pm On Aug 10, 2015
This is the right thing to do... Not increasing VAT
Re: We'll Block Your Bank Accounts If You Don't Pay Tax - FIRS by buharisambisada: 6:56pm On Aug 10, 2015
Rubbish,what can a citizen of nigeria say he or she enjoys as a yardstick to pay tax?loan/NA,good roads/NA,Light/NA,Water/NA,Social welfare/NA so why pay tax?
Re: We'll Block Your Bank Accounts If You Don't Pay Tax - FIRS by publisherz: 7:01pm On Aug 10, 2015
30 percent tax rate is too damn high.

Reduce it to 15- 20 percent and people will comply.
Re: We'll Block Your Bank Accounts If You Don't Pay Tax - FIRS by mekaboy(m): 7:05pm On Aug 10, 2015
buharisambisada:
Rubbish,what can a citizen of nigeria say he or she enjoys as a yardstick to pay tax?loan/NA,good roads/NA,Light/NA,Water/NA,Social welfare/NA so why pay tax?

You hustle raise capital, pay all sorts of levy for operating a business, do everything on your own without govt support and they sitback and wait for tax.

Saharatv (2013) :“me I Want To Steal Only $1billion, Let Them Bring It” -ameachi / Why Tinubu,apc Leaders Missed Fashola's Book Launch - Lai Mohammed / Presidency Appoints Expert In "First Lady Affairs" To Help Aisha Buhari's Office

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 10