Stats: 3,168,859 members, 7,872,857 topics. Date: Thursday, 27 June 2024 at 12:32 AM

Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You (19114 Views)

Tell Magu To Leave Me, Trump Didn’t Go After Obama’s Wife - Patience Jonathan / Magu To Sue The Sun Newspaper, Denies Owning House In Maitama / Ibrahim Magu To Appear Before Senate On Wednesday For Screening (2) (3) (4)

Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by HungerBAD: 4:13am On Jul 13, 2016
Ibrahim Magu, Acting Chairman, Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), has said the Commission will soon beam its searchlight on lawyers, in its effort to rid the country of corruption.

Though he called on legal practitioners to join hands with the Commission in the bid to free Nigeria of corruption, he said EFCC will soon go after lawyers irrespective of their status.

“Whether you are SAN or whatever, sooner or later, we will start going after people who buy properties with stolen funds as well as people who help others to escape justice”, Magu declared.

He spoke Tuesday at a one-day workshop themed “Anti-Corruption, Ethics of the Legal Profession and Justice Sector”, organised by the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), in collaboration with the Presidential Advisory Committee against Corruption (PACC) at the Rockview Hotel, Abuja.

According to him, the EFCC cannot stamp out corruption in the country without the support of all stakeholders.

“We consider everybody a stakeholder, as the EFCC does not have monopoly of knowledge to defeat all shades of graft”, he said.

He urged legal practitioners to always play by the rule and avoid being used by those he described as “corrupt elements” to pervert justice adding that, “what is important is the interest of the nation which should be placed above any other interest”.

Magu, who commended however the bar for being good partners in the fight against graft, also decried the attitudes of some lawyers who compromise on their jobs for suspects to escape justice.

He said lawyers have a greater stake in the war than any other class of professionals.

Reiterating his commitment towards fighting money laundering, the EFCC boss warned that, “we will not stop going after people who are involved in laundering money. It doesn’t matter who you are, the law is a respecter of nobody especially those who commit crime”.

In his address at the event, Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Mahmud Mohammed, urged members of the bar to examine themselves with a view to develop workable ways to curb corruption.

Justice Mohammed who spoke through Justice Kudirat Kekere-Ekun charged lawyers to look inward as individuals in the system, and collectively as a body to improve the legal system.

“You have a role to play as an individual and it is when we all change our attitude that we can see it reflected in the society. No doubt, the legal profession is crucial in the maintenance of a high quality of justice delivery within the justice system and such success or failure of our fight against corruption will depend on our willingness to take the right ethical path”, the CJN charged.

http://independentnig.com/2016/07/12/magu-to-lawyers-well-soon-come-after-you/

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by BlackSeptember: 4:14am On Jul 13, 2016
One day this government will have no one to fight but the common man on the street for crying out with this poverty on their soul

64 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by BlackSeptember: 4:17am On Jul 13, 2016
Whether you are SAN or whatever, sooner or later, we will start going after people who buy properties with stolen funds as well as people who help others to escape justice”, Ma

This malu doesn't know that nobody is guilty until a court says so

How can you go after lawyers who are defending an accused person?

Are you sure Magun has an O Level

119 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by eleko1: 4:36am On Jul 13, 2016
Not only lawyers,anybody that Protest/support those thieves like black man upstairs should be pick up/lock up in KUJE angry cool grin cheesy sad undecided

21 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by rifasenate11(m): 5:01am On Jul 13, 2016
I think that's the best place to start. The lawyers here in Nigeria sees themselves as above the law. Sometimes the level of thier reasoning is not responsible for their profession at all. They serve the rich more than the poor. And they're oerfevt intimidation tool for the Landlords to thier tenants.

28 Likes 1 Share

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by chriskosherbal(m): 5:03am On Jul 13, 2016
The fear of EFCC is the..........

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by Aristo3146(m): 5:15am On Jul 13, 2016
In wailers voice...Witch hunting...They should start with Rotimi Jacobs...kaiiii...I will rather kill myself than commit suicide by being a wailer...

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by TPAND(f): 5:50am On Jul 13, 2016
Magu is a joke...
Thousands will support his retarded statement about going after lawyers. He should also go after the constitution and senators. No wonder he has lost 90% of all court cases he tendered, keep deceiving your APC followers

56 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by Israel5(m): 5:52am On Jul 13, 2016
Is tht a threat to put them on heels? Nonsense! Hw many politcians or rtd Military men have you finishd with? Ths Noise is bcomin unbearable

24 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by Abeymills(m): 6:27am On Jul 13, 2016
Burantash d snalke shamer zombies oya talk NW he buy property's yeye govt of lies n propaganda

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by Alexgeneration(m): 6:30am On Jul 13, 2016
Is he trying to say that lawyers shouldn't defend their clients? All these just to gag Falana for suggesting that Buratai should be sacked or should resign.

16 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by blackpanda: 6:34am On Jul 13, 2016
Very good. It is only when people are afraid to steal that corruption can be reduced to its barest minimum.

Tho some people seem to be quoting the comments out of context, including OP with the ambiguous headline. Magu is not against lawyers, but against those who help thieves to evade justice and hide the stolen wealth

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by omenka(m): 6:43am On Jul 13, 2016
post=47485154:
Whether you are SAN or whatever, sooner or later, we will start going after people who buy properties with stolen funds as well as people who help others to escape justice”, Ma

Some people simply open their skull, dip their hands in it, remove whatever it is in there, throw it in any gutter nearby, replace it with a stone, close the skull back, and then type a "comment".

How pathetic!

How does investigating someone amount to pronouncing them "guilty"?? Why does it seem a particular section of our fellow countrymen become very angry at the mention of commencement of investigations??

Na wa oo!!

25 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by RZArecta(m): 6:49am On Jul 13, 2016
BlackSeptember:

honestly I had already copied this same comment only for you to steal these words right out of my mouth. Magu clearly doesn't know his left from his right about the law. He should rather advice his principal i.e. the FG to plug all loop holes being exploited by individuals to swindle govt i.e. separating the goats from the yam. This statement from Magu is very careless and illiterate

14 Likes

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by Firefire(m): 6:49am On Jul 13, 2016
eleko1:
Not only lawyers, anybody that Protest/support those thieves like black man upstairs should be pick up/lock up in KUJE angry cool grin cheesy sad undecided

Exactly, I fear for Nairaland resident zombies defending APC looters with their megabytes and time.

14 Likes

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by RZArecta(m): 6:49am On Jul 13, 2016
omenka:
[s]Some people simply open their skull, dip their hands in it, remove whatever it is in there, throw it in any gutter nearby, replace it with a stone, close the skull back, and then type a "comment".

How pathetic!

How does investigating someone amount to pronouncing them "guilty"?? Why does it seem a particular section of our fellow countrymen become very angry at the mention of commencement of investigations??

Na wa oo![/s]!

31 Likes 1 Share

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by koboko69: 7:03am On Jul 13, 2016
BlackSeptember:

Na u gangan nor get O level. U these kids just dey mess up this section. Its just so disgusting. Tell me in the statement u quoted how he has pronounced anyone guilty. This is the level PDP got so many youths to. To think reasonablyc critically and logically have suddenly become rocket science. Some dead brains need to be fed to vultures...

17 Likes 1 Share

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by PissedOffWeed(m): 7:03am On Jul 13, 2016
angry you will soon "come" after them......shey? Keep cuming Stupid Orgasmic Govt!

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by Rapmoney(m): 7:06am On Jul 13, 2016
Crappy talk from a fool!!! angry
Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by Rapmoney(m): 7:11am On Jul 13, 2016
Magun's illiteracy and stupidity is surely a complex one!!!

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by ConqueredWest: 7:20am On Jul 13, 2016
omenka:
Some people simply open their skull, dip their hands in it, remove whatever it is in there, throw it in any gutter nearby, replace it with a stone, close the skull back, and then type a "comment".

How pathetic!

Na wa oo!!

Hausa Fulani man claiming Benue.
We didn't see you on NL on the day Benue was attacked. Hope you are not part of those herdsmen who killed little babies in Benue angry

27 Likes 1 Share

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by omenka(m): 7:25am On Jul 13, 2016
ConqueredWest:

Hausa Fulani man claiming Benue.
We didn't see you on NL on the day Benue was attacked. Hope you are not part of those herdsmen who killed little babies in Benue angry
Abeg make una hold this one before him enter market oo!! shockedcheesycheesy

Shooo!! Wetin concern Hausa, Fulani, and Benue for this matter?? cheesycheesycheesycheesy

Cc: Yorubanews. Abeg come carry ya flend commot for here before him flood dis place with saliva. cheesy

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by ConqueredWest: 7:25am On Jul 13, 2016
blackpanda:
Very good. It is only when people are afraid to steal that corruption can be reduced to its barest minimum.

Tho some people seem to be quoting the comments out of context, including OP with the ambiguous headline. Magu is not against lawyers, but against those who help thieves to evade justice and hide the stolen wealth

Afonja keep quiet.

In a court system, both the accused and accuser have lawyers defending. Therefore it is the duty of the accuser to provide evidence to nail the accused.

So stop talking trash against lawyers because they are pillars of democracy.

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by onatisi(m): 7:25am On Jul 13, 2016
No wonder all politicians have kept quiet. Virtually all of them dirty skeletons of fraud and corruption cases against them and they know buhari will use the efcc gag and humiliate them if the dare criticise him. With the way things are going there will be virtually no opposition against buhari come 2019

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by omenka(m): 7:30am On Jul 13, 2016
koboko69:

Na u gangan nor get O level. U these kids just dey mess up this section. Its just so disgusting. Tell me in the statement u quoted how he has pronounced anyone guilty. This is the level PDP got so many youths to. To think reasonablyc critically and logically have suddenly become rocket science. Some dead brains need to be fed to vultures...
Small tin like dis dem no gree sabi. grin

Anger and hatred don destroy their brain cells finish.

See the one charging at me like an angry buffalo, like say I sleep with him babe last night, with a comment TOTALLY unrelated to the topic under consideration.. grin

Two things iPod yoots do on Nairaland these days when hunting for likes:

1. Insult President Buhari.

2. Insult Modath or Omenka.

Then sit back with a cup of ogogoro and count your blessings. cheesy

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by ConqueredWest: 7:30am On Jul 13, 2016
omenka:
Abeg make una hold this one before him enter market oo!! shockedcheesycheesy

Shooo!! Wetin concern Hausa, Fulani, and Benue for this matter?? cheesycheesycheesycheesy

Cc: Yorubanews. Abeg come carry ya flend commot for here before him flood dis place with saliva. cheesy

You think sey we no know.

Anytime your brothers attack Benue, nobody go see you for that thread.

Omenka abeg tell your brothers to leave Benue farmers alone ooooooooooooooooo

Temitemi1 firefire onatisi phockphockman severussnape nigerianvenom Abagworo make una help me beg Omenka to tell him people to leave Benue farmers alone ooooooo grin

26 Likes

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by BlackSeptember: 7:32am On Jul 13, 2016
koboko69:

go for brain check if you cannot decipher the bolded zombie

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by Wildrage: 7:32am On Jul 13, 2016
One day we are all going to wake up from this induced slumber and to our collective consternation realise we've traded almost all our liberties in support of a phantom crusade.

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by kherington: 7:34am On Jul 13, 2016
How was this illitrate appointed as efcc chairman who are his advisers does he know that every accused person is entitled to legal representation and that If the accused can't find a lawyer to represent him the court will provide one very soon he will soon go after judges who rule in favour of those accused persons this illitrate should at least think before rushing to the press to make these reckless and stupid statements God bless nigeria and I approve this post

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by SeverusSnape(m): 7:34am On Jul 13, 2016
ConqueredWest:

You think sey we no know.

Anytime your brothers attack Benue, nobody go see you for that thread.

Omenka abeg tell your brothers to leave Benue farmers alone ooooooooooooooooo

Temitemi1 firefire onatisi phockphockman severussnape nigerianvenom Abagworo make una help me beg Omenka to tell him people to leave Benue farmers alone ooooooo grin
That Libyan?... He once claimed Igbo, He once claimed Niger Delta, Now he's claiming Benue, He will claim yoruba tomorrow.

20 Likes 1 Share

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by BlackSeptember: 7:35am On Jul 13, 2016
omenka:
Small tin like dis dem no gree sabi. grin

Anger and hatred don destroy their brain cells finish.

See the one charging at me like an angry buffalo, like say I sleep with him babe last night, with a comment TOTALLY unrelated to the topic under consideration.. grin

Two things iPod yoots do on Nairaland these days when hunting for likes:

1. Insult President Buhari.

2. Insult Modath or Omenka.

Then sit back with a cup of ogogoro and count your blessings. cheesy
why did you bring in modath? Are you always scared of taking the heat? I know your comments are filled wiith hate so i ll always stop you from going down the hole.

The igbo society don't know you exist or about your victim mentality

12 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Magu To Lawyers: We’ll Soon Come After You by blackpanda: 7:38am On Jul 13, 2016
ConqueredWest:

Afonja keep quiet.

In a court system, both the accused and accuser have lawyers defending. Therefore it is the duty of the accuser to provide evidence to nail the accused.

So stop talking trash against lawyers because they are pillars of democracy.

Shut up. Go back to the post and open your brain, then read slowly. Before u start typing nonsense

President Buhari Returns After Private Visit To London / Politicians Who Moved To APC In 2021 / FG Declares December 25, 26 As Public Holidays

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 49