Stats: 3,197,461 members, 7,964,892 topics. Date: Wednesday, 02 October 2024 at 11:53 PM

Elizdee's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Elizdee's Profile / Elizdee's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 9:20am On Mar 10, 2021
Elizdee:
Hello all,

Please I want to be on track. Can someone tell me the documents I need to take to Canada when I am about flying. Required documents for immigration and all!??.

Thank you

Someone should please respond
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 9:43pm On Mar 09, 2021
Hello all,

Please I want to be on track. Can someone tell me the documents I need to take to Canada when I am about flying. Required documents for immigration and all!??.

Thank you
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 5:57am On Mar 05, 2021
olasubomy:
LANDING GIST

Hello house, congrats to those who have gotten approvals on their applications and best of luck to those awaiting a decision. It will end in praise. Let me summarise my landing experience and not bore you with stories since I still have some energy after arrival.

SUMMARISED EXPERIENCE AT MURTALA MUHAMMED AIRPORT

I flew with Ethiopian Airline and the flight was at 1:40 pm. I got to the airport a little late due to a last-minute rush/parking. Fast forward to entry. The first point was two immigration officers. They asked about my final destination, I told them Canada. They sighted my passport and handed it back to me. The next checkpoint was to weigh my luggage. Hmm! the first luggage (box) weighed 26kg and the second box carrying food weighed 33kg. I was forced to return some stuff back home and paid 60 dollars for the excess luggage and obtained a receipt because I was not ready to return any food so I rather reduced some clothing. Please try to use a travelling bag for your foodstuff to avoid overweighing so you won't be forced to buy ghana must go at the airport. The next check after was a lady who asked for my COVID test result, school enrollment letter and my passport. She snapped the enrollment letter and passport then sent it to someone by WhatsApp for confirmation. She asked for the Arrive CAN receipt. I showed her on my phone. The next point was where I got my boarding pass. After this, i started walking fast to the point of boarding because my aircraft was already boarding. I would advise you to try to get to the airport much earlier due to these new changes at the airport so you don't start rushing.

SUMMARISED EXPERIENCE AT ADDIS ABABA AIRPORT

The Ethiopian Airline flight took off on time around 1:55 pm. The flight was okay, a very massive Boeing aircraft and was not fully loaded to capacity. I guess due to COVID and not much demand due to travel restrictions. Our first stopover was at Addis Ababa. We had to pass our hand luggage, remove our shoes and belts, laptops through computer screening at three different areas in the airport. Such tight security. One of them saw dollars in my pocket, I told him I was a student, he had to check my passport and boarding pass to confirm. It is that strict. There is nothing wrong with holding your cash. Just let them know you are a student if peradventure they ask you. The next check at Addis Ababa was an Immigration Officer. She asked for my Negative COVID test result, evidence of Arrive Can and confirmation of booking of the 3 days stopover hotel in Canada. She took a copy of the COVID result and gave me a health form to fill ( like a questionnaire) I filled and returned back to her.

Try to make at least 3 copies of all your documents before travelling just in case an officer ask you at any of the airports. It all depends on the officer but better to be prepared.

SUMMARISED EXPERIENCE AT TORONTO AIRPORT

We were given 3 forms to fill in the plane, one of which is the declaration card ( the declaration card is where you will declare if you are holding 10,000 dollars or more, and foodstuffs like (meat fish, nuts, egg, vegetables, fruits etc). We all had to fill it in the plane, even the pilot kept announcing for us to fill it. We finally landed in Toronto after almost 20 hours in the air. Even when the plane got to Toronto airspace. It still spent almost 2 hours in the air before landing. CANADA is really big. I am not surprised it is the second-largest country in the world after Russia.

The airport looked a little skeletal. Some offices were not opened, I guess due to COVID. The first check at Toronto was different counters with immigration officers. We had to queue and was assigned to each one at random. The officer asked for my negative COVID test result, Arrive Can, evidence of booking my 3 days stopover hotel and evidence of booking of the 14 days isolation and the declaration card so I gave him all. I showed him the confirmation of 3 days hotel booking on my phone. I did not bother to print that out since you can only book 48 hours to your arrival in Canada and would be too late print. He did not even bother to review the card. He just signed and gave it back to me.

The next check was another set of different cubicles with various immigration officers ( The main point of entry). I noticed one cubicle was free and a Chinese-looking lady officer was there so I just went to meet her. She did not even press me as expected. She just asked for (1) Letter of Acceptance (2) Evidence of Arrive CAN (3) Evidence of booking of 3 days hotel stopover (4) Passport and then she asked two questions: Why are you coming to Canada, I answered I came to study for my MBA then the second question was how are you funding your studies and I said my biological parents are sponsoring me. She felt satisfied and printed my study permit. It all depends on the officer that would be interviewing you.

The next step was getting my luggage and I proceeded to another queue to register for the COVID test and was subsequently directed to a tent where a nurse took samples from my nostril and told me the result would be sent to my registered e-mail. After that, I got to another queue where I waited for the taxi going to my 3 days stop over hotel.

I wish everyone the very best as you plan your journey to Canada.

Wow!!! Thank God for the safe trip!!!.... what I need to hear at the moment. Thanks for all the update
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 4:45pm On Feb 28, 2021
Rootiab:
Thanks for this explanation. This agents don't even check peoples profile for any update and sometimes they might get emails and they won't check it.

They actually don't check people’s profile. That's how my agent didn't tell me NSE request came in 13th of November. She only told me on the 2nd of December. It was when I fought her to get my login details I realized my NSE request came in earlier than she checked.

So please, if you cannot do it yourself, have an agreement with your agent to get your login details before you start your visa application to avoid stories like this.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 6:37am On Feb 27, 2021
awys:

It won't dear they know you have to do some preparations, pay some fees and all that so it's fine then you can also hold your school's receipt and other receipt of like your accommodation if you have done it already then one month Statement is fine it will still show the closing balance

Ooh... Thank you but within this February, I have made up to 2m withdrawals leaving the account in 2m but before I leave next week, it will be back to 4m...

Hope this too won't affect??

Thanks for the swift response
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 6:10am On Feb 27, 2021
Good morning.

Please how do I show proof of funds at port of entry.?
How many months is the money meant to have stayed in my account before showing..

When I applied I had little above 4m but as time went on, I was using the money and replacing but before go it would be exactly 4m.

Please will this affect as the BS will show how the money has been in use over the time my application was going on.

Please help. Thank you.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 11:26am On Feb 20, 2021
Yteem:

I don’t think so. They expect that your day to day normal life will still go on and you need to spend to go on with life. As far as a tidy sum that reflects your ability to live in canada is in the SOA to be presented at POE, I think that should be fine.

My thinking.

Thank you
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 10:24am On Feb 20, 2021
Elizdee:
Hello

Please must it be the same amount you declared in your personal account while processing your visa that must be shown at the port of entry. Tho, parents are sponsors but I also declared some money in my acc too for upkeep.

Will it affect if the BS shows the money was running in the account(being used)
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 7:35pm On Feb 19, 2021
Hello

Please must it be the same amount you declared in your personal account while processing your visa that must be shown at the port of entry. Tho, parents are sponsors but I also declared some money in my acc too for upkeep.

Will it affect if the BS shows the money was running in the account(being used)

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 11:37pm On Feb 16, 2021
Yteem:
PPR Love letter received.

Oyi biribiri o kan mi o, Oyi biribiri o kan mi o. GOD’s mercy has located me ooooooo.

All glory, honour and Adoration to GOD Almighty for this great victory.

It’s BVL and PPR o. Love letter received.

1st Application timeline

Application submitted 30 May
Got BiL 31st May
Biometrics 24 August due to Covid
Upfront Medical on the 25th August
Sent we form for medical on 3rd Sept
Medical updates to passed 4 September
Refusal letter and Bvl on 24 September

I was already planning to request for my GCMS notes before I got the refusal letter

Requested for my GCMS notes 24 September
GCMS notes arrived 3rd November

2nd Application
Submitted 14 November
Medical updated 20 November
Nse request received 15 December
Nse request submitted 17 December
Review of additional documents 21 December
Requested fir GCMS notes 31 January
PPR and BVL received. 16 February 2021

Thank you all so very much. For those still waiting, it will surely end in praise. Just hang in there. To all those taking time to answer questions and offer direction, hmmmmm GOD will bless you all and you will never lack help.

* When I got the NSE request mail, I was a bit troubled because I had an IELTS result that clocked 2 October 22 last year and I was being asked for IELTS result in December.
I sent the result like that and I also included a letter of explanation stating that the Result was valid from October 2018 to October 2020.
I sealed with faith and left it to GOD.

My application was far from perfect but the Mercy of GOD prevailed.

Congratulations
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 6:03pm On Feb 15, 2021
Elizdee:

Thank you very much... what accredited hospital can I use please?

Please is Afriglobal accredited?
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 5:52pm On Feb 15, 2021
awys:

Go to the Google play store in your phone and down load the Arrive CAN app it's an APP where you register with your login details and fill in your quarantine details in which you must have arranged your quarantine before filling it
You have to fill it 72hours before departure!!!

Thank you very much... what accredited hospital can I use please?
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 5:00pm On Feb 15, 2021
awys:

Fill in the ArriveCan app 72hours before departure, get your enrollment letter from the school, Covid test 72 hours before departure, print out your LOI and other documents they will need at POE and at airport here

Please what is the arrivecan app??
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 4:57pm On Feb 15, 2021
Hello.

Please when can I do a COVID test and how many days is it meant to be valid before departure
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 9:38am On Feb 14, 2021
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 1:13am On Feb 14, 2021
Hello
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 1:07am On Feb 14, 2021
oyibo4real:

This is how someone's visa was revoked on "Give birth in US....thread" few years ago. In summary, let's be careful with the information we drop here, Visa Officers are on NL, and they are watching!!! We can always PM for sensitive information. #okbye

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 1:05am On Feb 14, 2021
Please can you check your mail
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 9:10pm On Feb 13, 2021

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 3:57pm On Feb 11, 2021
mastmony:
Counterfoil just dropped

Halleluyah�

Congratulations

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 3:54pm On Feb 11, 2021
awys:

Oh sorry dear infact it's now a lovely night rests before I wake in between hours to check my mails especially those times BVL and PPR dey drop for midnight but now I dey sleep go express one way and funny enough my BVL and PPR dropped during the day!!!

Lol... I also checked everything 10mins... the anxiety ehn... IRCC can humble you.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 3:52pm On Feb 11, 2021
awys:

Yes yes yes all the eagles have landed thank God congrats once again
That's the LOI

Yeahhhh..... thank you
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 1:22pm On Feb 11, 2021
JustMellow:

Hello Elizdee,

Big (final) Congratulations. The war is over and the treaty has been signed. Expect a PP return message from VFS soon.

Best of Luck

Thank you so much. I also got a correspondence letter today .. I think that’s what they call LOI

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 4:33pm On Feb 10, 2021
Inioluwa1:
Good day everyone, LONG POST ALERT (But believe me when I say it is supposed to be longer)
I have been a silent and longsuffering reader of this thread, actively reading since like Part 14 or 15.
On Tuesday the 9th of February 2021, I got the much-awaited PPR!
This is my gist:
December 2019, I reignited my dream to go to Canada. I genuinely wanted a career change from Law to HR. I finished with a 2:2 (Second Class Lower) in both Law and my first degree in English (I’m a young old man – 27 going to 28), and a 2:1 (Second Class Upper) from Law School. It was good enough to get me a decent job in Nigeria but the reality is stark and rather disappointing (Nigerian Lawyers dey suffer… but that is gist for another day).
With deep research, I chose to make the career switch, starting with paid online course which bagged me a diploma in Human Resources. I took this with hopes of one day becoming a specialist with my background in Labor Laws and Employment Legislation, by God’s grace. It was a big and tall dream. My target job and related field was and is increasingly always in Top 3 in-demand and top paid jobs in Canada. But we all know man proposes and God blesses as He wills.
I initially started off with interest in Express Entry under the FSW, but the impediment was my years of foreign work experience - less than a year. I wrote my IELTS and passed with 8.0. Overall Band Score, did my evaluation with WES (getting a transcript from Nigerian institutions is a task I wouldn’t wish on my enemy) but the CRS score was still too low. The only way to boost is was to effectively be fraudulent and risk a five-year ban. No, that was too much of a risk. I was advised by an acquaintance to try study route. How? I had no knowledge of it and I didn’t graduate with 2:1 that I could try Masters. I did my research and applied to two schools for a Business Diploma in Human Resources (I was adamant I wanted Saskatchewan for “personal” reasons.) and got admission offer into Great Plains College, Swift Current. This was EIGHT months after I started my Canada plans. I dumped EE for study with age not really being on my side as I intended to use my mother as the sole sponsor (Salary was nothing to write home about) for an ordinary diploma… me, a graduate with two university degrees, NYSC, and a qualified Lawyer. The odds were heavily and massively stacked against me. I waited and waited and waited and it seemed the world was passing me by and I wasn’t making progress. I broke down many times and kept my sincerity in my relationship with God even in my imperfection.
Nairaland and this thread is a big blessing. I got so much insight from being humble enough to learn from everyone.
My Application Timeline goes thus,
- Applied Online: October 6, 2020
- Biometrics Request: October 7, 2020
- Biometrics Completed: October 9, 2020
- NSE Additional Document Request (MyBankStatement Cert): November 24, 2020
- Upfront Medical after waiting and not getting request: November 25, 2020
- Medical Updated to Passed: December 2, 2020
- NSE Additional Document Uploaded: December 2, 2020
- NSE Additional Document Received: December 4, 2020
- Eligibility Review Started: December 4, 2020
- Deferred January Admission to September and informed IRCC with the new Acceptance documents via webform and mails to the three Nairobi e-mails.
- Requested GCMS Notes: January 28, 2021
- PPR and BVL and GCMS Notes all dropped: February 9, 2021
A total of FOUR months and 3 days passed and EVERY SINGLE DAY was excruciating. I prayed, fasted, and made covenants with God. I dipped into depression more than once… He gave me Jeremiah 29: 11 and I prayed for favour every night before I slept and every morning before I opened my eyes, I reminded God of His promises in His word. I got my Joy back even before the miracle happened. I was instructed to do what Otunba, lekiboboe and especially Awys did in their various posts like https://www.nairaland.com/6321900/canadian-student-visa-thread-part/228#98846426 and it worked! I am grateful to Blavkmaann , your posts gave me hope and cheered me up and FrankRobbn1 you’re a blessing. I can’t mention everyone but you’ve all inspired me.

Documents submitted:
1. Application for Study Permit made outside Canada (FORM imm1294e)
2. Application for Temporary Residence (FORM imm5257f)
3. Client Information
a. My Statement of Purpose
b. My Birth Certificate
c. My siblings’ Birth Certificates
d. My academic and professional certificates: First Degree Cert, Second Degree Cert, WAEC Cert, Online Diploma Cert, Law School Cert, NYSC Cert, and Call to The Bar Cert.
e. Academic Transcripts from both Universities attended (Student Copy suffices)
f. IELTS General Test Result
g. There was an IRCC Form filled from school I attached.
h. Police Certificate
i. Father’s Death Certificate
j. Study Questionnaire
4. Digital Photo
5. Family Information (FORM imm5645e)
6. Letter of Acceptance
7. International Passport Data Page
8. Proof of Means of Financial Support:
a. Sworn Affidavit for support by mother duly notarized
b. Letter of appointment/confirmation of appointment at work for mother
c. Salary Payroll of the sponsor (mother) for 6 months prior to application
d. Sponsorship Letter
e. Relevant Work certificates for sponsor
f. Printed and scanned Bank Statements of sponsor for 4 months prior to application (Current and Savings totalling 5.4 M Naira)
g. Proof of Sponsor’s Rent Collection over property signed by her Lawyer.
h. Receipt and confirmation of payment of Tuition Deposit of $CAD 8,500 for a Semester
i. Sponsor’s International Passport data page
j. Certificate of Occupancy of sponsor’s property
k. Employment/Work Identity Card of Sponsor
l. Bank Investment Account worth 3.04M Naira

NOTE: When I got the NSE Request for a Mybankstatement Cert, I initially sent series of webforms and mails that I don’t want to do because I was seeing $CAD 30,000 minimum when we barely had half! I was led to submit it with a balance of 3.6M Naira (having already paid $CAD 8,500 deposit) because upon reading the letter again, it said “Proof of Financial Support A mybankStatement certificate showing sufficient funds for your studies for at least 6 months and 12 months of banking history”, which mean (to my new understanding) half of the requirement for a year’s sufficient funds… English can be hard.
Let me not bore you. I hope and trust I have been able to restore someone’s faith here. Don’t be moved by what you see (even on this forum, I saw people with over ten times of what my mother has and even being fully-funded and what not, not getting approved, I’m not despising anyone - God forbid, just keep the faith and DO YOUR HOMEWORK well, God cannot be mocked.), your joy is key – don’t lose it, keep busy and don’t stay idle - depression sets in faster then, a delay can never be a denial.
I’ll be resuming September 2021. Let me stop here, it has ended in praise!

Awww.. Congratulations.. God will never leave you oo... please can I send you a mail. We have the same story line and career path

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 1:30pm On Feb 10, 2021
Hello.... I just got a counterfoil message on my portal stating expiry and status date of the document.

Please what does this mean and I am yet to get my passport back from vfs.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 9:48am On Feb 10, 2021
Please has anyone noticed the IRCC portal is down. I can’t login.. it’s saying server down!
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 9:47am On Feb 10, 2021
adekolagreat:
YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Finally God came through, BVL and PPR dropped this morning

Applied Oct 5th
Biometrics Nov 13th
Upfront Medical Nov 12th
NSE request Nov 23rd
Documents submitted Dec 3rd
Eligibility started Dec 3rd
Medical passed Dec 16th
Review of additional documents Dec 31st

BVL and PPR Feb 10th grin grin
May intake Uwindsor

I am super grateful and excited.

Please how do i sent this passport fast fast to Abuja.

Awww. Congratulations... it’s raining Goodnews for everyone this year
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 3:31am On Feb 10, 2021
ThowLou:
Good evening all.

My application is approved. How do I send my passport for approval? Do I have to send to VFS or can I send it to Egypt or Paris on my own.

Thank you.

Congratulations
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 8:40pm On Feb 09, 2021
Ijeanwuli:
Please can anyone share the link to the required documents to submit with the passport

Is Lagos vfs still having long processing times

Is Abuja still the way forward

I want to submit my passport this week

Please epp

Don’t even try Lagos... I didn’t listen. I sent mine to Lagos since 15th January, no update till now.

Abuja is the way forward
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 8:38pm On Feb 09, 2021
Dolex86:
Please I have a question... What if the ielts expired 3 months ago.... Can it still be uploaded?

I don’t think so but you can ask the gurus here
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 6:23pm On Feb 09, 2021
nike66:
so what if someone didn't pass the ielts exam,is that authomatic visa refusal

No, it might not be because I had 5.5 in one of my components and I got my ppr... so your case might be different like mine. This is not an assurance
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 18 by Elizdee: 1:00pm On Feb 09, 2021
People’s story!!!!

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67