Stats: 3,176,074 members, 7,896,561 topics. Date: Sunday, 21 July 2024 at 04:35 PM

17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos - Travel (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos (31870 Views)

You Want To Survive In Lagos: 17 Things You Must Not Do. / How Do People Survive In Nigeria? / Europe Is Not Easy — Nigerian Lady Reveals The Kind Of Job She Does To Survive (2) (3) (4)

Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by JuanDeDios: 5:05pm On Jun 27
FatimaAbubakar:
Lagos is a dirty slum. Nassarawa is more conducive to stay. I love my Lafia.
Not entirely. Lagos is beautiful too. Lots of good things in Lagos, in fact. If not, everyone there would relocate to Nasarawa or someplace.
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by Lawalemi(m): 5:09pm On Jun 27
My Huawei phone disappeared in Computer Village till today.

Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by Krankhead: 5:13pm On Jun 27
They will be complaining about Lagos every day, still.they want to die in the same.Lagos.

Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by gameshare542(m): 5:28pm On Jun 27
Hart11:
*YOU WANT TO SURVIVE IN LAGOS: 17 Things you must not do* .

Preamble: Lagos is a melting pot of different cultures and ethnicities, with people from various parts of Nigeria and other countries residing in the city. The city has a vibrant music and art scene, and its streets are filled with colorful markets and bustling shops. The city is also home to several historic sites and landmarks, including the National Museum Lagos, Lagos Island, and the Slave Trade Monument.

Lagos is a bustling city located in the southwestern region of Nigeria, in West Africa. With a population of over 20 million people, it is the most populous city on the African continent and one of the fastest-growing cities in the world. Lagos is known for its vibrant energy, rich cultural heritage, and dynamic economy.

But: Despite its many positive attributes, Lagos faces several challenges, including traffic congestion, inadequate infrastructure, and high levels of poverty. However, the city's resilience and entrepreneurial spirit have enabled it to thrive and grow, making it one of the most exciting and dynamic cities in Africa.

https://www.nairaland.com/7792709/want-survive-lagos-17-things

You see that number 14 suppose be bros am sorry no vex before you ask any further questions
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by KingLion007(m): 5:41pm On Jun 27
Watinhapen:
No 6, I can relate with that. I remember when I went to write entrance exam in Uniben years back and still came back to Lagos the same day. I got to Lagos around 12 midnight, got to Cele bus stop and everywhere was dark and deserted. I had no choice than to trek the lonely road to Ago Palace. Cele was very rugged that time. Man gat to think smart quick quick. I removed my shirt and placed it on my shoulder and raised on leg of my trousers. I was walking like werey on the road without fear. Some guys even shine torch on my face, saw me and just looked away after seeing my physical appearance. They must have thought I’m homeless. That was how I walked all the way to my house o around 1am for night.
Ago Palace my area... Century bus stop, Alidada etc
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by REGINALD001(m): 5:44pm On Jun 27
Hart11:

Preamble: Lagos is a melting pot of different cultures and ethnicities, with people from various parts of Nigeria and other countries residing in the city. The city has a vibrant music and art scene, and its streets are filled with colorful markets and bustling shops. The city is also home to several historic sites and landmarks, including the National Museum Lagos, Lagos Island, and the Slave Trade Monument.

Lagos is a bustling city located in the southwestern region of Nigeria, in West Africa. With a population of over 20 million people, it is the most populous city on the African continent and one of the fastest-growing cities in the world. Lagos is known for its vibrant energy, rich cultural heritage, and dynamic economy.

But: Despite its many positive attributes, Lagos faces several challenges, including traffic congestion, inadequate infrastructure, and high levels of poverty. However, the city's resilience and entrepreneurial spirit have enabled it to thrive and grow, making it one of the most exciting and dynamic cities in Africa.

NONSENSE
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by hstar: 6:11pm On Jun 27
JuanDeDios:

Not entirely. Lagos is beautiful too. Lots of good things in Lagos, in fact. If not, everyone there would relocate to Nasarawa or someplace.
Very correct

Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by hstar: 6:13pm On Jun 27
KingLion007:
Ago Palace my area... Century bus stop, Alidada etc
My gee,
Na okota you dey stay, no be ago

Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by CartelKenneth: 6:20pm On Jun 27
olasunkanmi338:
so, slowpoke like u hitherto, dwelling in biafaran stinks notion that Lagos is 'no man's land" without any authentic proves. Ur leaders in the 1940s tried all these shenanigans to acquire a commercial city in the western Nigeria,peopled by indigenous Yorubas stock. My question is who are the rulers of Lagos state? Is the people from biafaran lands or else where? I know someone bombastic element would mention bini that, had cultural affinities with Lagos island and some of these binis had their roots in Ile ife which is cradle of Yorubas. So, mr. foolish how do you mean that Lagos is 'no man's land. Try to learn Lagos history very well

Lagos belongs to all of us abeg
Lagos is NO MANS LAND
If u no like am sniper dey for u🤗
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by Zealag(m): 6:27pm On Jun 27
For Lagos : No look Uche face…
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by Blackdisciple(m): 6:33pm On Jun 27
Number is what our girls do everyday and when ever I see them I usually pity them
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by MARX77(m): 7:07pm On Jun 27
Omini247:
No 7 take it seriously

What exactly does that mean, please.
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by Fujiyama: 7:22pm On Jun 27
casualobserver:
Many Nigerians are sending themselves to an early grave or appointment with cancer consuming drinks in plastic bottles that are stored or sold in the sun.

Reason: most of these drinks are stored in the open sun where the chemicals from the plastics are heated and leech into the drink.

If you have noticed a different taste in your Fanta or coke, that is why, unfortunately i find it is harder to detect in water. If it has been baked in the sun long enough to have altered the taste then micro plastics have also contaminated the drink.

This also applies to drinks sold in markets, if you them displaying cartons of drinks out in the sun, dont buy from them.

^^^
True.
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by Fujiyama: 7:26pm On Jun 27
ScarletBrace:
All the reasons you stated that gives Lagos the hype in your tone, as an interesting place to be, are actually the same reasons Nigeria at large is in a deplorable state. There’re nothing to write home about.
It’s high time we stopped being proud of exceptional absurdities. What looks like smartness to an average Lagosian or Nigerian, looks fraudulent to people in functioning systems.
Stop hyping filth and pathetic degradation for the sake of your unborn children.

^^^
Very true.
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by israelmao(m): 7:47pm On Jun 27
Dera1000:
i came to Lagos since 2018, and my advice to newcomers is to avoid Computer Village at all cost, I repeat avoid it.
2. You can get to any destination in lagos from Oshodi, inshort if you miss road, just find a way to Oshodi
3. Lagos has many slums and ghettos, be careful when moving in those areas
4. Try and learn basic yoruba it will help a lot
5. For the men- Leave women alone, most ladies are hustlers, cost of womanizing is expensive especially if you are living in the island like me.
6. Dont insult Tinubu or Apc in an open place... to avoid wahala
I can add more but let me stop here

I will like to do that No.6 with passion in Yoruba language.Yeye Tinubu,balogun ogun oloro.
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by BIXYBABE: 8:05pm On Jun 27
Omini247:
No 7 take it seriously
Wat does it means pls
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by Benjamin4388(m): 8:15pm On Jun 27
Lovelyn451:
All these list on top that yeye lagos wey shallow minded people full, last time I was there with my own orientation I was like king Solomon, I win arguments, fights, even my silence was golden, abegi...mumu people full there

you are just been around the company of mumu people... Lagos is a hub to the very best minds in Nigeria..Film and Music industry etc...ARE YOU SERIOUS

Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by CuriousX: 8:16pm On Jun 27
Watinhapen:
No 6, I can relate with that. I remember when I went to write entrance exam in Uniben years back and still came back to Lagos the same day. I got to Lagos around 12 midnight, got to Cele bus stop and everywhere was dark and deserted. I had no choice than to trek the lonely road to Ago Palace. Cele was very rugged that time. Man gat to think smart quick quick. I removed my shirt and placed it on my shoulder and raised on leg of my trousers. I was walking like werey on the road without fear. Some guys even shine torch on my face, saw me and just looked away after seeing my physical appearance. They must have thought I’m homeless. That was how I walked all the way to my house o around 1am for night.

Wow I am amazed. Me self go avoid you for day time not to talk of night grin

Fast thinking
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by Nwaozizi24: 8:35pm On Jun 27
Lagos needs beta cleansing!
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by hakeemhakeem(m): 8:59pm On Jun 27
FatimaAbubakar:
Lagos is a dirty slum. Nassarawa is more conducive to stay. I love my Lafia.

Even your nassarawa get slums and a lot of dirty places.
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by SanctifiedSista(f): 9:19pm On Jun 27
My advice for newbies:
1. Ensure you find the nearest living Faith church zonal centre near you. They will treat u like family
2. Use uber if you don't know road
3. Ensure you reach out to me when you need advice and prayers
4. Don't get drunk in Lagos, u will end up in trouble
5. For women, there are cheap saloon..search well and test them with simple style first
6. If you are wearing white, ensure your journey is not far
7. Don't buy plantain chips ..it's too small and not worth it

Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by Teejaney88(m): 9:23pm On Jun 27
That No. 11 was a WONDERFUL experience...🤞
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by KingLion007(m): 9:24pm On Jun 27
hstar:

My gee,
Na okota you dey stay, no be ago
If u say so gee

Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by Hart11: 9:37pm On Jun 27
Densed fellow
REGINALD001:

NONSENSE
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by 7upnigeria: 11:28pm On Jun 27
Dera1000:
i came to Lagos since 2018, and my advice to newcomers is to avoid Computer Village at all cost, I repeat avoid it.
2. You can get to any destination in lagos from Oshodi, inshort if you miss road, just find a way to Oshodi
3. Lagos has many slums and ghettos, be careful when moving in those areas
4. Try and learn basic yoruba it will help a lot
5. For the men- Leave women alone, most ladies are hustlers, cost of womanizing is expensive especially if you are living in the island like me.
6. Dont insult Tinubu or Apc in an open place... to avoid wahala
I can add more but let me stop here

Insult Tinubu for under bridge CMS make dem kill your papa.

Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by bigcasava1(m): 1:51am On Jun 28
Hart11:

not even my job will take me to Lagos! The day transfer go come say na Lagos I don resign! Lagos! I hate lagos
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by Omini247: 4:58am On Jun 28
MARX77:

What exactly does that mean, please.

No pick anything for floor

Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by maisauki: 6:15am On Jun 28
6. Whenever you're walking in a deserted area in Lagos. Walk like a gangster, not like a responsible person. If you do, Miscreants will feel you're defensive and wouldn't come close to you. Street sense ✌

I remember December 2022, was trekking towards garage; bag at back, rosary 📿 at hand, dressed like a northerner...naso one area boy dey follow follow me.
I sensed his moves, and turned to him saying(in a very deep tone and Yoruba accent)
Me: you see say na alfa I be, I go put load wey you no fit put down for your head(Lagosians respect/fear religious scholars
Him: no do that na...na prayer you suppose do for me make I no dey do bad thing

Naso he turn back

Another point of note is know how to abuse very well when in Lasgidi
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by AleAirHub(m): 9:36am On Jun 28
Rugged 🫡🫡🫡🙌🙌🙌
Watinhapen:
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by Lovit(m): 11:03am On Jun 28
If you have lived in Lagos for up to a year, please go and be checking your BP daily

You may be hypertensive without knowing it.
Re: 17 Things You Must Not Do If You Want To Survive In Lagos by KingWarri: 1:55pm On Jun 28
Burruchaga71:
Do people still think of living in Lagos?
Aswear! As these ones be thinking Lagos is one golden city.
Delta, Nassarawa, Abuja, Bayelsa and Edo state are far better than Lagos.

5 Best Airports In Africa / Nigerian Nurse & His Fiancée Die In Motor Accident 6 Weeks After Engagement / The Scenic Beauty Of South Africa

Viewing this topic: 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 50