Stats: 3,169,779 members, 7,875,934 topics. Date: Sunday, 30 June 2024 at 03:20 AM

General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction - Properties (719) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction (4529706 Views)

Discuss Anything Property And Lets Make Money In The Process / Residential Building Construction Mistakes In Nigeria You Need To Avoid / General Topic Thread - The Roforofo Thread Of Construction Activities (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (716) (717) (718) (719) (720) (721) (722) ... (3704) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by yak(m): 6:44am On Jul 07, 2017
mufutau55:
@Daboomb
Why are we omitting " Gari-Ijebu" from the Kuli-kuki system like in "Gari-Ijebu with Kuli-kuli" or else it's not completed o.

Hajji M.

u can also add "Abiola Milk"
datz what we used to call sachet cowbell milk those days
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Daboomb: 7:02am On Jul 07, 2017
mufutau55:

Thanks for showing this... this is perfect. Wonder if this work well with parapets... we have to test it out o.

Hajji M.

It works for anything, Parapet inclusive but PLEASE, leave this type of "management" for we the Boys Scout of Nigeria.
Why must you do these, when you can easily afford the White, imported one?
You rich people just like to dey drag everything with us, uh? angry angry

Chai, Dearis God o!
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Daboomb: 7:04am On Jul 07, 2017
twinskenny:

good plumber is needed to get this done to avoid leakage..
nice one

Good and adequate, ORIGINAL Pipe Gum is also required.
My own has been standing for over five years now and no single leak.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Daboomb: 7:07am On Jul 07, 2017
mufutau55:
@Daboomb
Why are we omitting " Gari-Ijebu" from the Kuli-kuki system like in "Gari-Ijebu with Kuli-kuli" or else it's not completed o.

Hajji M.

True talk baba!

Ijebu people are exporting their Garri now, very difficult to find in the Nigerian market.
Boy Scouts lik eus need to collect Feesa, travel to London or America, before we can have a taste of Garri ijebu!

I have asked my senior brothers over there not to send me foreign currency anymore, l just want them to send me their Garri Ijebu!
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by bixton(m): 7:37am On Jul 07, 2017
Daboomb:

This topic has always been of interest to me and l will use this opportunity to express my opinion.

There are so many costs associated with building on a Swamp land, and l am talking from vast personal experience!

Let us start with "access" to your and itself: Due to the nature of the soil, articulated vehicles (20-30Ton Trucks, e.t.c) will definitely sink and get stuck in the murky ground when they come to deliver Iron, Granite, Sand and Cement. this will not only increase your cost, it will waste your time and other suppliers will simply refuse to deliver to your site or do it a few hundred metres off and you have to pay Mallam to re-locate the stuff to your compound.

Foundation: Depending on "how swampy" the swampy land really is (swamp pass swamp! My Piles were about 70ft deep, before it could sit on stable ground! angry angry ), and how elaborate your foundation foot-print is and how top-heavy your building will be, you could be talking not just using a raft foundation but using a Pile foundation.

Anything beyond a Bungalow on a 'serious swampy land', needs a Pile foundation.
That could mean a price range of between #8M - #12M (Pile) and #4M - #6M (Raft), +- 10%.
That amount itself is enough to finish the whole Carcass on a very dry land.

Wear and Tear: Houses built on Swampy land need a lot more maintenance over the years, if they are to maintain their good looks.
For example, cost of your Soakaway will be far higher compared to one located on a dry land.
The rate at which you will need to evacuate such will also be higher
Paint will peel-off quicker because of the high humidity around it and this itself is attributable to the high water table in that location.

Having said all the above, like @Egunmogaji has mentioned, if you get a swampy land in a posh location, overlooking a river or lake/ocean, the "scenery" will more than compensate for the cost.
You will breath fresher air, you will watch the Ducks criss-cross the Waterfront, you will hear the birds wake you up in the morning with their sonorous "jazz" songs, you will likely eat fresh fish right out of the river (and buy it cheaper too!), e.t.c

Thing is, not everyone can build in a riverine area due to the cost, you need very deep pockets.
If funds are limited, please take your time to look for upper ground areas outside mainland (you can still get cheap, red soil (upper ground) land at about #15M -#20M in some areas of Mainland, old houses you can demolish and rebuild); Places like Agege, Oke-Ira, Between Festac and Badagry areas, e.t.c can still offer cheap, red soil grounds.

There is even a salutatory catch-phrase in my area, for those who build solid houses on a swamp land - Olowo'nuura
Translated to mean something like 'Wealthy enough to build on Swamp' shocked shocked

My final suggestion: Let him not hurry but take his time to look for a dry land outside Mainland, even if he has to buy half a plot.
Building on Swamp land is a life long expense, it takes boldness and deep pockets to do so.

BTW: Land in places like Lekki/Ajah are not swamp. They are Sandy soil with just a little layer of brackish, wet soil on top.
Those areas are even cheaper to build on, compared to 'real Mangrove Swamp"' that you will encounter on the Mainland, in places like Unilag, Makoka, Iwaya, Bariga, up to Ketu, e.t.c.
. Swamp terrains are naturally fresh water and except yours water table is linked to ocean water(salt water) then that might cause your paint to wear off. A good paint should last 5+ years before maintenance can be done.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by twinskenny(m): 7:46am On Jul 07, 2017
Daboomb:

perfect
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Truthinlife: 8:09am On Jul 07, 2017
Daboomb:

Daboomb,
Thanks for this suggestion. Any particular brand name, type?
Can you send some pictures to know what to tell my plumber.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Chimighty007(m): 9:44am On Jul 07, 2017
abdulwastecx:

you can have a sizeable three bedroom flat with good space to pack 3 vehicle in front of the building.

something like this can enter the plot comfortably:
three bedroom each : 12ft x 12ft
three toilet each : 4 x 8ft
kitchen : 8ft x 8ft
dining : 8ft x 8ft
living room : 16 x 14ft
store : 4 x 4ft

total floor area = 1024square feet
plot size = 2000square feet

what will cost to deck 75x75 space
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by diordaves(m): 10:26am On Jul 07, 2017
Daboomb:

True talk baba!

Ijebu people are exporting their Garri now, very difficult to find in the Nigerian market.
Boy Scouts lik eus need to collect Feesa, travel to London or America, before we can have a taste of Garri ijebu!

I have asked my senior brothers over there not to send me foreign currency anymore, l just want them to send me their Garri Ijebu!

Garri Ijebu wey no get respect. No matter your status, on first taste, Garri Ijebu must slap you for mouth.

My grandmother use to say in Warri accent, if Garri Ijebu no slap you for mouth, no be original.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by abdulwastecx(m): 11:56am On Jul 07, 2017
Chimighty007:

what will cost to deck 75x75 space

What is the thickness of the slab, how many beams do you have and what are there thickness. I will need to see the structural design first
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by mufutau55(m): 5:01pm On Jul 07, 2017
Daboomb:

True talk baba!

YOU ARE TOO FUNNY... smiley True talk though.
Do you know we get all kinds of fake Gari-Ijebu here (USA), England guys may get better ones.... some of them don't even taste it... nah Poison.

Hajji M.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by mufutau55(m): 5:05pm On Jul 07, 2017
Daboomb:

It works for anything, Parapet inclusive but PLEASE, leave this type of "management" for we the Boys Scout of Nigeria.
Why must you do these, when you can easily afford the White, imported one?
You rich people just like to dey drag everything with us, uh? angry angry

Chai, Dearis God o!

No, Oga mi. I invented the kobo-kobo styles of management o. my projects nah Kobo-kobo projects o.

Hajji M.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by mufutau55(m): 5:07pm On Jul 07, 2017
yak:

u can also add "Abiola Milk"
datz what we used to call sachet cowbell milk those days

My God... I don't even know this one... may be I am too young for it o. What happened to Tate (green box) and St. Louis (blue box) sugars?
But will surely add "Abiola Milk" o.

Hajji M.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Truthinlife: 7:30pm On Jul 07, 2017
mufutau55:

No, Oga mi. I invented the kobo-kobo styles of management o. my projects nah Kobo-kobo projects o.

Hajji M.
I wish this and other threads will have this sense of humor, ideas and people giving constructive criticisms without using abusive words. Thanks everyone for reminding me of Abiola milk, kuli kuli, Agege bread etc smiley

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Flaghouse1: 11:14pm On Jul 07, 2017
jossy26:

Bros, direct your question to @brabus grin grin grin this one is too much for sir Egun,

NO ALLOW THIS MAN ENTER ONE CHANCE OOO

chukzyfcbb:

Good day sir ,pls I need your expertise opinion.

Getting a dry land in Lagos in a fairly good area on the mainland and at a fair price is tough.
However, My P-man is considering a swamp land but I am strongly against it because of the cost of raising foundation.

The swamp land will cost a whole lot of money, and so I am scared of foundation cost

pls sir, what's the least price of constructing a raft foundation in a place like Lagos (mainland).
The knowledge of that will help him rethink his decision, hoping for your reply and others too thanks

Bros, direct your question to @brabus grin grin grin this one is too much for sir Egun,
(Quote) (Report) (Like) (Share)
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by rabcnesbit: 12:36pm On Jul 08, 2017
A quick question my people. How many bags of cement (estimate) will be required to plaster the interior of a 3-bed flat (3 bedrooms, one en-suite, toilet and bathroom, kitchen, living/dinning room, small store). Thank you.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by diordaves(m): 12:53pm On Jul 08, 2017
Low Cost Housing Solutions: Achieving the One Million Naira Home: A Pictorial Depiction

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by diordaves(m): 12:57pm On Jul 08, 2017
Foundation

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by diordaves(m): 1:15pm On Jul 08, 2017
Walling

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by diordaves(m): 1:19pm On Jul 08, 2017
Finishing

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by diordaves(m): 1:22pm On Jul 08, 2017
Two Floors Design

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by diordaves(m): 1:27pm On Jul 08, 2017
End Product

Now will this actually be cheaper in Nigeria? The project was in Namibia. Can a moderate bungalow be delivered adopting this ecobag system for under two million in Nigeria?

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by kopell: 2:57pm On Jul 08, 2017
diordaves:
End Product

Now will this actually be cheaper in Nigeria? The project was in Namibia. Can a moderate bungalow be delivered adopting this ecobag system for under two million in Nigeria?
I wish so, if those dubious, contractors, workers, even the government officials that award the contracts. They will not chart away with half of the budget, of course its possible. Our problem is not if things can be done, yes thing can be done, but with all those buckle neck that stay on the way of progress, are the major problems we face as people. Its even worst when the society that has been that chocked to accept every wrong doing as norm. These are the people that are suppose to be fighting for their rights or demand how their leaders spent their wealth. Unfortunately many of them don't see anything wrong in looting the system, rather waiting for their own opportunity to come to even do worse. Very interesting topic, let the debate floor open.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by KolaShangOne(m): 3:02pm On Jul 08, 2017
diordaves:
End Product

Not possible bros..
This looks like it's just an experiment in alternative building practices and not a cheaper mode of construction if you understand what I mean.

With those equipments in use, etc, it will probably cost more to build this in Nigeria than our usual bungalows.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by KolaShangOne(m): 3:04pm On Jul 08, 2017
The Lekki flood is here again..

Featuring Lekki
VI
Banana island etc..

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Nobody: 3:12pm On Jul 08, 2017
diordaves:
End Product

a very interesting question

in nigeria, we operate what i call an 'ignorance economy' where people get rich not by providing value, but by monetising things that are free or inflating costs, or ripping people off in a major league way.

you pick up a phone at slot, and the staff there start trying to hustle you by asking for money to install apps on the phone.
in the past, people charged for 'opening and maintaining' yahoomail accounts

not so long ago, mechanics were buying diagnostic kits and charging 7k or more per use

the point i am trying to make is that there is every possibility it can be done cheaply in nigeria, however the greedy hustler mentality will probably turn it into a expensive endeavor where the materials involved will suddenly become rare and expensive

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Nobody: 3:41pm On Jul 08, 2017
KolaShangOne:

Not possible bros..
This looks like it's just an experiment in alternative building practices and not a cheaper mode of construction if you understand what I mean.

With those equipments in use, etc, it will probably cost more to build this in Nigeria than our usual bungalows.

I agree with KolsShangOne.

It's actually very cheap to build houses in Nigeria as it is, in my opinion.

We need to remove the cost of fences, borehole, septic tanks, gutters from the total price of building a house.

Architect = N50K
Block 5,000 X N150 = N750,000
Cement 100 X N2,500 = N250,000
Labour 5,000 X N50 = N250,000
Roof = N250,000
Plumbing, Electrical, Painting = N250,000

These are just averages, could potentially be more but if cost savings is the basis like my site, then it can be done. By the way cost savings doesn't translate to cheap and improper practices or substandard products and services. It just means that you cut out the fluff like middle man, project managers, etc

There's no reason that the average homeowner cannot paint the inside of his house, as an example of further cost cutting.

Anyways sha, my time is coming - in sha allah.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by skimanski(m): 3:41pm On Jul 08, 2017
diordaves:
Low Cost Housing Solutions: Achieving the One Million Naira Home: A Pictorial Depiction

If you can use the Pictorial depiction to calculate how much this will cost, you'd be surprise there are cheaper ways already been adopted in Parts of Nigeria. Because looking at the Pictures, even if one sac on this picture cost as Low as N50 it still a massive amount of sacs and the difference in cost of installing bricks might not be significantly more expensive.

We all know Nigerians like cheap things, so who wouldn't want a cheap construction? Just that the economy doesn't favor any cheap method.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Nobody: 3:43pm On Jul 08, 2017
KolaShangOne:
The Lekki flood is here again..

Featuring Lekki
VI
Banana island etc..

Whenever I land in Lagos I get an itch to flee the city as soon as possible. I personally don't see the attraction.

Oh well.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Nobody: 3:46pm On Jul 08, 2017
Also, replication is a biggie.

Imagine if Skimanski, Spyder880, etcwere charged with building 50 to 100 of the same house design in a row but just flipping the designs as they go down the street, imagine the cost savings there.

The staff, tools and equipment's will stay in the same general location for 3 to 5 years, not relocation fees, etc

Also, we need to stop thinking about single family homes but condominiums, townhomes, etc I know they have those in Lagos, Lekki, Ajjah, etc but I'm talking more about rural areas.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by KolaShangOne(m): 4:08pm On Jul 08, 2017
EgunMogaji:

Whenever I land in Lagos I get an itch to flee the city as soon as possible. I personally don't see the attraction.

Oh well.

It gets worse

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by spyder880(m): 4:23pm On Jul 08, 2017
diordaves:

I think everything is possible if we put our mind to it. Foundation for this pictured house is very simple and basic, for people living in areas with poor soil or those in environments which are prone to flooding or being waterlogged, they may need to improve on this foundation, especially for the two floor design.

(1) (2) (3) ... (716) (717) (718) (719) (720) (721) (722) ... (3704) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: 2 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58