Stats: 3,170,584 members, 7,878,653 topics. Date: Wednesday, 03 July 2024 at 12:14 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (11913) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (12019209 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (11910) (11911) (11912) (11913) (11914) (11915) (11916) ... (16405) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 9:49pm On Dec 22, 2021
drDoom3:

Vardy is the striker closest to Osimhen of all the top strikers. Forget Vardy doesn't have the height and the athleticism, he has everything else Osimhen has.

Well he doesn't have the aggression that sets him out from Osimhen
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 9:50pm On Dec 22, 2021
drDoom3:

Aribo has better technique than Iheanacho, Iwobi, and Nwakali. Osimhen's technique is a bit better than Aribo's though, but Osimhen is not as sleek. Iheanacho has excellent shooting and good passing but is poor everywhere else, Iwobi when not confused can pull off the odd skill or pass but is poor everywhere else. Nwakali from the little I've watched in the Segunda is just lazy on the pitch. He doesn't like getting his shirt dirty.

Ejuke is the only player in our team that arguably has the best technique, slightly better than Osimhen and Aribo.

Please tell me what is technique?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:52pm On Dec 22, 2021
Odunayaw:
No one is talking about gift. We're talking of it's expression.
Tackling isn't tougher now than it was in the days of Maradona.

What you guys call "modern football" is as mechanical as table soccer. Remove flair from football and it is no different from cricket and hockey

Tackling is not tougher but tactical defending is fiercer in today's game. I remember watching Graeme Le Saux interview Alderweireld. After the interview, Grame Le Saux (played for England and Chelsea in the 90s,) said he learnt more in that interview session about defence than he learnt in his whole playing career. He said he would have been a far better player with that knowledge.

That is the edge of modern defenders and makes it harder for playing with flair.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:53pm On Dec 22, 2021
Subzero047:

Please tell me what is technique

Why don't you tell us?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 9:59pm On Dec 22, 2021
TheGoodJoe:

Why don't you tell us?

Technique is essentially the basics of football from your first touch to your weight of pass to your angle of passes to your distribution of body weight, it seems some people are confusing skill with technique
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 10:01pm On Dec 22, 2021
Rodgers does not have the mind to remove Vardy rather he removes Daka
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:02pm On Dec 22, 2021
Subzero047:

Technique is essentially the basics of football from your first touch to your weight of pass to your angle of passes to your distribution of body weight, it seems some people are confusing skill with technique

That is just one small aspect. I have my own term of technique.

Technique is what you can do with the ball. Is as simple as that. From passing to tricks. Is all technique.

Dribbling skills is technique too.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by yinkeys(m): 10:02pm On Dec 22, 2021
drDoom3:

Vardy is the striker closest to Osimhen of all the top strikers. Forget Vardy doesn't have the height and the athleticism, he has everything else Osimhen has.
Halaand
Hala! Madrid !
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 10:07pm On Dec 22, 2021
TheGoodJoe:

That is just one small aspect. I have my own term of technique.

Technique is what you can do with the ball. Is as simple as that. From passing to tricks. Is all technique.

Dribbling skills is technique too.

Technique is far from what you can do with the ball, technique is how well you control the ball and how well you can execute basic functions with the ball
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by oloriooko(m): 10:12pm On Dec 22, 2021
So Nacho just coming back from Covid prison?
Be like say dude don dip in form

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 10:20pm On Dec 22, 2021
Rodgers should have removed Vardy but seniority...
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 10:22pm On Dec 22, 2021
Iheanacho sef
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by drDoom3(m): 10:23pm On Dec 22, 2021
Subzero047:

Well he doesn't have the aggression that sets him out from Osimhen

He has the aggression. He just doesn't have the physicality to back it up.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:24pm On Dec 22, 2021
Subzero047:

Technique is far from what you can do with the ball, technique is how well you control the ball and how well you can execute basic functions with the ball

How well is not technique but grade. Some players have poor technique and others have good technique.

So technique is not how well. Technique is ability with the ball.

Some have good trapping techniques. Some have good crossing technique. Some have good dribbling technique.

Some are better with dribbling techniques but are poor when it comes to their passing technique.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 10:27pm On Dec 22, 2021
drDoom3:

I don’t understand

Vardy closest to osimhen ? Meaning we can now compare top strikers to osimhen who is not yet there ?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elyte89: 10:28pm On Dec 22, 2021
andrewbaba44:

I don’t understand

Vardy closest to osimhen ? Meaning we can now compare top strikers to osimhen who is not yet there ?

Some comments na to just read and pass cool

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:31pm On Dec 22, 2021
andrewbaba44:

I don’t understand

He is talking about playing style, not equating quality.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 10:31pm On Dec 22, 2021
TheGoodJoe:

He is talking about playing style, not equating quality.

Ok oo

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 10:36pm On Dec 22, 2021
TheGoodJoe:

How well is not technique but grade. Some players have poor technique and others have good technique.

So technique is not how well. Technique is ability with the ball.

Some have good trapping techniques. Some have good crossing technique. Some have good dribbling technique.

Some are better with dribbling techniques but are poor when it comes to their passing technique.

Technique is not just ability with ball, where do you put decision making, composure? Technique is simple, how well do you do the basics of football and like every other thing some players have good technique some have average or poor technique
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:38pm On Dec 22, 2021
Subzero047:

Technique is not ability with ball, where do you put decision making, composure? Technique is simple, how well do you do the basics of football and like every other thing some players have good technique some have average or poor technique

Decision making is not technique. That is intelligence. They are two different things.

Now with intelligence, you can know the perfect pass to make but if you have poor passing technique, you can not pull off a brilliant decision.

Technique is what you do with the ball. Intelligence is without the ball. What you put together in your head.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by yinkeys(m): 10:43pm On Dec 22, 2021
Napoli dey jonzing world
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 10:44pm On Dec 22, 2021
TheGoodJoe:

Decision making is not technique. That is intelligence. They are two different things.

Now with intelligence, you can know the perfect pass to make but if you have poor passing technique, you can not pull off a brilliant decision.

Technique is what you do with the ball. Intelligence is without the ball. What you put together in your head.

You said technique is what you do with the ball but decision making is not technique, don't you make decisions with the ball grin though passes, back passes do you make them with your head? If you want to to reduce everything to intelligence then crosses, passes, trappings are all intelligent decisions, the people who defined technique as the most basic of the football element defined it well
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheLoneCitizen(m): 10:46pm On Dec 22, 2021
Sergio Ramos red card on Terem Moffi very harsh.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by drDoom3(m): 10:47pm On Dec 22, 2021
andrewbaba44:

I don’t understand

There is a difference between top strikers and top young strikers. Artistes like Rema and Fireboy are some of the best in Africa, but when you talk about the top artistes you talk about Wizkid, Burna, Olamide and co. It does not in any way mean that Rema or Fireboy are "not yet there" in your own words. It is just that they have not been there long enough to be mainstays.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:48pm On Dec 22, 2021
Subzero047:

You said technique is what you do with the ball but decision making is not technique, don't you make decisions with the ball grin though passes, back passes do you make them with your head? If you want to to reduce everything to intelligence then crosses, passes, trappings are all intelligent decisions

You make decisions with your head. Not with the ball. You use techniques to carryout decision making.

As I said, it goes with grade.

Technique is what you can do with the ball. Decision making with your head.

A player can be brilliant at dribbling but his intelligence needs development.

He can make unnecessary runs. He can make poor decisions by passing to the wrong player. With the right intelligence, he can become a better player with his technique.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 10:51pm On Dec 22, 2021
Subzero047:

You said technique is what you do with the ball but decision making is not technique, don't you make decisions with the ball grin though passes, back passes do you make them with your head? If you want to to reduce everything to intelligence then crosses, passes, trappings are all intelligent decisions, the people who defined technique as the most basic of the football element defined it well

Another way to look at it is what you do individually is technique. Trapping, crossing, dribbling, passing. Having the skill to execute is technique.

While what you do with your teammates is intelligence.

Knowing the right player to pass to. Knowing the right timing to cross. Knowing when to hold the ball and when to give a team mate.

That is intelligence.

With brilliant technique, you can execute brilliant decision making.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheLoneCitizen(m): 10:54pm On Dec 22, 2021
Iheanacho scores his penalty. Liverpool win from 3-1 down.

Loudest stadium I've heard since COVID begun.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 10:55pm On Dec 22, 2021
drDoom3:

There is a difference between top strikers and top young strikers. Artistes like Rema and Fireboy are some of the best in Africa, but when you talk about the top artistes you talk about Wizkid, Burna, Olamide and co. It does not in any way mean that Rema or Fireboy are "not yet there" in your own words. It is just that they have not been there long enough to be mainstays.

No be this one I ask you at first ,Thegoodjoe has explained to me already

But a young striker can be among top strikers in the world ,he will be categorized as top young strikers alongside with lewa and co

Example Haaland and mbappe are both young and will be regarded as top players together with the older ones despite belonging to the young category
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 10:55pm On Dec 22, 2021
TheGoodJoe:

You make decisions with your head. Not with the ball. You use techniques to carryout decision making.

As I said, it goes with grade.

Technique is what you can do with the ball. Decision making with your head.

A player can be brilliant at dribbling but his intelligence needs development.

He can make unnecessary runs. He can make poor decisions by passing to the wrong player. With the right intelligence, he can become a better player with his technique.

You make decisions with your head and carry it out on the ball, everything a player does is on the ball technique or not is from the head, now those who define technique define as the most simple of ball tasks regardless of grade I don't know why this is hard for you to understand
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by drDoom3(m): 10:57pm On Dec 22, 2021
andrewbaba44:

No be this one I ask you at first ,Thegoodjoe has explained to me already

But a young striker can be among top strikers in the world ,he will be categorized at top young striker and top striker alongside with lewa and co

Example Haaland and mbappe are both young and will be regarded as top players together with the older ones despite belonging to the young category

They have both earned the right to be in that category with consistent performances blowing everyone else out of the water. Osimhen has done that just yet.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 10:58pm On Dec 22, 2021
Napoli should just forget about seria A

If they don’t take care they will also snatch top 4 from them just as last season

They just collected 3 points from AC millan for nothing

They are missing their Victor and koulibally but they are just so annoying
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by drDoom3(m): 10:59pm On Dec 22, 2021
Subzero047:

You make decisions with your head and carry it out on the ball, everything a player does is on the ball technique or not is from the head, now those who define technique define as the most simple of ball tasks regardless of grade I don't know why this is hard for you to understand

Technique is how well you execute tasks with the ball. It could be anything from passing to shooting etc. irrespective of your strengths or position.

(1) (2) (3) ... (11910) (11911) (11912) (11913) (11914) (11915) (11916) ... (16405) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Christinu2, DrYa and 17 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 45