Stats: 3,172,225 members, 7,884,244 topics. Date: Tuesday, 09 July 2024 at 07:26 AM

Jchuckc's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Jchuckc's Profile / Jchuckc's Posts

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Politics / Re: The Significance Of Late Dim Ojukwu; Ikemba, In The Political Evolution Of Nig by jchuckc(m): 1:39pm On Feb 24, 2012
Dude dont waste ure time, lest u get caught up in someone's monologue

Dede1 = ndu_chucks
Culture / Re: Nigerian Tribes And Their States by jchuckc(m): 12:47am On Aug 04, 2011
List is kind of messed up,
1. There is no Gombe state on the list, the tribes that are meant to fall under Gombe state, were placed under Bauchi.
2. Some tribes are listed twice, under different names e.g. Babur = Bura (same tribe different names)
3. Some of the names quoted as tribes are actually names of places, an example would be saying 'Lagosian' is a tribe.
4. The names of some of the tribes qouted are derogatory names and not the actual names e.g Kaje is derogatory, the tribe is actually 'Baju'
5. Lastly some of the tribes under bauchi have been assimulated by the hausa majority, the languages are now officially termed 'dead languages', the desecendants of the speakers now speak only hausa.
My 2 cents!

Politics / Re: Aregbesola Delivers 3,000 Acres Of Land For Dry Season Farming by jchuckc(m): 5:35am On Aug 03, 2011
Sometimes it is better having a monologue, or better yet having a dialogue with a statue than trying to make some people see reason. It is rather admirable when people table issues with facts, rather than hurl insults and try to 'bully' others into submission. Beaf, your logic is skewed, GEJ's position as the President of Nigeria, is not a prerequisite for respect, rather it is a prerequisite for extreme scrutiny, the fact that he is being compared to a 'mere' governor is a source of concern, 'TO WHOM MUCH IS GIVEN, MUCH IS ALSO EXPECTED', , as such I have the right to compare him to an LG chairman or even a councellor for underperforming. In these days of paucity of good leadership, Aregbesola's scheme is commendable. There are a thousand and one things that are crucial to the progress of Nigeria right now, and tenure elongation in any form or guise is not one of them.
Politics / Re: Secret Behind Sanusi Lamido's Appointment by jchuckc(m): 3:32am On Apr 23, 2011
This is a very nice thread, I've read with dismay how little southerners know about the north. Fulanis are the ruling class, they warrior like nomads, while the hausas were farmers, as such they conquered the hausas, thus its more or less an insult to refer to a fulani man as hausa while the reverse would be a complement .Contrary to popular belief hausa and fulani are as different as ibibio and yoruba, the hausas are more as such quite a number of fulanis speak hausa, but in states like Adamawa its different. There are quite a number of minority tribes in the north, the small tribes that are muslims have more or less lost their identity, for instance Bauchi state has up to 10 dead/dieing languages. The kanuris were never conquered by the fulanis. Only the core North Western states do not have a sizable christian indigenous minority. For instance states like Adamawa, Kaduna, Nassarawa are 50% or slightly less christian. The deputy governor of gombe state has to be christian cos the percentage of indigenous christians is as high as 40%. States like Plateau and Taraba have an outright chrsitian majority. There are more than 50 non hausa or fulani tribes in plateau/bauchi/gombe/adamawa/borno/taraba axis put together. Infact apart for Murtala Muhammed (this too is subject to opinion) all the other northern presidents are not hausa. Shagari, Buahari and Yar Adua are fulani, IBB is nupe, Abacha was Kanuri, Yakubu Gowon is angas. Even Atiku is not hausa.

1) Sule Lamido
2) Mohammed Goje.
3) Rilwanu Lukman.
4) Isa Yuguda
4) Modu Sheriff
5) Yakowa (Minority north?)
6) Shema
7) Usman Dakingari
8  Ibrahim Idris
9) Late Abubakar Rimi
10) Babangida Aliyu
11) Aliyu Doma
12) Aliyu Wamako
13) Mahmud Shinkafi
14) Ibrahim Geidam
15) Danbaba Suntai
16) Bala Muhammed
17) Maitama Sule
18  Aliyu Gusau
19) Sambo

As for your list most of the people there are actually hausa or fulani. Mode Sheriff is Kanuri and Peter Yakowa should be Jabba or so, not sure though.
Politics / Re: Final Results Of 2011 Presidential Election By Jega by jchuckc(m): 1:21pm On Apr 19, 2011
Ndi Igbo practically handed the presidency to Good luck Jonathan. Almost 100% block vote was recorded in all the South East States

This is how they voted:

ABIA 98.96% 1,175,984

ANAMBRA 98.96% 1,145,169

DELTA** 98.59% 1,378,851

EBONYI 95.57% 480,592

ENUGU 98.54% 802,144

IMO 97.98% 1,381,357

SUBTOTAL 6,364,097

Ndi Igbo in Lagos (45%); Rivers (45%); Plateau (40%); Kaduna (30%) Kano (15 %); FCT (50%) and other states further strengthened the margin as follows:

LAGOS 40% of 67.19% of PDP vote 512,675

RIVERS 45% of 98.32% of PDP vote 817,992

PLATEAU 50% of 73.47% of PDP vote 514.932

KADUNA 15% of 46.62% of PDP vote 180,000

KANO 10% of 16.7% of PDP vote 263,398

FCT 40% of 65.31% of PDP vote 116,418

Others 7.5% of Total PDP votes in other states 800,000

SUB TOTAL 3,205,415

GRAND TOTAL 9,569,512

APPROX** 9 MILLION VOTES (CONSIDERING OTHER ETHINICITY IN DELTA STATE)

Quote from: jchuckc on Yesterday at 10:29:36 PM
@EzeCanada: Seems u know very little about the demographics of northern nigeria. Plateau's population is about 70-80% indigenous christians, yes there are many ibos in plateau, but they are of course not up to 5%, Kaduna's population is also abt 45 - 50% indigenous christians, the same goes for Adamawa, Nassarawa and many other states. Even Bauchi state that is considered a core northern state has up to 20% indigenous christians. As such the Ibos played their part, but kudos has to be given to the often ignored but stratetigically placed indigenous christian population in the north!
@jchuckc: I have my facts. Do you have any?

@EzeCanada: I dont think you have lived in the north, at least not for an extended period of time. I was born in the north and save for the annual trips to the east for Xmas, I lived there continuosly untill I was 23 . Mind you I'm Ibo, so you telling me to backup what I'm saying with facts is like saying I should back up that 'bia means come in igbo' with facts
Politics / Re: Final Results Of 2011 Presidential Election By Jega by jchuckc(m): 10:29pm On Apr 18, 2011

Re: Final Results Of 2011 Presidential Election By Jega
« #57 on: Today at 09:25:43 PM »

Ndi Igbo practically handed the presidency to Good luck Jonathan. Almost 100% block vote was recorded in all the South East States

This is how they voted:

ABIA                                             98.96%                                                      1,175,984

ANAMBRA                                      98.96%                                                      1,145,169

DELTA**                                       98.59%                                                      1,378,851

EBONYI                                          95.57%                                                      480,592

ENUGU                                           98.54%                                                      802,144

IMO                                               97.98%                                                      1,381,357

SUBTOTAL                                                                                                      6,364,097

Ndi Igbo in Lagos (45%); Rivers (45%); Plateau (40%); Kaduna (30%) Kano (15 %); FCT (50%) and other states further strengthened the margin as follows:

LAGOS                            40% of 67.19% of PDP vote                                         512,675

RIVERS                           45% of 98.32% of PDP vote                                         817,992

PLATEAU                         50% of 73.47% of PDP vote                                         514.932

KADUNA                         15% of 46.62% of PDP vote                                          180,000

KANO                             10% of 16.7% of PDP vote                                            263,398

FCT                               40% of 65.31% of PDP vote                                           116,418

Others                          7.5% of Total PDP votes in other states                          800,000

SUB TOTAL                                                                                                     3,205,415

GRAND TOTAL                                                                                                 9,569,512

APPROX** 9 MILLION VOTES (CONSIDERING OTHER ETHINICITY IN DELTA STATE)

@EzeCanada: Seems u know very little about the demographics of northern nigeria. Plateau's population is about 70-80% indigenous christians, yes there are many ibos in plateau, but they are of course not up to 5%, Kaduna's population is also abt 45 - 50% indigenous christians, the same goes for Adamawa, Nassarawa and many other states. Even Bauchi state that is considered a core northern state has up to 20% indigenous christians. As such the Ibos played their part, but kudos has to be given to the often ignored but stratetigically placed indigenous christian population in the north!
Foreign Affairs / Re: African Union Demands 'immediate' Halt To Libya Attacks by jchuckc(m): 1:23am On Mar 21, 2011
I guess they shld let their jets be shot down by Ghadafi's surface to air missiles, doesnt make sense to me. Wonder how people will come to this forum and support a psychotic egotistical despot, that refers to his people as rats. As for the AU leaders, they're bankrolled by the despot and as such their stand doesnt come as a surprise, those guys wld sell their mothers for oil money. SMH.
Travel / Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by jchuckc(m): 9:26am On Jan 08, 2011
@devick246: I meant visa interview letter. I.e. The documents the embassy officials package together and collect from you and put in your passport. I think the indian guy forgot to give me back, and I didn't know I was sposed to leave with em. Has anyone been in this situation before, pls advice.
Travel / Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by jchuckc(m): 2:06am On Jan 08, 2011
Very happy for the wonderful news so far. Congrats to all. I got my green ticket too yesterday from the indian fellow, he however did not return my i-20 and those other documents, I.e i-20, mrv, invitation letter etc. Pls house, I know they're meant to hold back your passport, don't if the indian guy just forgot to give me back the i-20 and sevis fee receipt. Thanks.
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Shell Nigeria - The Next Generation by jchuckc(m): 5:41pm On Mar 24, 2009
Hi guys mine is on the 1st at lagos, pls i dont really understand what they mean by relevant project, mine was a project on water hardness, shld i go on with it or work on somethin new, did u guys that have done urs go with the whole project or just like an abstract, pls do share , thanks guys and see y'all at the top.
Jobs/Vacancies / Graduates For Gse by jchuckc(m): 11:13am On Nov 10, 2008
I was really worried when I saw so many negative posts about the GSE, so I decided to start a positive one. The GSE is a noble idea that if supported and executed properly will save people time and money, people should be more concerned about giving credible suggestions to make sure it works out. I would like to say that the exam itself is done by a UK based company, GSE just subscribed to the company, which answers the question of whether or not it is internationally recognized, most of the people that are complaining most likely wrote the GSE exam and had very low scores, which invariably means they are not assured that they would pass individually organized tests, I think they shld study more instead of whinning and complaining. People shld talk more about a possible reduction in prices and an increase in response from companies instead of being sentimental and always opposing change, take Obama as an example. What about the PTDF scholarships that we are being asked to pay money for? no body wants to talk about that abi, I didnt realize application for scholarships is a money making venture, if u want to talk about somethimg the talk about that,
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Graduates Against Dragnet GSE by jchuckc(m): 11:35am On Nov 07, 2008
B4 u guys crucify the Dragnet organisers, what abt the federal government collecting money for PTDF scratch cards, I think the GSE idea is noble, although the execution might be a little below expectation. People always oppose change anyway, so I'm not surprised abt peoples responses.
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: The Authenticity Of Dragnet And Gse Recruitment Agencies! by jchuckc(m): 4:53pm On Sep 29, 2008
jst take it easy, i wrote mine at the end of may n had an interview thru them in july. it takes time jst doesnt happen like magic. jst be patient, infact were some guys that wrote theirs in january n got interviewed in july.
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Graduate Standardization Examination (gse)! by jchuckc(m): 10:22am On Sep 03, 2008
well the idea is the better u perform, the better ur chances, so if 10,000 people write, and there are only 30 people needed, then the best 30 are taken based on performance in the test n the employers criteria 4 the particular postion. is it every body that passes jamb that gets admitted? dnt universities too have quotas. The concept of GSE shld be aplauded n supported even if the execution is a bit rusty.open ur minds,
Education / Re: GRE EXam Please Help by jchuckc(m): 4:14pm On Aug 26, 2008
HI i mean GRE not GSE thanks, so far, but pls anybody with any info that mite be helpful shld holler, thanks again u guys r the greatest
Education / GRE EXam Please Help by jchuckc(m): 11:02am On Aug 25, 2008
Hi pease could anyone out there be kind enuf to send me info on how to register for GRE just got 2 lagos I'm really desperate, time is running out n i dnt know how 2 go abt it, thanks email. jchuckc@yahoo.co.uk thanks again
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Graduate Standardization Examination (gse)! by jchuckc(m): 7:05pm On Aug 01, 2008
u guys r being myopic try 2 see the bigger picture
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Dragent! Is It No Response Or Just Slow Response by jchuckc(m): 4:58pm On Jun 20, 2008
got 75% n havnt been called
Jobs/Vacancies / Dragent! Is It No Response Or Just Slow Response by jchuckc(m): 4:43pm On Jun 19, 2008
I wrote the dragnet test 2wks back n scored really high, applied for the jobs but havnt been called for anything, is it just me or has someone else gotten lucky.
Jobs/Vacancies / Globacom Recruitment 4 Management Trainees by jchuckc(m): 1:15pm On May 13, 2008
glo is currently recruiting fresh graduates, check www.careersnigeria.com for details
Jobs/Vacancies / Globacom Recruitment 4 Management Trainees by jchuckc(m): 1:13pm On May 13, 2008
glo is currently recruiting fresh graduates, check www.careersnigeria.com for details
Jobs/Vacancies / Globacom Recruitment 4 Management Trainees by jchuckc(m): 1:12pm On May 13, 2008
Jobs/Vacancies / Globacom Recruitment 4 Management Trainees by jchuckc(m): 1:05pm On May 13, 2008
Jobs/Vacancies / Dragnet? How Far by jchuckc(m): 5:35pm On May 07, 2008
Has anyone one found out if this whole dragnet stuff is for real? just cos people are desperate it doesnt mean they should put up with everything and anything dished out at them. If they have to request payment, let them do it after the job has been secured, n i wont mind paying them double the amount.
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: If You Are Interested, Send Ur: by jchuckc(m): 10:23am On Apr 03, 2008
thnks a million my emial is jchuckc@yahoo.co.uk. stay blessed
Education / Re: ATBU Graduates by jchuckc(m): 4:59pm On Mar 25, 2008
great balewites, u guys re making us proud, carved from stone tempered in the hearth n all that. lets try helpin one another mo, we've come thru long bumpy roads. cheers Joseph (Chuksy) Chemical Eng'g 2006

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 70