Stats: 3,176,805 members, 7,898,932 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 July 2024 at 10:28 PM

A2J's Posts

Nairaland Forum / A2J's Profile / A2J's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (of 17 pages)

Webmasters / 25 More Reasons You Might Be A Hardcore Graphic/web Designer by A2J(m): 12:51am On May 10, 2008
[center]25 MORE Reasons You Might Be A Hardcore Graphic/Web Designer[/center]

You’ve had a client that thought they knew more about design than you.

Your clients pay you for your professional expertise and skill, yet you’ve run into one of ‘those’ clients, that refuses to take the advice from the very person he/she is paying for advice (you).

You’ve had a client that insisted on using the font “Papyrus,” and you had to hold in your barf as you prepped it [the design] for printing.

You’ve requested a vector logo from a client, and instead, they email you a 72 dpi image they grabbed from a website.

You’ve used typography as a texture.

You don’t have a favorite font because you love “Typography.” Not Fonts. Choosing a favorite font would be like choosing a favorite child, it’s just wrong.

You collect as many free stuffs from the interwebs as you can on your hard drive, hoping that one day, that cool project will come along that you can actually use some cool shit on.

You’d rather have a free font than a free gallon of gas.

It’s hard to talk about frustrations at your job with a group of friends because they have no idea what “Vector” or “DPI” is, just to name a couple.

You’ve had a client ask you to “Make the logo bigger.”

You’ve had a client that insists on “filling up the space.”

You’ve learned to over-price web design projects because most clients are more picky about their websites than a high school girl picking out a prom dress.

You feel like you’re “On Call” half of the time because clients procrastinate so much.

You know keyboard shortcuts that require 4 fingers.

You’ve lost hours of work because an application crashed, and you had to start over from scratch because you were in the “zone” and forgot to save. Basically, you were having so much fun being creative that saving was the last thing on your mind at the time.

You’ve “Live-Traced” something.

You spend more hours per week looking at CSS showcase sites than you do at the gym.

The only thing that would make you happier than the demise of IE6 is world peace.

You’ve done everything but give up a body part to talk a client out of a “Flash Intro.” Yeah. I said it. Flash Intro. Sad, so so sad. (goes along with #2)

You have enough fonts on your hard drive to last you for: 1 font per day for about a decade, give or take a year or two.

You know, explicitly, what a “Flourish” is.

You worry about negative space as much as the content area.

You get phone calls from friends and family members on a regular, sometimes annoyingly-frequent basis, wanting your services for free or extremely cheap. (and the “portfolio” line makes you want to throw something across the room)

You’ve had a client that wants a website they can “update” on their own, but doesn’t know shit about websites.

You’re never more than 99% happy with your final product because you believe that EVERYTHING can be improved upon. (especially with those tight-deadline projects)
Webmasters / Re: I Just Created A New Nigerian Website, What Do You Think? by A2J(m): 12:40am On May 10, 2008
nice, such looking forward to learning drupal
Webmasters / 25 Reasons You Might Be A Hardcore Graphic/web Designer by A2J(m): 12:20am On May 10, 2008
It’s that time again. I thought I’d let you peer into my head for a post, so I sat down with a notepad, a pen and a 12 pack of Bud Light. After some deep thought, I came up with this list of signs that you might be a hardcore designer. A lot of these signs can overlap other professions too. From my experience, the following list contains mostly truths, mixed in with a little humor.

25 Reasons You Might Be A Hardcore Graphic/Web Designer

(In no particular order)

1. You’ve almost rear-ended the car in front of you because you were analyzing a font on a billboard.

2. You get pissed when a free Photoshop brush you download is less than 1000px in size.

3. You’d rather study the paisley pattern on your boyfriend/girlfriend’s shirt than listen to what he/she has to say.

4. You can use keyboard shortcuts at light speed, blindfolded, but you can’t type a paragraph of text without staring at the keyboard.

5. You’ve had “Software Nightmares,” when you’ve been working way too much.

6. You consider meals interruptions.

7. You’ve learned your lesson and stopped using the word “final” in any file name when saving.

8. You clean your keyboard more often than you wash your car.

9. You’ve intentionally given up trying to explain your projects to non-designers.

10. You see CMYK and RGB like Neo sees the Matrix.

11. You’d rather organize your desktop than your sock drawer.

12. When you heard that Adobe was acquiring Macromedia, you had a Design Orgasm.

13. When you look at Album art all you see are grunge Photoshop Brushes. (Then you see the album art a couple minutes later)

14. You’ve Photoshopped out a watermark for a comp or mock-up.

15. You’ve actually $paid for a font.

16. You’ve totally slaughtered a great design concept because the client thinks he/she knows best. (everyone thinks they are a designer)

17. The amount of words you’ve written with a sharpie labeling burned discs total more than the amount of words you’ve read in novels.

18. You’ve had to explain to a client that a layered file wasn’t part of the deal.

19. You’ve kept a ragged concert ticket just so you could scan it.

20. You’ve nicknamed the OSX spinning wheel. (and not affectionately)

21. You bookmark a resource more often than you have a fun night out on the town.

22. You’ve intentionally overbid a project because you can sniff out a bad client from a mile away.

23. You can’t go to a restaurant without secretly critiquing the menu design.

24. You have an amazingly huge font collection, and an amazingly short temper.

25. If you had a penny for every mouse click, you would have been a trillionaire 3 years ago.

OTHER REASONS TO BE POSTED LATER ON
Education / Re: Waec Nov/dec Exam Online Registration [get Some Update Here] by A2J(m): 6:15am On May 01, 2008
Which banks can i buy the nov/dec GCE form, am in lagos? Isolo area
Webmasters / Us Man Sells Domain Name Pizza.com For $2.6m by A2J(m): 4:34am On Apr 05, 2008
The full story can be viewed here:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/7331042.stm
Art, Graphics & Video / Re: Photoshop Class by A2J(m): 10:13pm On Apr 04, 2008
ztyle:

Nice Work, you seem to be good @ Dreamnweaver & Photoshop! wink

Thanks but am completely new to both dreamweaver and photoshop, hope i get to the status of genius someday grin
Art, Graphics & Video / Re: Learning Animation The Easy Way! by A2J(m): 6:35pm On Apr 02, 2008
how can we contact you yemo90, how can i get in touch with you, i really need those ebooks pls
Web Market / Re: Free Domain And Hosting With Nairahost (March 2008) by A2J(m): 2:47am On Apr 02, 2008
kazey:

This has been another great month, and on behalf of Nairahost Nigeria, We would like to thank you all, for your interest in our services.

The winner of the March free hosting is:
1. Dayo Akinkuowo

Congratulation. You would be contacted personally via email. We do hope you would enjoy your time with Nairahost Nigeria.

As we all congratulate the winner of this month, we would like to remind others that we still have nine more positions available. As the months unfold, your chance of winning increases. So, if you did not win this month, you still have the chance to win in the coming months. Do remember that no resubmission is required, if you have already submitted before.

Thank you all once again for joining our monthly free hosting competition.

I NEVER RECEIVE ANY EMAIL, CAN YOU KINDLY RESEND IT,

THANKS
Certification And Training Adverts / Re: Oracle Materials Needed! by A2J(m): 4:49am On Mar 29, 2008
you can apply for a free copy of the oracle magazine www.oracle.com/oraclemagazine
Art, Graphics & Video / Re: Photoshop Class by A2J(m): 4:34am On Mar 29, 2008
the dreamweaver portable and photoshop not working for me, i don't know why, check out my work here and let me know what u think

http://dbstudio.110mb.com/cles/

and below is the design you taught me,

Art, Graphics & Video / Re: Mentor Needed by A2J(m): 4:33am On Mar 29, 2008
Rodent:

Howdy,
What is your current skill level?
Have you been able to pick up or learn any skills on your own?
Do you have a current portfolio that gives an indication of your capabilities?

well, i have been moving up with photoshop but will love to have a mentor to help,advise and guide me, am just working on a website for ma department and i did little graphics with photoshop,

http://dbstudio.110mb.com/cles/

let me know what you think
Art, Graphics & Video / Re: Learning Animation The Easy Way! by A2J(m): 4:21am On Mar 29, 2008
my email address is dayo_a2j@hotmail.com i will be expecting them, thanks
Certification And Training Adverts / Re: World Class Ict Training At Price Bottom Prices by A2J(m): 5:59am On Mar 13, 2008
what is the price?
Art, Graphics & Video / Re: Photoshop Class by A2J(m): 5:51am On Mar 13, 2008
you too much baba me, good luck m8
Art, Graphics & Video / Re: Photoshop Class by A2J(m): 6:04am On Mar 11, 2008
There is a website i visit today but cant remember the url again, but they kind of make one pictures to show after another,like a automated picture galllery. How did they do that in photoshop coz they didnt use flash.
Art, Graphics & Video / Re: Photoshop Class by A2J(m): 5:56am On Mar 07, 2008
i dont understand what you want me to uninstall it via control panel? i use solo antivirus

The Dreamweaver portable dont seems to work for me yesterday when i download and extract me, i click the dreamweaver.exe and it extract to other folder and when i click the new extracted .exe nothing happen, what might be wrong?

photoshop coming in and out lately as am designing my first every website for my church department. wanna see what i design so far?
Webmasters / Re: Website Review Pls by A2J(m): 5:46am On Mar 07, 2008
thanks guys for the comments, i truely appreciate them and i have take note of all

@my2cents

1.would you give me a link to the google calendar so i can use it?

2. yeah, the link <!-- #BeginDate format:Am1 -->March 8, 2008<!-- #EndDate --> is what is generated when i use dreamweaver 8 insert date option but it doesnt really do what i intend which is to change the time to the clients computer time every time they visit but it just changes to my own last updated time, you have any remedy for this?

3. I source the picture from other canaanland websites and the L shape came with the picture.

@a--point

Thanks but am not yet to deloy the website, i will check for every spelling errors when due.

@webdezzi

Thanks for the comment too, am really new to dreamweaver 8 and photoshop cs2,so i dont know how to do the drop down stuff yet, maybe i will ask my photoshop mentor on nairaland to help me out with that.

I really appreciate you guys comments, but do you think this website is okay enough to serve as a portfolio for my web design business?
Art, Graphics & Video / Re: Photoshop Class by A2J(m): 4:45am On Mar 06, 2008
guy you too much jo, i dey feel you, i just hope i will still be able to download them as i have to reform my laptop as its giving me problem too much virus.

can i have your phone number and email guy, we need to be real pally o or what you think? i got a lot to learn from you men
Webmasters / Website Review Pls by A2J(m): 4:40am On Mar 06, 2008
this is my first ever website design and i want it to be good for my church department.

Please kindly tell me what i did wrong,what to do to improve it and more ideas, i will really appreciate it.

http://dbstudio.110mb.com/cles/index.html

http://dbstudio.110mb.com/cles/contact.html

let me know what you guys think

thanks guys,
Webmasters / Re: I Want To Insert Calendar On A Website by A2J(m): 2:36am On Mar 06, 2008
my email is dayo_a2j@hotmail.com

am waiting friend, thanks
Art, Graphics & Video / Re: Photoshop Class by A2J(m): 6:08am On Mar 04, 2008
i will be downloading that tomorrow as my laptop is faulty now but is there dreamweaver cs3 portable also,if yes, can you upload it for me too pls
Webmasters / Re: I Want To Insert Calendar On A Website by A2J(m): 6:04am On Mar 04, 2008
hmmm, that google stuff is too big and too complex, though i could get a easy calendar
Webmasters / I Want To Insert Calendar On A Website by A2J(m): 6:32am On Mar 02, 2008
I need to include a calender on a website, something like "calender of events",if you understand what i mean.

anyone got what i got to do, any script i may use? or how i go about it
Art, Graphics & Video / Re: Photoshop Class by A2J(m): 4:45am On Mar 02, 2008
Yeah,thanks bro, i have done the design perfectly but can you tell how to folder the edges like in that website i gave you?

WHERE DID YOU GET YOUR PHOTOSHOP CS3, IS IT DVD OR CD?
Webmasters / Re: What's Your "killer App"? by A2J(m): 2:36am On Mar 02, 2008
though am new into the graphics and web development stuff, i love dreamweaver,photoshop,flash and php,loves open-source the more
Webmasters / Re: Website Review, Anyone? by A2J(m): 4:12am On Feb 26, 2008
I just wonder why the company's logo is at the extreme right hand side - which you have to scroll to the right b4 you see it - than at the left hand side which i believe almost all websites have their logos placed.
Web Market / Re: Free Domain And Hosting With Nairahost (March 2008) by A2J(m): 3:23am On Feb 26, 2008
thanks man, i deeply need this, hope i win
Art, Graphics & Video / Re: Photoshop Class by A2J(m): 1:56am On Feb 24, 2008
Thanks, I will try out the tutorial on an image tomorrow and post my finish work here.

thanks once again
Webmasters / Re: Website Review by A2J(m): 4:46am On Feb 22, 2008
Please dont tell me you charge someone for this website, am sure you just quickly design this website for the author "free" right?
Webmasters / Re: How Much Can I Charge? by A2J(m): 4:41am On Feb 22, 2008
Thanks guys for the comments though was expecting much comment.

I will keep to your advice and try my best to do a great job for them.
Webmasters / Re: Anyone Uses Templates Here? by A2J(m): 4:32am On Feb 22, 2008
@my2cents,

Thanks, you have always been understanding, you are really a blessing to nairaland. God blessing to you my man.

@uspry1

Thanks to you too, i will try your tips now and see if i got something
Fashion / Re: U Just Av To Read This by A2J(m): 4:55am On Feb 21, 2008
trendy:

me 2

why are you two sounding like you have nothing to do with Okirika, the guy asked a question, read and leave the topic if you not interested rather than trying to say you havent touch or wear one b4.

ah ba angry

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (of 17 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 57