Stats: 3,197,510 members, 7,965,029 topics. Date: Thursday, 03 October 2024 at 07:12 AM

Maureen4sure's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Maureen4sure's Profile / Maureen4sure's Posts

(1) (of 1 pages)

Travel / Re: UK Car Insurance No Claims Discount by Maureen4sure: 7:57pm On Jan 08
Kindly check your email.
EmekaMD:
i have responded to your email request. Best regards
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 2:14pm On Jan 08
Don't stress yourself, a link will be sent to you to complete the IHS payment in next fee days, same happent to one of my dependant.
Gift7428:
Can anyone help with why my dependent wasn’t charged for IHS?
Is there anything I need to do?
Will it delay the application?

Travel / Re: UK Car Insurance No Claims Discount by Maureen4sure: 10:54pm On Jan 07
Hi, i sent you a Pm kindly reply.
Thanks.
EmekaMD:
Nigerians in Uk or any other European country.

how do you produce proof of car insurance no claims discount from Nigeria when you use your Nigerian international drivers license to apply for car insurance in the Uk.

Any intels?

you can choose to send dm if you don't wanna spill it all out here
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 11:33am On Jan 06
Many Thanks, i will talk to my insurance this coming week.
elengine:

My insurance is with marshmallow as well and it is almost a year now. I have a 4-year no claim discount with them. What I did was to request mutual benefit insurance in nigeria to give me a letter of no claim from them and I uploaded it. After like 3 working days, marshmallow came back to say that they ve accepted my NCD. I guess they validated it. You can do same as long as you left your former insurer on a good note.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 9:45am On Jan 06
But i heard alot of new 9ja drivers here in the UK just Upload the third party insurance papers from Nigeria and its accepted.
Tenski:

😂😂😂😂
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 9:07am On Jan 06
Tenski:

Thanks, i will talk to my insurance back in Nigeria but all the same as you have suggested renogiating a deal might just be a way out.

Try get the proof but if you can’t, just renegotiate. My opinion though

My Insurance asked me for a no claim proof here in the UK, anything outside UK isn’t accepted by them and I’ve already signed a contract with them before they told me that. I just called their customer support and explained to the guy that as at when i was looking for quotes at Confused.com, it wasn’t indicated that it must be a UK no claim bonus only. I just renegotiated the deal and they added £50 on top the £1080 they charged before with their service fee. That’s the easier route for me because i and my previous Insurance in the Country i used to live, parted ways on a bad note. I no fit dare call their number for anything.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 1:03am On Jan 06
Hi everyone,
I just registered with Mashmallow Insurance with my UK provisional driver's license.

I indicated that I had driven for 13 years while back in Nigeria and made no claims before coming to the UK.

Now the vehicle insurance is requesting a "proof of your no-claims discount." How do I go about this?

Your kind advice is needed.

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 11:47pm On Nov 10, 2023
Sortation Operative

Join our team as a Sortation Operative in Bathgate!
At Amazon, we understand that work doesn’t stop on the job.

That’s why we have warehouse jobs that work for you.

Bathgate, EH48 2FB, UK

Roles and shifts
Currently hiring at DEH1 and SEH1

Contract: Temporary Role

Salary
£11.80 per hour for day time shifts.
£13.56 (£1.76 Night Shift Allowance) per hour for night time shifts.
£17.70 Overtime (40-50 hours)
£23.60 Overtime (50-60 hours)

DEH1 Morning Shift: 06:00 -12:30 (6.5h shifts)
Afternoon Shift: 13:30 - 20:00 (6.5h shifts)
Evening Shift: 23:45 - 10:15 (10h shifts)

SEH1 Variable Night Shift - 20:30 - 05:00

Fixed plus Flex Shift:
Sun - Tue - 2030 - 0500 with 1 day flex (32hrs per week)
Tue - Thu - 2030 - 0500 with 1 day flex (32hrs per week)
Thu - Sat - 2030 - 0500 with 1 day flex (32hrs per week)

https://hvr-amazon.my.site.com/BBJobDetails?reqid=a0R4U00000LR1nHUAT&setlang=en_GB&isApply=1&cmpid=JBMOEU5364H8
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 11:39pm On Nov 10, 2023
If you reside in Edinburgh and need a gig for the festive period, you can check this out.

Postal Mail Sorter (Nights)
Pertemps Network Group
Newbridge
£14.81 an hour - Temporary contract

Location – Ingliston & Hermiston Gate

Ingliston - Royal Highland Centre, Ingliston Road, Ingliston, Newbridge, Midlothian EH28 8NB
Hermiston Gate - 11 Cutlins Road, EDINBURGH EH11 4YY
Hours – Shifts between 21:00 pm -06:30 am . Monday to Friday, 22:30 pm - 06:30 am or Monday to Friday, 21:00 pm - 06:00 am.

Pay rate - £14.81 per hour.

Start Dates – 13/11/2023, 20/11/2023 & 27/11/2023.

Temporary role until Mid-End December.

https://uk.indeed.com/viewjob?jk=dc04fc9d262d6398&tk=1hesvo0n5par5809&from=jobi2a%2CiaBackPress&advn=3983993977239461&adid=422069068&ad=-6NYlbfkN0CLuAwPaoIt680o54g2Q5hMkb20N0jlhjz7VswgT-ZrXW6G-lzwC6oj-HjMePpjMYSsY40YBx4junlDpcKGPAVzOuqUlgPKQt8vZKfHj3DR9WnEWUN73VYNFrh-X30f_8eV-SCOriJoomTpbK-N1a_K4W_HnGq726S8GyEiI0MxjorrB8nsN1IhJeb3OnrIOQloGaIrH0QctpBYg2SZ6Be3aivrgpXToz1lHy443ChjK4cg0hw_LPkoXO8KIa3IXNbCJSlbqibXPsumTHTQteUrN85kGZIy4QveBbdnQ2a0o8FtcMkUvmyOK_b7SW9KDEmFsNaQRcox5XqY7xy0lUM6Vi7C7qcUvjwU1eDTGZ5UHVYY0-xRMfEBi6nc7YqS3UjH_Q1rC7Ub4B2jletI1Tb2P7PxRa_TNkEHoMyARJg-o_D3823U5yT8CKun1a3SZWu6CTkbIkEUnGUa1sB0ZZWQqjTtpTtPebc4o5_i_pDtJo26LtyppZqnyJoIBQF4uXkqKnCZPThpVaRaHXH25Vzd&pub=21d85ca573e478f5e659e48885c828920cace3277f6b99df&i2af=jobi2a_sysar_pd0_email&xkcb=SoAt-_M3Idi6us2zDB0JbzkdCdPP&xpse=SoDC6_I3Idi6us2zDB0IbzkdCdPP
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 11:38pm On Nov 09, 2023
Thank You.
Thewritingnerd:
Congratulations!
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 12:30am On Nov 07, 2023
No, I'm a January 2022 intake; my visa expired in October 2023.

lavida001:

Are you september intake?
if yes why the hurry for PSW?

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 12:23am On Nov 07, 2023
@Schoolhike

Schoolhike:

Hmn, same thing happened to me, the care home I worked for refused me visa 2 months to the expiration of my visa, psw wasn’t very sure then due coursework that was resubmitted(committed to working for the care home because we aren’t sure of the psw), permission to apply for psw was approved by the school 2 weeks to visa expiration, went to apply for visa immediately, was a long story.

Happy that it did not workout with the care home, then got a job with a private firm 2nd month after psw came through.

I pray your disappointment becomes a blessing for you guys also soon.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 11:34pm On Nov 06, 2023
@bigtt76

Many Thanks.

bigtt76:
Congratulations, glad you were able to scale through your issues.

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 4:39pm On Nov 06, 2023
@semmyk

This is a shout-out to you again. Without your help, I'm not sure this would have been possible.

My family graduate visa was approved by the home office today. This couldn't have been possible without your help when all hope was lost.

Even when the care home I have been working with for a year as a relief worker disappointed me and said they could not give me COS.

Well, this same company is ready to offer me COS now that they know I had applied for a graduate visa. (gist for another day}

Just to input this,this goes out to large families applying for a graduate visa like mine (family of 5); it cost us £10,350.

Visa fees: £822, IHS for 2 years: £1,248 .

Please do everything possible to look for that money. If you apply with your partner without the children, your application will be put on hold until you send in the children's application.

I wish everyone all the best.

9 Likes 3 Shares

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 2:09pm On Oct 28, 2023
@Mindlog

Thank you so much. My joy knows no bounds.
I was also awarded a postgraduate diploma award in June, but I rejected it. I did not graduate with my cohort in July.
I had faith and kept pushing until my appeal was granted by the school to resubmit, and I passed my outstanding
I was given a new MSc award and had my graduation two days ago.

Mindlog:

Congratulations as I can imagine your joy!

I know someone who had similar issue, she was awarded a postgraduate diploma in February because she didn't meet up with the academic requirements to be awarded a Msc. She submitted medical reports, involved the student advice, course leader, the school mental wellness team and the pastoral counsellor......the school granted her another opportunity to resubmit what was outstanding in early May and by first week of June, the result was out and awarded a Msc.....graduated in July.

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 1:51pm On Oct 28, 2023
@Santa2, you are always kind with your words.

Santa2:

Kind of News we like to hear. Welldone Maureen! Give yourself a pat in the back for your perseverance. May all good things come to you
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) by Maureen4sure: 11:16pm On Oct 27, 2023
@semmyk, @Santa2,

I had my graduation yesterday, and it was eventful. I would like to thank you personally, @semmyk, for making this happen.

When all hope was lost,you came through with your advice and the right step to take.

I'm sure you still remember my situation vividly,when I failed my modules and the school was going to award me a postgraduate diploma instead of an MSc.

I followed your advice and wrote to the vice chancellor of my school regarding my predicament and why I failed. Her office swung into action, and I was given the last chance 'Extenuating Circumstances’ .

I was asked to resubmit the failed module, and I passed.

Yesterday, I was awarded a Master of Science.

@semmyk, I prayed God would come through for you in whatever challenges you are going through, just like you came through for me. It will all come good soon.

My appreciation also goes to @Santa2 for your advice and kind words.

Thank you again and again.

59 Likes 3 Shares

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Maureen4sure: 10:45pm On Apr 01, 2023
@rayralph, Much appreciated.

rayralph:

apply - https://passportintl.immigration.gov.ng/

Fill all information.

Continue

It will take you to innovate (payment platform) for payment.

Back to immigration website - Book appointment.

Buy postal order.

Appointment

Expect passport.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Maureen4sure: 9:25pm On Apr 01, 2023
Hello everyone.

Abeg, can someone please share step by step of passport renewal in the UK.

its urgent, 

Thanks.
Travel / Re: Cost Of A Nigeria International Passport by Maureen4sure: 7:37pm On Apr 01, 2023
Good day, everyone!

Please, it’s very urgent. One of my child's international passports has expired.

Do I need to renew it before applying for a PSW (graduate visa) or Tier 2 visa, or is only the current BRP needed?

I’m currently in the UK.

Please be kind enough to help with this information.

Also please can someone please share the link of renewal of passport if in the UK .

Thank You
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Maureen4sure: 1:11pm On Apr 01, 2023
@Santa2 , what about people above 40yrs cant we open Lisa account..

Santa2:

@vintagee You can actually open the account this very minute with just £1. You dont have to wait till you get the full £4000 to open the account. Open the account, what ever amount you have you put in it. Minimum amount to open is £1. So long as you are below 40 before you open the account then you are fine, even if its just a day before.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Maureen4sure: 12:32pm On Apr 01, 2023
Good day, everyone!

Please, it’s very urgent. One of my child's international passports has expired.

Do I need to renew it before applying for a PSW (graduate visa) or Tier 2 visa, or is only the current BRP needed?

I’m currently in the UK.

Please be kind enough to help with this information.

Also please can someone please share the link of renewal of passport if in the UK .

Thank You
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Maureen4sure: 12:02am On Mar 26, 2023
@semmyk,  Thank you, and God bless.

The VC office has given positive feedback, but you know it's a process.

I'm hoping for the best.

Thank you for taking time out to study my situation and give me some positive options.

Our very own encyclopedia

semmyk:
Great. You've escalated to the VC office.
Trust you also copied the International office, registrar in.
Someone mention Twitter, kindly do that as well.

Below are from your university. PS: I only researched. I don't have firsthand experience of ENU.
See link here and pic for extract.
Apparently, 2nd attempt at Napier is considered ‘Extenuating Circumstances’ , which has its own (Linksmiley procedure
In the circumstances, perhaps you might explore
- Apply for Retrospective Extenuating Circumstances
- Apply for Exceptional Extenuating Circumstances
Kindly pay attention to your university's Regulation A7 (noting A7.10 & A7.11) read with A4.1b and A4.1

Regarding PGDip as opposed to MSc, my understanding of how university works, is that, indeed, you can 'exit' with a 'lesser' degree award. By its nature, PGDip does not require you to fulfill the 'thesis/dissertation' requirement. Kindly, reaffirm if you must submit thesis/dissertation for PGDip.
In actual fact, what's common is for student to complete coursework and opt to exit with PGDip, instead of the MSc; by simply excluding themselves from the thesis/dissertation/project.
For your university, kindly take note of Regulation A4.1[/b]a), b), [b]c) or f) which enables Napier to conferred PGDip as Aegrotat award (unclassified) to you. Read A11.11 and A4.8 (perhaps with A11.12) alongside A4.1c
PS: the Scottish NQF is similar but different from England.

[Disclaimer: I'm not exactly sure how this work]. You may want to explore doing the one outstanding course through Open University.

#peace #AyoNio

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Maureen4sure: 10:29pm On Mar 17, 2023
@Santa2, Many Thanks..

Santa2:

I understand you might be emotional with the situation at hand and we as humans tend to lash out when under pressure. But I would advise to keep a cool head and please lets not resort to name calling. I empathise with you and believe strongly that you would get a solution to your issue shortly. Keep faith.
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Maureen4sure: 8:25pm On Mar 17, 2023
When I mention resit/re-assesment  about my school,some people here think I am lying about it.

Most of the schools are becoming something else. They don't care how much you pay, they do what they like these days.

It is well.

yolkman20:

till July boss and they said it will be done online. So we can go back to home country 😭
Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Maureen4sure: 7:35pm On Mar 17, 2023
@hustla From your comment, I can see you are still a boy.

You, who still dey look for money from your 20-hour job to bring your dependant from Isale EKO, you dey open your mouth dey talk to me.

I don't blame you, I blame the faceless forum.

As for ancestor, @Lexus430, I'm sorry for mentioning your name, and truthfully, you don't owe me anything but again miracle no dey tire Jesus.

@yolkman20, I pray God will step quickly into your situation and provide that COS. I can understand the situation you are in right now, and it will come good.

Please, if you are not going to provide a solution or give reasonable and constructive advice, just pass, because you don't know what others are going through and you are not in their shoes.

Peace.

hustla:

Actually, Lexus or anyone else doesn't owe anyone, include me sh*t and doesn't have to do more

He can decide to log off forever if he wants to and he still won't owe you sh*t
People on this thread contribute out of the goodness of their hearts, so dead the entitlement

You're asking him to do more when he isn't being paid? Very funny person cheesy

Hopefully you get to resolve the issue at hand.

All the best smiley

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Maureen4sure: 12:59pm On Mar 17, 2023
Thank you for your suggestions and advice. @Contra5, I have since emailed the vice chancellor regarding my situation.

Before coming to this forum to ask for suggestions and contributions, please don't always think people have not done their best and look for every available option.

My school is Edinburgh Napier University, and yes, students can retake a module twice within a three-month grace period.

I will like to let everyone know that I am not the only person having this issue; in fact, I have three other Nigerian coursemates with the same issue.

Two of them have since abandoned school and moved to England on COS when the issue could not be resolved last trimester. My course is a 16-month course.

My school is notorious for locking your school app if you fail your school fee repayment plan; even if you miss just one month, your school app will be locked Until they receive your payment.

I'm sure there are a lot of Napier students here on Nairaland that can testify to that.

So imagine a scenario where your payment was delayed by Form A for 3 months before the school received your payments, and within these 3 months you were given the option for resit/re-assesment for a failed module.

The school finance team is very much aware of the situation of Form A in Nigeria; they just don't care. In fact, you get reported to the UKVI in the second month of your failed repayment plan.

A lot of Nigerian students here in the UK are going through a lot: some accommodation challenges, some financial challenges ( not getting a job), and some academic challenges.

Many people, including myself, had no idea what challenges awaited us until we arrived.

We need to do a lot to support each other, particularly in this forum, when it comes to contributions, advice, and suggestions. Everything should not be all about IPTV and the Amex card of your popular dokita @Lexusgs430.

Yes, I made mention of @Lexusgs430 because he has been in this country for over 20 years, he has seen it all, and he needs to do a lot more.

Thank you for your time.

Peace.

Contra5:
Hi Maureen, a lot of things don't add up here. Which university do you attend? Students have rights! It doesn't matter whether you are international or local.

You need to search your uni's policies and regulations regarding resit. You don't start fighting with emotions but written rules. First off, was the finance team informed of your pending form A? Most uni just need to be aware of what's happening - they wouldn't shut your account unnecessarily.

I find it hard to believe that you will asked to submit a dissertation for PgDip! I think you can still change the situation If your visa won't expire until October. Usually Students can resit a module twice depending on the school's policy.

Check the policies, if its different from what this unhepful module leader has said - craft a letter to your VC, head of department quoting the policies and add all comms to the Nigerian bank that delayed your form A, tell them you are more than happy to write the exam within an hour If given the chance and at the end sprinkle all the emotional turmoil it has caused. Let them know, not getting that full degree is a big fail to your kids and family.

Lastly, go on Twitter and copy the school handle with all the proofs if that didn't work out and you know this is truly not your fault (sorry its difficult to see it from your post). All the best.

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Maureen4sure: 11:01pm On Mar 14, 2023
Thank you, guys, for all your contributions and suggestions, which have all been taken into consideration.

I did speak to my module leader again today, and I even went as far as calling in the student union president, but nothing was done.

But please allow me to ask, since I will be submitting my dissertation in April,can I start working full time immediately after the submission?

Our BRP does not expire until October 2023.

I'm still working part time, 20 hours a week, but only my husband works full time, so I can join him full time, and we can both join resource together.

In case we will be going the way of PLAN B that everyone has suggested (my husband going for postgraduate too),

On the other hand, we will be applying and searching for COS aggressively, and I pray that God comes through for us soon.

More suggestions and contributions are still welcome.

17 Likes

Travel / Re: Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 2) by Maureen4sure: 3:15pm On Mar 14, 2023
My dear fellow Nairalander,

Greetings to everyone.

My name is Maureen.

This is my story; please, I need every little advice and suggestion.

I've been in the UK since January of last year on a student visa.

To get straight to the point, I failed one of my modules and also failed to resit, all not due to my fault.

My school app was locked due to a school fee delay from Form A; it took over 3 months before school accounts were created, and the resit was scheduled within the period school app was locked, which makes me miss the rest.

I talked to my module leader, and he said there was nothing he could do since I missed the resit. I went for an appeal, and they also said there was nothing that could be done.

I received a shocker two days ago, I received an email from the school visa and immigration department saying,

"Our records show that you are out of academic opportunities for one of your modules, and this therefore means you may not graduate with your full award and instead, upon successful completion of your remaining modules, you would be awarded a lower-level qualification than that which you were originally expected to achieve, You should note that in this event, this would mean that you are likely to be ineligible to apply for the Graduate Route Visa if you wished to do so. ''

I also received an email this morning from my module leader saying that I will be awarded a postgraduate diploma instead of a master's degree.

I have cried and cried my eyes out, I know I have disappointed my husband, who works tirelessly every day and night. He works in a warehouse and also as a security guard. For me to be able to get to this stage of my life,he has been there for me every day.

He has been down with this news for the last few days.

I will be submitting my dissertation by April, so I will be officially finished with school.

Please, where do I go from here?

I am a caregiver, and I have been for a year now. Getting COS from most care homes as a student has not been easy.

Hopefully, after submitting my dissertation, I can get a care home that can sponsor me.

It seems that's the only way out for me and my family now.

Please, house, I will need any other suggestions.

Thank you for your contributions.

(1) (of 1 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 88