Stats: 3,168,957 members, 7,873,076 topics. Date: Thursday, 27 June 2024 at 07:44 AM

General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries - Travel (67) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries (548245 Views)

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 7 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 6 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (64) (65) (66) (67) (68) (69) (70) ... (317) (Go Down)

Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by sparta1: 3:00pm On Apr 17, 2010
tuition is only $5,400 per year.check it out

https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-431915.0.html
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by sparta1: 3:01pm On Apr 17, 2010
Remember it is a UNIVERSITY not a community college
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by justwise(m): 3:01pm On Apr 17, 2010
sparta 1:

Which university is that?
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by justwise(m): 3:02pm On Apr 17, 2010
sparta 1:

Remember it is a UNIVERSITY not a community college

Name the university then
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by sparta1: 3:02pm On Apr 17, 2010
all international students pay in-state-tuition
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by justwise(m): 3:03pm On Apr 17, 2010
sparta 1:

Name that university
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by sparta1: 3:04pm On Apr 17, 2010
To be qualified,you just have to be an international student only.
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by justwise(m): 3:05pm On Apr 17, 2010
sparta 1:

To be qualified,you just have to be an international student only.

Qualify to study in which university?
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by oyewolejos(m): 3:20pm On Apr 17, 2010
Superbrain:

If he has good WAEC results, let him start preparing for the SAT and TOEFL tests. Search for a good community college or university in the US that offer scholarships to international students. There are a few schools that could give him a scholarship with a good SAT score. But if he does not perform well in those standardized tests, then he had better stay back in naija and get his first degree. A lizard in Nigeria can not become an aligator in US.

Check Howard University in Washington DC. They offer great packages for international students. You could also check out schools in your current location.
Mission almost impossible cos most schools would normally gives out scholarship to current International Students.Most Scholarships that are given out for prospective students are for postgraduate student.
Most people back in Nigeria always believe that schooling in US is just like bread and butter.Hell no,u must have your money cos schools are getting expensive day by day cos of recession.Even Community colleges that are cheaper before is now between $4000-$6000 per semester depending on the state.My best bet for you is to look at your bugdet if u can afford to send him to school then do so or  file for him.
In addition some schools don't require SAT and TOEFL from Nigerian anymore so just apply directly to the school of your choice.

gemini_titan:

Ok, i'm new 2 all dis visa, i-20 nd sevis talk nd i nid sm1 2 put me thru 4rm A-Z.

I'm a 300l student nd i want 2 get a masters degree in d us. My questns r
1. What time of d year shud i start applyin 2 skools?
2. Is it wiser 2 do my nysc b4 i go?
3. How is d visa nd admission process lyk exactly 4rm a-z?
4. Is it easy 2 get work nd live in d us afta my masters degree?

Please, please sm1 reply!

Kindly do your research by reading this thread from page 1 to the end.We can't afford to go back on issues like that anymore cos it has been treated here times without number.

sparta 1:

Arrant Nonsense.U must be from another planet to believe this.It's totally untrue.
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by sparta1: 3:53pm On Apr 17, 2010
Arrant Nonsense.U must be from another planet to believe this.It's totally untrue.
[quote][/quote]

Those words do not depict those of a gentleman or at least someone who is humble.Remember "pride goeth before downfall."
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by sparta1: 3:56pm On Apr 17, 2010
Anyway i couldn't believe my eyes either when i saw it.($5,400) Its not a myth it is a fact to be proven only by those who try.
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by sparta1: 3:58pm On Apr 17, 2010
@ oyewolejos, i can even give you a university in the south that charges a tuition of only $3,000 per yr
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by sparta1: 3:59pm On Apr 17, 2010
I mean a big state university.
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by sparta1: 4:02pm On Apr 17, 2010
The only thing is that it requires SAT first timers.I would give the name of that university ONLY to NETHACKER.i.e if he asks for it.
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by oyewolejos(m): 4:18pm On Apr 17, 2010
o
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by Superbrain(m): 4:18pm On Apr 17, 2010
oyewolejos:

Mission almost impossible cos most schools would normally gives out scholarship to current International Students.Most Scholarships that are given out for prospective students are for postgraduate student.
Most people back in Nigeria always believe that schooling in US is just like bread and butter.Hell no,u must have your money cos schools are getting expensive day by day cos of recession.Even Community colleges that are cheaper before is now between $4000-$6000 per semester depending on the state.My best bet for you is to look at your bugdet if u can afford to send him to school then do so or  file for him.
In addition some schools don't require SAT and TOEFL from Nigerian anymore so just apply directly to the school of your choice.

Kindly do your research by reading this thread from page 1 to the end.We can't afford to go back on issues like that anymore cos it has been treated here times without number.

Hmmm, I agree that the recession may have changed th funding scenario for undergraduates but there are still a few scholarship opportunities for international students so it's not "mission almost imposssible". I got a dude heading to Howard for fall 2010 and he got half scholarship. Check out this link:

http://www.howard.edu/financialaid/grants_scholarships.htm#Freshman
sparta 1:

You had better stay put on your thread. No one is interested in your "secret" university,
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by Superbrain(m): 4:22pm On Apr 17, 2010
@ oyewolejos,
grin grin grin grin forgive the dude for his ignorance, it's just youthful exuberance.
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by platinumnk(f): 4:23pm On Apr 17, 2010
oyewolejos:

I never told u am a Gentleman.Am a No Nonsense person so am not gentle at in any sense

Before u give me a University in the South give yourself and your dumb family members cos am ok with this $15,000 per year school i am here in the West.

U must be a retarded Wack backside Nigga. Ghetto Mothersucker
Seriously why all this bad belle?
Im dissapointed in you. Has America given u such a wide mouth?
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by sparta1: 4:23pm On Apr 17, 2010
oyewolejos:

I never told u am a Gentleman.Am a No Nonsense person so am not gentle at in any sense

Before u give me a University in the South give yourself and your dumb family members cos am ok with this $15,000 per year school i am here in the West.

U must be a retarded Wack backside Nigga. Ghetto Mothersucker

Now those words above tells us more about you and obviously how you are going to end up.
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by sparta1: 4:28pm On Apr 17, 2010
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by oyewolejos(m): 4:57pm On Apr 17, 2010
platinumnk:

Seriously why all this bad belle?
Im dissapointed in you. Has America given u such a wide mouth?
Sorry.The guy played me into annoyance with all these white elephant info.

sparta 1:

Now those words above tells us more about you and obviously how you are going to end up.

For the sake of some reasonable individual on this thread i withdraw my libelious post.
No qualms u can say anything u feel like but i believe people are more informed of the half truth u are spreading here.
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by nethacker(m): 5:01pm On Apr 17, 2010
sparta 1:

Information is life.Get informed

@sparta1: i want to believe u got my message. pls contribute here and give every1 the information needed or mail me.I dnt want any exchange of words on this thread because it will discourage prospective intended applicants. All of these will only initiate conflict and I dnt think we will welcome that here. If this thread will be turned to something else as a result of ur posts, i will be forced to tell the moderator to take its stance.
@ oyewole: leave him alone n stop behaving like phuck_NL(i hv not seen him in a while sha grin grin perhaps princeton is whooping his ass with assignments grin)
so pls pple having come this far,dnt let's destroy this thread.66 pages aint a joke angry angry angry
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by Superbrain(m): 5:57pm On Apr 17, 2010
nethacker:

@sparta1: i want to believe u got my message. pls contribute here and give every1 the information needed or mail me.I dnt want any exchange of words on this thread because it will discourage prospective intended applicants. All of these will only initiate conflict and I dnt think we will welcome that here. If this thread will be turned to something else as a result of your posts, i will be forced to tell the moderator to take its stance.
@ oyewole: leave him alone n stop behaving like phuck_NL(i hv not seen him in a while sha grin grin perhaps princeton is whooping his backside with assignments grin)
so pls pple having come this far,dnt let's destroy this thread.66 pages aint a joke angry angry angry

Yeah, 66 pages ain't a joke. Took me some minutes to save all to my hard-drive. Bros, where have you been?
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by nethacker(m): 6:24pm On Apr 17, 2010
Superbrain:

Yeah, 66 pages ain't a joke. Took me some minutes to save all to my hard-drive. Bros, where have you been?
hv been around jare.its just dat sch here is demanding.u hv to give all ur time if u wanna make the best men.so i really dnt come online like i use to, u can see dat even femilangy(the originator),gongo aso,plat and many others dnt usually come online again.na sch dey cause am. grin grin
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by Superbrain(m): 6:47pm On Apr 17, 2010
nethacker:

hv been around jare.its just dat sch here is demanding.u hv to give all your time if u wanna make the best men.so i really dnt come online like i use to, u can see dat even femilangy(the originator),gongo aso,plat and many others dnt usually come online again.na sch dey cause am. grin grin

Well understood! All the best bro,
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by oyewsmt: 6:13am On Apr 18, 2010
@ the whole house, here is my long story.
I was at USA embassy sometimes around January but my application was denied. To me, she asked me have i traveled abroad before and i said yes.
To do what = i told her to study
what is your missing in the state = i said to study as well.
how did i get the school = i said through my lecturer from Malaysia
i show her a letter given to me from Malaysia school and after she read the message she told me she is very sorry that i did not qualify got for the visa that i come back next time. As for me, i think she refused me based on the letter from Malaysians school because they stated that I'm still their current student and also i still have valid student pass which will expire by October. The whole house what do u think i should do right now cos I'm thinking of going back this month or early May for another appointment and tell the consular officer that the reason while i left Malaysia is because of pressure from about the previous religious crisis and my parent deemed it fit that USA is the best option for me and their qualification is recognised round the globe. Abe my people in the house what do u suggest for me because i don't want to return back to Malaysia. Also, is it possible for school to change the information on I-20 Cos i have some other qualifications to add up to it and i also want it to be Father's sponsor. Is that possible?, Help out Abeg oooo
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by justwise(m): 10:29am On Apr 18, 2010
oyewsmt:

@ the whole house, here is my long story.
I was at USA embassy sometimes around January but my application was denied. To me, she asked me have i traveled abroad before and i said yes.
To do what = i told her to studywhat is your missing in the state = i said to study as well.how did i get the school = i said through my lecturer from Malaysiai show her a letter given to me from Malaysia school and after she read the message she told me she is very sorry that i did not qualify got for the visa that i come back next time. As for me, i think she refused me based on the letter from Malaysians school because they stated that I'm still their current student and also i still have valid student pass which will expire by October. The whole house what do u think i should do right now cos I'm thinking of going back this month or early May for another appointment and tell the consular officer that the reason while i left Malaysia is because of pressure from about the previous religious crisis and my parent deemed it fit that USA is the best option for me and their qualification is recognised round the globe. Abe my people in the house what do u suggest for me because i don't want to return back to Malaysia. Also, is it possible for school to change the information on I-20 Cos i have some other qualifications to add up to it and i also want it to be Father's sponsor. Is that possible?, Help out Abeg oooo
Yes you are right, the letter was the issue, you should have cancelled you Malaysian student visa first b4 applying for USA student visa and it shouldn't have been mentioned in the letter.
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by oyewsmt: 8:41pm On Apr 18, 2010
I don't want to cancell my student pass incase usa don't grant it. so i can go back and face life sqauredly. So, what do u think i can do for now cos i want to apply once again at abuja, Please ma people i need ya advise
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by johnkent(m): 10:20pm On Apr 18, 2010
oyewsmt:

I don't want to cancell my student pass incase usa don't grant it. so i can go back and face life sqauredly. So, what do u think i can do for now cos i want to apply once again at abuja,  Please ma people i need ya advise
Go back to school in malaysia or keep waiting on a visa u might never get.
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by 2gd: 10:39pm On Apr 18, 2010
HI NETHACKER E.T.C.,

Must the bank statement for a masters of 2 years have tje total amount needed for 2 years before one can be issued a visa?
Secondly I just notice today , that there was an error on my e-passport.I just got the passport last year and just kept it inside one folder.Today I looked at it and discovered that my middle name was misspelled.
Would it pose any problems for me at the embassy or anywhere else?Who knows how i can get the error corrected.It was issued in Jos, but I have let Jos now,

PLEASE SOMEONE REPLY thanks
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by MrIndomie(m): 12:55am On Apr 19, 2010
2gd:

HI NETHACKER E.T.C.,

Must the bank statement for a masters of 2 years have tje total amount needed for 2 years before one can be issued a visa?
Secondly I just notice today , that there was an error on my e-passport.I just got the passport last year and just kept it inside one folder.Today I looked at it and discovered that my middle name was misspelled.
Would it pose any problems for me at the embassy or anywhere else?Who knows how i can get the error corrected.It was issued in Jos, but I have let Jos now,

PLEASE SOMEONE REPLY thanks
hi this is nethacker.
its not a must dat the amount in d account must cover d duration of ur studies however u will be on a safe side if u hv more than enough in dat account.

wats ur middle name and how was it spelt? i dnt think it matters anyway cos it might be overlooked
Re: General U.S.A (student) Visa Enquiries by Nobody: 6:32am On Apr 19, 2010
Go and apply from Malaysia. I wonder why u went to apply from 9ja in the 1st place. If u have stayed in Malaysia legally for 2 years under a student visa you can transfer your credits to a Us uni or still apply as a fresh undergrad. I don't think any Nigerian has been refused a student visa in Malaysia except Yahoo boys. My best advice would be for you to go back to Malaysia wait up to 6months or more then apply again.

(1) (2) (3) ... (64) (65) (66) (67) (68) (69) (70) ... (317)

Living In The Uk-life Of An Immigrant (part 3) / Living In Australia/life As An Australian Immigrant / Nigerians In Oslo, Norway

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 57