Stats: 3,184,411 members, 7,923,582 topics. Date: Saturday, 17 August 2024 at 10:14 AM

Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! - European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) (63) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! (66850 Views)

Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only (R.I.P Bawomolo). / Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only / Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only (Old) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (60) (61) (62) (63) (64) (65) (66) ... (100) (Go Down)

Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by jalether(m): 8:38pm On Aug 30, 2009
~Sauron~:

Not only on paper. . . . . . .Citeh have a better squad and a more technical starting XI

Given>Almunia
Sagna=Richards
Toure=Gallas
Lescott=Vermaelen

SWP>Denilson
Ireland<Fabregas
Barry>Song

Tevez>Bendtner
Ade>RVP
Bellamy>Eduardo.

Mark Hughes<<<Wenger.

You just nailed it now i wanna see anyone in their right mind challenge that esp the highlighted ones cool
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by yousouph(m): 8:47pm On Aug 30, 2009
Citey has a better players on papers even Hughes is better than Wenger because they won 3 out of 3. What else, If citey beat to 5th spot Totteham at the end of the season, that means they bought Messi.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by No2Atheism(m): 8:47pm On Aug 30, 2009
@sauron

here is your updated list

Given>>>>>>>>>>>Almunia  grin grin grin

Sagna>Richards

Toure<Gallas

Lescott<Vermaelen

Clichy>>>>>Bridge

SWP=Denilson

Ireland<Fabregas

Barry>Song

Tevez>Bendtner

Ade<RVP

Bellamy << Eduardo.  grin grin grin

Mark Hughes<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<Wenger.  grin grin grin grin
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Sauron1: 8:54pm On Aug 30, 2009
No2Atheism:

@sauron
here is your updated list

We will be here in a fortnight to heal the wounds Citeh will inflict on y'all.
Ade is on FIRE and with the way Tevez hustles for the ball these days, i pity Almunia.
If things go according to plan. . . . .Man City 3-1 Arsenal.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by debosky(m): 9:07pm On Aug 30, 2009
Two seconds ago it was a 'fantastic' start for Arsenal, now we lost to Utd it's all downhill. . . Sharon and DK were never known for intelligence, more for fickle stupidity and asinine arguments.

We lost yesterday and that's that - we learn another painful lesson and we will use it to get better in the latter games. The good thing is that there's no shame in losing to Utd though it's frustrating to lose to an own goal. No matter, we will improve and beat Citeh in a fortnight.

To the mugs making noise about Ade scoring again, I guess the whole prem should be scared of Gallas scoring again since he already has 3 goals this season. undecided

Any observer will know this is how Ade was 'scoring' last season before going AWOL against the big sides. A Pompey side in terminal decline and having lost their best defender lost ONLY 1-0 and we should be scared of Citeh? I remember we beat the same Pompey 5-1 with a weakened side playing reserve full backs.

But hey, it's all part of the idiotic talk flowing about these days - it's no big deal for Arsenal to beat Pompey 5-1 but Citeh beating the same Pompey 1-0 (with a weakened defence) means they are qualifying for the CL.

I guess it's been a fruitful weekend for DK & Sharon - an even more idiotic proposition than what they had previously. No two nitwits can do it like them. I see they might have a half wit female sidekick too, but we'll see. grin
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Sauron1: 9:18pm On Aug 30, 2009
debosky:

Two seconds ago it was a 'fantastic' start for Arsenal, now we lost to Utd it's all downhill. . . Sharon and DK were never known for intelligence, more for fickle stupidity and asinine arguments.

Yet another heap of applesauce.
Who didn't know Arsenal's perfect start has an expiry date?

I guess it's been a fruitful weekend for DK & Sharon - an even more unfortunate proposition than what they had previously. No two nitwits can do it like them. I see they might have a half wit female sidekick too, but we'll see. grin

Don't take it personal. . . . . . .Arsenal played well and LOST. . . . .
United outplayed Arsenal at the Emirates last season and lost as well.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by ritchboy(m): 9:23pm On Aug 30, 2009
Not only on paper. . . . . . .Citeh have a better squad and a more technical starting XI

Given>Almunia
Sagna=Richards
Toure=Gallas
Lescott=Vermaelen
Clichy<Bridge

SWP>Denilson
Ireland<Fabregas
Barry>Song

Tevez>Bendtner
Ade>RVP
Bellamy>Eduardo.

Mark Hughes<<<Wenger.

hahahahahaha

hilarious stuff from sauron

lets put it this way

given > almunia
clichy>>>>>bridge
verm>>lescott
gallas>>toure
sagna>>>richards
arshavin>>>>>>>>>>>>swp
fabregas>>>>>>>>>>>>ireland
diaby=barry
nasri>>>>petrov
rvp=>tevez
eduardo=>adebayor

wenger>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>hughes

simple!  grin
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Nobody: 9:25pm On Aug 30, 2009
~Sauron~:

Given>Almunia
Sagna=Richards
Toure=Gallas
Lescott=Vermaelen
Clichy<Bridge

SWP>Denilson
Ireland<Fabregas
Barry>Song

Tevez>Bendtner
Ade>RVP
Bellamy>Eduardo.

Mark Hughes<<<Wenger.

Very funny!  grin
Bellamy better than Eduardo? SWP better than Denilson? Barry better than Song?  cheesy
Lecott = Vermaelen??  shocked cheesy
toure = Gallas??  shocked shocked cheesy grin
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Sauron1: 9:27pm On Aug 30, 2009
davidylan:

Very funny!  grin
Bellamy better than Eduardo? SWP better than Denilson? Barry better than Song?  cheesy
Lecott = Vermaelen??  shocked cheesy
toure = Gallas??  shocked shocked cheesy grin

So is Eduardo better than Craig Bellamy?
Has Eduardo scored against any top team in the PREM?
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by debosky(m): 9:28pm On Aug 30, 2009
~Sauron~:

Yet another heap of applesauce.
Who didn't know Arsenal's perfect start has an expiry date?
And this is the beginning of the decline right? By the way, you owe me 20 for your false prediction.

Don't take it personal. . . . . . .Arsenal played well and LOST. . . . .
United outplayed Arsenal at the Emirates last season and lost as well.

I don't take things personal in general - what I take personal is when Dean the betting company cheat decides not to book a player who commits fouls all over the pitch, denies a stonewall penalty and then takes attention off the football and his rubbish mistakes on the pitch by penalising the visiting manager for kicking an empty bottle in the 96th minute.

Anyways, grudges only make victory in the next game sweeter.

PS - Did you see the abysmal misses by Berba and Nani at the end? A blade of grass at OT is more likely to score than those two waste pipes.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by ritchboy(m): 9:34pm On Aug 30, 2009
@davidylan
sauron is a renowned stand up comedian  grin
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by kaypumpin2(m): 9:36pm On Aug 30, 2009
~Sauron~:

Suddenly scoring against a top team in the PREM becomes a yardstick for measuring great players. . . oh mine,sometimes i just feel like quitting NL.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Sauron1: 9:43pm On Aug 30, 2009
debosky:

And this is the beginning of the decline right? By the way, you owe me 20 for your false prediction.

What prediction? I predicted United would win.
Fergie surprised me by leaving Anderson on the bench. . . .FATAL error.

I don't take things personal in general - what I take personal is when Dean the betting company cheat decides not to book a player who commits fouls all over the pitch, denies a stonewall penalty and then takes attention off the football and his rubbish mistakes on the pitch by penalising the visiting manager for kicking an empty bottle in the 96th minute.

Fletcher was perfect throughout. . . . .It's a contact sports not tennis.
I agree Fletcher's tackle on Arshavin was a stonewall penalty but Arshavin still scored from the same passage of play.
Had Dean given the penalty, Arshavin wouldn't have unleashed his pile-driver so the score was bound to remain 1-0 in the 1st half.

Wenger kicking an empty bottle was just the action of the night.
Blame the 4th official for alerting Mike Dean. . . . .The 4th official made a fuss out of something so insignificant.
Arsenal had a bad day in the office. . . .shit happens. Y'all have gotten away with ridiculous decisions as well.
I remember a certain Adebayor scoring at OT with his 2 hands some seasons ago.

Anyways, grudges only make victory in the next game sweeter.

I hope our brothers in the blue-half of Manchester cop a repeat performance of last season.

PS - Did you see the abysmal misses by Berba and Nani at the end? A blade of grass at OT is more likely to score than those two waste pipes.

Berba's miss. . . . . .The ball bobbled just before Berba kicked it.
That wasn't his fault!!!

Nani's miss. . . . . .Good save by Almunia.
His second effort was just a rush of blood.   Pass of the match was Nani's sublime pass with the outside of his boot to find Berbatov.
5000 Cescs cannot match that.

kay_pumpin:

Suddenly scoring against a top team in the PREM becomes a yardstick for measuring great players. . . oh mine,sometimes i just feel like quitting NL.

So how do you rate a striker? Scoring against Hull, Stoke, Nottingham Forest and Sheffield Wednesday?
Eduardo has featured more than 4 times against Man Utd. . . . .I am yet to see him test United's goalkeeper.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by A40(m): 9:49pm On Aug 30, 2009
To buy or not to buy?a little over 24hrs to transfer shutdown and still no word on signings! are Arsenal in such dire financial straits?41mil made over the summer and only 10 has been spent has it occured to Arsene at all that Gallas,Song and Vermaelen could come back from the int'l break with injuries? we are not exactly comeback kings so a slow start is the last thing we need and i hope to God Arsene is not going to do another Silvestresque deal i am still reeling from last season's nasty suprise
If he truly doesnt get 1 or 2 cats in then i am sorry we might fall short once again

As for the Citeh game i'm confident we would get a result their defence isn't all that and the refs are not in their pocket yet
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by debosky(m): 10:00pm On Aug 30, 2009
@ A-40 with the flurry of footie action this weekend with numerous talking points it's understandably been quiet on the transfer front.

I still think we'll sign, but rumours have generally died down for some reason - most of the fuss we heard about Arsenal came from the inventive press who were bent on finding 'solutions' to each of Arsenal's perceived problems by speculating on whom we would buy next.

As far as I'm concerned, a CB/DM signing is likely - if Senderos stays then a DM is more probable. The Chamakh deal looks virtually dead but no one knows what's going on in the background. Tomorrow might just be an interesting day.

@ Sharon

Berba is an expensive pile of turd, and Nani is a somersaulting freak show who is in the wrong business - he should go join Cirque Soleil. grin grin
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Nobody: 10:01pm On Aug 30, 2009
anyone heard this news? WENGER MOVES FOR "NEW" LIONEL MESSI

ritchboy:

@davidylan
sauron is a renowned stand up comedian  grin

Of course that is old news. grin

~Sauron~:

Eduardo is coming off a lengthy playing absence, i would expect Bellamy to have scored more than him. Eduardo is not all about scoring goals but providing good link up play . . . a thing Bellamy doesnt possess.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by debosky(m): 10:04pm On Aug 30, 2009
There is always some 'new Messi' (how old is the current Messi anyways? ) or 'new Zidane' advertised.

I don't know if there's any truth in it, but it's definitely not what we need - there's enough budding talent as it is.

If we sign, let's go for people who can fit into the first team right away or are capable substitutes for our starting 11.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Nobody: 10:07pm On Aug 30, 2009
On the strength of what i've seen so far, i dont understand why we need another player. All the best prospects are gone . . . at worst maybe someone to cover for Song when he goes to the ACN in January.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Sauron1: 10:11pm On Aug 30, 2009
debosky:

@ Sharon
Berba is an expensive pile of turd, and Nani is a somersaulting freak show who is in the wrong business - he should go join Cirque Soleil.  grin grin

He has scored more goals than Robin Van Persie(Arsenal's best striker) this season. grin

Nani? Wenger will give his pedophilic tendencies to have a precocious talent like Luiz Nani.
He was excellent last night.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by proudly9ja(m): 10:14pm On Aug 30, 2009
If Wenger doesn't buy a player that can fit straight into our first 14 then I think we should forget the league this season again. I think the squad as it is will beat any team in the premiership apart from Utd, Liverpool and Chelsea. The problem comes when the players start getting injured. I know Im beginning to sound like a broken record now but I remeber I made this point even before Nasri and Rosa got injured. Arsene makes the same mistakes every season. He gives us a first 11 but there's no back up. That to me is outright stubboness or stupidity, choose one.

Against ManUtd, well, what can I say? same old story. We played well but lost. I just hope it doesn't happen against the other teams apart from the 3 named above. Again, its the reason I clamoured for Vieira some weeks back. Those boys need someone to talk sense into their skulls when the chips are down. When Rooney scored the equaliser, it was as if the boys just gave up. Gallas did his best but there was little he could do. Going upfront frequently to add number and grit to the attack was disastrous and we only have Berba and Nani to thank for losing those chances. If Gallas was a midfielder, that wouldn't have been too costly.

Anyways, we aint gonna have Vieira now, obviously but we need some hard/physical and experienced person in that midfield plus a back up DM. I pray nothing happens to Verm and Gallas.

Against City? Im certain we will win.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Sauron1: 10:18pm On Aug 30, 2009
proudly9ja:

If Wenger doesn't buy a player that can fit straight into our first 14 then I think we should forget the league this season again. I think the squad as it is will beat any team in the premiership apart from Utd, Liverpool and Chelsea. The problem comes when the players start getting injured. I know Im beginning to sound like a broken record now but I remeber I made this point even before Nasri and Rosa got injured. Arsene makes the same mistakes every season. He gives us a first 11 but there's no back up. That to me is outright stubboness or stupidity, choose one.

STUPIDITY. grin grin grin grin

Against ManUtd, well, what can I say? same old story. We played well but lost. I just hope it doesn't happen against the other teams apart from the 3 named above. Again, its the reason I clamoured for Vieira some weeks back. Those boys need someone to talk sense into their skulls when the chips are down. When Rooney scored the equaliser, it was as if the boys just gave up. Gallas did his best but there was little he could do. Going upfront frequently to add number and grit to the attack was disastrous and we only have Berba and Nani to thank for losing those chances. If Gallas was a midfielder, that wouldn't have been too costly.

Arshavin disappeared in the 2nd half. . . . .He practically stopped playing.

Anyways, we aint gonna have Vieira now, obviously but we need some hard/physical and experienced person in that midfield plus a back up DM. I pray nothing happens to Verm and Gallas.

I am certain you will drop points.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Nobody: 10:24pm On Aug 30, 2009
proudly9ja:

Err i was guilty of thinking like you at the start of the season but we have a team that will beat Man U and Liverpool comfortably if we cut out mistakes. Chelsea are stronger in midfield and may prove a tough challenge. But Man U i think dropped majority of points against the top 4 and still won so what.

proudly9ja:

We lost due to individual errors. Having Viera in the team could hardly have prevented Almunia's mental breakdown or Diaby's absent-minded scoring to his own net. What else did Man U threaten us with until the 80th minute?

Berba and Nani got the chances they had because we were chasing an equaliser. Had we been 3-1 up they would not have had them.

proudly9ja:

We'll beat city comfortably.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by proudly9ja(m): 10:25pm On Aug 30, 2009
~Sauron~:

STUPIDITY. grin grin grin grin
lol, u no serious, funny thing is, I fear more for United than Arsenal, If Alex doesn't get a player, I see you guys losing to the smaller teams , again. However, on the plus side, you got 80 million to spend plus you don't have a manager that is obsessed with 16 yr olds.

~Sauron~:

Arshavin disappeared in the 2nd half. . . . .He practically stopped playing.
Arshavin isn't really that sort of player that is 'ON THE PITCH' for 90 mins. He just pops up and does his thing thats why Im not really bothered. Even in the game against Liverpool, he wasn't in the game except for the 4 goals. Against ManUtd, he wasnt on the pitch before and after the goal.

~Sauron~:

I am certain you will drop points.
watch and see.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by A40(m): 10:30pm On Aug 30, 2009
Bellamy is a scalar quantity all pace no direction granted he scores the odd goal or two but there's a reason why he's changed clubs like Jay-Z's changed clothes

@davidylan
It never looks like we need to sign more players till one or two key players are out for extended periods Chelsea have two standing backups at CB Ivanovic,Alex Scummies have Evans,Brown both sets we know would do a better job at deputizing for their team than a calamitous Silvestre,Senderos and a perpetually convalescing Djourou what was Arsene doing when Tottenham snatched Bassong! Steven Taylor is still up for grabs if Fergie could still sign a paralympian like Owen then with 40mil of Arab money i dont see why we shouldnt have made some moves

@Debosky
Thats true but we really are running out of time our squad is thread-bare at CB and DM as far as am concerned Denilson and Diaby cannot play that position the forward line is ok but then again injury has a funny way of showing how complete or incomplete your squad is
We are still short on at least two players IMHO and i really really doubt our chances of winning silverware if we fail to strengthen
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Nobody: 10:32pm On Aug 30, 2009
A-40:

Bellamy is a scalar quantity all pace no direction granted he scores the odd goal or two but there's a reason why he's changed clubs like Jay-Z's changed clothes

@davidylan
It never looks like we need to sign more players till one or two key players are out for extended periods Chelsea have two standing backups at CB Ivanovic,Alex Scummies have Evans,Brown both sets we know would do a better job at deputizing for their team than a calamitous Silvestre,Senderos and a perpetually convalescing Djourou what was Arsene doing when Tottenham snatched Bassong! Steven Taylor is still up for grabs if Fergie could still sign a paralympian like Owen then with 40mil of Arab money i dont see why we shouldnt have made some moves

My brother, even me i have no answer to that. where was he when Man city was snapping Shay Given too? Funny enough both players initially expressed interest in playing for Arsenal! shocked
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Sauron1: 10:33pm On Aug 30, 2009
proudly9ja:

lol, u no serious, funny thing is, I fear more for United than Arsenal, If Alex doesn't get a player, I see you guys losing to the smaller teams ,  again. However, on the plus side, you got 80 million to spend plus you don't have a manager that is obsessed with 16 yr olds.

Alex Ferguson does not need an extra player.
I am 100% confident the team we have got can retain the EPL title, win a domestic cup competition and AT LEAST reach the UCL S/finals.
Don't worry. . . .Normal services shall return once we get Rio and VDS back into the team.

Arshavin isn't really that sort of player that is 'ON THE PITCH' for 90 mins. He just pops up and does his thing thats why Im not really bothered. Even in the game against Liverpool, he wasn't in the game except for the 4 goals. Against ManUtd, he wasnt on the pitch before and after the goal.

He is a very good player.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by proudly9ja(m): 10:36pm On Aug 30, 2009
davidylan:

Err i was guilty of thinking like you at the start of the season but we have a team that will beat Man U and Liverpool comfortably if we cut out mistakes. Chelsea are stronger in midfield and may prove a tough challenge. But Man U i think dropped majority of points against the top 4 and still won so what.
ManU dropped point against big teams but still won the league cos they have a winning mentality. Thats the difference between them and us now and for the last few seasons. When u lose a match, you need mental attitude to go into the next match. Thats why Im glad for the international break before we meet City. If we were meeting City next week, I wouldn't have been so confident.

davidylan:

We lost due to individual errors. Having Viera in the team could hardly have prevented Almunia's mental breakdown or Diaby's absent-minded scoring to his own net. What else did Man U threaten us with until the 80th minute?

Berba and Nani got the chances they had because we were chasing an equaliser. Had we been 3-1 up they would not have had them.

If we had Vieira, Diaby wouldn't have been there in the first place? lol, just kidding. I think you fail to see my point. On paper, we will beat any team. But its different on the pitch. Football is not about who played better, its about who scored more goals! United can play horribly and still win becos they have the attitude! We lack it seriously at Arsenal. Ild like you to see the game again. The way we played when Rooney equalised, it was like we had conceded defeat already. We need a player who can fire up the guys at such times. Its not just about skills. Gallas would  have fitted well but as a defender, there's little he can do.

davidylan:

We'll beat city comfortably.

I totally agree!
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by A40(m): 10:44pm On Aug 30, 2009
@proudly9ja
If Vieira would come work as a sports psychologist then no problem because Arsene has shown lately that he has lost the ability to motivate these players when unfavorable situations happen while a game is on,those boys just hit the panic switch and before u know it the opposition grabs the winner.Those early wins where what i feared as i almost knew Arsene would forget about signing

As for yesterday's game i dont know if some of y'all listened to it on a radio cos Arshavin was very active before and after the goal abi did he not provide the pass that RVP woulda buried and made it 2-zip?
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by A40(m): 11:01pm On Aug 30, 2009
@davidylan
And chances are both guys would have cost less than 20mil! an educated Newcastle fan would tell you their team got relegated when they sold Given but i can still live with Almunia in goal my fear is what happens if either Gallas or Verm or both are out for a month or two?cos it can happen what would happen to Arsenal?August has not ended yet and they've featured 5times already these guys would quench by January they are not robots! a Taylor or Bassong would have been excellent cover
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by debosky(m): 11:45pm On Aug 30, 2009
@ proudly your theories don't hold water - we never fell apart in that game bar the two mistakes.

We made two errors and got punished for it, nothing more. There is no point over analysing yesterday's game as you will have situations like that a few times in a season. We didn't play this well last season when we beat Utd so saying it's as a result of lack of experience is a joke.

We never fell apart, we still went ahead and scored a goal (albeit offside) and the Utd with all their experience didn't even score either so what are you really saying?

proudly9ja:

ManU dropped point against big teams but still won the league cos they have a winning mentality. Thats the difference between them and us now and for the last few seasons. When u lose a match, you need mental attitude to go into the next match. Thats why Im glad for the international break before we meet City. If we were meeting City next week, I wouldn't have been so confident.

Again this theory doesn't hold water - we won our next game after losing to Fulham didn't we? It's too easy to generalise and get overly fixated on a single game. We lost against Utd, nothing at all to be ashamed of, especially as we gifted them the win and were not outclassed in any sense.
Yesterday's game was a[b] freak result [/b]simple. You will search far and wide to see another own goal scored in that manner except by a player trying to clear a ball on the goal line.

If we had Vieira, Diaby wouldn't have been there in the first place? lol, just kidding. I think you fail to see my point. On paper, we will beat any team. But its different on the pitch. Football is not about who played better, its about who scored more goals! United can play horribly and still win becos they have the attitude! [b]We lack it seriously at Arsenal. [/b]Ild like you to see the game again.

You must be joking - we lack attitude but we would've equalised in the last minute if not for a debatable offside call? I was waiting for the first loss of the season before the doom merchants emerged, and not a moment too soon.

The way we played when Rooney equalised, it was like we had conceded defeat already.

Did you watch the game on SATURDAY or something else? We NEVER looked like we conceded defeat. RVP hitting the crossbar is NOT conceding defeat. Diaby embarking on a run from his own half that gets TWO Utd players booked and still being on his feet is NOT conceding defeat. Our performance was top notch in every aspect of the game except for those two mistakes. Utd were certain to get chances at the end, why lose 2-1 timidly without throwing everything forward?

We need a player who can fire up the guys at such times. Its not just about skills. Gallas would  have fitted well but as a defender, there's little he can do.

With due respect you are so far off the mark I would think you're just saying what you've always thought with no reference to the actual game. Apart from Almunia's rash move and Diaby's header, there was nothing wrong with the spirit or drive of that team - no one would've done better. In actual fact, more SKILL in midfield from a Fab4 or Rozzi might have gotten us the win and not any 'firing up'.

A-40:

@davidylan
And chances are both guys would have cost less than 20mil! an educated Ne[b]wcastle fan would tell you their team got relegated when they sold Given but i can still live with Almunia in goal my fear is what happens if either Gallas or Verm or both are out for a month or two?cos it can happen what would happen to Arsenal?August has not ended yet and they've featured 5times already these guys would quench by January they are not robots![/b] a Taylor or Bassong would have been excellent cover

Dude seriously what are you on about? How many games did Vidic and Rio play last season without being out? What about Alex and Terry? CB's can play EVERY GAME and still go on so easy on the negativity. What has Bassong shown except scoring against Liverpool? Let Tottenham face quality opposition before you talk. I don't know the fuss about Given, someone who has probably not played more than a handful of European games.

Arsenal fans are a neurotic bunch - the first sign of trouble and wailing starts.
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by Borat1: 11:55pm On Aug 30, 2009
Does anyone watch citeh's matches at all,
they are rigid and their attack doesnt bite,
Ade will score, but arsenal will win, [s]barring any school boy errors that is, , [/s]
Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by kaypumpin2(m): 11:56pm On Aug 30, 2009
debosky:

Arsenal fans are a neurotic bunch - the first sign of trouble and wailing starts.

Can Muki replace the "yes we can" with this?

16 goals(someone even mentioned we miss Ade) in 5 matches,a "loss" in the 3rd game of EPL against Man U and already the negative vibe is rifer than bikinis in summer undecided

Lord help us!

(1) (2) (3) ... (60) (61) (62) (63) (64) (65) (66) ... (100)

Nairaland Fantasy Football League 2009/2010 / Manchester United Vs Newcastle United - (4 - 1) On September 11 2021 / Nairaland Fantasy Premier League 2011/2012

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 127